Consulter nos archives / Consult our archives

La majorité des documents conservés par le Centre d'archives et de documentation de l'ACHF sont disponibles pour consultation.

Most of the documents kept by the ACHF Archives and Documentation Center are available for consultation.

Canadian Rail 525 2008

Lien vers le document

Canadian Rail 525 2008

130
ISSN 0008·4875
Postal Permit No. 40066621
CANADIAN RAIL
PUBLISHED BI-MONTHLY
BY THE CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION
TABLE OF CONTENTS
A Concise History of the CRHA, The Museum Era / Un apen;u de lhistoire de lACHF ……………………… 131
CRHA Preserved Equipment Photo Gallery / Galerie de photos des pieces conservees au musee de I ACHF ………. 150
FRONT COVER: On the morning of October 9, 1961 Canadian Pacific Railways train Number 202 en route to Sherbrooke, Quebec
stopped at the Saint
Constant station to unload passengers, including volunteers heading for the first work day at the CRHAs
Canadian Railway Transportation
Museum (later Canadian Railway Museum and Exporail). CRHA Archives, FondAngus # 3372
PAGE CO UVERTURE : Le 9 octobre 1961 en matinee, le train no 202 du Canadien-Pacifique a destination de She/brooke, san·ete a
la gare de Saint-Constant pour y laisser descendre des voyageurs, palmi eux des benevoles qui allaient entre prendre leur premiere
journee de travail au Musee canadien du transport fe/To via
ire de lA CHF (plus tard, lemplacement sera connu comme le Musee
fe/Toviaire canadien et Exporail. (Archives de lA CHF, Fonds
Angus No 3372
BELOW-The earliest l.arge artefacts acquired by the CRHA were this pair of wheels from the Albian Mine in Nova Scotia, a wooden sign.al
mast from Quebecs Eastern Townships and three U rails. These items were among many stored at Donald Angus summer home at
Senneville, Quebec until the
museum could accommodate them. CRHAArchives.
CJ-DESSOUS:
Les premieres grosses pieces de collection acquises parlACHF comprenaient une paire de rou.es provenant de la Mine
Albian en Nouvelle-Ecosse,
un m!i.t de sign.alisation des Cantons de lEst et trois longueurs de rail en U. Pendant plusieurs annees, ces
pieces et plusieurs autres furent entreposees
a la residence dete de Donald Angus Senneville QC) en attendant que le musee puisse les
accueillil: (Archives de lA CHF)
For your membership in the CRHA, which
includes a subscription to Canadian Rail,
write to:
CRHA, 110
Rue St-Pierre, St. Constant,
Que. J5A 1G7
Membership Dues for 2008:
In Canada: $45.00 (including all taxes)
United States: $43.00 in U.S. funds.
Other Countries: $80.00 Canadian funds. Canadian
Rail is continually in need of news,
stories, historical data, photos, maps and other
material. Please send all contributions to
Peter Murphy, X1-870 Lakeshore Road, Dorval,
QC H9S 5X7, email: psmurphy@videotron.ca.
No payment can be made for contributions, but
the contributor will be given credit for material
submitted. Material will be returned to the
contributor if requested. Remember Knowledge
is of little value unless it is shared with others.
INTERIM CO·EDITORS:
Peter Murphy, Douglas N.W. Smith
ASSOCIATE EDITOR (Motive Power):
Hugues W. Bonin
LAYOUT: Gary McMinn
PRINTING: Impression Paragraph
DISTRIBUTION: Joncas Postexperts Inc.
The CRHA may be reached at its web site: www.exporail.org or by telephone at (450) 638-1522
JULY -AUGUST 2008
A Concise History
of the CRHA
By Stephen Wray and Peter Murphy
Part 3
THE MUSEUM ERA
The acquisition of two wheel and axle sets from a
primitive coal car
of the Albion Rail Road which began
serving the mines
of the General Mining Association in
the Stellarton, Nova Scotia area in the 1830s, a signal mast
from the
Eastern Townships, and Montreal tram Number
274 in 1950, motivated the CRHA to consider
establishing a formal railway museum. Initial plans for a
proposed museum were discussed between Leonard
Seton,
QC and Orner S.A. Lavallee in Leonards living
room
in Lachine, Quebec. Other directors and members
were approached and the project gathered steam.
Meanwhile requests for donations
of other streetcars
were made and, in most cases, granted as early passenger
cars employed
as work cars in 1950were being scrapped.
The Canadian National Railways collection
began
in 1955 when the Association requested one, and
received two, Montreal and Sou them Counties
interurbans -Number 104 and 611. These cars were still
in regular service at that time!
The M&SC was an
interurban subsidiary of Canadian Na tional tha t provided
commuter service from McGill Street in Montreal, across
the Victoria Bridge, to St. Lambert, Marieville and
Granby on Montreals South Shore.
On June 19, 1955 all
M&SC operations on the Island
of Montreal (McGill
Street terminal) ended. Cars 104 and
611 were left behind
at McGill Street; the other cars were either brought over
to Saint Lambert for continued service,
or scrapped at
Pointe St. Charles.
The MTC agreed to store the two
interurbans at Youville shops along with the 274, which
was already there.
All M&SC operations ended in
October 1956.
Our first steam locomotive, E.B. Eddy 0-4-0T
Number 2, was stored at G. M. Gest in Dorval, Quebec
after its acquisition in 1956. The Canadian Pacific portion
of the collection began in 1958, when the Association took
possession of the Business
Car Saskatchewan, thereby
preserving a vehicle that was used as the office of Sir
William Cornelius Van
Horne during the construction of
much of the CPR in Western Canada.
The Saskatchewan is one of the most
significant pieces in the collection as it carried Sir William
Van
Horne, Sir Stanford Fleming and Donald A. Smi th to
Craigellachie, British Columbia, to the driving
of the last
spike in the transcontinental line on November
7, 1885.
After its arrival from Toronto, the Dominion Bridge
Company
in Lachine, Quebec provided temporary
131 CANADIAN RAIL· 525
Un aper~u de
lhistoire de
l ACHF
Par Stephen Wray et Peter Murphy
Texte traduit en
fran~ais par Denis Vallieres,
Traduction
de descriptions de photos par Denis Latour
Troisieme partie
LEMUSEE
En 1950, lAssociation canadienne dhistoire
ferroviaire (ACHF) fit lacquisition de deux roues et
dun
essieu dun ancien wagonnet de charbon que lAlbion
Rail Road avait utilise vers 1830
pour les mines de la
General Mining Association
a Stellarton, en Nouvelle­
Ecosse, ainsi que
dun mat de signalisation provenant des
Cantons de lEst
et dun tramway de Montreal, Ie No 274.
A la suite de ces achats, I Association se pencha
serieusement sur Iidee dimplanter un musee ferroviaire.
Dans son salon
a Lachine, au Quebec, Leonard Seton
discuta ainsi longuement avec Orner
S. A. Lavallee de
divers plans de musee.
Dautres administrateurs et
membres se joignirent a eux et Ie projet prit de lampleur.
Entretemps, on presenta des demandes de dons de
tramways. Ces vehicules anciens ayant dabord servi au
transport de passagers
et souvent, par la suite, a
lentretien, etaient souvent concedes puisque, en 1950,
ils
devaient de toute maniere etre demanteles.
La collection
du Canadien National debuta en
1955 lorsque,
apres avoir demande un tramway
interurbain a la
Montreal & Southern Counties,
lAssociation en
re~ut deux, les Nos 104 et 611, qui etaient
dailleurs encore en service! La M&SC Mait une filiale
du CN
et fournissait un service de transport de banlieue :
a partir de la rue McGill, a Montreal, elle empruntait
Ie
pont Victoria pour desservir sur la rive sud les villes de
Saint-Lambert, Marieville
et Granby. Tout transport a
partir du terminus McGill cessa
Ie 19 juin 1955. Les
voitures 104
et 611 demeurerent rue McGill tandis que les
autres furent deplacees, soit
pour continuer Ie service a
partir de Saint-Lambert, soit
pour etre detruites a Pointe
Saint-Charles. La Commission de transport de Montreal
(CTM) accepta
dentreposer les Nos 104 et 611 dans ses
ateliers dYouville pres du tramway No 274, qui sy
trouvait deja. Tous les services de la M&SC prirent fin
detinitivement en octobre 1956.
Notre
premiere locomotive a vapeur, une 0-4-0T
arborant
Ie No 2 de la E. B. Eddy, fut entreposee chez G.
M. Gest a Dorval apres son acquisition en 1956.
La
collection du Canadien Pacifique debuta en 195810rsque
l Association prit possession de
la voiture de fonction
Saskatchewan, utilisee
par Sir William Cornelius Van
Horne durant la majeure partie de la construction du
CPR dans IOuest canadien.
Cette locomotive est lune des pieces les plus
significatives de la collection puisquelle transporta Sir
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
The CRHA s first steam locomotive was E.B. Eddy number
2, this 0-4-0T was built by Montreal Locomotive Works in
1925
and was stored at G.M. Gests Construction Company
premises
in Dorval until it could be accommodated at the
museum. CRHAArchives, FondAngus
# 3992.
La premiere locomotive d vapeur de IACHF fut la Numc,o
2 de a Compagnie E.B.Eddy. Cette machine, construite aux
ateliers de
la Montreal Locomotive en 1925, Jut entreposee
sur les tenains de
la compagnie G.M. Gest Construction, ii
DOIval, jusqu d ce que Ie musee puisse laccueilliJ: (Archives
de IACHF, FondsAngus
No 3992)
storage space. Ottawa streetcar Number 696, which had
been purchased from the scrapper and moved to
Montreal, was held at Canadian Allis Chalmers, also in
Lachine. This car was returned to OC Transpo in 1989
and is now undergoing a major restoration to
operating
condition by a group of volunteers.
Every piece
of equipment in the CRHA
collection has a story to tell pursuant to its acquisition.
Unfortunately some choice pieces were missed for
:arious reasons. Others were a near miss. One example
IS ~ontreal Pay as You Enter tram 859 which, despite
bemg on the MTCs to be saved list, was unfortunately
partially scrapped by accident.
The car was pulled from
the scrap line, it was later moved to Senneville,
Quebec
where it was restored by the Angus family, and then
returned to the museum.
THE STORY OF CAR 3~
. -In the-early 1950s with CPRs wooden passenge~
and business car fleet being scrapped, the CPR offered
·private
car 37 to the CRHA for preservation. A fiim
condition
of the donation was that the car had to be
removed from CPRproperty forthwith. The CRHA had
no place to store the car and unfortunately (or perhaps
fortunately as events turned out) we could not accept the
donation. By the mid 1950s, the CRHA has streetcars in
storage at various locations across eastern Canada
including Cornwall and Ottawa, Ontario, Montreals
MTCYouville shops, and Rothesay, New Brunswick.
.. On September 12, 1958, our member Mr.
Leonard Seton Q.c. was in Toronto to attend a meeting of
the Canadian Bar Association at the Royal York Hotel. 132
JUILLET -AOUT 2008
William Van Horne, Sir Stanford Fleming et Donald A.
Smith a Craigellachie, en Colombie-Britannique, pour la
pose du dernier crampon sur la ligne transcontinentale, Ie
7 novembre 1885. Apres son arrivee de Toronto la
voiture fut temporairement installee sur Ie terrain d~ la
Dominion Bridge a Lachine.
Le tramway No 696
dOttawa, achete
dun ferrailleur, fut lui aussi achemine a
Montreal et entrepose a la Canadian Allis Chalmers
egalement a Lachine.
Le vehicule fut retourne en 1989 ~
OC Transport dOttawa et est main tenant en voie de
restauration majeure par un groupe de benevoles.
Chaque vehicule de la collection de I ACHF a
une histoire reliee a son acquisition. Malheureusement,
pour une raison ou une autre, certains nont pas eu la
chance
de faire partie de cette collection. Dautres ont Me
sauves
de justesse, par exe.mple Ie tramway Pay as You
Enter No 859 de la CTM. Etiquete « a sauvegarder », il a
ete partiellement demoli, pour etre ensuite transporte a
Senneville au
Quebec, ou il a ete restaure par la famille
Angus avant d
etre remis au Musee.
_ LHISTOlRE ~E LA VOITURE No 38
-Au debutd,es annees 1950, Ie CPRentrepfit dese
departirde ses voihmis:de passagers et de ses voitures de
fonc~ion construites en bois, en les eJ1Voyant a la ferraille.
eentreptise offrit a I ACHF )a voiture No 37 pour
-preseJ;Vation a .Ia· condition:quell~ .soitpromptement
retiree de sa prQPliete, Malheurellsement faute
despace pour leriiteposer IACHF neut daut:e choix
gue de refuser-Ibffre.~ Au milieu des annees 1950,
I ACHFpossedait deja plusieurs tramways entreposes a .
differents eridroits dans
lest du Cana:Cla, dont Cornwall
en Ontario, les ateliers Youville
d~,)a CTM deM~ntreal
Ottawa et·Rothesay au J>louvea~-Brunswick: Cependaht:
JAssociation navait jamais envisage
dentreposer un
vehicule ferroviairepleinegrandeur.
Le 12 septembre 1958, Leonard Seron .du
Quebec, participa
aune rencontre de la Canadiah:Bar
Association a lMtel.Royal York d~ Toronto. A un
moment,
iI sesquiva dune reunion poui· aller:~fureter a la
rotoude et au triage du CPR, rue John. Une voiture de
fonctio~ ,en bois, avec des vestibules ouverts a chaque
extremJ,te et
arborant Ie nl!p)ero 38, attira son attention.
Ayailt
en tete la pefte retente .de la voiture No 37 par
IACHF, Leonard demanda la permission ali chef de .
triage dinspecter
et ~k photographier Ie vehicule, tant a
lexterieur qua Iintetieur.
Le cheJlui expliqua que la
yoiture etait destinee aux ateliers Angus
de Montrealafin
dy etre de~olie avec dauttes voitures similaires construites
en bois. . . . _. .
Leonard retour,na. aussitOt alh6tel pour
telephoner a Orner Lavalle~,membie de lACHF et
directeur OU Service de paie au CPR aMo~treal. Orner
comprit
aussitMque cette voiture etait la Sa~katchew~~
la voitutede fonctiondeSir William Van Horne. II fit e~
JULY -AUGUST 2008
He skipped one of the committee meetings and walked
across the
street and down to CPRs John Street
Roundhouse and yards to see what was up.
Of particular interest was a wooden business car,
complete with open platforms at either end
of the car,
numbered
38. With memories fresh from the CRHAs
loss
of car 37, Leonard sought out the yardmaster. He
waS granted permission to visit the car and, he inspected
and photographed both its exterior and interior.
The
yardmaster told him that the car was scheduled to be sent
to Angus shops in Montreal for scrapping with
other
wooden equipment. ,
Leonard returned to the Royal York
Hotel and
immediately telephoned long time
CRHA member and
Director the late
Omer Lavallee, who worked in the
CPRs paymasters department in Montreal. .
Omer
immediately recognized car 38 as, being the
Saskatchewan, Sir William Van Hornes private car. He
told Leonard that he would request that the scrapping
order be rescinded immediately.
~The car was.set aside,
and donated to the
CRHA with the same condition that it
rriust
be removed from CPRpropertyforthwith.
By good fortune,~eonard had a contact at Jhe,
Dominion Bridge CompanyiD Lachine -JvIs.
May Parr,
the private secretary to-the President,·
Mr~Taylor-Bailey.
, When he explained the situation and the need to find a
1 temporary storage site for the car foraJew years, Ms. Parr
told Leonard to
write a letter to the President and she
would put on
top of his mail pile. This was done and a
favourable response
wapeceived back from Mr. Taylor-
Bailey! . , _
,
. the car was, soon delivered and placed within
sight
of DomiriionBridges head office building where
.
Ms. Pim kept an eye on it from her office window. There
the car was cleaned and maintained by CRHA members.
On one occasion, itwas the venue for alea for members of
the Lachine Historical SoCiety. The Gar resided at
Dominion Bridge ul1tiHt could be movedalid put under
cover at the Canadian Railway
MUseUl:n circa 1963.
. This
is but one example of how a significant
Canadian railway artifact was saved, partially
by sheer
luck, dogged determination
by a small group ofCRHA
members, and the kind co-operation of a sympathetic
corporate executive,
It must be recognized that railway preservation
in the 1950s was not
in vogue. Scrap lines were
everywhere -if it was wood, it got burned; if it was steel, it
got cut up. CNRs Turcot yards, CPRs Angus Shops,
MTCs Youville Shops, were
all beehives of scrapping
activity. Why would you want to spare this piece
of junk
was the cry
of the day!
Fortunately the CRHA had friends on the inside
-the late Richard Binns at the MTC, Orner Lavallee at
CPR and the late Norman Lowe at CNR All three, who
were noted railway historians
in their own right,
133
Leonard Seton on the
back platform after
inspecting the, car.
Leonard Seton.
CANADIAN RAIL • 525
Leonard Seton photographie surla plate-forme GlTiere de la
voiture Saskatchewan, suite a linspection de la celebre
. voiture. (Leonard
Seton)
sorte quon la retire immediatement de la liste de celles
,
vouees3 la ferraflle. Levehiculefut aussit6t mis de cote
et donne 3 IACHF
a]a condition quil soit retire de la
propriete du CPR rapidentent.
. , Par chance,
Leonard connaissait ,des gens,
influents a la
cbmpagnieDominion Bildge. II
communiqua avec· Mile Parr, secreta ire privee dil
president TaylorBailey, et lui expliqua Ie probleme : la <
recherchedun endroit temporaire pourgarer la voiture
38 pendant quelques annees.Mlle Parr proposa a
Leonarddecrire une lettre3 M.Bailey. Puis die pla~a·-·
celle-ci sur Ie dessus de la pile de courrier de son patron,
: quiy repondit tout de suitefavorablement.
, La voiture fut aussitot Iivree et installee gevant
Iedlfice du siegesocial
de la DominionBridge, a Lachine
-Mile Parr
soffritpour la survejller de Iq. fenetre de son
bureau!.
Ellefut nettoyee.etentretenue par des membres
de lACHF, et
servitcomme salon de·the pour·la Societe
historique de Lachine. Elle demeura ,3
laDomiriion
Bridge jusqua son installation ao Musee ferroviaire
canadien vers 1963.
Voila qui illustre
bi.encomment un, artefact
important du chemin de fer canadien a pu etre
sauvegarde avec un peu de chance, mais sui:
toutgrace 3 la
determination dun
petit groupe de membres,de lACHF
et 3 Iaimable collaboratiol1 dul1 directeurdentreprise.
II
faut reconnaltre que la preservation
ferroviaire en 1950 netait pas populaire. On demantelait
de tous cotes;
si cetait du bois, on Ie brOlait, et si cetait du
metal, on
Ie decoupait. La cour Turcot du CNR, les
ateliers Angus du CPR, les ateliers Youville de la CTM,
partout on sactivait 3 demolir.
« Pourquoi vouloir
recuperer cette piece de ferraille?
», entendait-on
toujours.
Heureusement
que I ACHF avait des am is bien
places, les regrettes Richard Binns 3 la CTM, Orner
Lavallee au CPR et Norman Lowe
au CNR. Tous trois
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
recognized what was going on and that a once in a lifetime
opportunity to preserve equipment lay before them.
Clearly a solution was necessary. Faced with a growing
collection, it was decided in 1959 to establish a museum
that would permit already acquired pieces
of equipment
to be moved from their temporary storage loca tions.
With the commitment made to establish a
permanent museum, thoughts then turned to just what
should be included in the collection. 1lams, interurbans,
steam locomotives and wooden railway cars were being
retired at a rapid rate. A Collection Committee was
created to select equipment while it
was still available.
Many interesting and heated discussions took place at
committee meetings to determine what would be requested
from the transportation companies for preservation.
It is
important to note that the CRHA collection was created by
design with some of the eras most knowledgeable
enthusiasts involved in the selection process.
Although formulated at a later date, the
following definition from the Collections
Committee
summarizes the challenges and difficulties inherent in
choosing what was / was not to
be saved: The National
Collection
of Railway Rolling Stock is defined as those
artifacts
that are representative, and/or historically or
technologically significant, and which illustrate and
contribute to an understanding of the evolution and social
impact of rail transportation systems in Canada.
Saving steam locomotives from the scrappers
torch was amongst the biggest challenges in that era.
The
following, again from the Collections Committee, gives a
general description
of an ideal national collection of
steam locomotives:
1. Every common wheel arrangement used in Canada
should be represented.
2. Major technological advances in Canadian steam
locomotives should be represented.
3. Every principal pre-1922 Canadian railway should be
represented, including:
a) Canadian Northern,
b)
Grand Trunk,
c) Intercolonial,
d) Canadian Pacific,
e) Short lines, industrial, etc.
4. Every major Canadian locomotive builder should be
represented.
5. That a balance be maintained between the CP and the
CN collections.
6. Every major variety of steam locomotive should be
represented, i.e. freight, passenger, transfer, switchers
and special service locomotives.
7. Foreign, i.e. non-Canadian, locomotives could be
included for comparison and contrast to the Canadian
locomotives.
Similar standards were applied, and continue to be
applied to
other parts of the collection.
134 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
etaient des historiens ferroviaires notables et savaient
reconnaitre ce qui devait
etre preserve parmi tous ces
vehicules.
Une solution simposait a me sure que la
collection prenait de lampleur … Ainsi il fut decide, en
1959, detablir un musee
permettant de recevoir tous ces
vehicules, eparpilles jusque-Ia sur differents sites.
Mais que devrait contenir cette collection
a
Iavenir? Tramways, vehicules interurbains, locomotives a
vapeur et voitures en bois, tout fut retire a une vitesse
phenomenale.
On forma au sein de IACHF un comite
charge de selectionner les pieces encore disponibles. Des
discussions interessantes
et fort animees eurent lieu afin
de determiner ce qui serait
demande aux entreprises
ferroviaires, toujours dans une optique de preservation.
II est important de noter que la collection de lACHF fut
montee avec Iappui des plus grands experts
et passionnes
ferroviaires du temps.
Plus tard,
Ie comite de la collection illustra les
detis inherents a ce qui devait
etre sauvegarde ou pas en
detinissant comme suit la Collection nationale du
materiel roulant:
« Artetacts qui sont representatifs et/ou
signifiants du point de vue historique ou technologique
et
qui [ … ] contribuent a une comprehension dune
evolution et de son impact social sur les systemes de
transport ferroviaire au
Canada ».
Le plus grand defi de lepoque etait sans doute la
sauvegarde des locomotives
a vapeur. Le comite de la
collection donna une description genera
Ie de ce qui
devait constituer une collection ideale de locomotives a
vapeur :
1. Toutes les configurations de roues utilisees au Canada
devron t etre represen tees.
2. Les progres techniques signifiants des locomotives a
vapeur canadiennes devront etre representes.
3. Les principales entreprises ferroviaires davant 1922
devront etre representees,
dont:
a) Canadian Northern
b) Grand Trunk
c) Intercontinental
d) Canadian Pacific
e) Les petits reseaux, les industries, etc.
4. Chaque constructeur canadien de locomotives devra
etre represente.
5. Un equilibre entre les collections du CP et du CN devra
etre maintenu.
6. Chaque categorie de locomotives a vapeur devra etre
representee, i.e. fret, passager, de manoeuvre
et
dusages particuliers.
7. Des locomotives provenant de pays etrangers pourront
etre incluses pour comparaison avec les locomotives
canadiennes.
Des regles similaires furent appliquees et continuent de
Ietre pour les autres pieces de la collection.

