Consulter nos archives / Consult our archives

La majorité des documents conservés par le Centre d'archives et de documentation de l'ACHF sont disponibles pour consultation.

Most of the documents kept by the ACHF Archives and Documentation Center are available for consultation.

Canadian Rail 531 2009

Lien vers le document

Canadian Rail 531 2009

CANADIAN RAIL
PUBLISHED BI-MONTHLY
BY THE CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL ASSOCIATIONISSN 0008-4875
Postal Permit No. 40066621 E •SNTAE BELÉISDHNEDOF126
TABLE OF CONTENTS
The CRHA may be reached at its web site: www.exporail.org or by telephone at (450) 638-1522FRONT COVER: After six and a half years of locomotive rebuilding, including one final year of one frustration after another, Prairie Dog
Central’s venerable No. 3 got full approval from the boiler inspector and Canada Transport. She performed flawlessly on Mother’s Day,
Sunday May 10, 2009, her first day back in regular service on the PDC. Bill Stannard.
BELOW: Number 3 photographed on the Grosse Isle Wye in 1980. Paul Newsome.
PAGE COUVERTURE AVANT :
Canada pour sa chaudière après plus de 3 années et demie de reconstruction dont la dernière fut remplie de frustrations de toutes sortes.
Elle a performée sans faute lors de sa première sortie en service régulier en ce dimanche de la fête des mères du 10 mai 2009. Bill
Stannard.
CI-DESSOUS: La numéro 3 sur le triangle de virage de Grosse Isle en 1980. Paul Newsome.La vénérable locomotive no 3 du Prairie Dog Central a reçu enfin l’approbation de l’inspecteur de Transport Fate, Faith And Perseverance, by Paul Newsome . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 127
The Life and Times of Henry Dübs, by Bob Goch. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 127
The Life and Times of Prairie Dog Central’s No. 3, by Paul Newsome. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 128
Stans Manitoba Photo Gallery, by Stan Smaill . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 142
Woodman, 1976. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 151
Levis Tramways, by J. R. Thomas Grumley . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 155
Business Car. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 165
For your membership in the CRHA, which
includes a subscription to Canadian Rail,
write to:
CRHA, 110 Rue St-Pierre, St. Constant,
Que. J5A 1G7
Membership Dues for 2009:
In Canada: $50.00 (including all taxes)
United States: $50.00 in U.S. funds.
Other Countries: $85.00 Canadian funds.Canadian Rail is continually in need of news,
stories, historical data, photos, maps and other
material. Please send all contributions to
Peter Murphy, X1-870 Lakeshore Road, Dorval,
QC H9S 5X7, email: psmurphy@videotron.ca.
No payment can be made for contributions, but
the contributor will be given credit for material
submitted. Material will be returned to the
contributor if requested. Remember “Knowledge
is of little value unless it is shared with others”.INTERIM CO-EDITORS:
Peter Murphy, Douglas N.W. Smith
ASSOCIATE EDITOR (Motive Power):
Hugues W. Bonin
FRENCH TRANSLATION:
Michel Lortie and Denis Vallières
LAYOUT: Gary McMinn
PRINTING: Impression Paragraph
DISTRIBUTION: Joncas Postexperts Inc.
CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009127By Paul Newsome
Fate, Faith And Perseverance
After a seven year hiatus, Prairie Dog Central
4-4-0 No. 3 can once again claim to be Canada’s oldest
operating steam locomotive. Like two others before
her in recent times, Canadian Pacific Railway’s 2816
and West Coast Railway Association’s 2860, the
venerable three spot has undergone a major Class One
overhaul. No. 3’s restoration included a new boiler,
custom manufactured without original drawings.
Spearheaded by the volunteers of The Vintage
Locomotive Society in Winnipeg, and supported
financially by corporate sponsors, various governments and industry professionals and private donors, the
restoration of No. 3 is a major achievement in the
preservation of Canadian railway heritage.
Society President Bob Goch has researched
the history of Henry Dübs and his locomotive
manufacturing business in Glasgow, Scotland that built
No. 3, while Paul Newsome walks us through No. 3’s
history and remarkable restoration back to steam in
2009!
Congratulations are in order to all those who
made this dream come true!
By Bob Goch
The Life and Times of Henry DübsPhoto courtesy Peter Crosland in Scotland who is the Great-
Great-Great Grandson of Henry Dübs.
Gracieuseté de Peter Crosland d’Écosse, l’arrière-arrière-arrière-
petit-fils de Henry Dübs.
Henry Dübs (1816-1876) was born to a farming
family in Guntersblum near Darmstadt, Germany. He
was apprenticed to a machine tooling business. By the age
of 21, having gained further experience in Mainz and
Aachen, he was working as a machine shop manager. He
moved to England and was appointed as works manager
of the Vulcan Locomotive Co Foundry near Warrington,
Lancashire, in 1842. Here, he was increasingly involved in locomotive building. Between 1842 and 1858 he appears
also to have worked for another Lancashire locomotive
builder, Beyer, Peacock in Manchester. It seems that he
lost his job as works manager in 1857, for reasons that may
have had more to do with his managerial style than his
technical abilities.
Dübs was not, however, without energy or
friends. In 1858 he was appointed as Works Manager for
Neilson & Co, the Clydeside, Scotland firm of engineers
and locomotive builders, where he replaced the existing
Works Manager, James Reid. Dübs seems to have got the
job on the strength of his knowledge of locomotive
building, since Walter Neilson was, at that time,
reorienting his business to concentrate more and more on
locomotive building and on the basis of his commercial
connections. Moreover, Dübs was made a partner in the
Company.
Very shortly after Dübs joined Neilson & Co.,
new premises were opened at Springburn, Glasgow,
Scotland, and Dübs, as Managing Director, coordinated
the final phase of works construction and organized
production at the new site. However, it soon became clear
that Dübs and Neilson did not have a good working
relationship. In 1863, Dübs gave up his partnership and
established his own locomotive building company, which
Neilson stipulated should not be any closer than three
miles to his new Hyde Park Works in Springburn.
RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009128The site Dübs chose was in Aitkenhead Road,
Queen’s Park in Polmadie, on the south side of Glasgow.
Here he opened as the Glasgow Locomotive Works in
1864. Dübs’ new firm, Dübs & Co., proved very
successful. Although Neilson had found Dübs ‘pig-
headed’ and had not rated him highly as an engineer,
Dübs had inspired sufficient loyalty and respect to enable
him to take a number of workers with him when he left
Neilson & Co. These included Sampson George Goodall-
Copestake, Neilson’s chief draughtsman, who eventually
became a partner. In addition, a number of Neilson’s
customers started to place orders with Dübs.
By 1866 Dübs & Co. was receiving
orders from abroad, and providing his old
employer, the renamed locomotive builders,
Neilson, Reid & Co., with plenty of competition.
It appears that Dübs’ areas of particular interest
and expertise lay in engineering layout, in the
refinement of equipment and in the finer points
of steel making. It also seems as if he had the
edge when it came to organizing ability.
Although making locomotives was its
main business at this time, Dübs & Co. also
manufactured traction engines and steam
cranes. His Company was notable too, in that, in
January 1866, it was the first to employ women
in its drawing office as tracers.
Henry Dübs died of cancer in 1876, at
the age of 60. He was succeeded as Managing
Partner by William Lorimer, who had joined the Company in 1864. Lorimer held this position until 1903.
During the years after Dübs’ death, the Company
expanded its export business, and together with Neilson,
Reid & Co. made Glasgow the largest centre of
locomotive building in Britain.
In 1888, Manchester locomotive builders, Sharp,
Stewart & Co., moved its premises to Springburn,
Glasgow. Eventually, the three locomotive building
companies amalgamated as the North British
Locomotive Co. in 1903. At that time, Dübs & Co. was the
second largest locomotive works in Britain, employing
2,423 people.
By Paul Newsome
The Life and Times of Prairie Dog Central’s No. 3
In April 1882, the Canadian Pacific Railway took
delivery of 4-4-0 steam locomotive No. 22 from Dübs &
Co. in Glasgow, Scotland at a cost of $12,755, including
$2,555 of duty. Completed under builder’s number 1572,
she was one of several locomotives built by Dübs & Co.
for the CPR.
History has not recorded the name of the ocean
vessel on which No. 22 was shipped to North America.
What is known, however, is that when No. 22 arrived in
North America, she was sent to Winnipeg (then the CPR’s
Western Division headquarters) via Chicago, St. Paul and
Emerson, Manitoba because the CPR line around Lake
Superior was not completed until 1885. She was put into
service upon arrival as were the other Dübs engines
received at that time. In his book Van Horne’s Road,
Omer Lavallée, CPR’s late Corporate Historian, wrote,
“The backbone of Western Division motive power was a
number of clean and well-balanced passenger engines built by Dübs & Company of Glasgow, Scotland, and
delivered in the spring of 1882. Upon the CPR assuming
custody of the last section of the government-built section
between the Lakehead and Winnipeg in 1883, many were
assigned to passenger service on what would eventually
1become the Kenora Division.”
Some of No. 22’s working history is known, and
was made available through the helpful assistance of
Omer Lavallée. While no assignment records exist for No.
22 during the period of 1882 to 1902, the available
information makes it she likely spent many of those years
working in CPR’s Western Division, probably out of the
Lakehead. The only known photograph of No. 22 in that
time period shows her at Rat Portage (now Kenora,
Ontario) in the mid 1800’s. Paul Newsome
1
Van Horne’s Road by Omer Lavallée; Railfare 1974;
page 127.
129CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009Sometime between June 1897 and June 1898,
No. 22 was sent out to British Columbia. She worked
there until when she was returned to Winnipeg in
November 1908 (see assignment record). While working
west of Winnipeg, she was renumbered to No. 133 on
December 10, 1907, then to No. 63 on September 5, 1912
and finally to No. 86 on October 5, 1913 (see assignment
record).
In July 1909 she was equipped with a new non-
superheated boiler, the original boiler having lasted some
27 years. By that time, the size of locomotives on the CPR
had increased considerably since 1882, with Ten-
Wheelers, Consolidations and Pacifics now handling
most of the freight and passenger trains. Generally
speaking, the usefulness of 4-4-0’s was by then becoming
limited on most large railways, but a new boiler was
considered a good investment since these former all-
purpose locomotives could still fill out an essential part of
CPR’s motive power requirements.Canadian Pacific Railway No. 22 built by Dübs in April, 1882 as photographed at Rat Portage, Manitoba in the mid 1880’s. Heavily
rebuilt by the CPR in 1909, today’s No. 3 possesses original frame, main rods, possibly the driving wheel centers, the reversing
rod and valve stem rods. CPR Archives # NS8173.
La locomotive no 22 du Canadien Pacifique construite par Dübs en avril 1882 et photographiée à Rat Portage au Manitoba au
milieu des années 1880. Malgré une importante reconstruction par le CPR en 1909, la no 3 actuelle possède encore son châssis,
ses bielles, probablement ses centres de roues motrices, sa tige d’inversement et sa tige de tiroir, d’origine. Archives du CPR no
NS8173
Following the installation of a new boiler and the
conversion from wood to coal for fuel, No. 133 was
assigned to Fort William, Kenora and Ignace until June
1916 when she was sent to Winnipeg and put into service
there. During this period, No. 133 had been renumbered
twice – first as No. 63 for about a year, and then to No. 86,
her last CPR number. In September 1916, No. 86 was laid
up in Winnipeg where she remained in storage until April
1917 when she was leased to the City of Winnipeg, for use
on their Winnipeg River Railway at $10.00 per day. She
remained on lease through to October 1918, and was sold
to them in November 1918.
When sold, No. 86 – ex-Nos. 133 and No. 63, nee
No. 22 – was later renumbered to No. 3 by the Winnipeg
River Railway. Life for this somewhat obscure 4-4-0
became simpler since the pace on the Winnipeg River
Railway was less demanding – and decidedly less
uncertain. No. 3 worked between Pointe du Bois and Lac
du Bonnet, Manitoba on the line servicing the Pointe du
Bois generating station, part of a hydro-electric complex.
130RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
Unbeknownst to anyone at that time, the sale of
No. 86 to the Winnipeg River Railway (later named
Winnipeg Light & Power Co., and then Winnipeg Hydro)
secured an amazing second lease on life for this
locomotive at a time when others in her class were
spending their twilight years waiting on their next
assignment or their trip to the scrap yard. As the years
passed, the numbers of the once predominant 4-4-0
locomotive dwindled with the purchase of larger
locomotives by CPR to meet their ever-increasing
tonnage demands. By the 1930’s, the 4-4-0 was something
of a rarity on Class 1 railways.
In the ensuing years between the Depression and
World War II, 4-4-0’s on the CPR, as on most North
American Class I and II railways, became virtually extinct,
other than Nos. 29, 136 and 144 which also found a refuge
of sorts working in Chipman, New Brunswick. These
three locomotives survived because of light rails and
bridges which could not accommodate larger
locomotives, and all three saw service right to the end of
steam on the CPR in 1960. Today all are preserved, with
No. 136 operating on the South Simcoe Railway in
Tottenham, Ontario, No. 144 on display at Exporail in
Delson, Quebec, and No. 29 on display outside CPR’s
Corporate Headquarters in Calgary, Alberta.
There are a total of seven 4-4-0 type
locomotives preserved in Canada, six of them
originally ran on the CPR, the others are:No. 29, an 1887 product of Canadian Pacific Railway’s
New Shops in Montreal. The locomotive is owned by the
CRHA and is on display outside Canadian Pacific
Railway’s head office in Calgary. CRHA Archives, Fonds
Kemp.
