Consulter nos archives / Consult our archives

La majorité des documents conservés par le Centre d'archives et de documentation de l'ACHF sont disponibles pour consultation.

Most of the documents kept by the ACHF Archives and Documentation Center are available for consultation.

Canadian Rail 521 2007

Lien vers le document

Canadian Rail 521 2007

214
ISSN 0008-4875
Postal Permit No. 40066621
CANADIAN RAIL
PUBLISHED BI-MONTHLY
BY THE CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION
TABLE OF CONTENTS
A Concise HistolY of the CRHA, Part 1, By Stephen Wray ……………………………………………. 215
Fairbanks Photo Gallery, By Stan J. Smaill ……………………………………………………….. 230
A Movie Called
Iron Road, By David LI Davies ……………………………………………………. 239
Busine
ss Car ………………………………………………………………………………. 245
FRONT COVER: Riding high! CPR TJainmaster 8917 is on a LaSalle transfel; delivering cars to the compact yard at Lasalle, Quebec
back
in June 1970. The 8917 was ordered from the Canadian Locomotive Company in Kingston, Ontario, on November 29, 1955 and
was delivered to CPR as part of order C-638 between September and October 1956. StanJ. Smail!.
BELOW:
The earliest Imown photo of a group of CRHA excursionists taken in 1932 by DonaldAnf51-lS, from left to right are Victor Morin,
unlmown, unlmown, M,: Renaud, John Loye and Robel1 R. Brown.
For your membership in the CRHA, which
includes a subscription to Canadian
Rail,
write to:
CRHA,
110 Rue St-Pierre, St. Constant,
Que. J5A
1G7
Membership Dues for 2007:
In Canada: $45.00 (including all taxes)
United States: $43.
00 in U.S. funds.
Other Countries: $80.00 Canadian funds. Canadian
Rail is continually in need of news, stories,
historical data, photos, maps and other material.
Please send
all contributions to Peter Murphy,
X1-870 Lakeshore Road, Dorval,
QC H9S 5X7,
email: psmurphy@videotron.ca.
No payment can
be made for contributions, but the contributor will be
given credit for material submitted. Material will
be
returned to the. contributor if requested. Remember
Knowledge
is of little value unless it is shared with
others.
INTERIM CO-EDITORS:
Peter Murphy, Douglas N.
W. Smith
ASSOCIATE EDITOR (Motive Power):
Hugues
W. Bonin
LAYOUT: Gary McMinn
PRINTING: Impression Paragraph
DISTRIBUTION:
Joncas Postexperts
Inc.
The CRHA may be reached at its web site: www.exporail.org or by telephone at (450) 638-1522
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
A Concise History
of the CRHA
By: Stephen Wray
As our 75th. anniversary year draws to a close, we are
pleased to present a concise history of the CRHA in
three parts.
Part 1, The Formative Years
The Canadian Railroad Historical Association
(CRHA) is a non-profit, federally incorporated
organization, founded in 1932. The c.R.H.A. is the
oldest organization in Canada pledged to the
preservation and interpretation of Canadas railroad
history.
The inclusion of the word Canadian in the
name ofthe Association indicates a commitment from the
beginning to fully represent Canadian railroad history
from coast to coast.
The CRHA has 1000 members and 12 Divisions
across
Canada and publishes Canadian Rail, a bi-monthly
magazine dedicated to
Canadian railway histOlY. It owns
and
operates Exporail, formerly the Canadian Railway
Museum, in Delson I St. Constant, Quebec. Exporail,
established in 1961,
is Canadas largest railroad museum
and is considered by museum experts as one of the best in
the world.
215 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Un aper~u de
Ihistoire de I ACHF
Par: Stephen Wray
Traduit
en fran~ais par: Denis Vallieres
Cest avec plaisir que nous vous pn!sentons un apen;;u
de Ihistoire
de I Association canadienne dhistoire
ferroviaire
(ACHF), en cette fin dannee du 75e
anniversaire de IAssociation.
1
ere partie, Les Fondaments
~ ACHF, un organisme sans but lucratif et
incorpore au niveau federal, a ete fondee en 1932. II
sagit du plus ancien organisme voue a la preservation et a
Iinterpretation de Ihistoire du chemin de fer canadien.
Le terme « canadien» indique bien la volonte qua eue
lAssociation, des ses debuts, de representer Ie Canada
dun ocean a Iautre.
~ACHF compte pres de 1000 membres repartis
en 12 divisions a travers Ie Canada. Elle publie
Canadian Rail, un magazine bimensuel dedie a lhistoire
ferroviaire
canadienne. Elle posse de de plus Exporail, Ie
Musee canadien dhistoire ferroviaire, situe a
Delson/Saint-Constant au Quebec. Exporail, etabli en
1961, est Ie plus important musee ferroviaire canadien et
est considere, selon des experts museaux, parmi Iun des
premiers
au monde.
CRHA excursionists attempting the view the sunken wreck of the SS Vermont in 1938. CRHAArchives, Fond WG. Cole
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
Designed to appeal to all ages, Exporail is
situated on 50 acres of land containing three display
buildings, with a total
of 125,600 sq. ft. of exhibition space,
a 25,000 sq. ft. reserve building, an 1882 country station, a
restoration shop and a turntable.
Exporail features rides
on a one-mile tramway line, a two-mile railroad line and
an
outdoor miniature railroad. It also has an extensive
HO-gauge model railroad installation. The facility
includes a library, an archive center,
temporary exhibit
spaces, a multi-purpose hall, a
theatre, and food and retail
spaces.
How did all this come to be?
HISTORY
On the evening of March 15, 1932, at the
Chateau
de Ramezay in Montreal, seventeen members of
the Antiquarian and Numismatic Society met at the
conclusion
of an exhibition of railroadiana. The
exhibition had been mounted to commemorate the 100th
anniversary
of the granting of a charter for Canadas first
public railway, the Champlain and St. Lawrence Ra
il
Road.
Victor Morin, President of the Antiquarian and
Numismatic Society was in the chair and
John Loye
outlined
the nature of a proposed society of railway
historians and enthusiasts.
At the conclusion of the
gathering, fourteen signified their
intention to join such a
group.
The Canadian Railroad Historical Association
was established forthwith with
the following executive:
John Loye -President, Robert R. Brown -Secretary and
Victor Morin -Chairman.
These men would play
outstanding roles in
the affairs of the Association for
many years. The term railroad was specifically chosen to
comply with
the North American custom rather than the
British term railway.