JULY -AUGUST 2008
THE COLLECTION
For seventy-five years, the Canadian Railroad
Historical Association has collected and preserved an
exceptional range
of archival documents, small artifacts,
and full-size railway and tramway equipment. These
artifacts reflect the major role that the railways had
in the
development
of Canada. The collection was carefully
chosen to reflect the Canadian experience -the necessity
to serve a sparse population separated
by long distances
in some of the worst climatic conditions for railroading in
the world. These artifacts reflect the innovation by
Canadas railways and their employees to meet the needs
of an ever-expanding economy.
The paper, art and small artifacts are housed
in
the CRHA Archives / Library. The Archives includes
over 80 archival fonds (groups of documents,
photographs, or artifacts from a single source) and
collections from railway companies such
as CN, CP and
the Grand Trunk; from
manufacturers such as Montreal
Locomotive Works and Canadian
Car and Foundry; and
from prominent men such as Charles Melville Hays,
President
of the Grand Trunk Railway in its period of
greatest expansion and Sir William Cornelius Van Horne.
Numerous private collections also call the Exporail
archives home including the Raymond Corley fond
recently donated
by his family in Toronto. At this time the
historical papers, artifacts, models, and photographs
from the late Fred Angus private collection are being
added to the Archives. At present, the Archives contain
over 80,000 plans, 32,000 photographs, and
90 metres of
documents of every description. The Archives has its own
documentation centre and archivist.
The larger artifacts include buildings, such as
Barrington Station, built for the Canada Atlantic Railway
in 1882, and which subsequently became a Grand Trunk
and
then Canadian National station and a turntable.
The original objective to preserve a collection
representative
of Canadian railroading, has largely been
achieved.
The collection includes rolling stock
representing all major wheel arrangements
in Canadian
steam locomotives; the major classes of diesels;
representative freight and passenger equipment, with
contributions from both
of Canadas world-class railways
as well as lesser-known operations. Other rolling stock
was
selected to represent historical events, or
technological innovations. Additional rolling stock
continues to be added. Today Exporail
is acquiring
137 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
LA COLLECTION
Depuis plus de 75 ans, IACHF a collectionne et
preserve un eventail exceptionnel de documents
darchives, de petits artefacts ainsi que des vehicules
ferroviaires
et des tramways pleine grandeur. Ces objets
refletent
Ie role important du chemin de fer dans Ie
developpement du Canada. Les pieces de la collection
ont
ete soigneusement choisies pour representer la realite
canadienne, soit la necessite de desservir une population
eparse, separee
par de longues distances et ce, dans des
conditions climatiques parmi les plus severes
au monde
pour des chemins de fer. Ces pieces de la collection no us
montrent les innovations introduites par les entreprises
ferroviaires du Canada et leurs employes afin de
repondre aux besoins dune economie toujours en
croissance.
Les documents sur papier, les objets
dart et les
petits
artefacts sont gardes dans Ie local de la
Bibliotheque
et des Archives de I ACHF. On y trouve
plus de
80 fonds darchives (groupes de documents,
photographies ou artefacts dune meme source)
en plus
des collections dentreprises ferroviaires telles que
Ie CN,
Ie CP et Ie Grand Tronc, des manufacturiers tels que la
Montreal Locomotive Works et
Ie Canadian Car &
Foundry, et celles dhommes remarquables tels que
Charles Melville Hays, president du Chemin de fer Ie
Grand Tronc dans la periode de grande expansion, et de
Sir William Cornelius Van
Horne. Les Archives Exporail
contiennent aussi de nombreuses collections privees,
dont celle de Raymond Corley, recemment remise
par sa
famille originaire de Toronto. Les documents historiques
sur papier, les artefacts, les modeles reduits
et les
photographies de la collection privee du regrette Fred
Angus sy ajoutent
peu a peu. Les archives contiennent
plus
de 80 000 plans, 32 000 photos et 90 metres de
documents de toutes sortes. Elles ont leur
propre centre
de documentation, gere
par un archiviste.
Un des artefacts les plus volumineux est sans
contredit la gare Barrington, construite pour
Ie Chemin
de fer Atlantique en 1882, qui devint plus tard
une gare du
Grand Tronc, puis du Canadien National. La plaque
tournante est un autre artefact de grande dimension.
l:objectif original de preservation dune
collection representant Ie chemin de fer au Canada a ete
grandement atteint. Cette collection, qui comprend un
materiel roulant representant les plus importantes
configurations de roues de locomotives
a vapeur
canadiennes et les categories de diesels les plus
representatives ainsi que des wagons et des voitures
parmi les signifiants, a ete rendue possible autant
par Ia
collaboration dentreprises ferroviaires de classe
internationale que par de petits chemins de fer locaux peu
connus. Dautres elements de materiel roulant furent
selectionnes pour representer des evenements
historiques ou des innovations technologiques. De
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
equipment that was not even built at the time that the
museum was founded in 1961.
THE CANADIAN RAIL
TRANSPORTATION
MUSEUM
(The name was soon changed to The Canadian
Railway Museum, the operating name Exporail was
coined in 1992)
As has already been noted, the Association from
its infancy began to collect Canadian railroadiana. At first
these relics were pictures, books, documents and small
three dimensional objects. They were stored at the
Chateau de Ramezay, in Montreal courtesy of the
Antiquarian and Numismatic Society. During our first
decade, our possessions increased in number and size -let
alone in scope!
The Directors were concerned that the CRHA
had overstayed its welcome at the Chateau. Alternative
space was sought, and usually found in the basements,
attics, yards and
gardens of members. News that such a
member had sold his house or was moving away would
precipitate a crisis, an oftentimes frantic search for
alternative
storage space. Inevitably some treasures
were mislaid when transfers from one house to another
had to be made in a hurry.
CAR 274
In September, 1950 the Montreal Transporta60n
Commission offered the Association tram Number 274
for preservation
and restoration. A single truck
passenger car, the 274 had been built by Newburyport in
1892 –
the inaugural year of electric tram service in
Montreal. Its later years had been spent in work service
as a
brine car. This donation was organized by Richard
Binns. The problem was where to put the car? Happily
the donors themselves solved the dilemma. They offered
to store the car for a while and give access on weekends
138 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
nouveaux vehicules sont constamment admis dans la
collection.
Aujourdhui, Exporail accepte du materiel
roulant qui netait pas encore construit au moment de sa
fondationen 1961.
LE MUSEE CANADIEN DU
TRANSPORT SUR RAIL
(Ce nom fut change peu de temps apres pour Le
Musee ferroviaire canadien et plus tard, en 1992, pour
Exporail)
Tel que note auparavant, lAssociation a
col1ectionne des ses
debuts du materiel ferroviaire.
Images, livres, documents, petits objets, tout etait
entrepose au Chateau Ramezay, a Montreal, grace a la
courtoisie de la Societe des antiquaires et des
numismates. Durant la premiere decennie, les
possessions ne cesserent daugmenter en nombre et en
volume!
Les administrateurs estimerent cependant un
jour que lACHF avait peut-etre abuse de Iaccueil du
Chateau. On trouva done des solutions a la recherche
despace dans des so us-sols, des combles, des cours
arriere et des jardins de membres. Certaines nouvelles,
tel un
membre qui avait vendu sa maison ou demenage,
creaient des situations de crises et souvent des recherches
frenetiques de solutions de rechange! Inevitablement,
des tresors furent egares lors de ces transferts precipites
dun endroit a un autre.
LA VOITURE NO 274
En septembre 1950, la Commission de transport
de Montreal offrit a I Association Ie tramway No 274 pour
quel1e soccupe de Ie preserver et de Ie restaurer. Ce
vehicule, monte sur un bogie unique et destine au
transport de passagers, fut construit par la Newburyport
en 1892, lannee meme ou fut inaugure Ie service de
tramway electrique a Montreal. II fut cependant utilise
pendant les dernieres annees pour Ie transport de sel de
deglagage. La remise du tramway a lAssociation fut
organisee par Richard Binns. Cependant, un probleme
Brine car 274 in its
work car grey paint
scheme
as donated to
theCRHAin1950.
Le tramway Brine dans
sa livree grise de
vehicule dentretien tel
qu affel1 a lA CHF en
1950. Ronald Ritchie.
de taille se posa : ou
installer Ie vehicule?
Heureusement, les
bienfaiteurs
solutionnerent eux­
memes Ie dilemme. lis
offrirent
dentreposer
tramway « pour un
certain temps » dans
un hangar de la CTM
tout en y donnant
acces les week-ends a
une equipe de travail.
JULY -AUGUST 2008
to a working party in the MTCcar barn. The car was first
stored at the
Cote St: Paul barn, then later moved to
Youville shops. As it turned
out MTC employees helped
CRHA volunteers restore the car, because while the
CRHA work crew had access to the car, they could not use
any MTC tools
or equipment.
For awhile turned out to be thirteen years, in
the meantime· other pieces of rolling stock had been.
donated, with
three cars were stored at the MTCs
Youville shops and
other pieces stored at various other
locations.
Car 274 was given a cosmetic exterior restoration
in time for the NRHS convention that was held· in
Montreal in 19,51.
The overall restoration continued for
~ many yea.rsculminating in· the use of the car on an
excursibn service on June 23,1957.
Car 274 is avery historic car for two reasons; first
it is, as old as, The Rocket, Montreals first electric
streetcar.
It was only by chance that the 274wasnt chosen
to make the first electric run in 1892; Second, it
is tliefirs~
piece of rolling stock acquired by; the CRHA and was the­
jnspiration to expand the collection to that which we have
today-.
The late Frederick Angus left a specific bequest
in his will offeri.n:g$120,000tov.rardsJhe restoration
of car
_ 274 provided
thatworkstart oJ). the car within one yearof
hisdeath, whichocctmed on August 10, 2007: The Board
of Directors and Exporail staff are honoring Ftedswish.
Woik has already started on the car
under the watchful
eye of Mr. Jean-Paul Viand,
our curator.
The Canadian Rail Transportation Museum was
officially founded in 1958. A committee was formed to
search for a suitable site to house the future museum.
The
choices were limited by several factors: soil bearing
capacity, the need for a live rail connection, proximity to
Montreal, and -above
all-the land had to be available at
no
or little cost! A site on the Island of Montreal would
ha
ve been ideal, but of course, even in 1960 such a site
proved illusive.
The City of LaSalle offered a suitable
site, which
is the location today of the Angrignon Metro
Station, for $25,000 – a very substantial sum
of money
even at that time. As a result, the site was rejected.
Perhaps this was fortunate
as in 2008 rail access to this site
no longer exists.
Other sites considered and rejected were
Granby, Quebec as it was too far from Montreal; a room
in the foundation of the Jacques Cartier Bridge in
Montreal which was too impractical and too small (but
trust Montreal Mayor Jean Drapeau to come up with that
idea!) and; near CNRs Wellington Tower, close to the
Lachine Canal Peel Basin.
139 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
Le tramway fut dabord installe dans Ie hangar de Cote
Saint-Paul etpar la suite aux ateliers dYouville. Les
ouvriers de la
CTM aidererit les benevoles de I ACHF car
meme si ceux-ci avaient acces au vehicule,
ils ne
pouvaient utiliser les outils
et lequipement de la CfM.
Le « … pour un certain temps » dura finalement
plus de
13 ans. Pendant ce temps, dautre materiel raulant
fut donne, dont trois vehicules installes aux ateliers
dYouvilLe de la
CfM et dautres repartis dalls divers
endroits.
Une restauration ,« cosmetique » exterieure du
tramway 274 fut terminee juste a
temps pour Ie congres de
.
Ia Societe natiQnale dhistoire ferroviaire qui eut lieu a
Montreal en 1951. Onproceda a une restauration pillS
completedansles annees subsequentesjusqua
Iutilisation du tramway pour une excursion Ie 23 juin
J957.
Le No 274 a
une importancehistorique pour
deux.raisons.
II est dabord aussiancien que Ie Rocket, Ie
premier tnimwayBectrique de MOritreaLDaillellrs, cest
un simple
hasardsil neffectua pas Ie premier parcours
,electrifie en 1892. Ensuite,
il constitueJ,a premiere,
acquisition de
IACHF et incitacettederniere a se creer,
une collection telle que
nOus la connaissons aujourdhui.
Fred Angus a legue )me sbmme de 120000 $
pour
la restauration de cette voiture en stipulant que les
travauxdevaient debuter au plus tard un an apres:sbn
deces, =qui eut lieu Ie 10 aout 2007; -Le(;onseil
. cIadrilinistration el1e personnel dExporail ontrespecte
. Ies volontesde Fred. Les travaux, en ~ffet, sont ell cours,
sous la supervision du conservateur du-Musee, Jean-Paul
Viallo.
Le Musee canadien du transport sur rail fut
officiellement fonde en 1958.
Un comite se mit a la
recherche
dun site adequat pour y installer Ie futur
etablissement.
Le choix etait limite par certains facteurs
tels que la solidite du sol, un lien avec une voie ferree
existante, une proximite avec Montreal et, en priorite, un
terrain disponible gratuitement, ou du moins, a faible
cout! Un site sur Iile de Montreal eta it Iideal, mais deja
en 1960,
il etait illusoire dy songer. La Ville de LaSalle
offrit un emplacement, aujourdhui occupe
par la station
de metro Angrignon,
pour un montant de 25 000 $, une
somme substantielle a lepoque. Heureusement que
loffre fut rejetee, car Ie lien ferroviaire qui y existait a
lepoque est main tenant disparu. Dautres sites
potentiels furent aussi etudies, puis ces idees rejetees.
Ainsi,
il y eut Granby, trop eloigne de Montreal; un
espace dans les fondations du
pont Jacques-Cartier a
Montreal, trop etroit et peu pratique (mais avec
lassentiment du maire
Jean Drapeau pour aller de Iavant
avec lidee);
et enfin, un emplacement pres de la tour
Wellington du
CNR a proximite du bassin Peel du canal
Lachine.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
After considering a number of sites, Dr. Robert
v.v. Nicholls, then Chairman of the newly formed
Museum Committee, announced in 1960 that the Canada
Creosoting Company, a subsidiary ofDomtar, had agreed
to lease for an extended period, for nominal charge, a 10
acre site in Delson
I Saint-Constant. This site met all of
the prescribed criteria of the search committee: it was
fifteen miles from downtown Montreal, could have a
CPR
live rail connection and interchange with the CNR at
Delson, and soil conditions, though not the best, were
acceptable. Except for the creosoting plant,
the proposed
land was surrounded by farms. The documents
transferring the property on long term lease to the CRHA
were signed on July 21,1961 -the exact 12Sth anniversary
date of the opening of Canadas first public railway!
Access to the site was difficult, primary access was
through
the Canada Creosoting Company yard or by
trespassing on the CPR bridge over the Saint-Pierre
River.
140 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
Apres Ietude dun certain nombre de sites,
Robert
V. V. Nicholls, president du nouveau Comite du
musee, annon<;a en 1960 que la
Canada Creosoting
Company, une filiale de
Domtar, acceptait de louer, pour
un temps indetermine et un mont ant derisoire, 10 acres
de terrain
a Delson/Saint-Constant. Cet endroit
repondait
a to us les criteres etablis par Ie comite. Situe a
moins de 24 kilometres de Montreal, il y avait possibilite
dun lien ferroviaire avec Ie CPR et un embranchement
avec Ie
CNR a Delson; les conditions du sol netaient pas
ideales, mais acceptables.
A Iexception de lentreprise
de creosotage, Ie
terrain etait a Iepoque entoure de
fermes. La signature
par IACHF des documents
inMrents au bail a long terme du terrain concerne, Ie 21
juillet 1961, cOincida avec Ie 12Se anniversaire de
louverture du
premier chemin de fer public canadien!
I.;acces au site etait difficile, car
il fallait traverser
la cour de la Canada Creosoting Company ou Ie
pont du
CPR au-dessus de la riviere
Ear I y
construction
materials like
ties, rails and
hardware were
unloaded and
stored in the
creosoting yard.
Relief arrived
when the
Canadian Army
Corps of
Engineers as
part of a training
session built
the
Gzowski bridge
across the Saint­
A young C. Stephen Cheasley (now
President
of the CRHA) drew the
shOit straw on October
9, 1961 and
had the honour of cutting the first
tree as land clearing commenced.
CRHA Archives, Fond Angus #
3371
Saint-Pierre. Les materiaux
utilises au debut de la
construction, tels que les
dormants, les rails et la
quincaillerie, etaient
decharges et entreposes dans
la cour de creosotage.
Larrivee du corps des
ingenieurs de Iarmee
canadienne, qui construisirent
Ie pont Gzowski au-dessus de
la riviere Saint-Pierre dans
Ie
cadre dune session
dentrainement, regIa en
grosse partie les problemes
dacces au terrain
en creant un
Reportons-nous au 9 octobre 1961
alors que
Ie jeune C. Stephen
Cheasley (aujourdhui President de
1A CF) abat Ie premier arbre alors
que debute Ie defrichage des
tenains qui accueilleront
Ie Musee
felToviaire! (Archives de
1A CHF,
FondsAngusNo.3371)
Pierre River giving light weight road access from Saint­
Pierre Street to the site. This project was organized by our
member and veteran the late Ian Macorquodale. Of note,
in 1960 prior to massive passenger train discontinuances,
it was indeed possible to get to and from
the museum
using the CPRs frequent scheduled Montreal-Farnham
commuter trains or main line Montreal-Boston and lien routier
pour poids legers a
partir de la rue Saint-Pierre. Ce projet fut realise grace a
la collaboration dun de nos membres et veterans, Ie
regrette Ian Macorquodale. Notons quen 1960, avant
Ielimination massive des trains de passagers,
il etait
possible de se
rendre au Musee en utilisant Ie train de
banlieue Montreal-Farnham du CPR, aux passages
frequents, ou
Ie train Montreal-Boston et meme Ie
Initially the site was isolated due to the Saint-Piene Rivel; the Canadian
A,my COlpS of Engineers made a training exercise out of building the
Gzowski Bridge which provided automobile
and light tluck access. This
bridge only existed for a few years
and was replaced by a stronger bridge
which still exists. CRHAArchives, FondAngus
# 3499.
A lorigine lemplacement du futur musee eta it isole ii cause de la Riviere
Saint-Pien·e.
Le groupe de genie des ForcesArmees Canadiennes decida ii
une date ulterieure de tenir un exercice sur les lieux et de construire Ie Pont
Gzowski, permettant lacces de lieux aux automobiles et camions
legers.
Ce pont ne fut utilise que quelques annees avant dCtre remplace par un
plus robuste. (Archives de 1A CHF, FondsAngus No 3499)
JULY -AUGUST 2008
Montreal-Sherbrooke trains. The St. Constant station
was the proverbial; hop, skip and a jump by foot to the
proposed Museum entrance offofrueSaint-Pierre.
Endorsement of the Canadian Rail
Transportation Museum and a promise of tangible co­
operation were sought and received from the Presidents
of Canadian National and Canadian Pacific Railways.
Both the Canadian and Quebec Governments granted
charitable status to the Association thereby making
donations to
the museum project -whether of money,
construction materials,
or exhibits – a deduction from
taxable income.
1961 -CONSTRUCTION BEGINS
As the first sod was turned on July 15,1961, many
members reckon this date to be the museums birthday.
Construction commenced, and just in time, as by then the
museum had accepted the donation of 35 locomotives
and cars.
A financial campaign,
headed up by Dr. Nicholls
to raise $ 210,000 for a building, yard trackage, fencing
and
other essentials, had been launched in 1960. Dr
Nicholls, who was not used to fundraising, commenced
making appointments with the presidents of various
potential donor companies. The campaign was
sufficiently successful to permit the Directors to
authorize the expenditure of up to $ 10,000 for the
construction of the museums first building. This was
planned to be a modest affair, 80 X 165 feet, built of wood
poles and aluminum sheathing. Because of the level of
donation, it was decided to build a more durable structure
with proper cement footings and steel girders. As
donations continued to come in, it was decided in 1962 to
double the length of Building One (today Building 5) to
330 feet.
Supplies began arriving in Spring 1962.
With
the exception of the doors and back wall, the
structure was entirely sheathed in aluminum siding
by July 10th.
The back wall was completed by May
1963, by which time temporary doors had been
constructed by volunteers. Permanent roll up doors
were put in place by
November 2,1963 -just in
time to keep out the
winters snow that would
start falling later that
month. Our member the
late Frank Lewin, who
was a residential
developer in the St.
Sauveur area, was a great
help in the early
construction phase of
Building One at the
museum.
The first solicitation
pamphlet requesting
support for the new
Canadian Rail
Tr an s po r tat ion
Museum.
La premiere brochure
sollicitant des
contributions pour la
realisation du nouveau
musee du transport
fenoviaire. (Archives
delACHF)
141 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
Montreal-Sherbrooke. La gare de Saint-Constant etait Ie
lieu du proverbial « En avant, saute! » dou lon se
dirigeait vers
lentree du Musee a partir de la rue Saint­
Pierre.
Les presidents du
Canadien National et du
Canadien Pacifique promirent leur appui et leur
cooperation au Musee canadien du transport sur rail. Les
gouvernements du Canada et du Quebec accorderent Ie
statut dorganisme de bienfaisance a lAssociation,
permettant ainsi que les dons pour Ie projet de musee,
sous forme
dargent ou de materiel, puissent etre
deductibles dimpot.
1961-DEBUT DES TRAVAUX
Plusieurs membres considerent Ie jour de la
premiere levee de terre, Ie 15 juillet 1961, comme la date
anniversaire du Musee. II netait pas trop tot pour
commencer les travaux puisquon avait deja accepte les
dons
de 35 vehicules ferroviaires.
Le regrette Dr Nicholls prit la tete dune
campagne de levee de fonds en 1960 afin damasser les
210 000 $ necessaires a la construction
du bfttiment et de
Iinstallation de voies
de garage, de clotures et autres
elements essentiels. M. Nicholls, qui netait pas familier
avec les campagnes
de souscription, prit rendez-vous
dabord avec les presidents de differentes compagnies
susceptibles
de faire des dons. La campagne eut
suffisamment de succes pour permettre aux
administrateurs dautoriser un montant de 10 000 $ ailoue
a la construction dun premier batiment pour Ie Musee.
On songea dabord a un modeste abri de 80 X 165 pieds
(24 X 50
metres) constitue de poteaux de bois et recouvert
de tales daluminium. Mais
etant donne Ie montant eleve
des dons, on decida
plutot de construire une structure
plus durable avec fondation de beton et
poutrelles dacier.
Comme les dons se
poursuivirent, on decida en 1962
dallonger ce hangar numero 1 (actuel
hangar numero 5) de plus de 100 metres.
YOUR
Les materiaux arriverent au
printemps 1962. Le 10 juiilet, la structure
etait deja entierement recouverte de tales
daluminium,
a Iexception des portes et
du mur arriere. Ce dernier fut complete
en mai 1963 tandis que des portes
temporaires furent installees par des
benevoles. On posa enfin les portes
coulissantes permanentes Ie 2 novembre
1963, juste avant les premieres chutes de
neige. Le regrette membre Frank Lewin,
qui
etait a la tete dune entreprise de
construction domiciliaire dans la region
de
Saint-Sauveur, fut
dun grand secours
pour la premiere etape de lerection du
hangar
numero 1.
IS
I~
RAIL CANADIEN • 525 142 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
All construction material had to come in by rail because of the weight restriction on
the Gzowski Bridge. Here volunteers are unloading aluminum sheathing material
for Building One. Front left is Michael Leduc, front right
is Paul McGee with Garth
Stevenson behind him, Jacques Loiselle
is standing half way back. CRHAArchives,
FondAngus
# 3509.
Tous les materiaux de construction destines au musee devaient y etre achemines par
Ie chemin de fer etant donne la capacite portante tres limitee du Pont Gzowski.
Nous voyons ici des benevoles dechargeant des panneaux daluminium qui
deviendront les murs de I Edifice
No 1. A lavantgauche, Michael Leduc; a droite a
lavant, cest Paul McGee et Garth Stevenson juste en alTiere de
lui. Jacques
Loiselle est a mi-chemin! (Archives de I
~ CH F, Fonds Angus No 3509)
Construction of the first track into the museum
site from the CPR Candiac spur commenced on June 28,
1962
and twelve days later was well advanced into the site.
The official first spike for the volunteer-built track was
September 15, 1962.
Le 28 juin 1962, des benevoles commencerent
linstallation des premiers rails sur Ie site du Musee afin
de joindre Iembranchement du CPR de Candiac. Cest
Ie 15 septembre de la meme annee que fut enfonce Ie
premier crampon officiel.
The Canadian Pacific Railway was awarded a contract to install a switch on the
Candiac Spur
and build the wived lead onto the property ending near the front of
Building One. Here the Burro Crane starts work moving fill for the switch lead, its
June
28,1962. CRHAArchives, FondAngus # 3854.
Un contrat fut accorde au Canadien-Pacifique pour linstallation dun aiguillage
sur lembranchement de Candiac, ainsi quune voie dacces courbejusqua [avant
de lEdifice
No 1. On voit ici la grue, de type BwTO, debutant des travaux de
remplissage,
Ie 28 juin 1962. (Archives de l~ CHF, Fonds No 3854)
The late Omer Lavallee showing us how its done! This
is the first spike being driven
on September
15, 1962, as we pick up where the CPR left off Peter M wph y, Donald
Angus and Robert Halfyard are paying close attention! CRHA Archives, Fond
Angus #4121.
Le regrette Omer Lavallee nous montre la bonne far;on de fa ire ! Notre premier
crampon Jut enfonce
Ie 15 septembre 1962, a lendroit OLLie Canadien-Pacifique
avait complete son travail. Peter Mwphy, Donald
Angus et Robert Halfyard
obselvent
la scene attentivement! (Archives de I ~ CH F, FondsAngus No 4121)
Canying ties are Robert Cox front light, Omer Lavallee behind
him and two unidentified volunteers. CRHAArchives.
Transportant des dormants, nous apercevons Robert Cox a
lavant droit; Omer Lavallee est en
arriere. Les noms des deux
mtlres benevoles nous sont inconnus. (Archives de
l~ CHF) Moving rails into position
on April 6, 1963, Dennis
Peters is in the dark jacket looking back!
CRHA
Archives.
On installe
les rails en position … Ie 6 avril 1963.
Reconnaissez-vous Dennis
Peters, il porte un manteau
fonce
et regarde vels laniere!
JULY -AUGUST 2008 143 CANADIAN RAIL· 525
Heave Ho as volunteers align track leading into Building One. Fram
left to right are Fred Angus, Dennis Peters, James Sandilands,
Ron
Blyant, C. Stephen Cheasley and Omer Lavallee at right. CRHA
~!~~~!:~~-:lt~~ Archives.
Scandant lexpression populaire des cantonniers Heave Ho, les
benevoles alignent
la voie fen·ee menant a lEdifice No 1. De gauche a
draite,
on reconnaftra Fred Angus, Dennis Peters, James Sandilands,
Ron B,yant et C. Stephen Cheasley; Omer Lavallee est a draite.
(Archives de
1A CHF)
By November 18, 1962, volunteers had built the necessalY track, we
were
now ready for the challenge of moving the 1112 into Building One
without any type of motive power. CRHAArchives.
Au 18 novembre 1962, les benevoles avaient constnlit la voie fen·ee
necessaire et
on etait pret a relever Ie defi de deplacer la locomotive a
vapeur
1112 de la QNS&L vers IEdifice No 1. II est a noter qua
lepoque,
lACHF ne disposait pas de machinerie pouvant deplacerles
vehicules felTOviaires et autres . ..
on devait compter sur la force
musculaire des benevoles! (Archives de
1A CHF)
Quebec North Shore & Labrador 4-6-0 Number
1112 became the first piece of equipment delivered to the
museum site on August 21, 1962.
It sat on the lead for
three months while volunteers laid track to Building One.
On a cold and snowy November 24th, the volunteers L.A.
Heberts bulldozer pull the 1112 forward and then back
into the building.
The track had been shoo-flied into
Building
One to save building a switch. It became the first
piece of equipment to be placed
under cover.
Le 21 aout 1962, Ie Musee accueillit son premier
vehicule, la locomotive
a vapeur de type 4-6-0, la No 1112,
de la Quebec North Shore & Labrador. Elle attendit sur
la voie
pendant trois mois, Ie temps que des benevoles
installent les rails vers
Ie hangar numero 1. Un certain 24
novembre, froid
et neigeux, Ie belier mecanique du
benevole L. A.
Hebert tira, puis poussa la 1112 vers Ie
batiment.
La voie avait ete derivee vers Ie hangar de
fa~on a eviter Iinstallation dun aiguillage. Ce fut Ie
premiervehicule so us abri.
Car movers and muscle power was all we
had to move the first alTivals including
Old Sydney Collieries
number 25 and
QRL&P 401 and 105. Here the late
Kenneth Chivers obselves the clearance
(or lack of) as the 401
is manhandled into
building
1. By now it was December 29,
1962 but the push was still on to get
exhibits under cover
and reduce the risk of
vandalism. Ken Chivers drove from
Ottawa almost every weekend to volunteer
foryears at the museum.
CRHAArchives.
Nos moyens a lepoque pour deplacer les premieres pieces a1Tivant au Musee se resumaient a un outil IUdimentaire quon
appelait amilierement un car mover et … la force musculaire de nos benevoles! Parmi les premieres pieces livrees au musee, il
y avait
la locomotive a vapeur no 25 du Old Sydney Collieries ainsi que les voitures 401 et 105 de la QRL&P Il etait imperatif
dentreposer ces pieces a linterieur afin de reduire les risques de vandalisme.
Nous voyons ici Ie regrette Kenneth Chivers qui
surveille lespace limite (ou insuffisant) lors de lentree du 401 dans lEdifice
No 1, Ie 29 decembre 1962. Pendant plusieurs
annees, Ken est venu dOttawa
ON presque tous les weekends pour travailler au musee. (Archives de 1A CHF)