La no 29, construite en 1887 dans les nouveaux ateliers
du Canadien Pacifique à Montréal. Cette locomotive
appartient maintenant à l’ACHF et est exposée à
l’extérieur du siège social du Chemin de fer du
Canadien Pacifique à Calgary. Archives ACHF, Fonds
Kemp.No. 3 and a coach full of company pic-nickers at Lac du
Bonnet in 1922. Vintage Locomotive Society Collection.
La locomotive no 3 et une voiture coach remplie de pique-
niqueurs à Lac du Bonnet en 1922. Collection Vintage
Locomotive Society. During restoration work her Dubs builders number 1572 and
CPR ‘number 63’ became visible on the reversing rod. On the
valve stem rod its 1572 and CPR ‘number 22’.
Pendant les travaux de restauration, on découvrit le no 1572
du constructeur Dubs et le no 63 du CPR sur la tige de
l’inverseur. De même pour le no 1572 de Dubs et le no 22 du
CPR sur la tige du tiroir. When sold, No. 86 – ex-Nos. 133 and No. 63, nee
No. 22 – was later renumbered to No. 3 by the Winnipeg
River Railway. Life for this somewhat obscure 4-4-0
became simpler since the pace on the Winnipeg River
Railway was less demanding – and decidedly less
uncertain. No. 3 worked between Pointe du Bois and Lac
du Bonnet, Manitoba on the line servicing the Pointe du
Bois generating station, part of a hydro-electric complex.
131CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009The Countess of Dufferin, built by Baldwin in 1872 is on
display at the Midwestern Rail Association’s Museum at
the VIA Rail Station in Winnipeg. This locomotive was
shipped to Winnipeg via the USA and was barged to the
CPR railhead construction site. It was the first locomotive
to arrive in western Canada. CRHA Archives, Fonds
Kemp.
La locomotive « Comtesse de Dufferin », construite par
Baldwin en 1872, est exposée au musée de la Midwestern
Rail Association, lequel occupe les voies 1 et 2 de la gare
de Via Rail à Winnipeg. Cette locomotive fut expédiée à
Winnipeg via les États-Unis et transportée par barge vers
la tête de la ligne en construction du CPR. Elle fut la
première locomotive à se rendre dans l’Ouest canadien.
Archives ACHF, Fonds Kemp.Another 4-4-0 preserved in Canada is Grand Trunk No.
40, built by Portland (Maine) in 1872, this classic
‘American look’ locomotive was part of the CNR’s
Museum Train and is in storage at the Canada Museum of
Science and Technology in Ottawa. Donald Angus took
this image when the locomotive was on display at Dorval,
Quebec in 1963. CRHA Archives, Fonds Angus.
La Grand Tronc no 40 est une autre locomotive 4-4-0
préservée. Une classique de type American, construite à
Portland dans le Maine en 1872 et qui a fait partie du Train
musée du CNR. Elle est entreposée au Musée canadien
des sciences et technologies d’Ottawa. Elle fut
photographiée par Donald Angus au moment où elle était
exposée à Dorval au Québec en 1963. Archives ACHF,
Fonds Angus.No. 136, built by Rogers in 1883 and star of the CBC
television series ‘The National Dream’, 136 is now owned
by the South Simcoe Railway Heritage Corporation in
Tottenham, Ontario. CRHA Archives, Fonds Kemp.
La locomotive no 136, construite par Rogers en 1883,
vedette de la série « Le grand défi » de Radio-Canada,
appartient maintenant à la South Simcoe Railway Heritage
Corporation de Tottenham en Ontario. Archives ACHF,
Fonds Kemp.No. 144 was built in March of 1886 at the Canadian Pacific
Railway’s New Shops, it is on display at Exporail, and is
the oldest Canadian manufactured steam engine in
existence. R.S. Ritchie.
La no 144, construite en mars 1886 aux nouveaux ateliers
du Chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, est la plus
ancienne locomotive à vapeur canadienne encore
existante. Elle est actuellement exposée au musée
Exporail. Ronald Ritchie.
No. 374, built in 1886 at the Canadian Pacific Railway’s
New Shops, is on display at the West Coast Railway
Association’s 374 Pavilion in Vancouver. This locomotive
hauled the first CPR passenger train into Vancouver on
May 23, 1887, WCRA.
La no 374, construite en 1886 aux nouveaux ateliers du
Chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, est exposée au
pavillon 374 de la West Coast Railway Association de
Vancouver, WCRA.
132RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 20091996. After 1996, the Society was faced with the daunting
task of raising money to purchase a portion of the Oak
Point Subdivision, construct a storage facility and
necessary trackage, and move the St. James Station
following CN’s announcement that the Subdivision was to
be abandoned.
It is an interesting observation about the Society
and the dedication of its committed volunteers that they
could not accept the idea that the train might no longer
operate. From 1997 through to late 1998 a major fund-
raising campaign was conducted, resulting in $1.2 million,
with half raised by the Society (including a $100,000
donation from Winnipeg Hydro) and the balance made
up of Federal and Provincial funding.
After a two-season hiatus, operations resumed
on Saturday July 3, 1999, with the dedication ceremony
taking place on September 11, 1999. The Prairie Dog
Central, with No. 3 at the head-end, was back in action.
In December 2001 following the end of a
successful season, routine ultrasound testing of No. 3’s
firebox and boiler shell was conducted. The results
yielded extremely bad news: there were thin spots spread
over large areas of both the firebox and the boiler shell.
This resulted in the condemnation of the boiler.
Major questions now had to be answered: Should
No. 3 be made a permanent static display? Is there an
alternate steam locomotive available? What would it take
to have a new boiler constructed? The Society’s Board
considered the immediate options, and a decision was
taken to first explore what it would take to have a new
boiler constructed before looking elsewhere.
Initial inquiries resulted in contacting Saskatoon
Boiler Manufacturing Co. Ltd., located in Saskatoon,
Saskatchewan. This Company had been contracted by CN
in 1992 when CN was re-tubing and replacing the front
tube sheet on No. 3. It was the nearest company that had
the equipment to flange the tube sheet. Discussions with
Ray Graves, President of Saskatoon Boiler, then resulted
in a call to John Corby, a retired Curator of the Museum
of Science and Technology (CMS&T) in Ottawa, to see
what drawings existed in the CMS&T collection. The
CPR had transferred all of its steam drawings to the
CMS&T in the early 1960’s. John searched for any
drawings that could be used for constructing a new boiler.
Although he found some related drawings, ultimately he
could not locate the exact drawings for No. 3’s 1909 boiler.
Every drawing that John located was shipped to Ray
Graves for his review.
Ray expressed interest in undertaking this
project as his Company had previously produced a boiler
for a steam traction engine. He knew about the Society
and the Prairie Dog Central, and felt that this would be a
good project for his Company. On March 2, 2002, Ray
traveled to Winnipeg to inspect No. 3 and get a first-hand
view of her. He and key Society members spent a full day No. 3, however, held – and still holds – the
distinction of being the oldest operating steam
locomotive in Canada, and is among the oldest regularly
operating steam locomotives in North America. She
never received much in the way of modernization. For
example, her main rods and valve stem rods still carry the
Dübs builder number 1572. The new boiler she received
in 1909 was not superheated, unlike the new boilers CPR
installed on locomotives shortly after that time. Neither
did she receive new spool valves, retaining her slide valves
to this day. She did receive a snow plow pilot in 1937
(which was removed in 1967), and a new steel cab in early
1944 following a near disastrous fire at the Pointe du Bois
enginehouse in December 1943. Throughout her active
life at her new home railway, major work on No. 3 was
handled by CPR’s Weston Shops in Winnipeg, while
running repairs were handled at Pointe du Bois.
Steam on CPR and CNR came to a final end in
1960. No. 3, though, continued working on the City of
Winnipeg Hydro railway line out of Pointe du Bois until
1961 when she was removed from service and stored.
In the early 1960’s, the City of Winnipeg was
slated to host the 1967 Pan Am Games. One of the City’s
Aldermen, Leonard Claydon, knew about No. 3 and
envisaged her doing train ride tours around the City
during the Games. Interest in such a venture developed,
and No. 3 (along with combination coach number 103)
were moved by flat bed truck to Winnipeg in October
1966. Ultimately this idea did not materialize, but the
seed for starting a vintage steam train had been planted
and some interest had been generated through the
promotion of this idea. The people who had worked with
Leonard Claydon on the Pan Am Games plan formed The
Vintage Locomotive Society Inc. on April 4, 1968 to
establish a proper custodian group. The Society was
established as an all-volunteer non-profit charitable
organization, which it continues to be today. The new plan
was to get No. 3 back in operation for Manitoba’s
Centennial in 1970.
Funds became available to re-tube No. 3,
refurbish her and put her back into operation for
Manitoba’s Centennial. On July 1, 1970 she made a
historic trip to Lower Fort Garry carrying Canada’s then-
Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau and members of the
Manitoba Legislature as part of the province’s centennial
celebrations.
This event launched No. 3’s third career as the
prime motive power for the Prairie Dog Central vintage
train for the then 88-year old survivor. Regular operations
of the Prairie Dog Central started on July 11, 1970, and
through 1974, the train pulled by No. 3 operated on the
seldom used CN Cabot Subdivision (formerly CN’s Harte
Subdivision). Beginning in 1975, operations moved to
CN’s Oak Point Subdivision where the train operated
weekend excursions and charters from the Winnipeg
suburb of St. James to Grosse Isle, Manitoba from 1975 to
133CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009Paul Newsome.
With No. 3’s boiler off, the project team then was
able to focus on several tasks that were only possible with
the boiler removed. One major task was to drop the
driving wheels out of the frames to permit work on the
driving wheel boxes, wedges and pedestal shoes, as well as
to re-tram the engine. Several other refurbishing projects
were commenced – all of which were done by volunteer
members in the Society’s small shop facility.
Although not part of the boiler itself, the main
air reservoir had to be replaced as it would not have
passed the current standard for a pressure vessel. As the
tank sits between the frame under the boiler, it was
replaced prior to the arrival of the new boiler.
Because no drawings of No. 3’s boiler existed,
Saskatoon Boiler had to start from ground zero to
produce a complete set of new drawings for a boiler
meeting 2004 engineering standards for an 1882
locomotive. All of this has taken considerable time and
energy. Numerous conference calls between Saskatoon
Boiler and the Society have taken place to deal with a
multitude of details. Society officials made two trips to
Saskatoon Boiler and spent time with their engineers
reviewing drawings over the next ten months.examining the locomotive and discussing construction
details, as well as reviewing the regulatory requirements.
Because no drawings of No. 3’s boiler had been found, an
essential construction requirement was to ship the old
boiler to Saskatoon so it could be used as a template for
the extensive engineering work that would be necessary to
produce a new set of drawings and manufacture a
duplicate boiler based upon current engineering
standards.
One month later, Ray provided a written
estimate of what would be involved. All that would really
be needed was the money to complete the project – and
faith that the funds could be found. But, given what the
Society had done a few short years before when it raised
$1.2 million, nothing seemed impossible. The decision
was made to accept Saskatoon Boiler’s estimate, with the
provision that the money had to be raised before placing
the order.
Because of this decision, all other options were
then ruled out, and a plan for the disassembly of No. 3 was
developed. A select team was formed and they adopted
one overriding rule: Nothing was to be removed without it
being fully documented. One aspect of volunteer
organizations is that pure enthusiasm can be both a
blessing and a curse – a double-edged sword. With this
project, no one wanted enthusiasm to create a future
problem. Work began, carefully to be sure, since it was
imperative that everything be carefully documented with
digital photos and deconstruction notes so that no
problems would arise when everything was ultimately put
back together.
After much hard work, one year later on April 5,
2003, sufficient money had been raised to officially order
the new boiler. By then, most of the disassembly had been
completed, except for some work around the cab and
firebox. A complete deconstruction record of well over
200 detailed digital photos had been made, with copies
printed in a large binder along with the deconstruction
notes. Parts had been carefully tagged and stored on
shelving for re-assembly.
On May 31, 2003, No. 3’s cab was removed.
Arrangements were then made with the help of a local
crane company and a local trucking company – both of
whom donated their services – to have No. 3’s boiler
removed from her frames and shipped to Saskatoon
Boiler. On August 28, 2003, the boiler was lifted straight
out of the frames in a precision move that would rival a
space program launch. There was only ?h clearance on
either side between the firebox and the frames when the
cables were properly secured. As the lifting began the
30,000 pound boiler came straight up without even
snagging the frames. It was then carefully placed on
cribbing on a flatbed truck. From the start of the lift to
when the flatbed truck drove away to Saskatoon took four
hours.
134RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009Three views of No. 3’s new boiler being manufactured on
April 5, 2004. The main boiler barrel, note the old boiler in the
background; the firebox; finally a photo of the backhead.
Paul Newsome.
Le 5 avril 2004, trois vues de la nouvelle chaudière de la
locomotive no 3 en construction : le corps principal de la
chaudière avec l’ancienne chaudière en arrière-plan; le
foyer; et enfin une photo de la plaque de l’extrémité arrière.
Paul Newsome. Seen here inside Saskatoon Boiler Limited with number 3’s
old boiler on September 9, 2003, in the background are left to
right: Bob Harris, Ray Graves (President of Saskatoon Boiler),
Dean Danforth, a Saskatoon Boiler Engineer, Ralph Grant,
Paul Newsome, and another Saskatoon Boiler Engineer. Paul
Newsome.