HONORARY EXECUTIVE
F~ESIOENT, DR. V,CTOR MORIN. LL.D .. F.R.S.C.
VICE· PRES., R. C. VAUGIIAN, O.B.E.
D. C. COLEMAN
CHAS. E. FISHER
216 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Exporail est ouvert aux visiteurs de tous ages. II
est situe sur un terrain dune superficie de 50 acres ou sont
eriges trois bfltiments dexposition
dune superficie totale
de 125 600 pieds canes (11 668,6 metres canes) en plus
dun
batiment de reserve de 25 000 pieds canes (2322,6
metres carres), dune gare rurale datant de 1882, dun
atelier de
restauration et dune plaque tournante.
Exporail offre
comme attractions un circuit de 1 mille (1,6
kilometre)
de tramway, un circuit ferroviaire de 2 milles
(3,2 kilometres) et
un chemin de fer miniature exterieur.
En plus dune collection de materiel roulant, on trouve a
linterieur du pavilion central un vaste reseau ferroviaire
miniature a lechelle
HO, une bibliotheque, un centre
darchives, un local pour les expositions temporaires, une
salle polyvalente, une salle de projection, une cafeteria
ainsi qUune
boutique de souvenirs.
Comment IACHF en est-elle anivee a une telle
expansion?
Histoire
Le soir du 15 mars 1932, au Musee du Chateau
Ramezay a Montreal, 17 membres de la Societe
darcheologie
et de numismatique se reunirent dans Ie but
dorganiser une exposition ferroviaire, afin de
commemorer Ie 100e anniversaire de letablissement de
la charte du premier chemin de fer public canadien, Ie
Champlain and St.Lawrence Rail Road.
Victor Morin, president de la Societe
darcheologie et de numismatique, anima ce soir-la
Iassemblee
et John Loye tra~a les grandes lignes dune
proposition de societe composee dhistoriens et de
passionnes du chemin de fer. A la suite de cette premiere
rencontre, 14 personnes manifesterent leur intention de
se joindre au groupe.
Ainsi
naquit la Canadian Railroad Historical
Association
(CRRA) ou ACHF. John Loye fut elu
president,
Robert R. Brown, secretaire et Victor Morin,
president dassemblee. Ces
hommes joueront des roles
importants au sein
de IAssociation pendant plusieurs
annees.
Le terme railroad fut choisi dans lappellation
anglaise
en reference a la terminologie nord-americaine
plutot
que Ie terme britannique railway.
EXECUTIVE
PRESIO£NT. JOHN Loy(;
VICE·PIl~S .. DONALO F. ANGUS
THcAsunr::R, ARTHUR HVOOI:::Lt.
COUNCIL.
R. G. H,RRIES
C. L. TERROUX
CHAS. V,AU
ST. LAWREXCfi fi ATLA..{fIC RD.,
Opined. Lon,lu,ull Ie) 8c1oil.
SECRETARY
S. S. WORTHEN
MON,TRP.AL EJ LAC:HJN,B RAILROAD
Op(ntd, 7I!(I~·tmblT 19.n. 1841.
firH S~nion. MolY, 18·0. 3 PROSPECT STREET
WESTt.lOUNT
f.HI a~ilwa,. info) MOII,I CW7.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007 217 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Le Centenaire du Chemin de Fer Au Canada
CANNEE 1932 a marque Ie centenaire dun
evenement important dans la vie commerc(ale,
industrielle
et sociale dun pays: Ie chemin de fer.
Cacte
de naissance de ce facteur puissant de notre vie
nationale se trouve, en effet, dans Iada.ption
de Iacte
dincorporation de
la Compagnie des Proprietaires
du Chemin de Fer de Champlain
et du St-Laurent,
qui remonte au
25 fevrier 1832.
La Societe d Archeologie et de
Numismatique de Montreal ne pouvait pas rester
indifferente
a ce souvenirhistorique. Des Ie 14
fevrier, elle invitait Ie public a visiter dans ses salles
uneexposition retrospective de tout ce qui se rattache
a Ievdlution du chemin de fer en ce pays; et elIe en
faisait
Ie couronnement dans une seance solennelle
au cours de laquelle
M. John Loye, principal
promoteur du projet, fit une causerie extremement
interessante accompagnee dexhibition de modeles
de locomotives anciennes
et modernes, prepares par
les soins de M. RR Brown.-
. A Iissue de cette seance,
I Association
Historique des Chemins de
FerCanadiens etait
fondee sous es auspices de
la Societe dArcheolbgie
et elIe tient,depbis lors, ses reunions chaque mois ail
Chateau de Ramezay.
Plus tard M. Robert
R. Brown, secretaire de
la nouvelle association,rappelait
a ses membres, au
cours
dune de ses seances mensuelles, une des
A one paragraph account of the inauguration
of
the CRHA appeared in a back page of The Gazette,
Montreals morning newspaper.
It included an invitation
to anyone sufficiently interested to attend the next
meeting on April 6th, and to enroll. Mrs. Mabel E.
Bevington, librarian of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and
Robert v.v. Nicholls, an undergraduate student at McGill
University, appeared and joined in response to the
invitation. entreprises des plus curieuses qui aient jamais ete
ten tees
et conduites a Donne fin dans aucun pays: celie
de la construction dun chemin de fer sur la glace,
destine
a remplacer Ie se,rvice dun traversier sur Ie
fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre Montreal et Longueuil,
pendant les mois dhiver.
. Ceux
dentre no us dont les souvenirs
remontent
a cinquarite ans se rappellent, en effet,
avec quel scepticisme fut accueillie Iannonce de ce
projet, avec quel ebahissement on
en vit la realisation
et avec quel inten~t on en suivit les diverses peripeties
dans lesjournaux du temps.
On nous saura gre de reproduire iei un article
de
M. Loye, president de I Association Historique des
Chemins de Fer Canadiens, sur les origines du chemin
de fer au Canada,
et un article de M. Brown, son
secretaire, sur
Ie chemin de fer qui circulait sur la
glace du fleuve Saint-Laurent, pendant Ihiver,
entre
Montreal etLongueuil.
CEditeur.
Excelpt from:
The Canadian Alitiquarian
and Numismaticlournal
Published
by the AntiquflJian and .
Numismatic Society
of Montreal.
In its Chateau de Ramezay
Fourth Series.
~ 1933 Vol. IV -Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4
Dans Ie quotidien The Gazette, un paragraphe
en tier annon<;a dans les jours suivants linauguration de
I ACHF. Une invitation a devenir membre et a participer
a la prochaine reunion, prevue pour Ie 6 avril, y etait
incluse. Mme Mabel E. Bevington, bibliothecaire
pour Ie
Chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique, et M. Robert v.v.