RAIL CANADIEN • 525
During the formative years of the museum, the
CRHA was amply supported by the presidents of the
railways, Mr. Norris
R. Crump from Canadian Pacific and
Mr. Donald Gordon from Canadian National. Mr.
Crump indicated that by establishing a museum, the
Association relieved the railway from doing so. He even
insisted
that the last steam locomotive to be produced for
a Canadian railway,
CP 2-10-4 5935, be preserved and it
was. Few
North American railways have provided such
consistent
support through donations to a rail enthusiast
group and museum as has have the Canadian National
and Canadian Pacific Railways.
The collection in our care is the most extensive in
Canada. It is interesting to note that relying on the
experience
of railway museums elsewhere, the museums
policy was (and is) committed primarily to the provision
of covered space in its buildings for preservation and not
to large scale train operation. Canadas winters are too
severe and uncompromising to permit prolonged
exposure of engines and cars to the elements.
1965 -PUBLIC OPENING
Public Interest Keen
.. .And the interest in the museum is wide. When it
allowed the public in for the first time, in a
four how period
on the first Sunday of last month, (June 1965 -ed.) 200
people alTived though there
had been no publicity.
Weve been forced to open before we were absolutely
ready, said Doctor Nicholls because people we
re beating at
thegates.
}}
They are drawn, he thinks, by the romantic atmosphere
of the old trains, which seems to swirl around as heavily as
engine smoke.
Few
people seem untouched by the romance and
appeal of the steam locomotive, }} said D,: Nicholls. Even if
one doesnt have any technical knowledge, one can feel that
this is a living thing. Each one
is different. They have their
own personalities. }}
Then there is the wider appeal of railways. Even my
own children feel this when they get into a train -eating and
sleeping in a home on wheels; thats not at all the same thing
in an ailplane.
}}
For the more scholarly of us there is the fact that
without the railways there couldnt
have been a Canada. }} …
The Montreal
Stal; July 17, 1965
The original opening hours were on Sunday from 1 to 5
PM and Tuesday through Friday lOAM to 5PM. The
museum was not open to the public on Saturday as this
was
the volunteer work day. Entrance fees were $0.50 for
adults and $0.25 for children.
The first season concluded
on Sunday September 26th.
146 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
Pendant ces annees ou Ie Musee prit forme,
IACHF fut gran dement appuyee par les presidents des
entreprises ferroviaires,
comme Norris R. Crump du
Canadien Pacifique et Donald Gordon du Canadien
National.
M. Crump indiqua quen etablissant un musee,
IAssociation
mettait en relief Ie chemin de fer canadien.
Ii apprecia particulierement que la derniere locomotive a
vapeur produite par un chemin de fer canadien, la CP 2-
10-4 No 5935, soit preservee. Rares sont les entreprises
ferroviaires nord-americaines qui aiderent de maniere
aussi constante,
par des dons, un groupe de passionnes du
rail,
comme ce fut Ie cas pour Ie Canadien National et Ie
Canadien Pacifique.
La collection qui est sous notre responsabilite est
la plus
importante au Canada. II est interessant de noter
que contrairement a ce qui se fait ailleurs dans dautres
musees,
Ie principe du notre est avant tout de sauvegarder
du materiel roulant dans des batiments, puis, sur une plus
faible echelle, dorganiser des ballades en train. Les
hivers canadiens
sont trop rigoureux pour quon expose
des engins
et des wagons aux elements climatiques.
1965 -LOUVERTURE AU PUBLIC
« Public embalM»