Vue de l’intérieur de l’atelier de la Saskatoon Boiler Limited
avec l’ancienne chaudière de la no 3 en arrière-plan, le 9
septembre 2003. De gauche à droite : Bob Harris, Ray
Graves (président de la Saskatoon Boiler), Dean Danforth, un
technicien en chaudière de Saskatoon, Ralph Grant, Paul
Newsome et un autre technicien en chaudière de Saskatoon.
Paul Newsome.The working group discusses construction details for the new
boiler. Current day regulatory requirements were built in right
from the start. Paul Newsome.
Une équipe de travail discute des détails de construction pour
la nouvelle chaudière. Les normes actuelles furent
appliquées dès le début. Paul Newsome.
With the new boiler back on the locomotive frame, work continued over the winter of 2004 – 2005 on the installation of the piping
within the smoke box (by coded welders), cutting of the hole for the smoke stack, etc. in the shop. The bolting of the piping header
and footer bolts within the smoke box was by no means an easy task due to the extremely limited working area inside. The bolts
had to be tightened in a sequential fashion to ensure that the connection was snug and with equal pressure on all bolts. It is
important to remember that these pipes carry the full boiler pressure steam from the throttle to the valves and cylinders, and the fit
of all pieces has to be perfect. Paul Newsome.
La chaudière étant montée sur le châssis, le travail se pour
suivit dans l’atelier pendant l’hiver 2004-2005 afin de faire inst
aller la
tuyauterie dans la boîte de fumée (par des soudeurs certifiés) et de percer un trou pour recevoir la cheminée, etc. Le boulonnage
des tubes, du foyer à la boîte de fumée, ne fut pas aisé à cause de l’espace restreint dans cette dernière. Les boulons devaient être
serrés en une séquence prédéterminée pour assurer une connexion bien ajustée et une pression égale sur chacun. Il est
important de rappeler que ces tubes supportent la totalité de la pression de la vapeur, du régulateur jusqu’aux tiroirs et des
cylindres. Les pièces doivent s’emboîter à la perfection. Une nouvelle poutre pare-choc fut ensuite ajoutée à l’extrémité arrière
avant l’installation de la cabine. Paul Newsome.135CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009After the new boiler was shipped back to
Winnipeg, the first major task was to securely fasten the
boiler to the frames. This work began at the front end on
October 8, 2004. The front end of the smokebox was
rigidly attached to the cylinder saddle, the back end was On October 8, 2004 the new boiler arrived back in Winnipeg and was lowered onto No. 3’s frame. Paul Newsome.
Le 8 octobre 2004, la nouvelle chaudière, arrivée de Winnipeg, fut descendue sur le châssis de la locomotive no 3. Paul Newsome.secured with a system of expansion clips and brackets
which prevent up and down movement of the boiler in
relation to the frames. While keeping the boiler secure,
the system allows longitudinal expansion of the boiler
when it is heated up.
136RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009While all the front end work was proceeding,
work was also underway to straighten and align the rear
buffer beam. This work too was heavy and tedious, and it
was necessary to ensure that the cab framing fit properly
since parts of the cab steel connecting with the frame had
to be replaced or renewed. The cab required extensive
work on the parts that fasten it to the frame and boiler, as
well as extensive interior woodwork. By 2006 the piping
installation was well underway, boiler insulation and Paul Newsome.lagging completed – she was beginning to look like her old
self again!
Another parallel project was the overhaul of the
tender. The brake rigging and trucks were removed, axles
ultra sound tested and the wheels were turned at Progress
Rail. The tender trucks were completely rebuilt at that
time. The tender body was stored on cribbing during this
process.
137CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009By early 2007 the cab had been
reinstalled and the insulation and
boiler lagging applied, old No. 3
was beginning to look like her old
self! Paul Newsome.
La cabine fut réinstallée et la
chaudière calorifugée au début
de 2007. La vieille locomotive no
3 commençait à retrouver son
allure d’antan. Paul Newsom.Meanwhile back in the machine
shop the valve gear was being
attended to. Paul Newsome.
Pendant ce temps, dans l’atelier
d’ajustage mécanique, on
préparait le mécanisme de
distribution. Paul Newsome
138RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009In August 2008, following the time-consuming
re-fitting appliances, installation of new piping and other
parts, arrangements were made for the second
hydrostatic test. While the boiler was hydrostatically
tested and certified before it left Saskatoon Boiler, a
second test was required to confirm the integrity of all the Three views of some of the associated
piping that had to be installed, steam, air
and boiler side. Paul Newsome.
Trois vues d’éléments de tuyauterie à
installer, conduits de vapeur, d’air
comprimé et autres tuyaux posés sur les
côtés de la chaudière. Paul Newsome.A hydrostatic test is a test to
confirm the integrity of the boiler
and all joints, fittings, etc. that are
subject to boiler pressure. It is
conducted by pumping the boiler
full of warm water and
maintaining this at a pressure
equal to 50% above the maximum
steam working pressure. This
allows any leaks that might exist to
be discovered in a safe manner,
which is not the case when the
boiler is under steam pressure.
No. 3’s boiler was hydrostatically
tested at 240 pounds per square
inch (PSI), the steam operating
pressure is 160 PSI.new piping and fittings which are under boiler pressure.
At this test, the steam dome cover failed. The integrity of
the metal had deteriorated and leaked under pressure.
Arrangements were then made with Saskatoon Boiler to
engineer a new dome cover that was delivered in early
November 2008.
139CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009Ralph Grant, a spry 82 years young is the only surviving
founding member of the Vintage Locomotive Society. He had
the honour of operating No. 3 on its return to service on May
10, 2009. Ralph hasn’t lost his touch, he had her steaming like
a fine clock. Bill Stannard.
Ralph Grant, un jeune homme plein d’entrain de 82 ans, est le
seul membre fondateur de la Vintage Locomotive Society
encore en vie. Il a eu le privilège de conduire la no 3 lors du
retour en service le 10 mai 2009. Ralph n’a pas perdu la main,
il a plutôt contrôlé la locomotive de main de maître. Bill
Stannard.It’s August 16, 2008 and
No. 3 is back together. The
2008 – 2009 winter will be
spent installing the final
details and testing of
various systems. Paul
Newsome.
Les composantes de la
locomotive no 3 sont enfin
rassemblées en ce 16 août
2008. Les derniers détails
seront ajoutés et divers
systèmes seront testés
pendant l’hiver 2008-2009.
Paul Newsome
Throughout the process, we cannot overstate the
detailed paperwork involved, documenting the
dismantling, hydrostatic test recording (boiler and all
pressure related piping and appliances) and other
regulatory paperwork, etc. Nor can we overstate the
efforts and determination of the volunteers of the Vintage
Locomotive Society who ‘pulled it off’. It is anticipated
that the entire project in every respect cost approximately
$350,000.No. 3 returned to active service on Sunday, May
10, 2009 hauling the Mother’s Day Special and there was
considerable fanfare to celebrate the return to service of
the oldest operating steam locomotive in Canada.
Two “F” words figure prominently in this story:
Fate and Faith. Fate created the circumstance which
resulted in No. 3 surviving all others in her class. Faith in
the belief that nothing financially or physically is
impossible got No. 3 running, and has kept her running.
That and the perseverance of Society’s volunteer
members who continue to be her guardian.
140RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 20091903 Jan. – July In service Sicamous Jct. to Okanagan Landing
Aug. – Sept. Shown as “under repair”
Oct. – Nov. In service at North Bend
Dec.In service at Vancouver
1904 Jan. – Aug. In service out of Vancouver
Sept. – Dec. In service out of Kamloops
1905Locomotive assignment record not in existence.
1906 Jan. – Apr. In service at Kamloops
May – Dec. In service at Revelstoke, mostly on Arrowhead Branch
1907 Jan. – June In service at Revelstoke
July – Sept. In service at Kamloops
Oct. – Dec. In service at Vancouver
Dec. 10 Renumbered 133, class A51 (Series II)
1908 Jan. – Mar. In service at Vancouver
Apr. – May In service at Kamloops
JuneIn service at North Bend
July – Oct. In service at Vancouver
Nov.Shown as “en route to Winnipeg”
Dec.In service at WinnipegCPR’s Locomotive Stock Book (1883 to circa 1900)
• Class:17” X 24”, 62” 8 – wheeled
• Builder:Dubs, 1882, No. 1572
• Received:April 1882
• Cost:$10,220; Duty $2,555. Total cost: $12,755
• Straight steel boiler, 50” shell; 154 tubes, 2” diameter
• 56” wrought iron driving wheel centers
• Steel guides; cast steel crossheads
• 2 injectors
• 8’ 6” centers of drivers
• 28” wrought iron spoke engine truck wheels, steel axles
• 33” wrought iron spoke tender truck wheels, steel axles
• Wrought iron crank pins, case hardened
• Tank:2,270 gallons
• Weight, working order: 82,500 lbs.
Assignment Record
1882 AprilReceived from Dübs & Company, Glasgow, Scotland. 4-4-0 type, 17” X 24” cylinders, 62”
driving wheels, Builder’s serial number 1572. Assigned CPR road number 22 (Series I); no
class assigned. Shipped to Western Division via Chicago, St. Paul and Emerson, account
the CPR line around Lake Superior was not completed until 1885.
1882 – 1902 No locomotive assignment records in existence, but a photograph from CP’s Corporate
Archives taken about 1886 shows the locomotive at Rat Portage (Kenora). Repair records
show that No. 22 received repairs during this period at Fort William and Kenora. Sometime
after June 1897 No. 22 was moved to the Pacific Division as the first noted repair was done
in Kamloops in 1898.
141CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 20091909 Jan. – Dec. In service at Winnipeg all year
July Equipped with new CPR standard boiler to drawing 13 L 173, but not superheated.
1910 – 1912In service at Winnipeg
1912 Sept. 5Renumbered 63 temporarily. Class A51
1913 Jan. – June In service at Winnipeg
July – Sept. In service at Fort William
Oct. 5Renumbered 86, Class A21 (Series III)
Oct. – Nov. In service at Fort William
Dec.In service at Kenora
1914 & 1915In service all year at Fort William
1916 Jan. – Feb. In service at Kenora
MarchIn service at Ignace
Apr. – June In service at Kenora
July – Aug. In service at Winnipeg
Sept. – Dec. Laid up at Winnipeg
1917 Jan. – Apr. Laid up at Winnipeg
May – Dec. Leased to City of Winnipeg for $10.00 per day
1918 Jan. – Oct. Loaned to City of Winnipeg
Nov.Sold to City of Winnipeg, Winnipeg River Railway for $9,000
1928 Jan. 11 – Feb. 2 Weston Shops for No. 1 repair and re-tubing as well as:
• New piston rods and side rods
• News crank pins on the driving wheels
• Wooden pilot replaced with a new steel pilot
• Old smokestack replaced with the current short stack
• Old tender replaced with a second-hand CPR tender
• Engine & tender repainted. Records show that this is when it was given “No. 3”. Prior
to that time it had never carried the number “3”, and Hydro correspondence referred to
the engine as No. 86, its former CPR number.
1935 or 1936Hydro excursions – Winnipeg to Pointe du Bois
1937 Oct. 8 – Dec. 7 Weston Shops for repairs, returned with snow plow
1944 Feb. 23 – Mar. 28 The locomotive received a steel cab, apparently from a CPR class U3 0-6-0 locomotive,
following an Engine house fire at Pointe du Bois, Manitoba on December 24, 1943.
1954 Jan. 4 – Mar. 3 Weston Shops for repairs
1961Last used in Hydro service. Stored.
1966 October Locomotive and combination coach #103 moved to Winnipeg by low bed trailer.
1970 JulyIn service as Prairie Dog Central No. 3
2001 December Boiler fails ultrasound test and is condemned
2001-2009Complete re-building including a new boiler
2009 May 10Back in steam on the Prairie Dog Central
142RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009Stan’s Photo Gallery
July – August, 2009
By Stan Smaill
French Version Michel LortieLes photos de Stan
Juillet – Août, 2009
Par Stan Smaill
Traduction française de Michel Lortie
The return to steam of City of Winnipeg Hydro
ex CPR 4-4-0 No. 3 is nothing short of remarkable in the
annals of Canadian railway preservation. In many ways,
Winnipeg and the province of Manitoba were the cradle
of western Canadian railroading. When one considers the
arrival of the pioneer railway contractor Joseph
Whitehead’s locomotive Countess of Dufferin to build
the first CPR lines in the prairies; the mechanical
interlocking plants that survived well into the seventies;
and the fact that Winnipeg hosted the best “end of steam”
show in western Canada on both the CNR and CPR; it is
fitting that we celebrate Manitoba’s colourful railway
heritage in this Photo Gallery.
Special thanks to Ronald S, Ritchie for sharing
some of his memorable Manitoba photos with us. We also
acknowledge Brian Schuff of Winnipeg and the Fonds
Kemp in the CRHA Archives.