Nicholls, etudiant a IUniversite McGill, repondirent
aussitot
a Iinvitation.
. CRHAFounding Members / Membres fonda leurs de r ACHF
The original fourteen who signed up at that first meeting were:
John Loye
M. Spriggs
RR. Brown Les qmitorze membres fondateurs lors de la premiere assemblee furent :
WE. Foster
c.L. Terroux
P.O. Tremblay Mr. Renaud
Miss / Mille
Anna ODowd
Victor Morin Geo.
WSingleton
L.W Powers
J.E. Dolma
H. Rake
H.D. Guillet
Mabel Bevington and Robert Nicholls
Joined at the second meeting but were
deemed
To be founding members.
MmeMabel Bevington et M. Robert Nicholls se
. joignirent
a la deuxieme reunion et furent consideres
aussi comme
membtes fondateurs.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
At the same meeting, a Board of Directors for
1932 was elected and a simple set
of by-laws were
approved. Very soon the gatherings assumed a pattern
which was to
be followed for many years. Ten monthly
meetings were held between September and
June in
Montreal, usually in the Council Room of the Chateau de
Ramezay. Trips to places nearby
of railway historical
interest were held usually
in July and August.
218 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Lors de cette reunion, un conseil
dadministration fut 61u pour Iannee 1932. II adopta un
ensemble de
n~glements de base et choisit une procedure
dassemblee. I.:Association se reunissait
10 fois par annee
par annee
a Montreal (de septembre a juin), Ie plus
souvent dans la salle du conseil du Musee du Chateau
Ramezay.
Enjuillet et en aout, on organisait souvent des
excursions en lien avec I his to ire ferroviaire.
List of CRHA Presidents I Liste des Presidents de I Association:
John
Loye 1932-40
C. L. Terroux 1941
John Loye 1942-45
RG. Harries 1946
John Loye 1947
C. L. Terro~lx 1948
Sanborne S. Worthen 1949-52
Omer Lavallee 1953-54
Sanborne
S. Worthen 195556
Anthony Clegg 1957
In 1952, Robert
R Brown recalled that the
avowed purpose
of the Association was the study of
Canadian railway history and, during the first five or six
years, practically
all members were railway historians and
were engaged in research work
of one sort or another.
The CRHA was a learned society!
The CRHA Seal and Logo
I. JohI1 Loye, the Associations founding
President(1932-40, 1942-45, 1947), was
by profession
a d,esigning draughtsman.
He was skilful and
imaginative.
Bothofthese talents had been put to full
. use in designing
inthe early days the sta tionery for the
Association and for the Centena
lY Celebration
Committee
The minutes of the March 9, 1938 meeting
record an important decision in the following words:
After aJively discussion, the design
of Mr. Loye( for
a seal), which followed as closely
as possible the
design for that
of the Champlain & St. Lawrence Rail
Road was approved ……….
Though a seal, in a
limited sense
of a deviCe to emboss documents and
sealing wax, was not forthcoming until much later
, (1960), the approved design of a seal became the crest
.
of the Association forthwith. It has been much
admired:
It has been incorporated in the printing of
countless letterheads, envelopes, flyers, periodicals,
etc .. A spectacular version of it, produced
in living Ken Chivers1958
Robert
v.v. Nkholls 1959-71
C.Stephen
Cheasley 1972-76
J.S. Hallier 1977
Charles de
Jean I978-82
David Johnson
J 983-92
Walter Bedbrook J 993-96
Fran~ois Gaudette 1997-99
James Bouchard 1999-04
C. Stephen Cheasley 2004 .
En 1952, Robert R. Brown
annon~a que la
mission de IAssociation consisterait dans letude de
lhistoire ferroviaire canadienne, et de fait, pendant les
cinq ou
six premieres annees, pratiquement to us les
membres se voue
rent a diverses recherches sur Ie sujet.
I.:ACHF devenait ainsi une societe detude!
Le sceau et Ie logo de lACHF
John Loye, president fondateur de
lAssociation (1932-1941, 1942-1945, 1946-1947)
etait un dessinateur en design de profession.
Repute
habiIeet irriaginatif, il mit a contribution ces deux
. talents pour
creede logo de lAssociation et celui du
Comitede la celebration du centenaire.
On lrOuve dans Ie compte-rendu de la
relmion de mars 1938 cette phrase importante :
«
Apres vives discussions, le design de Monsieur Loye
(pout
unsceau), qui ressemble de pres au design duo
chemin de fer Champlain
& St.Lawrence, es(
approuve … ». Bienquele sce~lU, en ta:nt quappareil­
pour embosser un document ou
Ie sceller avec de la:
cire, ne
futpas utilise au-del a des annees 1960, son
design
devintdes cemoment Iembleme de
lAssociation. I1futalors grandement admire .
II a ete utilise pO]Jr Iimpression de nombreux
en-tetes de lettres,enveloppes, circulaires,
periodiques, etc.
Uneversion enseigne, en couleurs
vives, furinstallee
surlagrille aniere des trains lors de
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
colour, was carried as a drumhead insignia on the
gate
of the rear car of countlessCRHA excursion
trains.
It is now preserved in honourable retirement
at the Museum.
Source:
Robert VV Nicholls typewritten
memoires, 1982 (extract)
There have been 6 versions of the CRHA
logo, the legal seal remains version 3· dating
from 1958.
Version 1 -1932
This earliest version was based
on the
insignia· of the
Grand T):unk Railway of
Canada: Very elaborate, you can see the basis
of what will later become the main element in
the CRHA logo. We assume this is the logo that was
used in conjunction with
the Centennial Celebrations
and so may explain the Grand Trunk irifluence.
Version
2-c1939
Version
3-c1958
Version 2 was too elaborate for the taste
of
the 1950s and would have been difficult· to
make a proper seal with all the detail. John
Loye went to work again and produced version 3
which
is the seal and,logo that we are most familiar
with. This seal remains the legal
CRHA seal to this
day;. This logo first appeared
on the CRHA News
Report. (predecessor to Canadian Rail)
on issueNo.
88, April 1958.
219 CAIJADIAN RAIL • 521
nombreuses excursions organisees de ,IACHF. Cette
enseigne occupe maintenant une place dhonneur au
musee.
Source:
Robert VV Nicholls 1982 (extrait)
II y a eu six versions du logo de I ACHF. Cest
la version de 1958, la troisieme, qui prevaut
aujourdhui ..