Et I interet en velS Ie M usee est important. Lorsquil
admit Ie public pour la premiere fois pour une periode de
quatre heures Ie premier
dimanche du mois dernier (edition
de
juin 1965,) 200 personnes se presenterent bien qu il n yait
eu aucune publicite. »
« NOLis avons dCt oUVl1r avant detre vraiment prets, dit Ie
Dr Nicholls, car les gens se bousculaient deja a la bal11ere. »
« lIs sont abasourdis, pense-t-il, par Iatmosphere
romantique des anciens trains,
qui semble les Ctourdir
autant que
la vapeur des eng ins. »
« Peu de personnes demeurent insensibles au
romantisme et a Iappel de la locomotive a vapeU/; dit M.
Nicholls.
Meme si on n a aucune connaissance technique en
la matiere,
on peut ressentir cette chose vivante. Chacune
(des locomotives) est
differente et a sa pro pre personna lite. »
«AIO/S, il y a une plus grande auiIance velS Ie chemin
de fel: Meme mes propres enfants Ie ressentent lorsquils
prennent Ie train : mangel; dO/mir dans une demeure sur
roues est different de {experience vecue aboId dun avion.
»
« Les plus instlUits palmi no us sa vent que sans Ie
chemin de fel; il n
yawnit pas eu de Canada … »
The Montreal Stal; 17 juillet 1965
A lorigine, les heures douverture etaient Ie dimanche de
13 h a 17 h et du mardi au vendredi de 10 h a 17 h. Le
Musee netait pas ouvert au public Ie samedi afin de
permettre aux benevoles dy travailler. Les frais
dadmission
etaient de 0,50 $ pour les adultes et de 0,25 $
pour les enfants. La premiere saison se termina Ie
dimanche
26 septembre.
JULY -AUGUST 2008 147 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
Aerial photo, probably taken late in 1963, Building One is full and steam locomotives are stored all over the place. Plans were
then afoot to
commence building Number 2 to house even more exhibits. All the rolling stock that anived by tlUck was unloaded
in Domtars yard (top
of photo) and brought in over the CPR main line siding and the Candiac SpUJ: Saint Piene Street
(foreground)
is now built up with shopping centres and commercial buildings. CRHAArchives.
Une
photo abienne datant probablement tard en 1963 no us montre lEdifice No 1 deja rempli de pieces prese/vees et plusieurs
locomotives
sont stationnees sur Ie te/min! Les plans sont deja completes afin de debuterla constlUction dun deuxieme edifice
dentreposage. Tout
Ie materiel roulant anivant par cam ion est livre a la cowde Domtar (dans la partie superieure de la photo)
puis achemine a destination via la voie devitementprincipale du c.P. et lembranchement de Candiac. En avant-plan, laspect
de
la lUe Saint-Piene a bien change depuis … centre d achats et edifices commerciaux, etc. (Archives de 1A CHF)
1965-71 EXPANSION
Between 1965 and 1971 the Museum doubled its
railway
equipment storage capacity through the
construction of an additional storage building similar in
size to Building
Number One. The Federal Government
donated $80,000 to help pay for its construction.
Volunteers C.
Stephen Cheasley and Stephen Walbridge
undertook the procurement of material, hiring of
contractors and oversaw the construction of the building
and laying
of track. The late Wyatt Webb, CPR Montreal
Terminals engineer, undertook the preparation of the
site. Without rolling front doors, the total cost was
$80,800.
The building was valued for insurance was
$250,000.
1965-1971 LEXPANSION
Le Musee a fait construire un deuxieme
batiment similaire au premier entre 1965 et 1971,
doublant ainsi sa capacite dabriter des vehicules
ferroviaires.
Le gouvernement federal a finance
partiellement ce projet
par un don de 80 000 $. Les
benevoles
c. Stephen Cheasley et A. Stephen Wallbridge
ont gere lachat du materiel, engage les entrepreneurs et
supervise lerection du batiment
et linstallation des rails.
Wyatt Webb, ingenieur du
CPR au terminus de Montreal,
a
de son cote supervise la preparation du terrain. Le tout
a coOte 80 800
$, portes coulissantes non incluses.
r.:edifice a
ete evalue pour les assurances a 250 000 $.

RAIL CANADIEN • 525
CRHA
Preserved Equipment
Photo Gallery
By Stan J. Smaill
French Version, Michel Lortie
The CRHA collection of railway equipment is
acknowledged to be the most comprehensive and
important of its kind in Canada. Since 1950 the CRHA
directors and collection committee have made a sincere
effort to assemble a collection of railway vehicles that are
both historic and representative. Some 45 of these pieces
have
been restored at least cosmetically and are on
display in the Angus pavilion at Exporail along with
various
smaller artefacts.
In this photo gallery, we travel back in time to
when these treasures from the CRHA collection were still
in
regular service. A note of thanks is due to the
photographers Ronald Ritchie, Fred Angus and others,
especially the custodians of the marvellous photo
collections such as Dave Shaw, AI Paterson and the late
Dick George. The fact that these images can be shared in
publications such as Canadian Rail is wonderful.
Grand Tlunk ten-wheeler
Number
713, which was
built in the companys
Pointe Saint Charles Shops
in 1900, spent all
of her
working life
on the Grand
Trunk system. This
photograph was taken at
South Paris, Maine in
August 1932. The 713 came
to the CRHA via the
Canadian National
Railways museum train and
the National Museum of
Science and Technology in
Ottawa. She
is one of the
main attractions at
Exporai/, especially by the
children eager to ring her
bell! Gordon R. Nichols –
B.
K. Entelprises, CRHA
Archives
150 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
Galerie de photos des
.,
pIeces conservees
au musee de
l ACHF
Par Stan J. Smaill
Traduction franc;aise : Michel Lortie
II est bien connu que la collection du Musee de
lACHF est lune des plus completes et des plus
importantes du genre au Canada. Depuis 1950, les
directeurs du musee et son comite dacquisition ont fait
un
effort colossal afin de rassembler une collection de
vehicules ferroviaires ayant une valeur ala fois historique
et representative du do maine. Quarante-cinq de ces
vehicules
ont ete remis en etat, principalement leur
enveloppe exterieure, et sont exposes au pavilion Angus
du Musee Exporail en pluset lectrices de nombreux autres
vestiges de Jhistoire ferroviaire. Cette exposition de
photos vous fera revivre lepoque ou ces pieces de
collection etaient en exploitation sur les chemins de fer.
Nous sommes heureux de partager ces images
historiques avec les lecteurs de notre magazine Rail
Canadien.
Nous devons ces photos, entre autres, a Ronald
Ritchie, Dave Shaw, AI Paterson, feu Fred Angus et Dick
George.
La No 713 du Grand TI·onc. Elle Jut constJuite en 1900 dans les ateliers de Pointe-Saint-Charles a Montreal. On la voit ici
photographiee
a South Paris, dans {,Etat du Maine aux Etats-Unis, en 1932. Elle a toujours ete utilisee sur Ie reseau du Grand
TIonc et sest retrouvee au Musee de 1A CHF par lintermediaire du train museal du CN et du Musee national des sciences et des
technologies dOttawa. Cest [un des objets
les plus populaires a Exporail, surtout aupres des enfants … qui aiment bien faire
sonner sa cloche! Photo: Gordon R. Nichols, BKEntreprises,
ArchivesACHF