Prairie Dog Number 3, long may you run!La Province du Manitoba et sa capitale,
Winnipeg, peuvent à juste titre être considérées comme le
berceau du chemin de fer dans l’ouest du Canada. La
première locomotive Countess of Dufferin fut amenée
par bateau à Winnipeg par l’entrepreneur Joseph
Whitehead pour la construction de la ligne du CP. Les
systèmes d’aiguillages mécaniques ont survécu jusqu’au
milieu des années soixante-dix. La ville de Winnipeg fut
l’hôte du meilleur spectacle de la fin de l’ère de la vapeur
dans l’ouest canadien et que dire de la belle histoire de
préservation de l’héritage ferroviaire que fut le retour en
activité de la locomotive 4-4-0 de City of Winnipeg Hydro,
à l’origine la locomotive 3 du CP.
Forts de ce passé glorieux, nous avons décidé de
vous présenter dans cette édition des photos retraçant la
belle histoire du chemin de fer du Manitoba.
Nous tenons à remercier Ronald S. Ritchie pour
les magnifiques photos qu’il nous a prêtées ainsi que
Brian Schuff de Winnipeg et le Fonds Kemp du service
des archives de l’ACHF.
Longue vie à la locomotive 3 Prairie Dog !Arriving at CNR’s Westside, Manitoba station, an Oak Point Subdivision local passenger train hauled by an unidentified CNR 4-6-0
of Canadian Northern heritage slows her all wood consist to a stop for station work. This photo is noteworthy for a number of
reasons. The “Canadian National” sign is unusual and perhaps this is the first time a photo of this sign has ever appeared in print.
Westside station became the St. James station and later the southern terminal of the Prairie Dog Central excursion ride, featuring
City of Winnipeg Hydro 4-4-0 No 3 and a wooden passenger consist not unlike the one in the photo. Photo from Al Paterson / Brian
Schuff Collection
Arrivée en gare de Westside, Manitoba, en provenance de la subdivision Oak Point, d’un train local du CN entièrement composé de
wagons en bois tracté par une locomotive 4-6-0 ayant appartenu au Canadian Northern. Cette photo est très particulière en ce
qu’elle montre, probablement pour la première fois, une affiche du CN utilisant un logo qui ne fut jamais utilisé par la suite. La gare
de Westside changea de nom pour Saint-James. Plus tard, elle est devenue le terminus sud de la ballade du train Prairie Dog
mettant en vedette la locomotive 4-4-0 no 3 de City of Winnipeg Hydro et des wagons en bois semblables à ceux de cette photo.
Photo : Al Paterson – Collection Brian Schuff.

151CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009
Story and Photos by Stan J. Smaill
Woodman, 1976
Woodman tower was one of two such
installations still in service on the CPR in the Winnipeg
area in the mid nineteen seventies. Located
approximately seven miles west of the CPR’s Winnipeg
station on the bald prairie, Woodman was the point where
the CNR Oak Point Sub crossed the CPR
transcontinental line and the Glenboro Sub began after
the 1946 line relocation. The other was Rugby tower at
the west end of Canadian Pacific’s sprawling Winnipeg
Yard and it is still in use. Woodman was unique as it was
the last mechanical interlocking tower still manned by a
leverman. Towers like Woodman survived in the prairies
at Hartney and Methvane Transfer, Manitoba as well as
at Oban and Frobisher, Saskatchewan well into the
seventies. In their final years, these interlocking towers,
however, were operated by the train crews as by the
seventies, train movements were so infrequent that it was
not cost effective to maintain a full time
operator/leverman on duty.
To find a functioning mechanical interlocking
plant as late as June 1976 was as much of a treat as
watching Prairie Dog Central 4-4-0 No. 3 cross the CPR
Carberry Sub diamonds that Woodman still protected.
We are fortunate that Exporail has preserved
enough equipment (signal masts, tower lever rack, rods
and pulleys, rod mechanisms, spectrals and oil lamps)
from Tonkin, Manitoba to one day set up an interlocking
plant display.
This article is dedicated to Woodman leverman
Earl Birch.Map detail from Lines of Country by
Christopher Andreae, published by Boston
Mills Press, now out of print.
Map detail from Lines of Country by
Christopher Andreae, published by Boston
Mills Press, now out of print.WoodmanStory and Photos by Stan J. Smaill
Woodman, 1976
La tour de contrôle Woodman était l’une des
deux seules encore en service dans la région de Winnipeg
au cours des années 1970. Elle était située à sept milles à
l’ouest de la gare de Winnipeg, là où se croisaient la ligne
principale vers l’ouest du CP et la sous-division Oak
Point du CN. C’était également le point de départ de la
sous-division Glenborough du CP. Après la relocalisation
de celle-ci en 1946, l’autre tour, qui est toujours en
service, la Rugby Tower, fut placée à la sortie ouest de la
gare de triage du CP à Winnipeg. La tour Woodman a ceci
de particulier : elle fut la dernière munie d’aiguillages
mécaniques contrôlés par un aiguilleur. De telles tours
existaient encore dans les Prairies à Hartney et à
Mehtvane Transfer au Manitoba, ainsi qu’à Onan et
Frobisher en Saskatchewan durant les années 1970.
Toutefois, elles étaient manutentionnées par l’équipage
des trains plutôt que par un aiguilleur, car le petit nombre
de trains circulant sur ces voies ne justifiait pas l’emploi
d’un aiguilleur à plein temps.
La découverte d’une tour d’aiguillage
mécanique encore en service en juin 1976 nous a surpris,
tout comme le fait de la voir utilisée pour protéger le
passage de la 4-4-0 no 3 du Prairie Dog Central au
croisement de la ligne du CP.
Nous sommes heureux de posséder dans la
collection du Musée Exporail plusieurs outils spécialisés
qu’on utilisait pour l’entretien de ce genre de tour; ils
proviennent de celle de Tonkin au Manitoba. Nous
espérons pouvoir un jour monter une telle tour au Musée
et faire revivre cette époque.
Cet article est dédicacé à M. Earl Birch,
aiguilleur.

Les tramways de Lévis
(1902-1946)155CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009Levis Tramways
(1902-1946)
Introduction
The Levis Tramways Company (also having had
two other corporate names during its life) was a quasi
suburban trolley system linking together a number of
municipalities including the city of Levis, located directly
across from Quebec City and the towns of Bienville,
Lauzon and St. Romuald as well as the villages of St.
David, St. Telesphore, New Liverpool and St. Nicolas.
The tramway system traversed the entire river frontage of
the St. Lawrence River for ten miles. It also had a line to
the upper section of the city of Levis and the residential
district. The line terminated on the heights of Levis a few
feet from the municipality of St. David. The Levis
Tramways Co. was a feeder line connecting the south
shore to Quebec City through the ferry boat system
operating between Levis and Quebec City. In additional
to its passenger service, the company also had an
important freight and cartage business which linked up
more municipalities such as Beaumont, St. Michel and St.
Vallier (Bellechasse County). The company also built and
operated an elevator service in Levis connecting lower
town with the upper town albeit for only a short period of Introduction
La Compagnie des tramways de Lévis, qui
changea de nom à deux reprises durant son existence,
était ni plus ni moins un réseau de transport interurbain
reliant plusieurs municipalités de la rive sud de Québec
dont Lévis ainsi que Bienville, Lauzon et Saint-Romuald,
en plus des villages de Saint-David, Saint-Télesphore,
New-Liverpool et Saint-Nicolas. Son réseau de tramways
longeait la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Laurent sur plus de
140 milles (16 km). Une autre ligne desservait le secteur
de Lévis et ses banlieues résidentielles, situées en haut de
la falaise, et se terminait à quelques mètres de la
municipalité de Saint-David. La Compagnie complétait
ainsi le lien entre la Ville de Québec, via le traversier, et la
Ville de Lévis. En plus du service aux passagers, la
compagnie offrait aussi le transport de marchandises en
desservant les municipalités de Beaumont, de Saint-
Michel et de Saint-Vallier (comté de Bellechasse). La
compagnie a construit et exploité, pour une courte
période, un service de monte-charge entre la basse ville
et la haute-ville de Lévis.
Au faîte de son exploitation, la compagnie avait Par : J.R. Thomas Grumley
Traduit en français par : Denis VallièresBy J. R. Thomas GrumleyLevis streetcar postcard, St. Joseph Street, Lauzon, 1930. Denis Vallieres collection
Tramway de Levis carte postale, rue St. Joseph, Lauzon 1930. Collection Denis VallieresTranslation by Denis Vallieres
156RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009time. During the height of its operation, the company
invested approximately $1 million in track and equipment
and extending from the eastern limits of the harbour in
Lauzon, as far west as close to the Quebec Bridge. The
charter of the company authorized it to pass over the
Quebec Bridge and connect with the street railway system
of Quebec City although this never did materialize. The
company was the first in two areas: (1) it introduced the
first modern safety Birney car in Canada; and (2) it was
the first company to introduce a transferable weekly pass
for its customers.
The company had a history of bad luck as a result
of natural disasters, fighting the elements of Mother
nature, strikes, work stoppages, squabbles with the
municipalities, dealings with the provincial Public Service
Commission and a disproportionate number of streetcar
accidents In spite of these setbacks, the company
managed to survive nearly to the end of 1946.
Background
As early as mid-1901 theconstruction of an
electric railway was contemplated along the lower river
road of the St. Lawrence valley connecting the towns of
St. Joseph and St. Romuald on either side of Levis. The
population along the valley approximated 40,000 people
who were generally engaged in business operations or
working in the mills with no convenient and consistent
means of transportation. The plans also envisaged that investi environ 1 million de dollars pour l’infrastructure
des voies et son matériel roulant. Son réseau s’étendait
sur près de 12 milles (19,3 km), de l’extrémité est du port
de Lauzon jusqu’à proximité du pont de Québec à l’ouest.
La charte de la compagnie l’autorisait à traverser le pont
de Québec afin de rejoindre le réseau de tramway de
Québec, mais aucun projet ne fut réalisé en ce sens. La
compagnie innova sur deux aspects. Elle fut d’abord la
première au Canada à acquérir les tramways modernes et
sécuritaires de la firme Birney, puis la première à offrir un
laissez-passer hebdomadaire et transférable à sa
clientèle.
La malchance et les désastres naturels, les
grèves, les querelles avec les municipalités, les
négociations avec la Commission des services publics de
Québec et un nombre disproportionné d’accidents de
tramways n’épargnèrent pas la compagnie. Elle survécut
malgré tout jusque vers la fin de 1946.
Les origines
Dès 1901, on songea à construire un chemin de
fer électrique le long de la rive sud du fleuve Saint-
Laurent en reliant les villes de Saint-Joseph et de Saint-
Romuald, disposées de part et d’autre de Lévis. La
population de cette partie de la vallée du St-Laurent se
chiffrait à plus de 40,000 âmes. Les citadins étaient pour
la plupart de gens d’affaires et des ouvriers des moulins
environnants qui, faute d’un moyen de transport This freight motor was built by the Laconia Car Co. in 1903 and acquired by the Levis Electric Railway for freight operation on the
company’s lines. This car survived the 1921 fire and was converted to a passenger car in 1942 and lasted until the end of service in
1946. Library & Archives Canada E008299366 Author’s Collection
Ce tramway motorisé de marchandises fut construit par Laconia Car Co.
en 1903 et acquis par la Lévis Electric Railway pour le
transport de marchandises sur le réseau de la compagnie. Il a survécu à l’incendie de 1921 et fut converti en tramway de
passagers en 1942. Il demeura en service jusqu’à la fin, soit 1946. Library & Archives Canada no E008299366, collection de
l’auteur.
157CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009another line, about two miles in length, would be
established connecting the river line with the upper town
of Levis and the market area. The company was founded
on January 4, 1902 by Mr. G.U. Holman of Quebec City.
Under the direction of the Chaudiere Electric
Light Co. of Chaudiere, Quebec, work commenced on
Monday January 27, 1902 on a preliminary survey and
feasibility plan for such a system. As a result, a report was
prepared by Mr. Fitzpatrick, a construction engineer
from Ottawa, for the Chaudiere Electric Light Co .and
the Directors of the newly incorporated Levis Electric
Railway Co. At their first meeting on Tuesday April 15,
1902, it was decided to commence construction
immediately of the electric railway in the then Town of
Levis.
Mr. George B. Dodge of Boston, Mass. (who
built the Lowell & Boston Street Railway) was hired as
Superintendent of the street railway works. He arrived in
Levis on April 15, 1902. When construction was
completed, Mr. Dodge remained with the company as its
Superintendent.
Construction of the line began on Monday April
21, 1902. The first section of the line would run from St.
Joseph de Levis to St. Romuald crossing Levis in the approprié, s’organisaient du mieux qu’ils pouvaient pour
leurs déplacements entre le haut et le bas de la vallée. On
envisagea alors de créer une ligne d’environ deux milles
(3,2 km) pour relier la rive du fleuve à la partie haute de
Lévis et particulièrement à la place du marché. C’est le 4
janvier 1902 que M. G.U. Holman, de Québec, fonda
officiellement la compagnie. Les travaux préliminaires
d’étude de faisabilité débutèrent quelques jours plus tard,
soit le lundi 27 janvier, sous la supervision de la
Chaudière Electric Light & Power Co. de Chaudière au
Québec. Après ces travaux, M. Fitzpatrick, ingénieur en
construction d’Ottawa, rédigea un rapport qui fut remis à
la Chaudière Electric Light & Power Co. et aux
directeurs de la Lévis Electric Railway Co., nouvellement
incorporée. Le mardi 15 avril 1902, lors de la première
assemblée de la compagnie, il fut résolu de commencer au
plus tôt la construction du chemin de fer électrifié dans la
ville de Lévis.