Version 1 -1932
Cette version, la plus ancienne, fut inspiree
par Ie chemin de fer du Grand Tronc du
Canada. Tres travaillee, elle fut Ielement de
base
pour la creation du logo de IACHF. Ce logo
fut utilise
a Ioccasion des celebrations du centenaire,
ce qui explique Iinfluence du
Grand Tronc.
Version 2 -vers 1939
Cest probablement Ie sceau auquel faisait
reference
Robert Nicholls dans Ie texte ci­
dessus.
II fut aussicree par John Loye selon Ie
modele du sceau du Champlain & St.Lawrence
Rail Road, repi·oduitci-dessous. eet
embleme apparaissait sur les circulaires .
annon~~llt les excursions jusquen 1958.
. Version 3 -vers 1958
La version 2 etait·trop compliquee au gout
des annees 1950 et etait difficile
a reproduire
avec tous ses details.
John Loye se remit done
a la tache pour pJoduire la version 3, qui nous
est aujourdhui plus familiere.
Cette derniere version
est actuellement
Ie sceauofficiel de IACHF. Le logo
apparut pour la
premiere foi~ sur Ie numero 88 du
News Report (predecesseur du Canadian Rail)
en
avril 1958.
I
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
Version 4 -cl992
In the early 1990s, the Board of Directors
grappled with the issue of trying to make the
CRHA logo / crest bi-lingual. They wished to
maintain the integrity of the basic logo but there
was not enough room around the outer
circumference to reproduce the Associations full
name in both languages. As a compromise it was
decided to eliminate
the writing all together, use a
generic logo with the Associations full
name
printed in both languages at the bottom of the
letterhead The legal seal was never changed from
version 3. This crest was never used
on Canadian
Rail, only on envelopes and letterheads.
Version 5 -1994
Version 4 was never very
popular, it
appeared too stark compared to version 3
which had
been used for many years and was
widely accepted.
It was decided by the Board of
Directors to go back to version 3 (English version),
but make a standalone French version. Both crests
(English and French) were used
on letterheads and
on the cover of Canadian Rail commencing in
January 1994.
Version 6 -2002
While the Board was
content with the
individual English and French version of the
crests, they wished to establish a bi-lingual
image
on letterheads, Canadian Rail, and the
like, and so both crests had to be presented side by
side.
The look was overburdening and the Board
again
proceeded to try and find a solution to the bi­
lingual crest issue.
After seve.ral options were studied, it was decided to
maintain the
core Dorchester element but drop the
full name (in either language) and insert the CR~s
initials in both languages in its place. The full name of
the Association was printed in both languages at the
foot of letterheads, etc. This crest design was
introduced in
January 2002 and appears to have
gained acceptance, it
is the version still in use.
R.c. Jacobsen /Peter Murphy
220 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Version 4 -vers 1992
Au
debut des annees 1990, Ie conseil
dadministration tenta de creer un logo
emblematique bilingue pour I ACHF. On
esperait garder Ie logo original, mais il ny avait
pas suffisammen t de place sur Ie cercle exterieur pour
y reproduire Ie nom de IAssociation dans les deux
langues.
Comme compromis, il fut decide deliminer
completement Iecriture sur Ie cercle et dinscrire
plutot Ie nom de lassociation dans les deux langues
SollS Ie logo. Cependant, cest la version 3 qui
demeura officielle. La version 4 ne fut jamais utilisee
sur Ie Canadian Rail, mais uniquement sur les
enveloppes
et les en-tetes de lettres.
Version 5 -1994
La version 4 ne fut jamais populaire, elle
a
pparaissait banale et denudee
comparativement a la version 3 qui, elle, fut
utilisee
pendant de nombreuses annees et etait
. largement reconnue. II fut decide par Ie conseil
dadministration
de retourner a la version 3 (version
anglaise)
et dy ajouter une version fran~aise. Les
deux emblemes
(fran~aiset anglais) furent utilises sur
les en-tetes de lettres et sur la page couverture du
Canadian Rail
a partir de janvier 1994.
Version 6 -2002
Le conseil dadministration semblait
satisfait des deux emblemes distincts en
fran~ais et en anglais; on esperait ainsi etablir
une image bilingue de IAssociation grace aux
deux emblemes
apposes cote a cote sur les en-tetes
de lettres, sur Ie Canadian Rail, etc. Cependant,
Ieffet produit semblait surcharge et Ie conseil se mit
de nouveau a la recherche dune nouvelle version
dun
embh~me bilingue.
Apres avoir etudie quelques options, il fut decide de
maintenir la
Dorchester comme element du centre et
de remplacer dans les cercles les noms dans les deux
langues
par les sigles CRHA et ACHF. Le nouveau
design
date de janvier 2002 et semble etre accepte
depuis, de plus en plus.
R.c. J acobsen/Peter Murphy
I
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
Beginning with the June 15, 1932 meeting,
memorabilia (pictures, documents, books, three­
dimensional objects, etc.) were frequently displayed and
often accepted as donations. As the gifts were
accumulated, they were placed in the care
of Miss Anna
ODowd, Assistant Curator of the Chateau de Ramezay,
who had been appointed the
CRHA Custodian. By the
summer of 1939
our possessions had become sufficiently
numerous to ma
ke the preparation of an inventory highly
desireable. This task was
undertaken by Bevington and
Nicholls.
As time
went on and new technologies appeared,
the
entertainment program was improved to suit.
Members were
entertained by movies in 1932, colour
slides in 1949, and debates from 1954, and later
railroadiana auctions.
The c.R.H.A. was incorporated as
a not-for-profit corporation in 1941,
but suspended its
excursions and publications for the durati
on of World
War II.
The summer of 1932 saw the first of many
c.R.H.A. excursions.
The first, on June 19, 1932, was to
the abandoned roadbed
of the Lanoraie and Industrie
Railway, the oldest component
of the Canadian Pacific
Railway and where the Dorchester, lived
out its final
days. During this trip, a stop was made at Le Musee
Joliette to see the nameplate
of the Dorchester, the first
locomotive to
operate on a public railroad in Canada.
This nameplate
is now on permanent loan to the
Canadian Railroad Historical Association, and
is on
display
at Exporail. The original right of way of the
Champlain and St. Lawrence was traced on the second
excursion held on July 17, 1932.