JULY -AUGUST 2008 153

CANADIAN RAIL • 525
CNR 4-8-2 6015 was one of the
Canadian National locomotives
selected for the
CRHA collection
at the
end of the steam era. The
original
U1 Mountain types were
among the first locomotives
purchased by the new Canadian
National Railways in
1923. In this
view from the early nineteen fifties,
6015
is seen at Antigonish, Nova
Scotia as the Sydney train does
her station work. When the 6060
was removed from its pedestal at
Jaspel; Albel1a for restoration to
operating condition, the
CNR
reclaimed the 6015 as it was only
on lease to the Association. It was
moved to Jasper where it remains
on display to this day. James
Hardie,
G. Ness Collection
La No 6015 du CN Cette 4-8-2fut mise de cote parle CN pourla collection de IACHF a la fin de !ere de la vapew: Ce type de
locomotive, dit Mountain de type
U-1, a ete la premiere achetee parle CN en 1923. Cette photo de 1950 nous la montre en gare
dAntigonish, Nouvelle-Ecosse, en tete du train
vers Sydney. Quand la 6060 a ere retiree de son piedestal a Jaspel; Albel1a, pour
une remise en etat de marche, Ie CN a demenage la 6015 de Saint-Constant a Jaspel; OU elle se trouve encore (la locomotive avait
ere louee parle CN ace moment-lay. Photo: 1. Hardie, collection G. Ness.
CNR 4-8-4 6153 is featured
in this
1937 photo pulling
what appears to be a
F0/1
Erie race track extra at
Sunnyside, Ontario.
CN
initially dubbed its first 4-8-
4s in the U2 class
Confederation types as
delivelY was
made in the
sixtieth anniversa/Y
of the
fO/mation
of the Dominion
of Canada. Class leader
6100 briefly carried a
Confederation name
plate. Later all CNR 4-8-4s
became known as
Northern types in
deference to the fact that the
N0/1hem Pacific Railway
received the first 4-8-4s and
so
named them. Al Paterson
Collection
La CN No 6153. Surcette photo datee de 1937, onpeut voirune locomotive de type 4-8-4 en tete dun train special a Sunnyside,
Ontario.
Ce fut lune des dernieres nommees « Confederation ». Les premieres locomotives de cette classe furent appelees ainsi
parce qu elles furent conshuites en
1927, annee du soixantieme anniversaire de la Confederation canadienne. La premiere de
toutes,
la No 6100, pO/ta un certain temps une plaque avec Ie nom « Confederation ,>; puis, les locomotives furent renommees
Northern parce que les premieres de ce type furent livrees au chemin de fer Nothern Pacific, qui les baptisa ainsi. Photo:
collectionAIPaterson.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
More than twenty years have
passed since the
accompanying photo of
CNR 4-8-4 6153 was taken
at Sunnyside.
In this fine
image by noted
photographer Victor Hand,
the
famous Northern takes a
spin
on the turntabLe at
Turcot roundhouse in
MontreaL the 1960 Labour
Day weekend. The 6153
had been brought east from
the CNR Great Lakes
Region to power the officiaL
End of Steam excursion to
Ottawa
and return. The
Locomotive joined the
CRHAs collection after her
retirement in
1962. Victor
Hand, Smaill Collection
154 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
La 6153. PLus de vingt ans ont passe … depuis La photo preddente! Sur celle-ci, fort belle, de Victor Hand, on peut voir cette
fameuse NO/them sur
La tabLe toumante de La rotonde de La COUI Turcot, a MontreaL, durant La fin de semaine de La Fete du
travail en 1960. Elle avait ete amenee par Le CN de La region des Grands Lacs speciaLement pour tracter Le train dexcursion
speciaL
«Fin de La vapeur» de MontreaL a Ottawa et retour. Cette Locomotive Jut remise a La collection de LACHF en 1962.
Photo:
V. Hand, collection SmaiLI.
CNR 4-6-4 5702 is
pictured Leaving Toronto
on Train Number 14
destined for MontreaL in
1930. The Canadian
NationaL Hudsons ve,y
distinctive Vanderbilt
tender was different from
those
found behind the
6100 series
4-8-4 s and the
41 00 series 2-1 0-2s. In the
1940s, 5702
and her
sisters received a make­
over that included nmning
board skirts with cast
numeraLs, smoke
deflectors and oLive green
paint Livery. Paterson­
George Collection from
A LPaterson
La No 5702 du CN On peut voir sur cette photo, prise velS 1930 a Toronto, La No 5702, une Hudson de type 4-6-4 en tete du train
No 14 en direction de Montreal. Les Hudson du CN possidaient un« tender type Vanderbilt» tres different de ceux utilises sur Les
classe 61004-8-4 et 41002-10-2. Durant La decennie 40, Les Locomotives de La serie 5700 Jurent reconstlUites. On Leur ajouta des
jupes de marchepied, des numeros mouies, des deflecteurs de
fumee ainsi qu une peinture neuve de couLeur vert oLive. Photo:
collection Paterson-George deAL Paterson.
JULY -AUGUST 2008 155 CAIJADIAN RAIL • 525
A velY special Hudson, CPR 4-6-4
2850, the original Royal Hudson
appears
in this image taken at the 1939
Worlds Fair in New York City. The
workman on the right appears to be
affixing the Kings Crown to 2850s
left
IUnning board. Because of the
stellar peltO/mance
put on by 2850 in
handling the 1939 Royal Train across
CPR Lines in 1939, King George VI
permitted Canadian Pacific
to dub the
streamlined 2800s
as Royal Hudsons.
When the CRHA equipment collection
was being assembLed, 4-6-4 2850 was
the prefened choice of the forty-four
Royals. Trackside Photo Collection
La No 2850 du
CP Une Locomotive tres particuliere que cette Hudson de type 4-6-4 du CP Elle fut la to ute premiere a recevoir le
titre de «Royal Hudson ». On peut la voir ici a lExposition universelle de New York en 1939. Le trava illeur de droite semble etre
en train dapposer La couronne royaLe sur le cote gauche de la locomotive. Cest grace ala peifO/mance exceptionnelle de cette
Locomotive Le jour ou elle tracta Le train royaL Lors de La visite du roi au Canada, en 1939, que ceLui-ci autorisa Le CP a utiliserLe
nom RoyaL sur les Locomotives profiNes de La serie 2800. Parmi les 44 Locomotives de cette serie, La No 2850 devint Le premier
choix
de LACHF pour sa collection. Photo, collection Trackside.
The Last CPR 2-10-4 Selkirk type, indeed the
Last steam Locomotive built new for a
Canadian
railway, highballs Freight 965
westward near SuffieLd, ALberta in August
1956. After the Mountain and Laggan
Subdivisions
were dieselized in the early
1950s, the big T1 s operated east ofCaLgmy to
Medicine Hat and Swift Cunent and nO/th to
Red Dee!: Built to hauL tonnage trains up the
gmelling
grades in the Rockies, they were poor
peltO/mels
in fast main Line freight selvice and
they were extremely hard on the track. On the
175.8 mile Brooks Subdivision between
CaLgary and Medicine Hat a T1 Selkirk often
could not make the entire
run without taking
on oil
at the fuel station installed for this
pwpose
at Suffield. When the CPR steam
collection
was assembLed by the CRHA, M,:
Nonis ClUmp, then President of the CPR,
specifically ordered that the 5935 be included
in the collection! Al Paterson Collection
La No
5935 du CP Voici La demiere Locomotive de la serie des Selkirk type 2-10-4 du Cp, et meme La toute demiere Locomotive a
vapeur
constlUite pour un chemin de fer canadien. Elle a ete photographiee en aout 1956 pres de La ville de SuffieLd en ALberta.
Elle tractait un train rapide de marchandises en direction ouest. Apres que les divisions Mountain et Laggan furent passees au
dieseL au debut des annees 50, les grosses locomotives de type T-1 ne voyageaient pLus que de Medecine Hat a Swift Cwrent ainsi
qu
au nord de CaLgmy VelS Red Deer. En sel1
J
ice rapide de marchandises sur La ligne principaLe, leur peltO/mance laissait a
desirer. De pLus, elLes endommageaient la voie felTee, tellement que sur La sous-division Brooks, longue de seuLement 175,8
milles entre Calgmy et Medecine Hat, une T-1 ne pouvait souvent fa ire tout Le trajet sans se ravitailler en huile ala gare de SuffieLd
speciaLement amenagee a cet effet. Lors de La preparation de La collection de Locomotives a vapeur du CP par LACHF, Le
president du CP daLors, N. R. Clump, ordonna que cette Locomotive historique en fasse partie. Photo, collectionAL Paterson.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
On the shop track beside
the bunker
C fuel tank at
Medicine Hat,
we see
last
TlC 5935 in the
company
of older un­
streamlined Selkirk
5905 and S class 2-10-2
5811.
All three ten-wheel
drive
specimens had
been banished from
main line mountain
telTitOlY by diesels. The
5935
is now a prize
exhibit at Exporail while
5931
is at Heritage Park
in Calgmy, Alberta.
Sadly, none of the older
5900s or the 5800 series
2-10-2s
were saved. J
Ban·as Walker / Dave
Shaw Collection
156 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
La No 5905 Du CP On voit ici les ateliers dentretien de Medecine Hat avec la T-1 No 5935 so us Ie rese/voir dhuile, et a droite,
une plus ancienne Selkirk,
la 5905, non carenee, puis, au fond, une autre de type 2-10-2 de classe S, la No 5811. Toutes ces
locomotives munies de dix roues mot/ices furent deplacees du tenitoire des montagnes Rocheuses par
laJ7ivee du diesel. La No
5935 fait partie de la collection Exporail et la No 5931 peut etre vue a CalgaJY au pare Heritage. Malheureusement, aucune autre
locomotive de
la serie 5900 ou du type 2-10-2 de la serie 5800 ne fut conse/vee.
The high pressure P2 class
CPR 2-8-2 were high
efficiency machines that
could be
found all across
the system.
Number 5468
was one
of twelve Mikados
built in late
1948 and was
one
of the last new steam
locomotives built for the
CPR. Through her brief
career she called
Kamloops, Revelstoke and
Alyth Yard in
CalgaJY her
home terminals. Pictured
here at
Alyth circa 1956,
5468
is now the star exhibit
from the
CRHA collection
at the Revelstoke Railway
Museum. Dave Shaw
Collection
La No 5468 Du CP Les locomotives a haute pression de classe P-2 Mikado 2-8-2 etaient des engins tres efficaces que lon
retrouvait partout sur
Ie reseau. La 5468 faisait partie dune serie de 12 Mikado const7uites vers la fin de 1948. Elle fut palmi les
demih·es locomotives
a vapeur neuves acquises par Ie CP Durant sa courte ca/Tiere, elle fut affectee successivement a Kamloop,
a Revelstoke et finalement
ala courAlyth de CalgalY. lei, elle se trouve a Alyth, vels 1956. La No 5468 fait maintenant partie de
la collection de IACHF et peut etre vue au Musee du chemin de fer de Revelstoke en Colombie-Britannique.
Photo: collection Dave Shaw.
JULY -AUGUST 2008 157 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
CNR 2-10-2 Number 4100 is one of the most
interesting locomotives in the
CRHA collection. The
big T2s were built by Canadian Locomotive
Company in 1924. They were designed for heavy,
slow speed transfer selvice between freight yards in
the Toronto area
and gained fame as the locomotives
with the greatest tractive eff0l1 in the British Empire.
Later in their careers they selved as helper engines
assisting through freights
from Mimico Yard to
Scarborough Junction.
Number 4100 came to the
CNRMontreal Terminals in the mid 1950s where it
was renumbered to 4190, she powered the lengthy oil
batch transfers from
Montreals east end refineries
to Turcot
Yard. She was also a familiar sight as the
motive power for the
famous Barber-Greene snow
melter until 1960. In this 1953 view in the
CNR
Toronto telminal area, 41 OOs hoggerlooks back for
a
hand signal. A I Paterson
La No 4100du CN La 4100du CN est lune des plus intcressantes locomotives a vapeur de la collection de IACHF Les engins
de cette serie Jurent
les toutes premieres locomotives neuves acquises parle Canadien National, qui venait detre incO/pore, en
1924. Sur cette
photo de 1953, elle est stationnee au terminus du CN a Toronto. Les grosses T-2 Jurent construites a Kingston en
Ontario
parla Canadian Locomotive Co. en vue detre utilisces pour transferer des trains dune cour a une autre. Elles Jurent
longtemps utilisees entre
la CoUl Mimico et la Junction Scarborough en Ontario, puis on les envoya a Montreal vers 1955 et on
les renumerota.
La No 4190 Jut affectee aux longs convois de wagons-reselvoirs entre les raffineries de lest de Montreal et la cour
TIlrcot. On la sou vent utilisee comme moteurde la fondeuse a neige de type Barber Green jusqu en 1960. Photo: Al Paterson.
A clear train order signal b
eckons
the famous CNR Museum 1iain
hauled
by ex Grand 1iunk 2-6-0
Number 674. Coupled behind
674 are former
GTR 4-4-0 40
and 0-6-0T 247 and several open
platform passenger cars from
various constituent railways
of
the CNR system. For Museum
train service, the passenger
rolling stock was painted yellow
with gold lettering. The
CNR
donated the Museum train to the
National
Museum of Science
and Technology in 1967. Since
then, Exporail
has been the
recipient
of various pieces de­
accessioned from the
NMST
collection including ex ICR
colonist car 531 seen here. CNR,
Smail! Collection
Le train muscal du CN Le signal est au vert pour Ie train muscal du CN tracte parlancienne locomotive du Grand Tronc No
674. Elle est de type Mogul 2-6-0 avec delTiere elle la 4-4-0 du CN No 40 ainsi que la 0-6-0 T No 247 du Grand 1iOnc. Cette
demiere ne fonctionne pas. Pourles besoins du train
museal, les wagons de passagelS ont ete peints de couleurjaune avec lettrage
0/: La Mogul No 674 Jut remplacee par une Dix Roues 4-6-0, la No 713. Tout Ie train museal du CN fut donne au Musee des
sciences
et des technologies dOttawa. Depuis, Ie Musee ExpO/ail a ete recipiendaire de nombreuses pieces de leur collection,
dont
La voiture de coLons No 531, que Lon voit ici. Photo: collection Smaill.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
Historic diesels are an
important part of the
CRHA collection. CNR
15824 is a sister to the
famous 15820 whose
record breaking cross
Canada trip in
1925 set
the stage for
more dieseL
deveLopment on the CNR
under the capabLe c.E.
Brooks.
In this scene from
1942, just after her rebuild
that included the
repLacement of her
Beardmore dieseL with a
Cummins engine, unit
15824 reposes between
ntns at Lunenburg, Nova
Scotia. Dave Shaw
Collection
158 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
L automotrice petroLe-eLectrique No 15824 du CN Les vehicuLes historiques a moteur dieseL forment une importante section de
La collection de LA CHF La No 15824 est de La meme sbie que La 15820, qui lraversa Ie Canada en 1920 et qui Lanr;a au CN Les
recherches surce type dengins so us lhabile direction de C. E. Brooks. Surcette photo de 1942, on La voit peu de temps apres Les
renovations qui ont consiste, entre autres, a rempLacer son moteur de marque Beardmore par un moteur Cummins. Photo prise
a La gare de Lunenburg, Nouvelle-Ecosse. Photo: collection Dave Shaw.
Mikados were
ubiquitous on the CNR
system, therefore it is no
surprise that a CNR 2-
8-2 was deemed a must
for inclusion in the
CRHA collection.
Number 3239 was the
seLected representative.
She was built by the
Canadian
Locomotive
Company in 1917 as
Canadian
Govemment
Railways 2839. In this
view
from August 1958,
taken at Lindsay,
Ontario, she has LittLe
over a year of service for
the
CNR before her
retirement. AL Paterson
Collection
La Mikado No 3239 du CN Les Locomotives de type Mikado 2-8-2 furent Largement utilisees sur tout Le reseau du CN IL fallait
donc
en avoir une dans notre collection. La No 3239 est Lheureuse eLue! Elle a eM constlUite en 1917 par La Canadian
Locomotive Co. pour Les chemins de fer dugouvemement canadien et portait aLors Le No 2839. Par La suite, elle devint La 3239 du
CN Danscette photo daout 1958 a Lindsay, en Ontmio, onpeut La voir a Lors qu il Lui reste a peine unan a travaillerpour Le eN
avant de prendre sa retraite au Musee Exporail. Photo: collectionAL Paterson.
JULY -AUGUST 2008 159 CANADIAN RAIL· 525
Power for todays
Owen Sound
wayfteight is CPR G1
Pacific 2231. Coal
and livestock are
evident in 2231 s train
consist as the
venerable 4-6-2
makes her way west at
Lambton Park,
Ontario back in
August 1952. The
2231 is one of only
two older
G class light
Pacifics preserved.
The other is G2 2634
in Moose Jaw,
Saskatchewan. Al
Paterson Collection
LaNo 2231 du CP lei, une locomotive de type G-1 du Cp, une 4-6-2 Pacific Legere en tetedun train local de marchandises dans
la region de Owen Sound, en Ontario. Sur ce train, if y a surtout des wagons de charbon et danimaux en route vers lOuest a
Lambton Park. La No 2231 est lune des deux seules Pacific Legeres de la classe G qui ont ete conse/vees. L autre, la G-2 No
2634, est en montre a Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. Photo: collection Al Paterson.
CNRFPA-4 6765 is
one of Exporaifs
absolute diesel
treasures.
Beautifully restored
to her as-delivered
green
black and
yellow paint
scheme, today she
resides
on display in
Exporails Angus
Pavilion beside
CPR Royal
Hudson 2850. Back
in 1973, in the
company of FP9
6530 she awaits a
return run to
Ottawa at
Brockville, Ontario.
Photo: Trackside
Photo Collection
La diesel No 6765 du CN Cette locomotive de type FP-A4 est lun des tresors de la collection Exporail. Elle a eM completement
reno vee et a retrouve ses couleurs dorigine :
vert, noiret jaune. Elle est en montle a cote de la Royal Hudson No 2850 du CP dans
Ie pavillonAngus du Musee Exporail. Surcette photo, elle est engare de Brockville en compagnie dune FP-9, la No 6530, alors
qu elle attend de retoumervers Ottawa, Ontario. Photo: collection Trackside.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
The second
generation of
Canadian dieseLdom
is well represented
at
EXPORAIL by such
exampLes as CPR
C424 Number 4237.
Back in August 1975,
when the 4237
awaited assignment at
NO/th Bay, Ontario,
she still spo/ted
grey
and Tuscan red Livery.
HeLmut Osterman
Collection
160 JUILLEr -AOOr 2008
La diesel No 4237 du CP Les Locomotives dieseL de seconde generation sont bien representees dans La collection du Musee
Exporail. Cette
ALCO C-424 en est un bon exempLe. La photo, qui date d aoat 1975, nous montre La 4237 en attente a La gare de
North Bay, Ontario. Elle est toujours dans sa
Livree dorigine, en mmmn et gris et surlignee en jaune. Photo: collection Helmut
Osterman.
MU car 6734
Leads train
number 953
into vaL RoyaL
Station on
August 3,
1987. RonaLd
Ritchie #
10580
L automotrice eLectrique
No 6734. Cette automotrice, avec pLusieurs autres, fO/me un train de banLieue en gare de VaL RoyaL au
nord de Montreal. Phototographiee Le 3 aoat 1987. Photo: RonaLd Ritchie No 024.