M. Georges B. Dodge de Boston, Massachusetts,
qui avait construit auparavant le Lowell & Boston Street
Railway, fut choisi pour superviser les travaux. À la fin de
ceux-ci, on permit à M. Dodge de conserver son poste au
sein de la compagnie.
C’est ainsi que débutèrent, le lundi 21 avril, les
The car was the second #90 that appeared on the company’s roster as the first #90 was destroyed in the company’s 1921 fire.
This Birney car was built in 1922 by Canadian Brill at leased Preston Ca
r Co. facilities in Preston Ont. and acquired new by the
company. The car can be seen on the private right-of-way on the St. Romuald line in July 1946. Library & Archives Canada
E008299368 Author’s Collection
Ce véhicule fut le deuxième à porter le no 90, le premier ayant
été détruit dans l’incendie de 1921. Ce tramway de type Birney,
construit en 1922 par la Canadian Brill dans les ateliers loués à la Preston Car Co. à Preston en Ontario, fut acheté neuf par la
compagnie. On le voit sur l’emprise ferroviaire de Saint-Romuald en juillet 1946. Library & Archives Canada no E008299368,
collection de l’auteur.
158RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009lower and upper towns (the line started at the lower town
and ended up at the upper town). Both sections of the
town would be connected by an elevator at the foot of
Labadie Hill. Coincident with the construction of the line,
the company also commenced construction of its first car
barn at 47-55 Fraser St. The car barn was approximately
80 feet by 180 feet with three tracks entering the building.
Because of delays in receiving the rails, only
three miles of the proposed ten miles had been completed
by mid-October. By the end of November, at least 100
men were working on the line to permit operations
between South Quebec and the company’s shops on
Fraser Street. Coincidently, work was in progress on the
erection of the company’s elevator from the foot of
Labadie Hill to Wolfe Street. The first two cars, #60 and
#62, arrived on the property from the Ottawa Car Co. on
November 26th. The cars were painted yellow (similar to
the Montreal Street Railway color scheme) with black
lettering.
Without fanfare the Levis Electric Railway
commenced operation on the first section of the line on
December 8, 1902 which consisted of three miles of track
in the town of Levis. Initially service extended from Levis
to the Quebec ferry location at Commercial St. and
Laurier to Eden (Begin) Street via Fraser Street. travaux sur la section de la ligne reliant les municipalités
de Saint-Joseph et de Saint-Romuald en traversant la ville
de Lévis tant dans sa partie haute que dans sa partie basse.
Plus tard, c’est un ascenseur au pied de la côte Labadie
qui reliera ces deux secteurs de la ville. Au même
moment, la compagnie commença les travaux d’érection
de son premier garage de tramways, situé aux 47-55, rue
Fraser. Celui-ci aurait à la fin des travaux une largeur
d’environ 80pi (24,4m) sur 180pi (59,9 m) de profondeur
avec un espace intérieur suffisant pour contenir trois
voies ferrées.
En raison d’un retard dans la livraison des rails, il
n’y avait, à la mi-octobre, que 3 milles (5km) de voies de
terminées sur les 10 milles (16km) prévus. Cependant, à
la fin de novembre, ce sont plus de 100 hommes qui
travaillaient sur le chantier pour compléter la ligne
reliant la rive sud de Québec aux ateliers de la rue Fraser.
Au même moment, les travaux de construction de
l’ascenseur reliant la côte Labadie et la rue Wolfe
progressaient. Le 26 novembre, la compagnie reçut ses
deux premiers tramways commandés à l’Ottawa Car Co.,
les nos 60 et 62. Les véhicules étaient peints en jaune
(semblable à de ceux de la Montréal Street Railway) avec
lettrage en noir.
Le 8 décembre 1902, sans fanfare ni trompette, la
The motorman and conductor of Levis County Ry. #60 can be seen posing for the company photographer. This is a pre-1918 view
as this car was rebuilt and renumbered #80 in 1917. Car #60 and #62 were the first cars delivered to the Levis Electric Ry. in
November 1902. Car #60 was destroyed in the 1921 fire. Library & Archives Canada E008303308 Author’s Collection
Le garde-moteur et le contrôleur du no 60 du Lévis County Ry posent pour le photographe de la compagnie. Cette photo date
d’avant 1917 car le tramway fut reconstruit et renuméroté 80 à partir de cette année-là. Les tramways nos 60 et 62 furent les
premiers livrés au Lévis Electric Ry en novembre 1902. Le no 60 fut détruit lors de l’incendie de 1921. Library & Archives Canada
no E008303308, collection de l’auteur.
159CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009Construction onthe 8 miles of track from Levis to St.
Joseph and Levis to St. Romuald was suspended for the
winter.
Expansion
In the Spring of 1903, work continued on the
extension of the initial three mile of track in Levis with a
gang of men working on the line between Bienville and
the Intercolonial Railway (ICR) iron bridge at St. Joseph
de Levis. At the time, it was anticipated that service would
commence on this portion of the line by the end of August
1903.
Concurrently, construction of the line from Levis
to St. Romuald commenced and was expected to be
completed by year end. By early September, tracks had
been laid to the bridge at the Etchemin river.
By December 1903, track laying had been
completed on the extension of the line to the ferry landing
at St. Romuald and the whole line from Levis to St.
Romuald which comprised 10½ miles was now in
operation. Pending completion of the Etchemin bridge,
cars were being run over the ICR bridge.
The construction of the elevator was completed
in early January 1904 and service began on January 26th.
During the latter half of 1904, the company encountered
financial and labor difficulties with employees going on
strike due to their not being paid for almost 23 weeks.
Service was eventually restored.
In the Spring of 1905, a proposal for the
reorganization of the company’s affairswas submitted for
consideration by the Bondholders’ Reorganization
Committee. The Committee suggested that it be
authorized to purchase the railway, real estate and all
other of the company’s property, on behalf of the
assenting bondholders. At the Sheriff’s sale, in June 1905
the line was sold for $50,000 to J. Foreman of Montreal
who acted on behalf of the re-organizing committee and
as a result the Sequester was discharged. In late 1905 the
branch line to connect with the summit of the elevator was
completed. As a result of the sale, in early 1906, the
company was re-incorporated as the Levis County
Railway (LCR).
Activities on the line for the next several years
was uneventful until the early morning hours of
December 5, 1910 when the elevator connecting lower
town with the upper town was completely destroyed by
fire. After much discussion over the ensuing two years,
the decision was taken not to rebuild the elevator and it
was eventually demolished. The period from 1912 to the
beginning of 1918 was uneventful other than the company
acquiring equipment and contending with the harsh
winters experienced in this region every year.
A New Company Name…again
More problems arose early in 1918 when the
company’s directors met in Levis. They inspected the line Lévis Electric Railway mettait en fonction la première
section de son réseau d’une longueur de 3 milles (5km) de
voie, dans la ville de Lévis. Puis le réseau se prolongea,
d’une part, jusqu’à la rue Commercial près du quai du
traversier de Québec, et d’autre part, de la rue Laurier
jusqu’à la rue Éden (Bégin) via la rue Fraser. La
construction de la voie d’environ 8 milles (12,9 km),
reliant Lévis à Saint-Joseph ainsi que Lévis à Saint-
Romuald, fut suspendue pour la saison hivernale.
Le développement
Au printemps de 1903, une équipe d’ouvriers se
mirent à la tâche pour étendre le réseau, à partir des 3
milles (5 km) existants, de la rue Bienville jusqu’au pont
de l’Intercolonial Railway (ICR) à Saint-Joseph de Lévis.
On prévoyait compléter cette portion de ligne à la fin
d’août de la même année.
Par ailleurs, on commença les travaux
d’extension vers Saint-Romuald qu’on prévoyait terminer
avant la fin de l’année. En début de septembre, les rails
atteignaient le pont de la rivière Etchemin.
En décembre 1903, on compléta la section de
voie vers le quai d’arrimage du traversier à Saint-
Romuald, ce qui mit fin aux travaux de la ligne de 10,5
milles (16, 9km) reliant Lévis à Saint-Romuald. En
conséquence, les tramways pouvaient désormais
emprunter le pont de l’ICR au-dessus de la rivière
Etchemin.
L’ascenseur, complété au début de janvier 1904,
fut mis en service le 26 du même mois. Durant le
deuxième semestre de l’année, la compagnie éprouva des
difficultés financières qui provoquèrent un conflit de
travail. En effet, les ouvriers n’avaient pas été payés
depuis plus de 23 semaines. Cependant, après quelque
temps, tout rentra dans l’ordre et le service fut rétabli.
Au printemps de 1905 le Comité des détenteurs
de fonds soumit un projet de réorganisation de la
compagnie. Il suggéra d’autoriser la mise en vente de
l’entreprise ferroviaire, de ses propriétés et de ses
installations avec l’assentiment des détenteurs de fonds.
En juin 1905, le réseau fut vendu pour 50 000 $ à J.
Foreman de Montréal, agissant en faveur du comité de
réorganisation, libérant ainsi la compagnie de sa tutelle.
Après cette transaction la compagnie fut réincorporée en
1906 sous le nom de Lévis County Railway (LCR). Puis,
vers la fin de 1905 l’embranchement de la ligne avec le
sommet de l’ascenseur fut complété.
Les activités du réseau se poursuivirent pendant
plusieurs années sans incident jusqu’au matin du 5
décembre 1910 alors qu’un incendie détruisit
complètement les installations de l’ascenseur, qui reliait
la bas et le haut de la ville. Malgré les discussions qui se
poursuivirent pendant plus de deux ans au sujet de son
avenir, l’ascenseur fut finalement démoli plutôt que
reconstruit. Il n’y eut aucun autre incident entre 1912 et
le début de 1918. La compagnie profita de l’accalmie de
160RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
to consider what could be done to keep the cars operating
in light of more financial problems and under what
agreement could this be accomplished. In the Spring of
1919 the Quebec Legislature incorporated a company
with the title “Levis Tramways Company” to acquire the
Levis County Ry.
Devastating Fire
On February 23, 1921, a devastating fire
completely destroyed the company’s car barn and work
shop on Fraser Street including most of the passenger and
all of the work equipment. The fire apparently started at
about 5:30 am when flames and smoke were seen coming
from the electric heater of car #103. This car had not
been in service since February 19th. When the fire started,
an alarm was sent to the fire station immediately. Three of
the company’s employees who were on duty at the time
coupled up the hose to the hydrant inside the barn and
endeavored to extinguish the flames. However, because
of the low water pressure they were unable to do anything
effective and within ten minutes the whole barn and shops
were engulfed in flames. By 7:00am the car barn and
surrounding area was in ruins. The only rolling stock to
survive were four new safety cars and two rebuilt one-man
cars. The company was left with no snow fighting cette période pour acquérir de nouveaux équipements
tout en apprenant à affronter les durs hivers de la région.
Encore un nouveau nom pour la Compagnie
D’autres problèmes survinrent en 1918. Les
dirigeants de la compagnie, y compris ceux de Montréal,
se réunirent afin de trouver une solution pour régler les
problèmes financiers tout en maintenant le service. Au
printemps de 1919, la Chambre législative de Québec
incorpora une nouvelle compagnie du nom de Lévis
Tramways Company dans le but d’acquérir la Lévis
County Railway.
Incendie destructeur
Le 23 février 1921 un incendie détruisit
complètement le bâtiment de garage et l’atelier de la rue
Fraser, dont les véhicules pour passagers et tout
l’équipement d’entretien. Il semble que l’incendie ait
débuté vers 5h30 lorsque des flammes et de la fumée
furent observées, émanant de l’appareil de chauffage du
tramway no 103. Celui-ci n’était plus en service depuis le
19 février. Au début de l’incendie, une alarme parvint
immédiatement à la caserne du service d’incendie. Trois
employés, présents en ce moment-là connectèrent des
boyaux à la borne fontaine située à l’intérieur du
A winter scene showing #102 at a street corner. This car, in addition to two others, were acquired from the New Brunswick Power
Co. in 1908. The car was destroyed in the 1921 fire. This car was originally built by the Montreal Park & Island as #205. Library &
Archives Canada E008303319 Author’s Collection
Scène d’hiver illustrant le no 102 à une intersection. C’est l’un des trois tramways acquis de la New Brunswick Power Co. en 1908.
Il fut détruit dans l’incendie de 1921. Construit et utilisé par la Montréal Park & Island il portait à l’origine le no 205. Library &
Archives Canada no E008303319, collection de l’auteur.
161CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009equipment in the middle of winter and only six cars to
continue operation. The company had insurance on the
property and equipment based on purchase value and not
replacement value. Consequently, the estimated total loss
was $300,000 and the actual loss to the company was
estimated at $200,000. In 1921, this was a lot of money!
Discussions did take place between the company
and the various municipalities it served. The municipal
councils of St. Romuald, Lauzon and Bienville refused to
vote any financial aid to the Levis Tramway Co. to enable
the company to purchase rolling stock and to build a new
car shop. It now remained for the city of Levis to decide
what, if any financial aid it would give the struggling
company. At the end of the day, Levis did not offer any
assistance to the company. Finally, on November 20,
1921, the company discontinued its service all together.
Re-Introduction of Service
It was eventually announced by the company
Manager, Mr. Weyman, that service would restart on
Tuesday April 11, 1922 serving 10,000 Levis inhabitants
and 20,000 in the surrounding municipalities served by
the company’s line. Initial service would be on the uptown
line. The St. Joseph line (St. Joseph Division) would
resume operation on Friday, April 14th and the St.