221 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Par ailleurs, des la reunion du 15 juin 1932, on
commen~a a montrer et a offrir a lAssociation divers
elements a caractere historique (photos, documents,
livres, objets divers, etc.). Ces dons saccumulerent avec
Ie temps et cest Mile Anna ODowd, assistante curatrice
du Musee
du Chateau Ramezay, qui en prit soin. On la
nomma conservatrice de IACHF. Alete 1939, les objets
furent suffisamment nombreux
pour guun inventaire
simpose.
Cette tache fut confiee a Mme Bevington et M.
Nicholls …
Au fil des ans, les activites sadapterent aux
nouvelles technologies.
On invita les membres a des
projections de films (1939), puis de diapositives (1949), a
des conferences (1954)
et plus tard a des ventes aux
encheres dobjets ferroviaires.
~ACHFfut incorporee en
ta
nt quorganisme sans but lucratif en 1941. Cependant,
tou tes les excursions
et les publica tions furent suspendues
pendant la Deuxieme Guerre mondiale.
Une premiere excursion de lACHF eut lieu des
lete 1932. En effet, Ie 19 juin de cette annee-la, on
organisa
une visite de la voie abandonnee du chemin de
fer Lanoraie
et Industrie, la plus ancienne constituante
du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique.
Cest la aussi que
la Dorchester, premiere locomotive
a circuler sur un
chemin de fer public canadien, termina sa carriere.
Pendant
Ie trajet, on sarreta au Musee de Joliette afin dy
admirer la plaque nominative de la Dorchester. Cette
plaque, pretee en permanence a IAssociation, est en
montre aujourdhui a Exporail. On fit visiter la voie
originale du Champlain
& St.Lawrence a Ioccasion dune
seconde excursion,
Ie 17 juillet 1932.

LIST OF PRE-WORLD WAR II EXCURSIONS
No. DATE EQUIPMENT DESTINATION

SPECIAL EVENT
1
June19,1932 Automobile . Joliette, QC First excursion to Lanoraie & Industry Ry .
2
July 17, 1932 Automobile
St.Jean, QC Trace the C&St.Lroadbed
3
Oct. 23,1932 Automobile Grenville,
QC Trace the Carillon & Grenville
4
July
8, 1934 Automobile Philipsburg, QC Trace the Philipsburg Junction Railway.
5
Aug. 12, 1934 Automobile St.
Pie/Port Kent, NY·· Via Burlington VT ferry
6 Sept. 22,1935 Automobile No inforrnation No Informa
hon
7 Oct. 4, 1936 · Automobile Rouses Point, NY Via St. Remi, Hen~mingford
8 July28,1937 Automobile Drummondville, QC Via Yarnaska, Rougemont, etc.
9 August 8;1937 Automobile Montreal,
QC Visit Pointe SL Charles shops
10 August 29, 1937 · Automobile Montreal, QC Visit CPR Angus shops
11 Sept. 26,1937 Scheduled CNR Kingston, QC. Visit Canadian Locomotive Company
12 Oct. 24,1937 Automobile . Montreal, QC. Visit Montreal Locomotiv.c Works
13 Jan. 15, 1938 Automobile Montreal, QC. Visit Sir. Wm. Van Hornes mansion
14 June5,1938 Scheduled CVR St. Albans, VT Visit St. Albans stn. & CVR shops
15 June 26,1938 Automobile Cantic,QC To view the submerged wreck of Vermont
16 July3,1938 Automobile CantiC,QC To view the submerged wreck ofVermont
17 . Oct. 15, 1938 · Automobile Westmount, QC. Visit signal tower attne Glen Yards
18 July9,1939 Scheduled CNR Richmond-Asbestos, QC. Visit Asbestos and Danville Railway
19 Sept. 11, 1939 Automobile Newington, QC Visit Quebec Central Railway shops
20
Oct.8-9,1939 Automobile N.E. New York state Visit Grassy
RiverRR, etc.
21 Nov. 11-12, 1939 Scheduled CNR/CVR. White River J!lnction, VT White River -St. Johnsbury-Swanton
22 May23-24,1940 Automohile and D&H Lake Placid, NY Saranac Lake then D&H mixed to L Placid
23 June 16, 1940 Automobile Vermont and New York Visit East Alburg, Rouses Point, etc.
23 Sept. 29, 1940 Scheduled CNR Sixteen IslandLake, QC
25 Oct. 22,1941 No info , No info First fall foliage excursion . .

NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007 222 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
On July 9, 1939 a group of CRHA members, dressed in their Sunday finelY travelled by CN scheduled train to Asbestos, Quebec.
There they transfelT
ed to the Asbesdos & Danville Railway for an open pit mine tOUI; Fuzzy photos exist of the flat car with
benches
and passengers marshaled into an asbestos train touring the mine! CRHAArchives, Fond W G. Cole
AnotherCRHA excursion, D,; Robert vv. Nicholls is on the right. CRHAArchives, Fond WG. Cole
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
CHAMPUUNANDSLLA~NCERMLROAD
CENTENNIAL CELEBRATIONS
The infant Association, which had less than 25
members undertook a self-imposed responsibility: to
assure that the centennial anniversary
of the inauguration
of the Champlain & St. Lawrence Rail Road (C&StL) in
1836 would be duly celebrated
that year. On the
Associations first birthday in 1933, Loye reported that he
had sent a letter to the
CNR publicity department (the
C&StL
is the oldest constituent of the CNR, part of it
remain in regular service to this day) urging the Company
to organize a centenary celebration.
Another year was to
pass before an organizing committee was named.
It
consisted of representatives of the CNR, the CRHA, and
the municipalities
of Laprairie, St. Johns and St.
Lambert,
all of which had been termini for the C&StL.
Loye was the Chairman and Brown was the Secretary of
the group.
The 1936 celebration was highly successful.
It
extended over two days, Saturday, July 21st and Sunday
the 27th. The principal attraction was a special train to
accommodate the official party.
It was hauled by the
CNR 6400, the railways newest steam locomotive.
Loaded on a flat car Immediately behind the modern
locomotive, was a replica
of Dorchester -the first steam
locomotive to
operate British North America. The model
was built in the CNR Pointe St Charles shops. The special
train operated from Montreals old Bonaventure Station
to Laprairie, St. Johns (St Jean) and St. Lambert. During
the stop at St. Johns, a memorial to Canadas first public
railway was unveiled. Laprairie and St. Lambert already
had memorials.