JULY -AUGUST 2008
exhibit season from May to October and the ties on these
two tracks were entirely covered with rock cinder dust to
allow a safe walkway.
The construction of storage
Building Two allowed for the removal
of the second track
in bays 2 and 3
of Building One. Building Number Six is
currently off limits to the general public and is used for
storage
purposes only.
During this period a very unusual delivery was
made to the museum. The historic rural railway station,
built 1882
by the Canada Atlantic Railway at Barrington
Quebec, approximately 35 miles southwest
of the
museum site, was delivered intact by truck in January
1965. It was subsequently restored as closely as possible to
its original
appearance. The late Walter Bedbrooke
supervised the transportation of the station. Three
different sets of foundations, erected under very difficult
conditions,
preceded the present permanent one. It
should be noted that the CNR intended, as was the case
with so many
older and / or underutilized buildings, to
demolish the station. Today
not even the rail line exists
through Barrington.
163 CANADIAN RAIL 525
qui setendait de mai a octobre. Les dormants de ces
voies
etaient entierement recouverts de poussiere de
roche afin de
creer un passage pietonnier securitaire. La
construction du nouveau hangar permit aussi de retirer la
voie
supplementaire de la voie de garage numero 2 de
Iautre hangar,
Ie numero 1. Les visiteurs ne sont
desormais plus admis dans Ie
hangar numero 6, puisquil
sert
dorenavant dentrepot.
Une livraison inusitee eut lieu pendant cette
periode au Musee.
En effet, la gare rurale historique de
Barrington, au Quebec,
construite en 1882 par Ie Canada
Atlantic Railway et situee approximativement a 50
kilometres au sud-ouest du Musee, fut livree
integralement par cam ion en janvier 1965. Par la suite,
elle fut restauree en
respectant Ie plus possible son
apparence origin ale. Le regrette Walter Bedbrooke avait
supervise son deplacement. Trois differents types de
fondations
furent erigees, dans des conditions difficiIes,
avant IinstaIIation des assises
permanentes. II faut savoir
que Ie CNR avait eu Iintention de demanteler cette gare,
comme bien dautres dailleurs parfois plus anciennes ou
simplement inutilisees.
II nexiste plus aucune voie ferree
dans la localite
de Barrington.
On Janumy 16, 1965 BalTington Station rolled onto the site. The former Canada Atlantic Station had been donated to the
CRHA and the move was organized by Walter Bedbrook. Banington is a typical/ural station of the 1880s with separate mens
and womens waiting rooms. It is the departure point for Exporails Sunday train ride fulfilling its intended role even today.
CRHAArchives,
FondAngus # 5794.
Le 16 janvier 1965, la Gare de BalTington QC arrivait au Musee. Le demenagement de cette ancienne gare du Canada Atlantic
avait
eli planifie par Walter Bedbrook. Le batiment est typique des gares IUrales des annees 1880; il y avait des salles de toilette
separees
pourles hommes et les femmes! Comme point de depart de la randonnee en train du dimanche, la vieille gare peJpetue
Ie role pour lequel elle avait ife constlUite! (Archives de 1A CHF, FondsAngus No 5794
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
According to The Montreal Gazette, in 1970
the
entrance fee was $0.75 for adults, $0.25 for children
under 12 and free for the small fry. By this point the
museum was open seven days a week during the summer
season; 9-5 on weekdays and 10-6 on weekends. For an
additional $0.25 per family, a 1/2 mile train ride was
ava
ilable on Sundays in CNR railcar 15824 or attached
van (caboose). Family train rides have been a part of
Museum visits ever since.
In 1971 a replica
of a divisional point station was
constructed thanks to a gift from the
three daughters of
Charles Melville Hays, the President of the Grand Trunk
and
Grand Trunk Pacific Railways until his death in 1912.
The Hays Building served as a visitor reception centre and
archives repository until the opening of the Exporail
building many years later. Mr. Hays vision
of a Pacific
164 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
Les tarifs dadmission en 1970, selon The
Montreal Gazette, etaient fixes a 0,75 $ pour les adultes et
a 0,25 $
pour les enfants de moins de 12 ans. Cetait
gratuit pour les« tout-petits ». A ce moment-la, Ie Musee
etait ouvert
toute la semaine pendant la saison estivale, de
9 h a 17
hIes jours de semaine et de 10 h a 18 hIes fins de
semaine. Le dimanche, pour un supplement de 0,25 $ par
fa mille, les visiteurs pouvaient faire une randonnee de 0,8
kilometre a bord
de Iautomotrice du CNR No 15824
auquel etait attele un fourgon
de queue. Les randonnees
en
train devinrent par la suite partie integrante de la visite
duMusee.
Grace a la generosite des trois filles de Charles
Melville Hays, president du
Grand Tronc et du Chemin de
fer du
Grand Tronc Pacifique jusqua son deces en 1912,
une replique
dune gare intermediaire fut construite en
When the CRHA ran its excursion to St. Lin, Quebec on November 6, 1960 little did we know that we would wind up with both
the locomotive No.
29 and the tumtable it was tumed on! Unloading the turntable at the museum on October 24,1964. In 2008
the turntable underwent a major overhaul including roller bearing replaceme
nt and thorough paint job by Exporails volunteers.
CRHAArchives, FondAngus
# 5757.
Le Canadien-Pacifique fit don dune plaque-tournante, anciennement utilisee a St-Lin QC; elle fut livree au Musee Ie 24
octobre
1964. Cette annee, on a procede a une revision majeure de lappareil, y compris Ie remplacement des coussinets a
rouleaux; les benevoles dExporai/ en ont profite pour la repeindre au complet. (Archives de IACHF, FondsAngus No 5757)
JULY -AUGUST 2008
coast port to rival Vancouver became a reality when the
Fairview Container Terminal in Prince Rupert, BC was
officially
opened September 12,2007.
Prior to
the construction of the Hays Building, a
turntable from St. Lin,
Quebec that had been donated by
the
CPR was moved into its present position at the
museum. This was accomplished by volunteers
the heavy
lifting being
done by Brockelsby Transport. Wyatt Webb
supervised
the construction of the pit and the circular
track therein.
Also with
great fanfare in 1971, regular live
steam opera tions
came to the Canadian Railway Museum
in the form
of the John Molson, an operating replica of
a circa 1848 locomotive from Canadas first steam railway,
the Champlain and St. Lawrence Railroad.
The C&SL
was opened between LaPrairie and St. John (now St-Jean
sur Richelieu),
Quebec, in 1836. The Molson Foundation
financed the building and delivery
of the replica at a cost
of $75,000. Built by Kawasaki Heavy Industries in Japan
to a Scottish design, the locomotives arrival in August
was a key
element in celebrations marking 10 years since
the Museums founding.
The late Mr. Gordon Small of
Scotland volunteered his time in designing the
locomotive.
1972 ONWARDS -CONTINUED GROWfH –
TO MOVE
OR NOT TO MOVE
With the increasing scope and importance to
Canadian history of the collections entrusted to the
CRHA, it became evident that additional capital and
operational funds were required to expand and improve
the facilities and to add professional staff. Without such
commitments, the irreplaceable collections and volunteer
enthusiasm would not be maintained.
Therefore the
CRHA approached National Museums of Canada
(NMC), who at that time had the responsibility for both
the national museums and the federal programs designed
to
support museums across the country. Subsequently the
CRHA submitted a 5 year capital plan and a set of goals
for
the Canadian Railway Museum. Discussions led to
funding from
the Museums Assistance Programme for a
management study
of the general museum situation that
would identify problems and potential directions. The
Guidelines for Planning report in April 1977, prepared by
David
H. Scott Consultants, provided an independent,
detailed analysis of both the current situa tion
of both the
CRHA and the CRM and a series of recommendations
aimed
at the development of a first-class museum of
professional quality.
Consideration of the recommendations
in the
Guidelines for Planning was, however, affected by
another report, also released in 1977, entitled Specialized
165 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
1971. ~edifice Hays a servi de point daccueil pour les
visiteurs
et de local darchives jusqua Iouverture,
beaucoup plus tard, du pavilion Exporail.
Le souhait dun
port sur la cote du Pacifique, exprime par M. Hays, port
concurrent a celui de Vancouver, devint une realite
lorsque
Ie Fairview Container Terminal fut officiellement
ouvert a Prince-
Rupert en Colombie-Britannique Ie 12
septembre 2007.
Precedant
la construction de Iedifice Hays, une
plaque
tournante en provenance de Saint-Lin, au
Quebec, fut offerte
par Ie CPR et demenagee a lendroit
quelle occupe actuellement au musee.
Le travail fut
accompli
par des benevoles, et Ie lourd fardeau a ete
souleve
par la firme Brockelsby Transport. Cest Ie
regrette Wyatt Webb qui avait supervise lexcavation de la
fosse et linstallation du rail circulaire.
~arrivee au Musee de la John Molson, une
replique dune locomotive a vapeur de 1848 de la
premiere compagnie de chemin de fer au Canada, la
Champlain & St.Lawrence Railroad, fut saluee avec
grande pompe en 1971. La C&SL reliait La Prairie et
Saint-Jean (main tenant Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu), au
Quebec, a
partir de 1836. La Fondation Molson finan<;a
la construction et la livraison de cette replique au cout de
75000 $. Construite par la Kawasaki Heavy Industries au
Japon selon un design ecossais, larrivee de la locomotive
en aout 1971 fut la cle des celebrations de 10e
anniversaire de la fondation du Musee.
~Ecossais
Gordon Small avait gracieusement travaille au design de
cette locomotive.
1972-VERS LEXPANSION,
DEMENAGER OU PAS!
Avec Iexpansion et Iimportance du point de vue
historique canadien de la collection confiee
a lACHF, il
devint evident quon avait besoin de fonds
supplementaires, tant pour limmobilier que pour Ie
roulement du Musee, afin dameliorer les amenagements
et dajouter du personnel professionnel. Sinon,
impossible de maintenir cette irrempla<;able collection
et
de motiver Ie benevolat. Aussi, IACHF entra en
communication avec Musees nationaux canadiens
(MNC), qui, a cette epoque, etait responsable des musees
nationaux
et du Programme daide aux musees a travers Ie
Canada. ~Association avait prepare un plan
quinquennal et etabli un ensemble dobjectifs a atteindre
pour Ie Musee ferroviaire canadien. On discuta de la
fa<;on dutiliser les fonds potentiels du Programme daide
aux musees et de la situation en general du Musee.
Le
rapport remis en avril 1977 par les Consultants David H.
Scott, Guidelines for Planning (Directives
pour une
planification), donna lieu a une analyse detaillee des
situations de
lACHF et du MFC ainsi qua une serie de
recommandations pour Ie developpement dun musee de
qualite professionnelle.
RAIL CANADIEN· 525
Museums in Canada. This report, prepared by Barry
Lord for the National Museums of Canada, pointed
out
that:
unique collections of national significance,
particularly
of transportation, communications and
industrial artifacts
are not adequately accessible to
Canadians … the existing grants programmes have been
unsatisfactory in their effect on these collections, and
some are in peril of destruction, dispersal or
deterioration.
This
report recommended the establishment of
the Specialized Museums Programme in Canada to
ensure the preservation and accessibility
of these
collections for the Canadian public.
The major recQmmendation made in
SpeciaHzed Museums Programme in Canada with
respect to the Canadian Railway Museum was:
Recommendatio.n 9: That the Specialized
Museums Programme take as its ownfirst priority
the developnierit
of the Canadian-Railway Museum
at Delson, Quebec into a museum of national
stature. commel1surate·with
~theimportance of the
collections, through the, .support for land
acquisition, new construction, upgrading of present
facilities-and staff; management studies, training,
registrat-ion,
cataloguing
~mdarchival programmes,
but not through the,supportof routine qp~iating
costs.
Additional recommendations referred to the
constitution
of the CRM board, and of a National
Railway Council, and to the need to consult the Canadian
Conservation Institute and National Inventory
Programme,
Subsequent to this report, the
CRHA applied to
the NMC for designation of the
CRM as a specialized
museum,
In April 1978, the CRM became the first
institution to receive this designation with the approval
of
the NMC Board of Trustees that it be designated the
Specialized Museum for Railways
in Canada. The
CRM thus became eligible for capital funding under the
Specialized Museums Programme.
The letter of
agreement was signed on behalf of the CRHA by Charles
Dejean, who was president at this crucial time in the
Associations history.
This designation and agreement
is still in effect
as they have never been terminated
by either party.
SITE SELECTION REVISITED
The National Museums of Canada undertook a
site selection study for the CRM. Under the
chairmanship of Andre Bachand, Vice-Chair of the NMC
166 JUILLET -AOCJT 2008
Les observations et les recommandations du
Guidelines for Planning se retrouverent dans un autre
rapport edite lui aussi en 1977 et intitule Specialized
Museums in Canada (Les musees specialises au Canada).
Celui-ci,
prepare par Barry Lord pour Musees nationaux
du Canada, precise ce qui suit:
« [ … J ces collections uniques,
signifiantes au niveau national, particulierement pour Ie
transport, les communications et les artefacts industriels,
ne sont pas adequatement accessibles pour les Canadiens
[ … J les programmes de subventions existants ont une
portee insuffisante sur ces collections et certaines sont en
danger de destruction, de dispersion ou de
deterioration. »
Ce rapport recommande Iimplantation du
Programme des musees specialises au Canada.
Voici.la recommandation principale inscrite
dans
cedernier programme quant au Musee
ferroviaire canadien:
« RecommanaatiQn numero 9 : Que Ie Programme
des musees specialises
adopte comme priorite Ie
developpement du Musee ferroviaire canadien de
Delson,_ Quebec,
enun musee de nature nation ale,
proportionne3 -limportance de sa collection, par
un ,support financier 3 lacquisition de terrains, 3
u
ne nouvelle construction, 3 uneamelioration des
amenagements du musee et [3 un ajbut de]
personnel, 3 des etrides de gestion, 3 de la
-formation, -3 des piogrammes darchivage et de
catalogage, rnais excluant laide aux couts
dexploitaticin usuels.»
Dautres recommandations renvoient a la
constitution du conseil dadministration du
MFC et 3 un
conseil national ferroviaire, ainsi
qua la necessite de
consulter lInstitut canadien
de conservation et Ie
Programme dinventaire nationaL
A la suite de ce rapport, IACHF demanda 3
MNC de reconnaltre
Ie MFC en tant que musee
specialise. En avril 1978,
Ie MFC devint la premiere
institution 3 recevoir ce statut.
II re<,;ut lassentiment du
conseil dadministration de
MNC detre designe Ie Musee
specialise
pour Ie chemin de fer canadien. Le MFC
devenait, par ce fait, admissible au fonds immobilier du
Programme des musees specialises.
A ce moment decisif
de Ihistoire du Musee, Charles
Dejean, alors president
de
I ACHF, signa la convention au nom de I Association.
Cette designation
et la convention qui y est
rattachee, demeurent encore en vigueur puisque aucune
des deux parties
oen ooot rompu les conditions.
CHOIX DEMPLACEMENT
Musees nationaux du Canada a realise une etude
sur Ie choix de Iemplacement du MFC. Une rencontre
sous la presidence dAndre Bachand, vicepresident du
lL
:r
II
1
f
n
u
s
a
11
(
I(
II
JULY -AUGUST 2008 167 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
D/: R. vv. Nicholls (standing at left) and DonaldAngus (moto/man) inaugurate electlic tramway se/vice on a straight piece of
electrified track along the west fence, the date was September 23, 1972. Power was provided by the CNR motor-generator set.
CRHAArchives, FondAngus # 11929.
Le Dr R. vv. Nicholls (debout II gauche) et Donald Angus (Ie garde-moteur) inaugure Ie se/vice de tramways electriques au
Musee,
Ie 23 septembre 1972. A lepoque, Ie parcours consistait en une courte section de voie ferree en bordure de la cloture, du
cote ouest. Letectricite eta it fownie par une genera trice venant du Canadien-National. (Archives de IACHF,
Fonds A ngus
No 11929)
Board, Dr. R.v.v. Nicholls, and Stephen Walbridge,
representing the CRHA, met with David Baird, Director
of the National Museum of Science and Technology;
Barry Lord, Specialized Museums Programme
Coordinator; and Andre Juneau, directeur de la
Direction des musees et centres dexposition, Ministere
des Affaires culturelles, Quebec. This august group
agreed on the set of criteria required for a suitable site for
a railway museum,
and then looked at twenty-eight (28)
sites available
or potentially available through various
federal and provincial
government agencies. On May 20,
1978
the NMC Site Selection Committee reported:
It is the conclusion of this investigation that no
superior site to the Delson/St. Constant location is to
be found. Particularly if the possibility of the CPR
spur ride of a mile of track is taken into account, the
current location is superior to any site examined in the
course of this investigation.
This conclusion allowed
the Chairman of the
Committee to present a recommendation to the NMC
conseil dadministration de MNC, eut lieu entre R. V. V.
Nicholls et A. Stephen Walbridge, representants de
IACHF, et David Baird, directeur du Musee des sciences
et technologies, Barry Lord, coordinateur du Programme
des musees specialises, et enfin, Andre Juneau, directeur
de la Direction des musees et centres dexposition,
ministere des Affai.res culturelles du Quebec. Ce
prestigieux
groupe accepta les criteres retenus pour Ie
choix du site pour un musee ferroviaire, puis proceda a
lexamen de 28 sites possibles en consultant differentes
agences gouvernementales, tant federales que
provinciales. Le 20 mai 1978, Ie comite de selection de
site de MNC declara:
« En conclusion de notre enquete, aucun site
superieur a celui de Delson/Saint-Constant na ete
trouve. Si on tient compte en particulier de la
possibilite du
CPR de creer un embranchement
ferroviaire de un mile (1,6 kilometre), Ie site actuel
demeure superieur a tout autre examine au cours de
cette recherche. »

RAIL CANADIEN • 525
documentation, including the acquisition and
categorization of selected archival materials, and to
make available to the public the results of its research.

To communicate to the public the total experience of
railways through the presentation of its collections in
both live and static displays and to provide the
opportunity for the public to learn
about railways in
Canada.

To operate the museum in a manner that reflects the
needs and aspirations
of the general public, the railway
enthusiasts,
other components of the CRHA, other
railway museums in Canada, the industry and
government.

To present a character that is reflective of the nature of
the railway industry.
Each objective was then described
more fully as
to how itwould
be achieved in the expanded museum.
The goals and objectives were then used to
determine the facilities required. It is amazing to review
the description
of the facilities provided by the Working
Group in The Next Spike and compare it to the present
resources at Exporail. The Next Spike outlines a central
building with visitor reception, cafeteria, bookshops,
cloakroom and washrooms, educational facilities,
including a 250 seat auditorium, and administrative and
curatorial offices and facilities. This space was to
open
into major exhibit areas -the railway and tramway
displays, tha t were to be also accessible from mezzanines.
The exhibit areas was to contain the highlights of the
railway and tramway equipment and thematic displays to
convey their significance.
The streetcar ride was to
circulate throughout the southwest portion
of the site,
stopping at most
of the buildings. There also was to be
buildings necessalY for the operation
of the equipment
including the turntable, storage facilities and limited
access to vehicular traffic on the site. All
of this has taken
twenty years, but
ithas come to pass.
In
order to turn The Next Spike into reality, and
to serve as the basis for the development
of a major fund
raising campaign, the
CRHA produced The Next Spike:
A
Plan of Action. Just as the fund raising campaign was to
begin in 1982, the Societe du Vieux-Port
approached the
Association with the first
of what was to become multiple
proposals to relocate the Museum.
The Next Spike served as the touchstone for all
other development proposals to come forth over the next
10 years, and there were many. Some came from various
governments and agencies, and had to
be considered.
Some came from developers. Some provided the
possibility
of much greater public accessibility and had to
be considered. Some of the more interesting locations
considered during this period included:
• Isle Ste Helene,
one of the Expo 67 islands in the St.
Lawrence River, was proposed
by Montreals Mayor
170 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
• Se charger de toute recherche et documentation
pertinentes, y compris Iacquisition
et Ie c1assement de
materiel darchives selectionne, et mettre a la
disposition du public
Ie resultat de ces recherches.
• Communiquer au public
« Iexperience entiere » du
chemin de fer
par la presentation de sa collection dune
maniere a la fois vivante et statique, et creer Ioccasion
pour
Ie public dacquerir des connaissances sur chemin
de fer au Canada.