Romuald line (Quebec Bridge Division) on Thursday,
April 20th. The uptown line (Levis Division) which is
about 3 ¾ miles long would be served by two streetcars on
a 20 minute schedule while the St. Joseph line which is
about 2 ¾ miles long would also be served by two
streetcars on a 20 minute schedule. The St. Romauld line
which is about 7 ½ miles in length would be served by one
car on a 90 minute schedule. The remaining car was held
as spare.
New Equipment and New Car Barn
In mid 1922, after getting their financial affairs in
order, the company ordered eight new Birney cars from
Canadian Brill Co. to be delivered in October.
Coincidently snow fighting equipment was ordered from
the Ottawa Car Co. and Russell Snowplough Co.
In the fall of 1922, the company awarded a
$50,000 contract to Anglin-Norcross Co. for the
construction of a fire-proof car house and shops to be
located on rue St. Laurent Street approximately one mile
from the Levis ferry. The building was to be built with a
combination of steel, brick and concrete and was to be
essentially fire-proof. The Soleil newspaper reported on
April 7, 1923 that work had been completed on the
construction of the carbarn and all that remained was the
installation of the modern machinery that the company
had recently acquired. It was anticipated that by the
following Tuesday cars would be placed inside the barn.
The building was approximately 147 feet long and 120 feet
wide and could accommodate 25 cars (indoor and
outdoor) on six tracks, each 180 feet long, which occupied bâtiment pour tenter d’éteindre le brasier. Toutefois, vu
la faible pression de l’eau, leurs efforts furent vains et au
bout de 10 minutes, tout le garage et l’atelier furent la
proie des flammes. À 7 h. il ne restait que des ruines du
garage et de ses alentours. Seuls quatre véhicules
nouvellement acquis et deux tramways reconstruits pour
être conduits par un seul homme, échappèrent aux
flammes. La compagnie se retrouva ainsi au milieu de
l’hiver dépourvue de chasse-neige et ne possédant que six
tramways. Elle détenait une assurance de propriété et
d’équipement basée sur la valeur d’achat et non sur le
coût de remplacement. La perte totale estimée se
chiffrait à 300 000 $ et la perte réelle à 200 000 $, ce qui,
en 1921, représentait un montant fort élevé!
La compagnie et les municipalités entreprirent de
sérieuses discussions. Les conseils municipaux de Saint-
Romuald, de Lauzon et de Bienville refusèrent de financer
l’achat de matériel roulant et la construction d’un nouvel
atelier. Conséquemment, l’entreprise dut offrir un service
réduit avec ses six tramways sauvés de l’incendie. La Ville
de Lévis devait maintenant décider quelle aide elle
apporterait à la compagnie désespérée mais finalement
aucune offre ne parvint à l’entreprise. Ainsi, le 20
novembre 1921, l’entreprise dut cesser toute activité.
Reprise du service
M. Weyman, dirigeant de la compagnie,
annonça que le service reprendrait le mardi 11 avril 1922
pour les 10,000 habitants de la ville et les 20,000
banlieusards des municipalités avoisinantes. Le service
s’établirait graduellement à partir de la ligne de la haute-
ville. La ligne Saint-Joseph (Division Saint-Joseph)
s’activerait le vendredi 14 avril et la ligne Saint-Romuald
(Division Pont de Québec) le jeudi 20 avril. La ligne de la
haute-ville (Division Lévis), longue de 6 km et la ligne
Saint-Joseph, de 4,4 km seraient desservies chacune par
deux tramways passant toutes les 20 minutes. L’unique
tramway de la ligne de Saint-Romuald, d’environ 12 km,
circulerait aux 90 minutes et le tramway restant serait
gardé en réserve.
Nouvel équipement et nouveau garage
Au deuxième semestre de 1922, après avoir mis
de l’ordre dans ses finances, la compagnie commanda
huit nouveaux tramways de type Birney à la Canadian
Brill Co., la livraison étant prévue pour octobre. Au
même moment, du matériel de chasse-neige fut
commandé à l’Ottawa Car Co. et à la Russel
Snowplough Co.
À l’automne de la même année, la compagnie
concluait une entente d’un montant de 50 000 $ avec
Anglin-Norcross Co. pour la construction d’un édifice
abritant un garage de tramways et des ateliers qui seraient
érigés rue Saint-Laurent à environ 1,6 km du traversier
Québec-Lévis. Le bâtiment serait constitué d’une
structure d’acier, de briques et de béton afin de résister
162RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009both the indoors and outdoors of the car barn. Four of the
tracks were for car storage while the remaining two were
in the repair shops.
New Company Name
At the Levis County Railway’s Annual Meeting
on December 22,1924 the company’s name was officially
changed to the Levis Tramways Company. The Directors
report stated that the affairs of the company were in a
satisfactory condition and that there has been a general
improvement of conditions over the previous year. As the
sale of the property and the issuance of the necessary
securities were previously passed, this was simply a
reorganization of the company under a new title and the
rearrangement of its finances of an act passed by the
Quebec Legislature in 1919. Action had been delayed
until 1924 due to the car barn fire of 1921 and the fallout
of events subsequent to the fire. The 1930s were
uneventful for the company even in light of the Great
Depression.
World War II and Affect on LTC
World War II had a significant impact on the city
of Levis with its ship building facilities. The war boosted
industrial production throughout Canada to an all time
high. And Levis was no different. There were shipbuilding
facilities on both sides of the St. Lawrence River and aux incendies. Puis le 7 avril 1923, le quotidien de
Québec, Le Soleil annonça la fin des travaux de
construction du bâtiment. Il ne restait plus qu’à installer
la nouvelle machinerie récemment acquise par la
compagnie. Les tramways devaient occuper l’édifice dès
le mardi suivant. Le bâtiment avait une longueur
d’environ 44,8 m et une largeur de 36,6 m et pouvait
accommoder 25 véhicules répartis sur six voies de 54,9 m
chacune étalées à l’extérieur et à l’intérieur du garage.
Quatre des voies seraient utilisées pour l’entreposage des
tramways et les deux autres pour les ateliers.
Nouveau nom pour la compagnie
Lors de l’assemblée annuelle du 22 décembre
1924 du Lévis County Railway, il fut résolu que désormais
la compagnie porterait le nom de Lévis Tramways
Company. Les rapports des dirigeants démontrèrent que
les affaires de la compagnie s’étaient sensiblement
améliorées depuis les dernières années et que le bilan de
l’année en cours, qui tirait à sa fin, était plutôt satisfaisant.
Le nouveau nom de la compagnie était tout simplement le
reflet de sa nouvelle organisation financière à la suite du
décret émis par la Chambre législative de Québec en
1919, devenu nécessaire à sa survie. Cette décision fut
cependant reportée en raison des conséquences de
l’incendie de 1921. Les années 1930 de déroulèrent sans
incident pour l’entreprise malgré la Grande Dépression.
The car is awaiting passengers on rue Commercial Street opposite the company’s headquarters which is to the left of the
photographer and out of the picture. The building with the clock in the background at the corner of Laurier Street is the Levis Post
Office. This street , which no longer exists, led to the dock to board the ferry to Quebec City. Car #99 was an ex Pennsylvania – New
Jersey car acquired by Levis in 1928. The car lasted until the end of service. Al Paterson Collection
Le Tramway attend ses passagers rue Commercial, en face du siège social de la compagnie, situé hors photo à gauche du
photographe. Ce tramway fut acquis en 1928 de New-Jersey en Pennsylvanie. Il demeura en service jusqu’à la fin. L’édifice
avec une horloge que l’on voit en arrière-plan, situé rue Laurier, est le bureau de poste de Lévis. La rue Laurier, qui n’existe plus
maintenant, menait vers le quai d’embarquement du traversier Québec-Lévis. Collection Al Paterson.
163CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009munitions manufacturing was a significant activity. Plants
were operated 24 hours per day, seven days per week.
Levis Tramways was just one of numerous transportation
properties in Canada called upon to provide greatly
increased service because of the war conditions.
To meet demand as a result of these war
emergency conditions, management had to contend with
twice the number of passengers that used the system in
1939.
In order to meet this increased demand, the
company had to exercise every ingenuity. This included
salvaging, repairing and remodeling streetcar equipment
that had been abandoned many years before. This also
included acquisition of cars from other street railway
properties in Canada and the United States where
available. Also in 1940, the Government of Canada
requested the transit industry to attempt to salvage and
reclaim from scrap all old equipment and material which
could be rendered serviceable. Because a large number of
war industrial workers were compelled to reside in small
outlying municipalities, due to the lack of housing in Levis
proper, additional strain was put on the street railway
system. Unlike some of the newly established war industry
entities, which received government assistance (i.e., 50%
write-offs on investment), transit properties did not as
these additional expenditures were from their own
resources.
Not unlike larger street railway properties such
as the Montreal Tramways Company, who looked beyond
Canadian borders for second hand or new streetcars,
Levis Tramways achieved some degree of success in
acquiring second hand streetcars. In addition to
modifying their freight and express motor car #10, built
by the Laconia Co. in 1903, to a passenger car, the
company was successful in acquiring Quebec Railway
Light & Power Birney car #101 in 1941. It became the
second LTC #100as the first #100 being destroyed in the
1921 fire. They also acquired three Birneys from the
Cornwall Street Railway Light & Power Co. in 1941-42
and renumbered them 101,102 and 103. These operated
in Levis until the end of service. The company was also
successful in acquiring ex Hagerstown & Frederich #49 in
1943. This car became #104. In 1944, Levis Tramways
acquired three Birney cars #204, #214, and #224 from
the Montreal Tramways Company. Their Montreal
numbers and color scheme remained intact until the end
of Levis Tramways’ service in 1946.
End of the War and End of Service
At the end of the war, passenger levels reverted
back to pre-war levels. In 1918, the company had been
given a 28 year franchise to operate streetcars in
Levis.With that period ending, the company decided not Les effets de la Deuxième Guerre
mondiale sur la LTC
La Deuxième Guerre eut un impact important
sur les chantiers navals de Lévis. Elle engendrait un
niveau de production industrielle jamais égalé au
Canada. Il y avait de la construction de navires de part et
d’autre des rives du Saint-Laurent à la hauteur de Lévis
en plus d’une production importante de munitions. Les
usines fonctionnaient 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par
semaine et, à l’instar des autres modes de transport, la
Lévis Tramways dut augmenter considérablement le
service pour répondre à la demande, puisque le nombre
de passagers à transporter passa du simple au double.
L’entreprise dut utiliser des moyens parfois
ingénieux pour répondre à cette crise. Ainsi, en plus
d’augmenter la productivité de ses employés, elle fit
réparer et remit en service des tramways auparavant mis au
rancart et fit l’acquisition d’autres tramways, ceux-ci
provenant d’ailleurs au Canada et aux États-Unis. En
1940, le Gouvernement du Canada ordonna aux
entreprises de transport d’augmenter la productivité et de
récupérer dans les cours de ferraille tous les vieux véhicules
ou autres pièces d’équipement susceptibles d’être
réutilisés. Faute d’espace dans Lévis, beaucoup d’ouvriers
des usines se tournèrent vers les petites municipalités
avoisinantes pour se trouver un logement, ce qui avait pour
effet d’augmenter la tension dans le service que devait offrir
le système de transport. À l’opposé des nouvelles
entreprises industrielles de guerre qui recevaient une aide
gouvernementale (50% de l’investissement), les
compagnies de transport devaient absorber elles-mêmes les
coûts d’exploitation additionnels.
À l’instar d’entreprises plus importantes telles
que la Montréal Tramways Company, la Lévis Tramways
lorgnait outre-frontière afin l’acquérir des tramways,
neufs ou usagés. En plus de modifier son tramway de
marchandises et express no 10, construit par la Laconia
Co. en 1903, en tramway de passagers, la compagnie
acquit avec succès du Québec Railway Light & Power en
1941 le tramway no 101 qui devint le LTC no 100 en
remplacement du premier no 100 détruit lors de
l’incendie de 1921. La compagnie acquit aussi trois
tramways de type Birney de la Cornwall Street Railway
Light & Power Co. entre 1941 et 1942, qui furent
numérotés 101, 102 et 103 et demeurèrent en service
jusqu’à la fin. Par la suite, en 1943, le no 49 de la
Hagerstown & Frederich devint le no 104 de la LTC.
Enfin, trois tramways Birney de la MTC, les nos 204, 214
et 224 s’ajoutèrent au parc de la LTC. Cependant ils
gardèrent leurs numéros et leurs couleurs originaux
jusqu’à la fin du service en 1946.
Fin de guerre, fin de service
À la fin de la guerre l’achalandage du service
revint au niveau d’avant la guerre. En 1918, la compagnie
164RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
This double-truck sweeper (second #4 as first destroyed in 1921 fire) was acquired new in 1922 from the Russell Car &
Snowplough Co. in Ridgeway, Penn. The sweeper is posing in front of the company’s St. Laurent Street car barn in Levis which
opened in 1924. Al Paterson Collection
Le tramway chasse-neige à simple bogie et double balai (c’est le second no 4, le premier ayant été détruit par l’incendie de 1951)
fut acquis en 1922 de la Russel Car & Snowplough Co. à Ridgeway en Pennsylvanie. Le chasse-neige est photographié en face du
garage de la compagnie de la rue Saint-Laurent à Lévis, ouvert en 1924. Collection Al Paterson.to seek renewal of its franchise and without fanfare
streetcar service was terminated on Sunday,
November 24th, 1946 culminating almost 44 years of
sometimes turbulent and discontinuous streetcar service
to the communities of Levis, Bienville, Lauzon and St.