Another highlight
of the celebrations was an
exhibition of railroad ian a at the
Chateau de Ramezay, the
centrepiece of which was
another replica of the
Dorchester. This replica had been built by the staff of the
Antiquarian and Numismatic Society with help from
several
CRHA members. This replica is now on view at
Exporail along with a piece
of the original strap rail
donated
by Frederick Angus. This piece of original rail
had been found
by Donald Angus (Freds father) in the
1930s while searching the original roadbed.
IMPORTANCE OF CANADIAN RMLROAD
HERITAGE
For the last 170 years, railroads have played an
important role in the development
of this vast country.
Due to the size of their country, Canadians have had to
develop world-class transportation systems, and todays
Canadian railroads are certainly world-class. Indeed, two
years ago, the U.S. magazine, Trains, named CN
as the
number-one railroad
in the world!
The Canadian railroads, with their twin ribbons
of steel, opened Canada for settlement and framed its
infrastructure. Many towns and cities in Canada owe
223 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
CELltBRATIONS DU CENTENAIRE DU
CHAMPUUN & ST.LA~NCE RML ROAD
La jeune ACHF, composee de moins de 25
membres, resolut de celebrer a Iete 19361e centenaire de
Iinauguration du Champlain & St.Lawrence Rail Road
(C&St.L).
A Ioccasion du premier anniversaire de
IAssociation,
M. Loye avait envoye une lettre au Service
de la publicite du Canadian National Railway (Ie C&St.L.
est la plus ancienne constituante du
CNR et une de ses
parties
demeure toujours en selvice) pour inciter la
compagnie a participer a Iorganisation de la fete
du
centenaire. Un an plus tard, on creait Ie comite
organisateur, compose de representants du
CNR, de
IACHF, des municipalites de Laprairie, de Saint-Jean
et
de Saint-Lambert. M. Loye en etait Ie president et M.
Brown, Ie secretaire.
Les celebrations eurent un grand succes. Elles
setendirent sur deux jours, soit Ie samedi 21 juillet et Ie
dimanche 22 juillet 1936. La principale activite fut la
venue
dun train special, tire par la nouvelle locomotive a
vapeur carenee du CNR, la No 6400, dans lequel avait
pris place la suite officielle. Derriere cette locomotive,
une replique de
la Dorchester, premiere locomotive a
vapeur
en Amerique du Nord britannique, reconstituee
dans les ateliers du
CNR pour Ioccasion, etait montee sur
un wagon plat. Le parcours : de la gare Bonaventure de
Montreal vers Laprairie, Saint-Jean
et Saint-Lambert.
Un monument dedie au premier chemin de fer public du
Canada fut devoile lors de Iarret a Saint-Jean; les villes de
Laprairie et Saint-Lambert avaient deja des monuments
semblables.
Un autre evenement culminant des celebrations
fut Iexposition ferroviaire au Musee du
Chateau
Ramezay, avec comme attraction principale une replique
de la Dorchester construite par les membres de la Societe
darcheologie
et de numismatique avec Iaide de I ACHF.
La replique est main tenant en montre a Exporail avec un
tron($on
de bande metallique de rail dorigine, offerte par
Frederick Angus. Cette bande fut dailleurs decouverte
par Donald Angus (pere de Fred) en 1930 a Ioccasion
dune recherche pour localiser la voie originale du
premier chemin de fer.
IMPORTANCE DU PATRIMOINE
FERROVWRE CANADIEN
Tout Ie long des 170 dernieres annees, les
chemins de fer ont joue un role crucial dans
Ie
developpement du Canada. La vaste etendue de leur
pays a oblige les Canadiens a developper sans cesse leur
systeme de transport sur rail, qui demeure
de renommee
mondiale. Ainsi, il y a deux ans, Ie magazine americain
Trains qualifiait Ie CN
de numero un des chemins de fer a
travers Ie monde.
Avec leurs deux rubans dacier, les chemins
de
fer canadiens ont ouvert Ie Canada a la colonisation et en
RAIL CANADIEN • 521 224 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Centennial celebrations in 1936, spanking new CNR 6400 at CNRs Bonaventure station ready to couple up to the special
Centennial Excursion Train; the
model of the Dorchester was made at CNRs Pointe St. Charles Shops and is displayed on a
decorated
flatca/~ crowds at St. Jean, QC CNR station to celebrate the event. The daily Amtrak Adirondack train between
Montreal
and New York rolls over this ve/y track today! CRHAA rchives, Fond W G. Cole.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521 225 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Rail enthusiasts photo
subject matter circa 1930s!
The C&SL dock remains at
Laprairie (later obliterated
by the St. Lawrence Seaway;
fOlmer M&C freight shed in
St. Lambelt;
monument to
the victims of Canadas
worst railway disaster
at the
Beloed Bridge in 1864;
a Grand Tiunk tank engine;
what would appear
to be a
classic 4-4-0 taken
through
the fence at an undisclosed
location.
All photos Donald
Angus.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007 226 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Gathering of CRHA members at an undisclosed CNR location circa late 1930s. CRHAArchives, Fond W G. Cole
their origin to the coming of the railroad, and their shape
to the tramways and streetcar lines which served many
Canadian municipalities both large and small. Many a
Canadian family has a
proud railroader in its background.
The railroads were, and still are, the life-blood of Canada,
moving a large percentage
of Canadas goods and
materials. From a passenger perspective VIA Rail
Canada provides frequent dependable transportation
within the Quebec City -Windsor corridor, world class
land cruises (The Canadian) and remote services, some
of which still have no road connections to the outside
world. Agence Metropolitaine
de Transport, Go Transit
and West Coast Express
in Montreal, Toronto and
Vancouver respectively move large volumes of people on
a daily basis, keeping commuters off the roads and
helping to reduce green house emissions
in the process.
From a political standpoint, the completion of the
CPR
on November 7, 1885, provided the basis for the Canadian
Confederation
as we know it today.
Canada, more than most countries, was
dependent on the development of the railroads for its very
existence, and that
is why it is so important that this part of
Canadas heritage
be properly preserved for future
geherations. Railroad history
is a major part of the story
of Canada, and it must be cherished, nurtured and retold
to all Canadians.
However, the Canadian railroads are always
improving and changing, with the result that preserving
railroad heritage presents the ongoing challenge of
rescuing items
of historical importance before they are
lost to the scrap yard
or to other countries.
ont forme Iinfrastructure telle quon la connait
aujourdhui.