Gerer Ie musee de sorte quil puisse refleter les besoins
et les aspirations du public en general, des passionnes
du ferroviaire, des
membres de IACHF, des autres
musees ferroviaires du Canada, des industries et des
gouvernements.
• Presenter Iimage de Iindustrie ferroviaire.
Chacun des objectifs fut precise afin delaborer
des applications
pour un musee en expansion.
Les objectifs
furent ensuite etudies en lien avec
les installations requises.
II est interessant de comparer
les descriptions des installations proposees
par Ie groupe
de travail dans Ie document The Next Spike avec les
ressources actuelles dExporail.
Dans Iebauche du plan
de
The Next Spike, on trouve un edifice central
comportant un hall daccueil pour les visiteurs, une
cafeteria,
une bibliotheque, un vestiaire et des toilettes,
un centre educatif
comportant une auditorium 250 sieges
et un centre administratif. On explique que Ie batiment
devra abritere
une aire dexposition ou seront installes
des vehicules ferroviaires
et des tramways, et accessible
par des mezzanines. I.:aire dexposition devra mettre en
evidence
Ie materiel ferroviaire et les tramways les plus
representatifs
et offrir des expositions thematiques
illustrant leur pertinence. Le circuit
de tramway devra
desservir la section sud-ouest du site avec des arrets
a la
plupart des batiments.
On devra pourvoir linstallation
dequipements necessaires
a Iutilisation du materiel,
dont
la plaque tournante, a Ientreposage et prevoir un
acces limite des vehicules routiers sur
Ie site. Vingt ans
plus tard, to us ces objectifs sont atteints!
Afin que
The Next Spike serve de base tangible
pour lancer des camp agnes
de souscription majeures,
IACHF produisit
Ie document The Next Spike: A Plan of
Action. Au moment ou on sappretait a lancer la
campagne
de souscription de 1982, la Societe du Vieux­
Port approcha IAssociation avec
Ie debut de ce qui
deviendra
une proposition multiple de relocalisation du
musee.
The Next Spike devint la reference pour les
nombreuses autres propositions
de developpement dans
les dix annees subsequentes : certaines
en provenance des
gouvernements et des agences, dautres amenees
par des
investisseurs. Celles qui devaient
permettre une plus
grande accessibilite du public devaient etre aussi
considerees. Voici les propositions les plus interessantes:
JULY -AUGUST 2008
Jean Drapeau. The lack of rail access was no problem
to him because a spur could be built from the Victoria
Bridge to
the island. Cost quickly eliminated this
proposal.
o One of the piers in the Vieux Port de Montreal, was
proposed
by the Societe du Vieux-Port. It would have
been in the heart of the vieux port redevelopment,
which was attracting over a million visitors a year.
Unfortunately a 300 x 30
meter linear museum with
little room for storage,
operation or display of other
artifacts,just couldnt meet the goals of the CRM.
o Place Viger, site of the former CPR Viger Station and
hotel, was also proposed
by the Societe du Vieux-Port,
though at the time it was still a working railway facility
and
not yet under the control of the Societe.
o The Lachine Canal Site, straddling the canal at the
turning basin at the foot of Peel Street in Montreal.
Well over a
year and significant money went into
producing the Strategic Plan for the Lachine Canal
Site, a preliminary cost estimate, and a detailed
economic impact study
in 1988, which led nowhere
when the then Minister
of Canadian Heritage visited
the site and proposed
his own solution (see below).
o CPRs St. Luc Roundhouse, was proposed by the then
Canadian Minister
of Heritage, Marcel Masse. While
this would have preserved the last roundhouse built in
Canada, the roundhouse was still in use by the
CPR and
located beside a working rail yard.
Each proposal that minimally met the
requirements had to be studied in order to address the
identified concern
of access by the public. Each proposal
took a
great deal of time and money, generally provided
by the Specialized Museums Programme, or other federal
government departments, to determine if it was
better
than the development proposed in The Next Spike, and
The Next Spike: A Plan of Action.
During all this time the
CRHA recognized and
acknowledged that railway history was
not limited to the
pre-1960 period and further acquisitions were
made to
represent the
modern era. To this end, we have continued
to acquire new artifacts: diesels, freight and passenger
rolling stock. Many
of the more recent arrivals were built
after
the museum originally opened to the public.
Cases in point:
CP 4563 (M-630) built in 1969;
SLQ 3569 (M420W) built
in 1977; and VIA LRC-3 6921,
built in 1983. We recently acquired
RPRX 2003 -the
prototype Green Goat from Railpower Technologies, a
type
of motive power that wasnt even conceived much
less in
operation at the end of the steam era.
By 1992 the
CRHA decided that it could not take
more time to examine alternate sites / proposals for
the
Canadian Railway Museum, so the project known as
Exporail was developed.
Yet
another Working Group, this time under the
chairmanship of Daniel Laurendeau, President of the
171 CANADIAII RAIL 0 525
o Clie Sainte-Helene, lune des iles de lExpo 67 situees
dans
Ie fleuve Saint-Laurent, fut proposee par Ie rna ire
de Montreal,
Jean Drapeau. Le manque dacces
ferroviaire netait pas
un probleme selon lui, car, disait­
ii, un embranchement pouvait etre construit a partir du
pont Victoria. La proposition fut aussitOt eliminee en
raison du
couto
o La Societe du Vieux-Port de Montreal proposa
Iutilisation
dun de ses quais. II deviendrait ainsi Ie
pole dattraction du nouveau projet de developpement
du Vieux-Port, qui devait
attirer annuellement plus
dun million de visiteurs.
Malheureusement, un espace
lineaire de 30 metres
sur 300 metres, avec peu de place
pour Ientreposage, Iexploitation du materiel
ferroviaire ainsi que lexposition des artefacts, ne
pouvait daucune
maniere satisfaire aux objectifs du
MFC.
o La Societe du Vieux-Port de Montreal proposa aussi la
place Viger, site de lancienne
gare Viger du CPR et de
lhotel attenant. Cependant, cet emplacement
demeurait une installation ferroviaire active et netait
pas
encoresous Ie controle dela Societe.
o On proposa une espace empietant sur Ie bassin du canal
Lachine au pied de la
rue Peel a Montreal. Pendant
plus dun an, des sommes
importantes furent investies
pour produire Ie Plan strategique pour Ie
developpement du site du canal Lachine, une
etude
preliminaire du cout et des impacts economiques qui ne
men a nulle part puisque Ie ministre canadien du
Patrimoine, ayant visite
Ie site, proposa une autre
solution, celie qui suit.
o Marcel Masse, ministre canadien du Patrimoine,
proposa Iinstallation du musee dans la rotonde de la
cour de triage Saint-Luc du CPR.
Cetait la derniere
rotonde construite au Canada; elle eta it encore utilisee
par Ie CPR et etait localisee pres dune cour de triage
ferroviaire encore active.
Chaque proposition satisfaisant aux conditions
minimales devait
etre etudiee quant a son accessibilite
pour Ie public. On investit beaucoup de temps et
dargent, provenant pour la plupart du Programme des
musees specialises ou dautres institutions
gouvernementales, pour determiner si les propositions
etaient plus avantageuses que
Ie projet presente dans The
Next Spike ou dans The Next Spike :A Plan of Action.
Pendant ce temps, lACHF prenait conscience
que Ihistoire ferroviaire ne
se limitait pas a la periode
precedant les annees 1960 et quil fallait prevoir des
acquisitions
pour representer lere moderne. On acheta
de nouveaux artefacts : des locomotives diesel
et du
materiel roulant tant
pour Ie fret que pour les passagers.
Plusieurs acquisitions furent faites apres Iouverture du
musee. Par exemples,
pour les locomotives: la CP No
4563 (M-630) construite en 1969, la SLQ No 3569
(M420W) construite en 1977
et la LRC-3 No. 6921 de Via
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
Management Committee of the Canadian Railway
Museum, with Dr. David
W. Johnson, Past-President of
the CRHA; Alan Blackburn, Charles DeJ ean, Fran~ois
Gaudette, members of the CRHA Board; and Marie­
Claude Reid, directrice
of the Canadian Railway
Museum, were mandated to develop a current approach
to fulfilling the goal and objectives of the Canadian
Railway Museum as previously articulated, at the
Delsonl
St. Constant location.
Again, a comprehensive report, Priorite
Collections, published in March of 1993, formed the basis
of the development
of the detailed architectural, exhibit
design, and fund raising for the development
of the
Exporail facility. A key element in the design process was
the inclusion
of significant meeting areas and facilities
that could
be used by local communities when not
required by the CRHA.
In 1997 the government of Quebec agreed to
fund $3.4 million dollars of the proposed
EXPORAIL
project at the Canadian Railway Museum, on the
condition
that the Federal Government provided
matching funds. On October 5, 2000 the Government of
Canada announced that they would provide $3.0 million
dollars from regional economic development funds, and
the
EXP 0 RAIL project was launched.
Not included in the initial Exporail fundraising
plan was the estimated $1.6 million that would allow for
the rehabilitation of the original 2 display buildings and
completion and execution of the interpretation plan for
the site.
CONSTRUCTION OF EXPORAIL
Once a final building design had been
established, construction tenders were called and a
private financial campaign was launched with an objective
of $ 3 million matching the Canada and Quebec funding.
Thus
the project became a true private -public
partnership.
Campaign tools were prepared including a
printed descriptive
I solicitation booklet, a promotional
DVD and other materials. Potential donor lists were
drawn up and the campaign was launched. As was
done in
1961, we solicited both cash and gifts in kind.
On October 6, 2000 a ceremony was held to
launch the Exporail project.
The great construction
adventure was underway, the next four years would
not be
without their construction trials and tribulations. As
construction progressed, it became evident that
there
would be some modest cost overruns. A parcel of land
owned
by the CRHA at Des Bouleaux Street, which was
zoned residential, was sold to a private developer and the
proceeds used to fund up the project. A strip
of land was
172 JUILLET -AOUT 2008
Rail, construite en 1983. Nous avons re~u plus
recemment la
RPRX 2003, Ie prototype Green Goat de
Railpower Technologies, un concept inimaginable
a la fin
de lere de la vapeur.
En 1992, IACHF decida de ne plus consacrer de
temps
a letude de propositions dautres sites pour Ie
Musee ferroviaire canadien et de concentrer dorenavant
toutes ses energies au developpement du projet Exporail.
Un nouveau groupe de travail fut cree, cette fois
sous la presidence de Daniel
Laurendeau, president du
comite damenagement du Musee ferroviaire
canadien:
Ie Dr David W. Johnson, ex-president de IACHF, Alan
Blackburn, Charles Dejean, Fran~ois Gaudette,
membres du conseil de IACHF, et Marie-Claude Reid,
directrice du Musee ferroviaire canadien.
Leur mandat :
developper une approche
pour realiser les objectifs du
MFC elabores en fonction du site Delson/Saint-Constant.
Un rapport publie en mars 1993, Priorite
Collections, constitua la base
pour la conception des
details architecturaux
et du design de Iexposition, et pour
les campagnes de financement en vue de la realisation des
installations dExporail.
Unclusion de locaux de reunion
et dinstallations pouvant etre utilises par les
communautes locales, un
element cle dans Ie processus
du design, ne fut pas demandee par I ACHE
En 1997, Ie gouvernement du Quebec alloua un
montant de 3,4 millions de dollars
pour Ie projet Exporail
du Musee ferroviaire canadien,
a la condition que Ie
gouvernement federal investisse un montant equivalent.
Le 5 octobre 2000, Ie Gouvernement du Canada annon~a
quil accordait une somme de 3 millions de dollars
provenant du Fonds de developpement economique
regional. Ainsi fut lance
Ie projet Exporail.
Un montant supplementaire estime a 1,6
million,
non inclus dans Ie plan de financement
dExporail, serait alloue
a la renovation des deux edifices
dexposition exist ants
et au plan dinterpretation du site.
CONSTRUCTION DEXPORAIL
Une fois Ie design de Iedifice bien etabli, on
publia les sou missions
et une campagne de financement
fut lancee dans
Ie secteur prive avec un objectif de 3
millions de dollars, Iequivalent du financement public du
Canada
et du Quebec. Ce projet devint ainsi un
partenariat entre
Ie prive et Ie public.
On prepara des outils de promotion pour la
campagne, dont une brochure de sollicitation, un
document en format
DVD et autres. Une liste de
bienfaiteurs potentiels fut dressee
et la campagne prit son
elan. Comme en 1961, nous avons alors sollicite des dons
en argent
et en especes.
Une ceremonie pour Ie lancement du projet
Exporail eut lieu
Ie 6 octobre 2000. Le debut dune
aventure de quatre ans
parsemee depreuves et de
problemes! Au fur
et a mesure de la progression des
travaux,
il devint de plus en plus evident quil y aurait
JULY -AUGUST 2008
retained to relocate the old CPR Candiac spur which was
used
by the Sunday train operation. Canada and Quebec
also contributed an additional $ 1.2 million each to see the
project through to completion.
A
great deal of planning and volunteer work
went into preparing for
the new building by our own
forces.
By and large most jobs were not glamorous. For
example, James Scott and Karen Burroughs spent two
years lubricating every
steam locomotive on the site so
that they could be moved,
either into the new pavilion or
at least repositioned to clear the way for exhibits that were
being placed in the new hall.
All exhibits that had been stored indoors were
cleaned. Steam locomotives were pressure washed with a
hot water/grease remover and wax compound. Wooden
vehicles like the streetcars, cabooses and private cars were
washed by hand. Vehicles intended to be open to the public
were vacuumed, windows cleaned and dusted inside.
The major component in the lead up to opening
was the track laying required to roll in the exhibits.
Volunteers
had laid the twelve 220 feet long display tracks
in the building over the 2003 winter months when outside
work
is near impossible in the harsh Canadian climate.
Daniel
Laurendeau had arranged for the donation of
several loads of streetcar special track work and
cobblestones from Panzini Construction who were
demolishing
the old MTC St. Henri car barn to make way
for a
Home Depot big box store. Gord Hill took it upon
himself along with Charles Dejean, Dr. David Johnson
and other members of the track crew to assemble the
streetcar tracks and cobblestones to resemble a Montreal
street in the streetcar era.
Both time and lack of funds did not allow
completion
of a 12 track yard and switches to reach the all
display tracks in the pavilion. Early
in 2003, it was decided
to install only four switches and three lead tracks to
the
grand hall. The lead tracks would be shoo-flied three
times to permit the switching of all 12 bays, a throwback to
the earliest days at the museum when 1112 was switched
into
our first building! This arrangement did save time
and money, but in doing so it created
other headaches.
Foremost was
that equipment could not be rolled in (or
out) at will. The entire move had to be extremely well
planned -from retrieving the exhibits
at their old
locations, washing, painting, and /
or other preparation,
switching the equipment into the
proper order for display,
and finally coordinating with the track laying, ballasting
173 CANADIAf1 RAIL • 525
quelques legers depassements des couts. Une parcelle de
la
propriete de lACHF de la rue Des Bouleaux, une zone
residentielle, fut vendue
a un promoteur immobilier et
ces fonds furent investis dans Ie projet. Cependant, une
bande de terrain localisee Ie long de Iembranchement de
Candiac de
CPR fut retenue pour les ballades de train du
dimanche. Les gouvernements du
Canada et du Quebec
allouerent
un montant supplementaire de 1,2 million de
dollars chacun afin de
permettre Iachevement du projet.
II fallut ensuite planifier Ie travail des benevoles.
Une grande partie de leurs taches netaient pas des plus
fascinantes!
Par exemple, pendant deux ans, James Scott
et Karen Burroughs lubrifierent chacune des locomotives
du site afin quelles puissent
etre deplacees vers Ie
nouveau pavillon ou pour liberer la voie pour les autres
qui seraient installees dans la
grande galerie.
Toutes les pieces dexposition destinees
a
linterieur furent nettoyees, et les locomotives a vapeur
lavees avec un melange
deau et de degraissant sous
pression, puis cirees. Les vehicules
en bois tels que les
tramways, fourgons de
queue et voitures de fonction
furent laves
a la main. Les vehicules ouverts au public
virent leurs interieurs depoussieres et leurs fenetres
lavees de linterieur.
I.:etape principale de pre-ouverture fut
linstallation des rails afin de pouvoir exposer les
vehicules
a Iinterieur du batiment. Ce que firent les
benevoles
pendant Ie dur hiver canadien de 2003, alors
que de toute maniere Ie travail a lexterieur devenait
impossible. lIs poserent ainsi plus de
60 metres de rail.
Daniel
Laurendeau fit les demarches necessaires aupres
de la firme Panzini Construction, responsable de la
demolition de Iancien garage de Saint-Henri de
la CTM
pour faire place a un Home Depot, afin dobtenir Ie don
de rails specialement conc;us pour les tramways ainsi que
des paves qui sy trouvaient. Gord Hill prit linitiative,
avec Charles
Dejean, David Johnson et dautres
membres de lequipe dinstallation des voies, dinstaller
ces rails
et paves de fac;on a reconstituer une rue de
Montreal comme
a lepoque des tramways.
Le manque de temps et Iinsuffisance de fonds ne
permirent pas de completer linstallation dans la cour des
12 voies
et des aiguillages permettant de joindre chacune
des voies
a linterieur du pavilion. Au debut de 2003, on
decida dinstaller seulement quatre aiguilles et trois voies
principales vers
la grande galerie. Ces voies seraient
derivees trois fois
pour obtenir ainsi 12 voies de garage,
comme
a lepoque des debuts du Musee lorsquon
aiguiIla la locomotive No 1112
a linterieur du premier
batiment.
Cette fac;on de faire permit deconomiser du
temps
et de largent, mais provoqua cependant certains
maux de tete. Dabord,
Ie materiel ne pouvait etre
deplace comme on Ie souhaitait. Chaque mouvement
devait se faire de maniere minutieuse.
II fallait retirer les
vehicules de leurs emplacements dorigine, les laver, les
peindre
et les preparer, les aiguiller dans Iordre pour
RAIL CANADIEN· 525 174 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
The impromptu gathering to welcome S&L No.4 into the new Exporai/ pavilion on May 15, 2003. From left to light:
unidentified,
D,: DavidJohnson, unidentified, Josee Vallerand, Alain Bosse, Jacques St. Gelais, Yves Gladu, Francine St. Jean,
James Bouchard, Marie-Claude Reid, Peter MUiphy, Nora Nicholls, Denis Maille,
D,: Robert Nicholls, Fred Angus, Sally
Nicholls,
C. Stephen Cheasley, Gordon Hill, Robert Nantel, Jean-Paul Viaud, Raymond Letourneau. Raymond Letourneau
Studio photo.
Une rencontre impromptue
pour accueillir la voiture no 4 du chemin de fer Sydney & Louisbourg dans Ie nouveau pavillon
dExporai/,
Ie 15 mai 2003. De gauche a droite,personne non-identifiee, Dr David Johnson, personne non-identifiee, Josee
Vallnand,
Alain Bosse, Jacques St-Gelais, Yves Gladu, Francine St-Jean, James Bouchard, Marie-Claude Reid, Peter Mwphy,
Nora Nicholls, DenisMaille, DrRobeltNicholls, FredAngus, Sally Nicholls,
C. Stephen Cheasley, Gordon Hill, RobertNantel,
Jean-Paul Viaud et
Raymond Letourneau. (Studio Raymond Letourneau)
and switching crews as to which track would be ready to
receive what and when!
At 0900 on Thursday, May
15, 2003 it was
determined that track 14 was ready to receive
the first
piece
of equipment. The shoo-fly was lined up, indoor
track ballasted and pressure washed to remove ballast
dust. .. everything was ready to
go! At 12:20PM, Sydney &
Louisburg combine Number 4 became the first piece of
equipment to be positioned into the new facility. Dr.
Robert v.v. Nicholls cut the ribbon and proudly posed
beside the incoming car
as his life-long dream was
realized.
Meanwhile, indoors, all surfaces
of the Exporail
Pavilion were painted
by either volunteers or museum
staff (mostly after hours
or weekends on a volunteer
basis) All surfaces received a minimum of two coats
of
paint with coloured walls receiving three. lexposition, et finalement,
epandre Ie ballast. Lequipe
daiguillage devait connaltre quelle voie serait
prete pour
recevoir quoi et quand!
A 9 heures, Ie mardi 15 mai 2003, on declara que
la voie
14 pouvait recevoir Ie premier vehicule. La
derivation etait prete, Ie ballast interieur applique et la
poussiere du ballast retiree
… Allons-y! A 12 h20, la
voiture mixte Sydney
& Louisburg No 4 fut Ie premier
vehicule installe dans
Ie nouvel amenagement… Le Dr
Robert v.v. Nicholls coupa Ie ruban inaugural et fut
photographie pres de la voiture au
moment ou Ie reve de
sa vie se realisait.
Parallelement, toutes les surfaces interieures du
pavilion Exporail furent peintes, tant
par les benevoles
que
par Ie personnel du Musee (principalement apres les
heures de travail ou les fins de semaine
et sur une base
volontaire).
Deux couches de peinture partout et une
troisieme couche sur les murs de couleur.
Le samedi matin 31 mai 2003, Exporail, la
nouvelle entite du Musee ferroviaire canadien, etait
JULY -AUGUST 2008
On Saturday morning, May 31, 2003, Exporail,
the new name for
the Canadian Railway Museum opened
to the public -over one year late, slightly over budget, and
still not fully comple
teo
Due to mechanical problems with the
contractors ballasting equipment, exhibits could not be
placed on tracks 15 and 20 until about a week later.
Otherwise everything was ready to go.
The exterior was
cleaned up, the interior washed and dusted, the boutique
set up and the reception
area staffed. Station signs were
hung from the reception hall ceiling, as it was still
incomplete – a clever touch!
2004 -THE OFFICIAL OPENING OF
EXPORAIL
The official opening of Exporail, the new look of
the Canadian Railway Museum took place on Friday,
August 27th, 2004. This 9,000 square
meter (96,800
square foot), climate controJled facility was funded
by the
Governments
of Canada, Quebec, the City of Saint
Constant, the railway industry and private donations.
It
comprises a great hall wherein some 47 pieces of historic
railway and tram vehicles are
on display, two exhibit
rooms, library and archive rooms, a 330
person
multifunctional hall, boutique, Le Tramway coffee shop,
offices and comfort facilities.
More than a museum,
Exporail
is a window on the future of the railway industry
in Canada.
Since the design
of Exporail permits pieces of
rolling stock to be moved on theiJ own wheels, some of the
rolling stock from the Exporail collection
is lent from time
to time to
other railway museums across Canada for
exhibition. In addition, traveling displays about Canadian
railways are
prepared and sent to other museums. As well,
rolling stock from the Exporail collection
is loaned to
other institutions. The Revelstoke Railway Museum
currently houses
CPR steam locomotive 5468 while CNR
Number 1112 is on loan to the Smith Falls Division.
For a detailed account
on the construction of
Exporail please refer to the July -August 2003 issue of
Canadian Rail (No. 495), copies are still available from
theCRHA.
THE ROLE OF GOVERNMENT -PAST,
PRESENT & FUTURE
Governmen t aid was received for the first time in
1962 with
Quebec contJibuting $25,000 and the
Dominion of Canada $50,000. At that time no legislation
was in place authorizing
the Federal Government to
support a museum of technology, so a clever subterfuge
was used. The grant was given for the preservation
of
three historic sites and funds provided to care for them.
Thus
CNR 4100, the first locomotive ordered by the then
newly created Canadian National Railways,
CPR 2850
175 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
ouvert au grand public avec un an de retard, un leger
depassement des couts et… pas completement termine.
En raison de problemes mecaniques avec lequipement
de ballastage de lentrepreneur, les vehicules prevus pour
les voies 15 et 20 ne furent installes quune semaine plus
tard.
Autrement, tout alIa it pour Ie mieux: lexterieur
etait nettoye, linterieur lave et depoussiere, la boutique
installee
et laire de reception… occupee par du
personnel!
Des enseignes de gare furent suspendues du
plafond du hall de reception,
Ie temps que ce plafond soit
complete;
une touche dingeniosite!
See pages 158-163
Canadian Rai) , 495, July­
August 2003
2004-OUVERTURE OFFICIEL DEXPORAIL
~ouverture officiel dExporail, Ie nouveau « look
» du Musee ferroviaire canadien, eut lieu Ie vendredi 27
aout 2004. Cet espace de 9000 metres carres, a
atmosphere controlee, fut finance par Ie gouvernement du
Canada et celui du Quebec, par la Ville de Saint-Constant,
par des entreprises ferroviaires et des dons prives.
Exporail est constitue dune grande galerie
ou sont
installes
47 vehicules ferroviaires et tramways historiques,
de deux salles dexposition, d une bibliotheque
et dune
salle darchives, dune salle multifonctionnelle pouvant
accueillir 330 personnes, dune boutique, de la cafeteria Le
Tramway, de bureaux et dinstallations sanitaires. Plus
qUun musee, Exporail est une fenetre sur
Ie futur de
Iindustrie ferroviaire au Canada.
Comme la configuration dExporail permet au
materiel roulant de se deplacer
sur ses propres roues, une
partie peut etre pretee de temps a autre a dautres musees
ferroviaires,
partout au Canada, pour des expositions.
De plus, des expositions itinerantes sur Ie chemin de fer
canadien sont preparees et expediees a dautres musees.
Le musee ferroviaire de Revelstoke accueille
presentement la locomotive a vapeur CPR No 5468 tandis
qu une autre, la No 1112 du CNR, est en sejour a la
Division de Smith Falls. Pour plus dinformation
sur la
construction dExporail, veuillez vous rMerer
a ledition
de juilIet/aoGt 2003 dll Canadian Rail
(no 495). Des
copies sont encore disponibles a I ACHF.
LE ROLE DU GOUVERNEMENT-PASSE,
PRESENT ET FUTUR
~aide des gouvernements debllta en 1962 avec
une contribution du Quebecde 25000 $ et une du Canada
de 50 000 $. Or, a cette epoque, aucune legislation
nautorisait
Ie gouvernement federal a soutenir un musee
a caractere technologique. On trouva donc un
subterfuge. La subvention fut offerte pour la
preservation de trois
« sites historiques ». Ainsi, la
premiere locomotive acqllise par Ie chemin de fer du
Canadien National, la No 4100, la locomotive Royal
Hudson utilisee sur des lignes du CPR pour Ie Royal Tour
of Canada en 1939 et la voiture de fonction du CPR, la