Romuald. Just four days prior, on Wednesday November
20, most of the streetcars were sold to Loubier Metal
leaving only three cars operating in service on Fraser
Street. The remaining assets, which included buses, were
sold to new interests and the company’s name would
subsequently be changed on July 1, 1948 to became La Cie
de Transport de Levis (Levis Transport Company). The
company would be owned by all employees that had
worked for the company for the previous 12 months.
Today in 2009 the company operates as Societe de
Transport Levis.
Author’s Note:
A more comprehensive history of Levis’
streetcar system has been prepared and will be published
by the Bytown Railway Society of Ottawa under the
Traction Heritage series. The book will contain over 50
mostly rare photos, a 1926 fold-out route map, a
passenger and work equipment roster and other charts to
assist the reader in better understanding this quasi
suburban company. The book will be sold at the Exporail
Boutique.avait accordé des franchises de 28 ans pour exploiter les
tramways et décida à l’échéance de ne pas renouveler
l’entente. Ainsi le dimanche 24 novembre 1946, après plus
de 44 ans de déboires de toutes sortes, on retira
définitivement le service de tramway dans les municipalités
de Lévis, Bienville, Lauzon et Saint-Romuald. Déjà, le 2
novembre précédent, la majorité des véhicules avaient été
vendues pour la ferraille à la Loubier Métal. On garda
trois tramways pour desservir la rue Fraser jusqu’au
dimanche suivant. Les avoirs restants de la compagnie,
dont des autobus, furent cédés à de nouveaux intérêts
financiers qui donnèrent naissance le 1er juillet 1948 à la
Compagnie de Transport de Lévis. Cette nouvelle
entreprise appartenait à tous les employés en service
depuis au moins 12 mois. Aujourd’hui, en 2009, la
compagnie porte le nom de Société de transport de Lévis.
Note de l’auteur :
Un document plus exhaustif sur l’histoire des
tramways de Lévis a été réalisé et sera publié par la
Bytown Railway Society d’Ottawa dans la série
« Traction Heritage« . L’ouvrage contiendra plus de 50
photos, pour la plupart rares, une carte géographique de
1926, la liste complète des tramways de passagers et
d’entretien et d’autres tableaux utiles au lecteur pour
mieux connaître cette compagnie aux allures de service de
transport de banlieue. Le livre sera mis en vente à la
boutique d’Exporail.
165CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009
July – August, 2009
BUSINESS CARBy John Godfrey
Edited by David GawleyHERITAGE
CPR Baldwin Diesel 8000 arrives WCRA’s Heritage
Park in SquamishHistoric Baldwin DRS 4-4-1000 diesel electric
locomotive Canadian Pacific # 8000 arrived at the West
Coast Railway Heritage Park on May 15, 2009. The
locomotive was shipped by CPR from Calgary. The unit
made the trip in the company of two SOO grain cars which
were the braking power for the move, as # 8000 did not
have operable brakes. Thus the air hose along the side of
the unit as seen at Coquitlam on May 11, 2009.
This historic unit, built 1948, was one of the first
diesel locomotives in British Columbia, and one of a fleet
of units that dieselized the entire Esquimalt & Nanaimo
operation on Vancouver Island, making it the first totally
dieselized subdivision in Canada.
The 8000 had been cleaned up in Calgary and
then prepared by CPR’s Ogden shops for the journey
west. She departed Calgary on May 9th, was through
Kamloops on May 10, and was in New Westminster on
May 12th. She was interchanged to CN and arrived in
Squamish on the CN freight from North Vancouver
May 15th.CPR # 8000 had been saved after its retirement
by Canadian Pacific and was part of CPR’s historic diesel
locomotive collection. It was officially donated to the
West Coast Railway Association in 2006. WCRA plans to
restore the locomotive cosmetically and display it as part
of its Roundhouse Collection as an early example of the
diesels that changed the face of Canadian railroading
forever.
The steam engine and electric telegraph make the
top 10 greatest scientific inventions of all time list
The Science Museum in London is displaying
models of what it feels are the 10 greatest scientific
inventions in human history to mark its centenary on June
22, 2009.
It chose the steam engine, the X-ray machine,
the electric telegraph, the DNA double helix,
Stephensons Rocket train, the Apollo 10 rocket capsule,
the Model T Ford car and the Pilot ACE computer among
its best objects. The V2 German rocket engine and
penicillin made up the top 10 best scientific inventions
list.
We have selected these 10 objects because they
are hugely significant in world history and (because of)
the impact they had on how we live our lives today, said
Tim Boon, the museums chief curator. The public will be
asked to vote for their favourites during the summer.
Members of the public can cast their votes by
going to the museum in South Kensington or visiting its
website at sciencemuseum.org.uk. (The Star Phoenix)
Canadian National 6213 has moved to Toronto’s
John Street Roundhouse
Canadian National Northern Type 6213, has
idled in the parking lot at the last refuge for orphaned
objects of affection, Exhibition Place, since 1960. Thats
when the railway company donated it to the city. The
black iron horse with white pin-striping and a red window CPR 8000 in service in Victoria in the mid 1950’s, CRHA
Archives, Fonds Kemp.
CPR 8000 in service in Victoria in the mid 1950’s, CRHA
Archives, Fonds Kemp.
Mark Forseille
166RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
chain blocks on each side to allow moderate turns. The
other axle pairs free wheel to follow the steerable pair.

The fun began when a severe turn is made such as
the initial 180º turn out of the Exhibition parking lot onto
Newfoundland Street. That requires manually jacking up
each side of the float and physically turning all load-
bearing wheels 90º or whatever is required, lowering the
float and then attaching a cable from the accompanying
tow truck and simply pulling the rear end of the float
around until its properly lined up, then restoring the
wheel alignments for forward motion.
The other 2 interruptions come when 2 more
pairs of dual axles are unloaded from a following trailer
and installed under the float to give a wider weight
distribution for the sensitive trip over a bridge on the
Lakeshore Blvd. where it passes over Spadina Ave. Once
that part was navigated they were removed again so as not
to make further turns to follow unduly time-consuming.
As for the TTC wires at Bathurst Street, they
were lifted by 2 TTC line trucks who used their repair
platforms to simply push the wires up to clear. This had
been done when the tender was moved too. Local wire
power was turned off during the task and after the last
streetcar had cleared at 1:30am.frame has been lovingly cared for by volunteer rail buffs
who greased its wheels and polished its brass fixtures
while waiting to find it a more suitable home. The Toronto
Railway Heritage Centre will open in July at Roundhouse
Park at the foot of the CN Tower, and thats where the
locomotive has been moved to.
The move took place in two stages: first the coal
tender, then the engine. Each move took several hours.
Chugging over to its dream home, though, was a logistical
nightmare. Together, the engine and its tender weigh
close to 285 tones, so city engineers had to examine the
route to make sure the roads could withstand the load.
We were very cautious with this one because its never
been done before, said Gordon Lok,
capital works co-ordinator for the city.
Height restrictions forced planners to
head east on the elevated westbound
section of the Lake Shore. We
needed to know that bridge can
handle this, Mr. Lok said. Further
examination of the trains route
revealed another potential
engineering issue: the underground
portion of the Rogers Centre below
the intersection of Rees and Bremner.
I didnt know it was there, Mr. Lok
added. Theres also a subterranean
part of the Metro Toronto Convention
Centre over which the train rumbled.
It took time to check everything out,
he said.
To accommodate the engine,
specialty mover Mr. McCulloch
adapted a custom-built float he used
to haul the old Mount Sinai hospital facade in 2004. In his
35 years of moving unusual objects – everything from a
lighthouse in Cape Hatteras, N.C., to the Gem Theatre in
Detroit – the Whitby-based hauler said a steam engine has
always been on his wish list. Were showmen at heart,
and in our small fraternity of specialty movers everybody
tries to outdo one another. It was not just a case of
hauling the locomotive; there were 5 corners to navigate
and the wheels under the float do not turn by any easy
means. The second from the rear set of axles are linked by
a detachable tie rod and it is manually manipulated with The cost of the move is estimated at $150,000,
which Leons Furniture Store will donate as part of a deal
with the city to sell sofas in the old CPR roundhouse.
As chairman of city-run Exhibition Place, deputy
mayor Joe Pantalone is glad to see the engine reunited
with its natural habitat at the rail museum. Exhibition
Place has artifacts and buildings that people dont know
what to do with and were happy to accommodate them
until they find their proper place. (Globe and Mail +
Robert Sandusky)Both photos, R. J. Sandusky
167CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009
Cowichan logging locomotive comes homeCPR Nelson British Columbia station restorationThe Nelson and District Chamber of Commerce
is in the process of finalizing a Memorandum of
Understanding with CPR that will lead to acquisition and
rehabilitation of Nelsons historic CPR rail station. The
project is a premier opportunity for the development of a
Regional Visitor Gateway for the West Kootenay region,
while catalyzing development of one of the last significant
expanses of vacant land in Nelson.
The overall project vision and benefits are clearly
in alignment with City of Nelsons mandates and goals
with respect to Tourism, Planning, Heritage, and
Economic Development and Diversification. The Station
project will fully restore one of the areasmost treasured
landmarks, designated in 1992 as a Class A heritage
structure due to its historical and architectural
significance. Inside the building, a full service Regional
Visitor Information Centre will complement an
interpretive display that showcases the areas character,
businesses, investment opportunities, heritage and
cultural diversity.
The Centre will feature a special Made in the
Kootenays marketing showcase for high margin value
added export business. Next door, new offices for the
Chamber of Commerce, the Nelson Economic
Development Partnership, and a new Regional
Destination Marketing Organization will be housed. A
range of private and public sector uses will fill the
remaining portions of the building, adding to the vibrancy
of this new place of business.
In the past 12 months the Chamber has been
actively completing the due diligence necessary to ensure
this project can be financially self sustaining. Soon the
Chamber will be establishing a community committee to
continue to work towards the restoration of the CPR Rail
Station. The committee will provide direction and make
recommendations to the Board of Directors of the NDCC
for the renovation and occupation of the CPR Station
House and surrounding property. (Nelson Star)An engine of Cowichan, BCs logging history
returns to the valley this fall. The Mayo Lumber Company
Shay No. 3 locomotive will be back on display at the BC
Forest Discovery Centre after more than a decade on loan
to the Kettle Valley Railway.
Originally the move was done to start up the
historical steam rides for the Kettle Valley Railway
Society and then they obtained their own locomotive,
explained Vicki Holman, manager at the BC Forest
Discovery Centre. We feel its important to maintain (the
Mayo Shay), so were going to bring it home and maintain
it.”
The move which was made possible thanks to a
$40,000 grant from the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and
the Arts will take some months as the geared steam
locomotive needs to be dismantled and trucked back to
the island. . This is one of seven steam locomotives, so we
have six others in various spots, added Holman. What
we want to do is collect five of our seven locomotives and
put on a steam exhibit, but thats part of our long-term
plan; so bringing home our Mayo Shay is the first step in
that long-term plan.
The Mayo Lumber Company purchased the
Shay No. 3 in 1924 to haul logs out of Paldi. It was one of
the largest wood-burning Shay locomotives ever built and
was the first superheated Shay used in BC. It was retired
in the early 50s and was donated to the local forestry
museum in 1967 before being loaned to the Kettle Valley
Railway in 1995. (Cowichan News Leader And Pictorial)
E&N Nanaimo station restoration ready to go
The owners of Nanaimos historic E&N train
station are presenting a unique opportunity for
businesses. The Island Corridor Foundation is recruiting
companies to do business in a fully restored heritage train
station nestled in the heart of the Old City Quarter. Doug
Backhouse, ICF executive director, said the final designs
for the $2.5-million project are complete and approved by CPR Archives David Layland
168RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
celebrate the 100th anniversary of the bridge, more than
130 special light fixtures will be attached to its cement
pedestals this summer, each shining upwards as a beacon
to illuminate the intricate steel webwork below its train
track surface. The bridge was constructed at a time
Lethbridge was gaining a reputation as a coal mining town
and needed rail access.
Completed on June 22, 1909, and officially opened
on November 1 by CPR, it is 1.6 kilometres long and 96
metres high. Del Allen, president of D. A. Electric, the
company contracted to affix the lights, says his company
hopes to begin work on the lighting as early as next month,
and is planning to have it entirely installed by September
5th, the date of the centennial celebration. After the
centennial, the lighting is expected to be turned on for most
major events and special occasions. (Calgary Herald)
Hull – Wakefield Steam Train’s first run since
washoutParks Canada as suitable for a historic site restoration.
Were basically where we could start the development
process, he said.
The one thing that is missing is we need to find
some market tenants for the building. Backhouse said
more than $800,000 of the money needed is expected to
come from VIA Rails insurance. The rest of the
restoration will be financed through commercial
mortgage and lease agreements for 5,500 square feet of
commercial and office space in the station.
In August 2007, a fire partially gutted the 88-
year-old station on Selby Street. Fire officials determined
the early morning blaze was arson. VIA Rail, which leased
the building to use as a waiting area for train passengers,
confirmed its insurance would cover the damage. The
foundation took the opportunity to jump-start plans to
fully restore the aging building. The central portion of the
station will still be a waiting area for train passengers.