De nombreuses villes sont nees grace aux
chemins de fer et
Ie developpement de plusieurs dentre
elles sest fait en fonction des !ignes de tramways, et ce
autant dans les grandes municipalites que dans les plus
modestes. Plusieurs families canadiennes sont fieres
davoir eu parmi leurs membres des cheminots ou autres
employes du rail. Les chemins
de fer ont ete et
demeurent
Ie reseau sanguin du Canada, transportant un
fort pourcentage des biens et marchandises du pays. Via
Rail Canada fournit un service etendu pour les passagers
du corridor Quebec/Windsor, des croisieres
par voie
terrestre de renommee mondiale (Le Canadien)
et des
liens avec des regions eloignees qui
ne sont pas
connectees aux reseaux routiers. LAgence
metropolitaine de transport de Montreal, Go 1tansit de
Toronto et
Ie West Coast Express de Vancouver
transportent quotidiennement un grand nombre de
banlieusards, diminuant dautant leur nombre sur les
routes et,
par Ie fait meme, reduisant les emissions de gaz
nocifs dans Iatmosphere. Du point
de vue politique,
enfin, retenons que Iachevement du lien transcontinental
par Ie CPR, Ie 7 novembre 1885, a etabli les bases de la
Confederation canadienne tel que nous la connaissons
aujourdhui.
Le Canada, plus que la plupart des autres pays,
fut dependant du developpement des chemins de fer
pour
sa survie. Dou Iimportance de sauvegarder cette partie
du patrimoine pour les generations futures. L:histoire du
chemin de fer est un volet important de lhistoire
canadienne et elle do it etre choyee, preservee
et racontee
a tous les Canadiens. Nous sommes face au defi constant
den sauvegarder les eJements significatifs avant que
ceux-ci ne se retrouvent chez les ferrailleurs ou
a
Iexterieur du pays.
RAIL CANADIEN· 521
PUBLICATIONS
Publications started in April 1937 with the first
issue of the Bulletin.
It was suspended during World War
II and resumed only in October 1949 with a new title, the
CRHA News Report.
The first News Report announced the
regular monthly meeting
of the Association and a second
Montreal
Tramways System excursion, but the big news
was the two 1500
HP diesels that had been ordered for the
Delaware
& Hudson subsidiary the Napierville Junction
Railwa
y. At this time circulation of the News Report was
under
100 copies. All CRHA Bulletins and News Repolts
up to number 117 have been scanned and are available in
pdfformat for researchers.
The Bulletins appeared on an irregular basis.
The CHRA News Report and Canadian Rail were initially
published
11 times a year. The first colour cover
appeared on issue 200 in
June 1968 by which time
approximately 1500
members were receiving the
publication.
The next major change was the JanuaJY /
February 1983 issue at which time Canadian Rail was
changed to the current large page format and publication
changed to bi-monthly. Canadian Rail has improved
continuously since its inception and
is Canadas premiere
railroad history magazine. This
is in no small part due to
the efforts
of the editors, particularly Fred Angus whose
BULLETIN
OFTHE
227 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
PUBLICATIONS
La publication de periodiques par IACHF
debuta en avril 1937, dabord sous la forme
dun bulletin
qui devint, en octobre 1949,
Ie CRHA News Report.
~edition na jamais cesse depuis, sauf pendant la periode
de la Deuxieme
Guerre Mondiale. Le premier News
Report
annon~a la tenue de la reunion reguliere
mensuelle de lAssociation, puis la deuxieme excursion en
tramway de Montreal. Mais la gra
nde nouvelle fut
lannonce de la commande de deux locomotives diesels de
1500 CV
pour Ie chemin de fer Napierville Junction, une
filiale de la Delaware
& Hudson. A cette epoque, Ie
tirage du News Report etait inferieur a 100 copies. Tous
les bulletins
etNews Report,jusquau numero 117, ont ete
numerises
et sont maintenant disponibles en format pdf
pour les chercheurs.
Le CRHA News RepO/t est passe, au fil des ans,
d
une page polycopiee a un magazine sur papier glace.
Des photos sy ajouterent presque regulierement a partir
de juillet 1957 (avec
Ie tramway 274 en page couverture).
En juillet 1962, il fut rebaptise Canadian Rail, et son
tirage depassait les 1000!
Le magazine continua a paraitre 11 fois par
annee, comme cetait Iusage depuis 1952. La premiere
page couverture en couleur apparut au numero200, en
CANADIAN RAILROAD HISTORICAL
ASSOCIATION
Chaleau De Ramczay
Monlreal
Sample covers
from the first
CRHA Bulletin
in April 1937
through to the
most recent
Canadian Rail.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521 228 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
e
I£e Itaihvi~
……… · ……. _c ….. _ ,,10,_ ..
::~.:::. ~I!~: :.: .~:!: ·.:..~·:.: … ····::.r.~
1_ •• .~ ……… •••• 41 •••. t. ..
Itotwrt R. Hr.}Wfl
Some of the CRHA publications produced over the years.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
Earlier issues of the Bulletin and CRHA News Report
were printed, stapled,
put in envelopes and addressed
in Verdun. A young
Doug Brown was part of the
assembled volunteer crew that did the work.
The
evening always finished with a very late night snack
that would not end until after his last streetcar had left
for Lachine. Somehow
Doug was able to convince
the-crew to delay the last run, sometimes up to an
hour, to allow him to enjoy the repast.
THE MTC
crew always received a copy of
th~ bulletin in
gratitude for waiting for this particular passenger.
The next stage was commercial printing of sheets,
stapling, folding, insertion
and mailing by hand at the
home of John and Winifred Saunders
in St. Lambert.
The evening would culminate with a homemade cake
and tea.
When the membership _ level permitted, David
Henderson undertook to produce the News Report
and later Canadian Rail
and have it commercially
printed .. Membership record keeping, envelope.
~ddressing and stuffing-~as still done byvolunteers.

tenure extended over 26 years, and the many authors who
have proved articles for publication over the past 70 years.
Without their voluntary efforts there would be no
magazine.
A VISION FOR THE FUTURE
From the beginning the Association accepted
donations of Canadian railroadiana. Originally stored at
the Chateau de Ramezay Museum
in Montreal, courtesy
of the Antiquarian and Numismatic Society. These
books, documents, pictures and small three dimensional
objects are now housed
in the C.R.H.A. Archives /
Library. The library room
is today called the Canadian
Pacific Room. The reserve, where our archives are stored,
is named after Nora and Robert v.v. Nicholls. This is in
honour of our long time member and President, Dr.
Robert
V. V. Nicholls and his wife, Nora, his life-long
partner and supporter of his many endeavours. Dr.
Nicholls actively solicited donations to the Archives and
Library and was largely responsible for many of the major
donations. The Association and its members owe him a
large debt for his ceaseless efforts.