JULY -AUGUST 2008
long supported the Association. Frederick F Angus,
former editor
of Canadian Rail, and Donald and Mary
Angus, his parents, were life long
supporter of the
Canadian Railroad Historical Association, its aims and
projects. Fred was most generous to
the CRHA in his final
bequest to this institution and many others. It should be
noted that Freds great grandfather,
RB. Angus, was one
of the five members of the CPR Syndicate formed in 1881
to build the CPR
Exporail is designed to appeal to Canadians of all
ages. Besides the exhibit hall and artifacts, the public can
enjoy rides on a
one mile tramway line, a two mile railway
line and an
outdoor miniature railway. There also is an
extensive HO-gauge model railway installation.
The
facility includes a library, an archive center, temporary
exhibit spaces, a multi-purpose hall, and food and retail
spaces. Currently showing in the new
theatre is Stephen
Lows fantastic short film featuring Canadian Pacific
Railways Empress , Hudson-type locomotive
2816.
The film was shot mainly in October 2006 using an IMAX
specialized camera system.
Fundamen tal to the success
of Exporail has been
the financing the multi-purpose hall
by the city of Saint­
Constant, giving its citizens preferential access for its use
and in turn a direct connection to
the museum.
Always willing to try something different and /
or
creative, Autumn 2007 saw Exporail successfully stage the
Rocket Richard Exhibit.
The tie in with railroading -the
original 6 National Hockey
League teams traveled by
rail between games until the league expended to
12 widely
scattered teams.
The CNR fall, winter and summer
timetables included a footnote that
on certain dates the
departures of some overnight trains would be delayed an
hour. What was
not stated was this was done to
accommodate the
NHL schedule. Hockey and railways
are two subjects
near and dear to Canadians. The huge
draw
of The Rocket brought many visitors to our fine
facilities who might
not otherwise have visited.
The Archives/Library have benefited from the
EXPORAIL project. Priceless documents, images and
small objects are now stored in a properly climate
controlled environment in line with government
standards. There is now a proper consultation space for
researchers and members are invited to make
appointments with the Archivist before visiting the
facili
ty.
179 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
editeur du Canadian Rail, Donald et Mary Angus, ses
parents, furent
pendant toute leur vie de vifs partisans de
IACHF, de ses aspirations et de ses projets. Le regrette
Fred fut tres genereux, dans Ie contenu de ses dernieres
volontes,
pour cette institution ainsi que plusieurs autres.
II faut noter que son arriere-grand-pere, RB. Angus, fut
lun des cinq
membres du syndicat forme en 1881 pour
creer Ie CPR
Exporail est a la portee des Canadiens de tous
ages. Pres de la salle dexposition
et des artefacts, Ie
public peut profiter de ballades de 1,6 kilometre en
tramway ou de 3,2 kilometres sur une voie ferroviaire ou
sur un chemin de fer miniature exterieur.
II y a aussi un
vaste reseau de chemin de fer reduit, a lechelle HO. Les
installations
comprennent une bibliotheque, un centre
darchives, des locaux dexpositions temporaires, une
salle a usages multiples, des locaux pour se restaurer ou
pour la vente au detail. Presentement, dans la salle de
cinema, on projette un fantastique court metrage de
Stephen Low mettant en vedette IEmpress du Canadien
Pacifique tire par la locomotive de type Hudson No 2816.
Ce film fut realise principalement en 2006 avec un
systeme de
cameras de format Imax.
Le financement de la salle multifonctionnelle
par la Ville de Saint-Constant a ete une contribution
fondamentale
pour Exporail, en permettant un usage
privilegie
pour les citadins de cette municipalite et, en
retour, un lien direct avec Ie Musee.
Desireuse dexplorer un nouvel aspect creatif,
Exporail,
a Iautomne 2007, fut IhOte de lexposition
itinerante pOl·tant sur
Ie Rocket Maurice Richard. Le
lien avec Ie chemin de fer? Le transport par rail de
lequipe
entre les jou tes de la ligue originale de hockey,
composee
de six equipes, jusqu a son expansion a 12
equipes, largement dispersees. Les horaires des trains
pour Iautomne, lhiver et lete du CNR incluaient une
note indiquant qua certaines dates, les departs de
certains trains de nuit seraient retardes dune heure. Ce
qui netait pas mentionne, cest que Ie CNR voulait «
saccommoder» avec lhoraire de la LNH. Le hockey et
Ie chemin de fer sont deux sujets chers aux Canadiens. La
grande attraction du « Rocket » amena beaucoup de
visiteurs qui,
autrement, ne nous auraient peut-etre pas
connus.
La bibliotheque et les archives ont beneficie du
projet Exporail.
Des documents precieux, des images et
de petits objets sont main tenant gardes dans un
environnement a atmosphere contr61ee selon des
standards gouvernementaux. II existe maintenant un
espace de consultation approprie pour les chercheurs.
Les membres
sont cependant invites a prendre rendez­
vous avec Iarchiviste avant de visiter cet en droit.
?
EXPORAIL
AMENAGEMENT GENERALE
GENERAL LAYOUT TO SCALE Drawn
by
James Taylor, 2008
😀 ~ r o ~ z ~ o m z en I) en co o L C r r m –i
I
~ o C –i I) o o co
JULY -AUGUST 2008
THE CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL
ASSOCIATION FOUNDATION
On July 16, 2007, the Canadian Railroad
Historical Association
Foundation was incorporated. The
establishment of a foundation is part of our strategic plan.
The incorporators were Stephen Cheasley, Peter Murphy
and
Fred Angus. The main objects of the foundation are
summarized as follows;
1) To support the conservation of, preserva tion of,
interpretation of, display of, and dissemination
of
information on, as well as to advance the education
about Canadas Railway Heritage,
2) To support the ongoing development of a library and
archives
and research into Canadas Railway
Heritage,
3)
To support the preparation and publishing of
Canadian Rail and the publishing of books about
Canadas railways, and
4) To support other institutions involved in conselving,
preselving, interpreting and displaying Canadas
Railway Heritage.
A request for a charitable receipt
number for the
foundation
is underway. A Board of Directors for the
foundation will be announced
at a later date. The
foundation will be a very valuable institution to protect
Canadas Railway Heritage.
THE FUTURE
As has been the case since 1932, the CRHA
remains dedicated to the preservation of Canadas
railway heritage.
The forward thinking of a small group
of individuals back in the 1930s has led to wonderful
organization that last year celebrated its 75th anniversary.
Canada, more than most countries, was
dependent on the development of the railways for its very
existence, and
that is why it is so important that this part of
Canadas heritage be properly preserved for future
generations. Railway history
is a major part of the story of
Canada, and it must be cherished, nurtured and retold to
all Canadians.
What will the future bring? Just as in the 1950s
when no
one really knew the size that the collection would
grow to, today we can only imagine what new exhibits a
visitor in the year 2032
will see at Exporail. Canadian
railways
are always improving and changing, with the
result that preserving
our railway heritage presents the
ongoing challenge of rescuing items of historical
importance before they
are lost to the scrap yard or to
other countries. Certainly in keeping with our tradition,
there will be rolling stock
that today is busy making
revenue for its railway owners
that will be worthy of
preselvation.
It is also important that Exporail interpret the
present dynamic growth to the public who are largely
unaware
of the dynamic growth of the industry which
181 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
LA FONDATION DE L ASSOCIATION
CANADIENNE DHISTOIRE FERROVIAIRE
Le 16 juillet 2007, la Fondation de lAssociation
canadienne dhistoire ferroviaire fut incorporee. La
creation dune fondation fait partie de notre plan
strategique. Les fondateurs furent
C. Stephen Cheasley,
Peter
Murphy et Ie regrette Fred Angus. Les objectifs
principaux de la fondation
sont resumes ainsi:
1) Sou tenir la conservation, la preservation,
linterpretation, lexposition et la dispersion de
linformation et tout aut ant, lavancement de
Ieducation a propos du patrimoine ferroviaire
canadien.
2) Mettre de lavant Ie developpement de la bibliotheque
et des archives ainsi que la recherche sur Ie patrimoine
canadien.
3)
Soutenir la preparation et la publication du Canadian
Rail et la publication douvrages traitant du chemin de
fer canadien.
4)
Appuyer dautres institutions qui se consacrent a la
conservation, a la preservation, a linterpretation et a
lexposition du patrimoine ferroviaire canadien.
Dne demande pour un numero de re~u de
charite
pour la fondation est en cours. La constitution du
conseil dadministration
de la fondation sera annoncee a
une date ulterieure.
Cette fondation sera une institution
precieuse
pour la protection du patrimoine ferroviaire
canadien.
LEFUTUR
Depuis 1932, IACHF se voue a la preservation
du patrimoine ferroviaire canadien.
La vision davenir
dun petit
groupe dindividus dans les annees 1930 a mene
a un melveilleux organisme qui a fete lan dernier son 75e
anniversaire.
Le Canada, plus que la plupart des autres pays,
etait
dependant du chemin de fer pour sa survie et cest
pourquoi il si important den preserver convenablement
Ie patrimoine pour les generations futures. I.;histoire
ferroviaire est une partie import ante de Ihistoire du
Canada et doit etre cherie, entretenue et racontee a tous
les Canadiens.
Que sera lavenir? Tout comme dans les annees
1950, alors que personne ne pouvait simaginer jusqua
quel point grandirait la collection, nous ne pouvons
quimaginer aujourdhui ce que verront les visiteurs en
lan 2032 a Exporail. .. Le chemin de fer canadien
change
et sameliore constamment, et la preselvation de notre
patrimoine nous demande dacquerir des objets
dimportance historique avant quils ne se retrouvent
dans des cours de ferraille ou dans dautres pays.
II y a
actuellement du materiel roulant
en selvice qui procure
un rendement aux entreprises ferroviaires, mais qui, plus
tard,
en fonction de notre tradition, sera precieusement
preserve.
RAIL CANADIEN • 525
The mmzature railway, affectionately
known
as the garden train is a major
attraction, here Gilles Bouthillier pilots
another load
of happy riders around the
circuit. Piene Bell.
Le chemin de fer miniature,
affectueusement nom me ((train de
jardin
, est une attraction populaire. De
joyeux visiteurs font un tour du circuit
avec Gilles Bouthillier aux commandes.
PielreBell
182 JUILLET -AOOT 2008
Interior view of the shop building
taken in August, 2008. MTC
obselvation car No. 3 is undelgoing
restoration including the
replacement of 8 wheels, the TTC
tower truck donated by way of the
Halton County
Radial Railway
Museum in Milton, Ontario is
parked at left. lean-Paul Viaud.
Vue interieure de lateliel; prise en
aota
2008. On peut y voir le
tramway-obselvatoire No 3 de la
CTM, sur lequel on effectue des
travaux
de restauration… dont le
rem placement de ses huit roues! A
gauche, on aperr;oit
un ancien
camion
a plate-folme eleva trice de la
TTC, obtenu grace a la cooperation
du Halton County Radial Railway
Museum, deMilton (Ontario).
JULY -AUGUST 2008
handles more freight and commuters today than ever
before. Will CN Rail and Canadian Pacific Railway
continue to
operate as we know them today, or as some
believe, will there be mega mergers that reduce the North
American network to two or three Class 1 carriers?
What of Class 1 expansion? Are the railways undergoing a
renaissance
… another golden era? Where will freight and
passenger traffic levels be
in five, ten … years? Its all very
exciting … and
the Canadian Railroad Historical
Association and Exporail will be there to record the
developments for posterity.
For the past 75 years the CRHA has remained
true to its mission of preserving and disseminating to the
public the history
of Canadas railway heritage through its
publications (including Canadian Rail)
and Exporail. We
wish to thank all our donors, supporters, various levels of
federal, provincial and municipal governments, our
members and volunteers who have helped make the
dream of Exporail become a reality.
ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
We would like to thank Douglas Brown, C
Stephen Cheasley, Dr David Johnson and A. Stephen
Walbridge for their kind assistance in providing a wealth
of information that allowed us to write this concise history
of the CRHA. Also Josee Vallerand, Archivist, Jean-Paul
Viaud Curator, Ronald Ritchie, Daniel
Laurendeau, Stan
Smail! and Douglas Smith for their contribution in
various ways to this
three part CRHAhistory.
POSTSCRIPT
We would invite anyone willing to share their
own stories regarding the
CRHA and/or the Canadian
Railway Museum/Exporail to please email
Stephen Wray
at cpr2850@yahoo.com
or to write Stephen Wray, 303
Acadia Drive, Beaconsfield, QC,
H9W 2K1
183 CANADIAN RAIL • 525
II est important egalement quExporail soit a
laffOt du dynamisme croissant dune industrie qui
trans porte un volume
de marchandises de plus en plus
important et de plus en plus
de banlieusards. Est-ce que
CN Rail
et Ie Chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique
continueront leur exploitation
comme on la connalt
aujourdhui ou, comme certains Ie pensent,
convergeront-ils pour reduire Ie reseau nord-americain a
deux ou trois transporteurs de classe 1? Que dire de
Iexpansion de la classe I? Est-ce que les chemins de fer
vivent une renaissance … un nouvel age dor?
OU en sera
Ie trafic du fret et des passagers dans cinq, dix ans? Tout
~a est captivant… et lAssociation canadienne dhistoire
ferroviaire
et Exporail seront 121 pour observer to us les
developpements.
Depuis
75 ans, IACHF a maintenu sa mission de
preserver
et de tgransmettre au public Ihistoire du
patrimoine ferroviaire canadien
par Ientremise de ses
publications
(dont Canadian Rail) et Exporail. Nous
souhaitons
remercier tous nos bienfaiteurs et les
gouvernements federal, provincial
et municipal, nos
membres
et nos benevoles, qui tous ont apporte leur
contribution afin que
Ie reve dExporail devienne realite.
REMERCIEMENTS
Nous remercions Douglas Brown, C. Stephen
Cheasley,
Ie Dr David Johnson et A. Stephen Walbridge
de nous avoir fourni une importante quantite
dinformations qui nous ont permis de rediger cet aper~u
de Ihistoire de I ACHF. Aussi J osee Vallerand,
archiviste,
Jean-Paul Viaud, conservateur, Ronald
Ritchie, Daniel
Laurendeau, Stan Smaill et Douglas
Smith
pour leur contribution respective a cette troisieme
partie de Ihistoire de I ACHF.
POST-SCRIPTUM
Nous invitons toute personne qui desire partager
sa
propre histoire en lien avec I ACHF, Ie Musee canadien
dhistoire ferroviaire
ou Exporail, a envoyer un courriel a
Stephen Wray a : cpr2850@yahoo.com ou a lui ecrire au :
303 Acadia Drive, Beaconsfield, QC, H9W 2Kl.
BA CK COVER TOP: CPR 1)ainmaster 8905 rounds the horse shoe cUlve at McGillivray, B. C. with Freight Number 984 in September 1972. A
rare sighting on the main line by this time, 8905 was likely working east to Ogden Shops in CalgalY for classified repairs. Number 8905 is the
only Fairbanks –
Morse 1)ainmasler in existence and is aplime exhibit in IheAngus Pavilion at Exporai/. Stan] Smail!
PAGE COUVERTUREARRIERE,
HAUT En septembre 1972, fa locomotive diesel1)ainmaster no 8905 du CP dans la cOUlbe en fer a
cheval Ii McGillivray, CB remorquant Ie train de marchalldises no 984. La presence dune locomotive du genre sur la voie principale Ii cette
dale etait plutot inusitee; il est fOlt probable qu el!e se dirigeait vers les ateliers Ogden de Calgary pour des reparations. La 8905 est la seule
locomotive Fairbank-Morse
(de type 1)ainmaster) a avoirete preservee; elle compte palmi les pieces trss importantes de la collection dans Ie
Pavilion Angus dExporail. (Stan Smail)
BACK COVER BOTTOM: CRHA excursions
were not always on sunny days! Running in a snowstOlm, Montreal 1)ansportation
Commissions
two man car Number 2222 delighted excursionists on FebrualY 23, 1958. This car now forms part of the MTC historical
collection
at Exporail. CRHAArchives, FondAngus # 1323
PAGE CO UVERTUREARRIERE: Le soleilnetait pas tOL/jours au rendez-vous lars dexcursions de IACHF! NaLlS sommes Ie 23 feVlier
1958, en pleine tempete de neige alaIS que Ie tramway a deux membres dequipage no 2222 de la CTM fait la joie dun groupe
dexcursionnistes!
Ce tram fait pal1ie de la collection historique a Exporail. (Archives de IACHF, Fonds A ngus No 1323)

Demande en ligne