(Nanaimo News Bulletin)CRHA Archives, Fonds Kemp
Lethbridge takes shine to famous viaduct
Lethbridge will take on a healthy glow this fall as
its most recognizable landmark, the High Level Bridge,
will illuminate the night with 1,000-watt lights. To A day before its return, the operators were still
on tenterhooks – the permit to operate the Hull –
Wakefield Steam Train arrived only the day before
scheduled operation from the Québec Transport
Commission; it took an intervention in extremis by Norm
McMillan MNA to get the bureaucracy finally to act.
Swedish loco SJ 909 built in 1903 alone at the
head of the train, gleaming and with a full head of steam,
pulled the train with 200 passengers aboard out of the
Hull (Gatineau) station promptly at 10:00 am Saturday
May 9th. Noteworthy guests included Stéphanie Vallée
MNA and Maryse Gaudrault MP as well the Chair of the
Friends of the Steam Train.
Your co-chair rode the train too and noted that
there were people all along the line waving, some holding
signs welcoming the train back. Along the whole length of
the Village of Wakefield people lining the sidewalks were
the shop-keepers and their clients, some applauding! The
Mayor, councillors and the head of Commerce Wakefield
were on hand to greet the train and its people, with
CBC/Radio Canada filming the scene.
Stephen LowHarry Gow
169CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009
finishing the restoration of Boston & Maine 3713. The
locomotive has been undergoing restoration at
Steamtown since 1994 under a partnership agreement
with the Lackawanna-Wyoming Valley chapter of the
National Railway Historical Society. The volunteer,
nonprofit organization has been performing work on the
locomotive as it raises money.
The restoration of the Boston & Maine
locomotive, which will cost well over $1 million when its
all said and done, could be completed as early as 2011 or
2012 if everything goes well, Mr. Hagen said. Thats
barring any unforeseen circumstances, he said of the
timetable. Sometimes you find problems you didnt
anticipate.
He said that the parks long-range plan is to have
three mainline locomotives – the B&M 3713 and the two
Canadian locomotives in operational condition. It just
takes time, and it takes money. (Scranton Times)
PASSENGEROn the way up, we saw the two notorious
landslips with large stones containing heaped and
smoothed borrow-material. The new bridge at Farm
Point was pronounced a success by Manager André
Groulx, who checked it from the steps of the catering
coach. His wife Louise was satisfied with the operation of
the wireless link for the Interac/credit card machine, and
Jean Gauthier, head of maintenance of way had a smile
from ear to ear as did engineman Ches Banks. The band
on the train was happy to play and sing Gatineau Valley
folklore – it is composed of area young people who have
been with us in previous years.
To quote our late Friends director Ernie
Mahoney Onward and upward!. (Harry Gow, co-chair)
Steamtown taking ex-CPR locomotive out of service
Steamtown National Historic Site will take one
of its two mainline steam locomotives out of service later
this year for a federally mandated inspection and
overhaul, leaving the park with a single
operating steam engine until at least
midway through the 2010 season.
With the sidelining of
Canadian Pacific 2317, the site will
make a hard push to complete the
lengthy restoration of the Boston &
Maine 3713 locomotive and to get its
Baldwin 26 locomotive back into
service, said Harold H. Kip Hagen Jr.,
Steamtown superintendent.
We are starting to see
daylight when we are going to have a
stable of locomotives running out of
here, Mr. Hagen said. Its still a few
years down the road.
F e d e r a l R a i l r o a d
Administration regulations require
operating steam locomotives to
undergo a major inspection, which
essentially involves stripping them
down to the bare boiler after 1,472 service days.
Steamtown anticipates CP 2317 will hit that threshold and
have to be removed from service sometime this fall.
That means Canadian National locomotive 3254
will be the only working steam engine at the site until the
Baldwin 26 comes back into service, probably during the
summer or fall of 2010, Mr. Hagen said.
The Baldwin, a smaller engine used as a yard
shuttle at the park, has been out of commission since it
went into Steamtowns shops for an FRA-mandated
inspection in 2000. Major problems were discovered at
that time, including a crack in the crown sheet on the back
of the boiler.
Mr. Hagen said before Steamtown initiates any
major work on CP 2317, it will focus its attention on CN to re-equip, refurbish Agawa Canyon tour train
CN and the Sault Ste. Marie Economic
Development Corp. (SSMEDC) recently reached an
agreement to acquire locomotives and passenger cars for
the Agawa Canyon Tour Train that runs north of Sault Ste.
Marie into Canadian Shield country.
CN, the operator of the tour train, is acquiring
three Electro-Motive F-40 locomotives, eight coaches,
two café/lounge cars, three club cars and a presentation
coach from Ansco Investment Company of Denver, CO.
This equipment had been used on the Ski Train which ran
between Denver, CO and Winter Park since 1940, though
the equipment which the CN has acquired has only been Don’s “Froth” Via Canadian Railway Observations
170RAIL CANADIEN • 531JUILLET – AOÛT 2009
Subdivision between Toronto and Ottawa. In addition,
major renovations worth some $500,000 were made to the
Ottawa station, which will allow VIA to serve customers
more efficiently and will address operational and safety
needs. (Canada NewsWire / Ottawa Sun)
New Yorks Amtrak plan could boost tourism
President Barack Obamas plan to stimulate the
U.S. economy by investing heavily in train infrastructure
could boost U.S. tourism to Montreal and benefit
Montrealers who visit New York City. Almost 2.5 hours
could be cut from the travel time of Amtraks Montreal-
New York City train service, which could move its
operations to Lucien LAllier station from Central
Station, according to a plan put forward by New York
State. The proposal – included in a state plan aimed at
qualifying for some of the $8 billion set aside by Obama
for train investments – aims to double ridership between
Montreal and Albany, the segment of the Montreal-New
York City service the state subsidizes.
The goals: reduce highway congestion, energy
use and greenhouse-gas emissions, and promote tourism
and economic development.
Known as the Adirondack, the Amtrak train
travels daily between Montreals Central Station and
Penn Station in Manhattan. The 600-kilometre trip is
scheduled as an 11-hour trip. One-way fare is $62 U.S.
The train, which travels through the Hudson River valley
and Adirondack Mountains, is one of the 10 most scenic
train trips in the world, according to National Geographic
Traveler magazine.
Amtraks timetable says the 385-kilometre
Montreal-Albany leg of the trip takes eight hours and 10
minutes. That same leg of the trip takes about 3.7 hours by
car. New York wants train travel to take 6.5 hours. Last
year, 112,000 travelers rode the Adirondack, an 11-per-
cent jump from 2007.
To attract more passengers, the trip time must be
shortened and the train made more reliable, New York
says. The Adirondack is late 56 per cent of the time,
mostly because of track problems and border delays that
can stop the train for up to two hours. To cut travel time
and improve reliability, New Yorks plan calls for millions
of dollars in infrastructure improvements, including
additional tracks in some areas. It also suggests
eliminating the stop at the U.S. border by handling
customs and immigration in Montreal.
Amtrak Adds Second Cascades Train

A second Amtrak Cascades passenger train will
travel between Seattle and Vancouver during the 2010
Winter Games, but Canadian border officials are still used since 1988. The equipment became available when
Ansco Investment decided that they could no longer
support the losses that the Ski Train had been
experiencing.
CN plans to refurbish the Ansco cars, as well as
two existing passenger dome cars, a $10-million project
using funds jointly supplied by CN and the Northern
Ontario Heritage Fund Corporation (NOHFC). The re-
equipped tour train was expected to be ready to enter
service when the tour season began in mid-June, and
refurbishments will be completed during the coming
season. The upgrades will enable the train to
accommodate more than 900 people.
Under the agreement,between CN and
NOHFC, CN will own the revitalized fleet, as well as take
ownership of 26 obsolete passenger cars it currently leases
for the tour train service. CN plans to sell the obsolete
cars and use the proceeds for marketing and/or
enhancements to the tour facilities and services. The
SSMEDC will manage concessions on the tour train and
use revenue to enhance onboard customer service.
The Agawa Canyon Tour Train is the chief
tourism draw for the Sault Ste. Marie area, generating an
estimated $30 million annually in economic activity for
the city and region, according to CN. The train provides
passengers a one-day wilderness excursion 114 miles
north of Sault Ste. Marie through a region of northern
lakes and rivers, granite rock formations and mixed
forest. (David Gawley)
Government of Canada and Via Rail complete
upgrades
Major improvements to passenger rail service in
the Ottawa area will make VIA Rail Canada faster and
more reliable for passengers.
Canadas Transport Minister John Baird, Donald
Wright, Chairman of the Board at VIA Rail Canada, and
President and CEO Paul Côté, announced over $13
million of improvements are now complete. This
investment is part of the $516M announced for VIA Rail
in 2007 for capital requirements. This second phase of the
revitalization plan will help VIA Rail consolidate
previous investments and continue renewing its assets
while securing VIAs plans for continued growth. I
applaud the Government of Canada for its recognition of
the potential of passenger rail through additional
investments in VIAs network, said Wright. It is in this
spirit that we have planned for the wisest possible use of
these funds.
Upgrades so far on VIAs network include a
$12.5M investment in the Alexandria Subdivision,
between Ottawa and Montreal as well as similar
improvements currently underway on the Smiths Falls
171CANADIAN RAIL • 531JULY – AUGUST 2009
BACK COVER TOP: Relics at Woodman! Ex CPR 4-4-0 No 3 crosses her former employer’s double track main line on the CNR Oak
Point Sub at Woodman bound for Grosse Isle, the terminus for today’s Prairie Dog Central excursion. Woodman tower stands like
a sentinel protecting No 3’s passage. The weather and lighting bring to mind farmer and singer-songwriter Rick Neufeld’s
wonderful song “Moody Manitoba Morning, made popular by Canadian band “The Bells” in the nineteen-seventies. Stan J.
Smaill.
COUVERTURE ARRIÈRE HAUT: Une relique à Woodman! La locomotive 4-4-0, ex-CPR no 3, traverse la double voie principale de
son ancien propriétaire, en roulant sur celle du CNR à la section Oak Point de Woodman en direction de Grosse Isle, le terminus
actuel pour les excursions du Prairie Dog Central. La tour de contrôle de Woodman protège comme une sentinelle le passage de
la no 3. Le temps et l’éclairage ambiant nous rappelle le chant « Moody Manitoba Morning « du fermier et chansonnier Rick
Neufeld, popularisé par le groupe des années 1970, « The Bells« . Stan J. Smaill.
BACK COVER BOTTOM: Highball Woodman, No 1! CPR No. 1 is westbound with a vengeance for Portage La Prairie as the sun is
sinking in the west. Woodman’s semaphore signals have been placed in “automatic” mode and will operate as ABS signals until
Earl Birch comes back on duty in the morning. Today, the Woodman interlocking is controlled by Rugby Tower in Winnipeg. Stan J.
Smaill.
COUVERTURE ARRIÈRE BAS: La no 1 à toute vapeur vers Woodman! La locomotive no 1 du CPR se dirige avec détermination en
direction ouest vers Portage La Prairie sous un coucher du soleil. Les signaux du sémaphore de Woodman ont été réglés en mode
automatique et fonctionneront comme des signaux ABS jusqu’au retour de Earl Birch au matin. Aujourd’hui, l’enclenchement de
Woodman est contrôlé de la tour de Rugby à Winnipeg. Stan J. SmaillLes Cèdres CPR intermodal project approved by
Quebec
CPRs long-range plan to move its intermodal
freight operations off the Island of Montreal to
Vaudreuil-Soulanges has moved another step closer to
realization. The Commission de la Protection des Terres
Agricoles du Québec has given its final approval to the
dezoning of 139 hectares of farmland in Les Cèdres.
Together with the 172 hectares CPR already has, its
plenty for the 311-hectare inland port the rail carrier
plans to open by 2011.
In a 23-page decision released recently. the
CPTAQs Guy Lebeau, President, Rejean St-Pierre, VP
and commissioner Jacques Cartier concluded that the
size of the site appears to be reasonable after having
compared it to similar operations in Vaughan, Ontario.
The authorization will also enable Industries Soulanges
ltée to use the land to store railway trailers as well as other
merchandise. The CPTAQ judged that the intermodal
project would have a positive impact in the financial
development of the region.
According to CPR the railyard will generate
more than half a billion dollars annually. Thedecision is
culmination of two months of deliberation that included a
public hearing in February. The permit was granted with
only one condition: that the project not cause any
problems with land drainage. (Hudson/St. Lazare
Gazette)balking at extending the service in the future.
Scott Witt, rail and marine director for the
Washington state Department of Transportation, said
details were still being finalized. Canadian Border Services
Agency has agreed to waive inspection fees for passengers
arriving in Vancouver during the Olympic period. The
proposed Amtrak Cascades service would see a second
train leaving Seattle in the afternoon and arriving in
Vancouver at 22:45.with the return train to Seattle leaving
Vancouver at about 07:30. This would complement the
current train, which now leaves Seattle at 07:45 and arrives
in Vancouver at 11:35, with the return trip leaving
Vancouver at 17:45 and arriving in Seattle at 22:05. Amtrak train 761 (Vancouver, British Columbia to Seattle
Washington) led by #455 was caught southbound at MP
140.5, New Westminster Subdivision, Brownsville, B.C. on
April 11, 1999. Ian Smith
Amtrak train 761 (Vancouver, British Columbia to Seattle
Washington) led by #455 was caught southbound at MP
140.5, New Westminster Subdivision, Brownsville, B.C. on
April 11, 1999. Ian Smith

Demande en ligne