To be continued.
229 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Les premieres editions du bulletin et du CRHA News
Report
furent imprimees, agrafees, mises sous
enveloppe
et adresseesdepuis Verdun. Le jeune
Doug Brown faisait partie de lequipe de volontaires
pour cette tache. Les soirees se terminaient toujours
par une collation tard dans la nuit, apres Ie dernier
depart prevu du tramway en direction de Lachine que
devait prendre Doug .. Celui-ci, cependant, arrivaif
toujours
a convaincre lequipe du tramway de differer
Ie depart, paIiois de plusdune heure. Pour avoir
attendu ce passager un peu particulier, Iequipe du
MTC recevait en retour une copie du bulletin.
. Plus tard,
lespages, imprimees par une entreprise
commerciale, furent agrafees, pliees, inserees .et
postees manuellement dans la demeure de John et
Winnifred Saunders, a Saint-Limbert. La soiree se
terminait cette fois par la degustation
dun gateau fait
maison
et de the.
Lorsque Ie nombre de membres Ie justifia, David
Henderson prit en charge la production du News
Report, plus tard Canadian Rail, pour
la confier a une
imprimerie commerciale. Cependant, la mise a jour
-de la Hste des membres, linscription des adresses et la
mi,
se sous enveloppe se faisaient toujours
JrianuellemenL
juin 1968,
et ce numero fut distribue a plus de 1500
membres.
Dautres changements suivirent avec Iedition
de janvier/fevrier1983 : format largement agrandi
et
parution bimensuelle. Notre magazine est sans contredit
Ie plus important periodique sur Ihistoire ferroviaire au
Canada.
Terminons en rappelant la precieuse
collaboration de Fred Angus, editeur pendant plus de 26
ans, ctecede en
aout 2007.
Une vision vers Ie futur
Des Ie depart, l Association accepta des dons
dobjets
en lien avec les chemins de fer canadiens.
Entreposes dabord au Musee du Chateau Ramezay a
Montreal, et offerts par la Societe antiquaire et
numismatique, ces livres, documents, photos et petits
objets sont loges maintenant
a la bibliotheque et aux
archives de IACHF. La bibliotheque porte aujourdhui
Ie
nom de Salle du Canadien Pacifique, tandis que Ie local
des archives porte les noms de Nora
et Robert v.v.
Nicholls, pour honorer Ie Dr Robert v.v. Nichols,
membre et president de IACHF pendant une longue
periode,
et son epouse Nora, qui a toujours soutenu les
nombreuses initiatives de son
mario
Asuivre
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007 230 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Fairbanks Photo Gallery
Introducing Stan Smaill / Les photos de Stan
By Stan Smaill, French version Michel Lortie
In this issue, we are pleased to welcome Stan
Smaills Photo Gallery to Canadian Rail, we hope that
this will become a regular feature of the magazine with
varying themes.
Trains and railroading have been a magnificent
obsession for Stan
J. Smaill all his life. Born in 1950,
childhood railroad experiences began in Huntingdon,
Quebec and CPRs Montreal West station during the
transition era from steam to diesel. These convinced the
young Smaill
that a railroad career would probably
become his lifes work, and
It did.
Employed
by the CPR and its subsidiaries for
over forty years, Stan has held positions
in the track, shop
and operating departments.
He currently is the senior rail
traffic controller
at CPRs Montreal Operations Centre.
In the nineties, Stan was also involved with the
shortline and tourist railroad movement. A licensed
locomotive engineer, Stan helped start up three different
tourist railroads instructing over fifteen locomotive
engineers in the process.
Stan has celebrated the art in railroading using
writing, photography and music. Fifty years ago,
he made
his first railway
photo of a CNR H-16-44 at Huntingdon,
Qc. In recent years collaborating with
noted Canadian
videographer Sean Ropchan, he has co-produced
two
award winning documentary railway videos. Fairbanks
Years
is the latest production in this series and depicts his
years on the railway in southern B.C. back in the late
sixties.
It also features Smaill s original music and that of
celebrated Canadian singer
-songwriter Ian Tyson.
A member
of the C.R.H.A for over forty years,
Smaill has served as a volunteer on the excursion
committee, the legendary Canadian Rail stuffing
sessions and in many capacities a t the Canadian Railway
Museum now known
as Exporail. Cest avec plaisir que no
us vous presentons ci­
dessous
une galerie de photos de Stan Smaill. Nous
esperons
que cette chronique de photos reviendra
regulierement, en abordant des themes differents.
Le rail et les trains furent toujours dune grande
importance dans la vie de Stan Smail!.
Ce dernier, ne en
1950, fit ses premiers pas dans
Ie domaine ferroviaire a
Huntingdon, au Quebec, puis a la gare du CP a Montreal­
Ouest a Iepoque de la transition des locomotives a
va peur vers Ie diesel. Employe du CP et de ses entreprises
connexes durant plus de 40 ans, Stan a occupe differents
postes
a Ientretien des voies ferrees, dans les ateliers de
reparation
et dans Ie secteur des operations. II est
presentement controleur
en chef de la circulation
ferroviaire au centre operationnel du CP
a Montreal.
Au cours de annees 1990,
il sest egalement
implique dans
Ie domaine des petites lignes de chemin de
fer
et des lignes touristiques. En tant quingenieur de
locomotives licencie,
il a aide au lancement de plusieurs
de ces lignes en remplissant Ie role dinstructeur pour plus
de
15 nouveaux ingenieurs de locomotives.
Stan est veritablement un artiste du chemin de
fer tant dans
Ie domaine de lecriture que dans celui de la
photographie et de la musique.
II y a 50 ans, il a pris sa
premiere photo dune loco du CN, une H-16-44, a
Huntingdon. Recemment, il a collabore, avec Ie
videographe canadien Sean Ropchen,
a la production de
deux documentaires primes sur les chemins
de fer. La
videocassette Fairbanks Years est sa plus recente
production.
II y depeint les annees quil a passees au
service du chemin de fer du sud de la Colombie­
Britannique
autour de 1960. Cette videocassette met en
vedette la musique de Stan Smaill ainsi
que celle du
chanteur et compositeur canadien Ian Tyson.
Membre de
IAC.H.F depuis plus de 40 ans,
Smaill est benevole au comite des excursions,
a
lexpedition du magazine Canadian Rail amSl quau
Musee Exporail de Saint-Constant, au Quebec.

RAIL CANADIEN • 521
CLC H-16-44 8714 leads a Coleman-Port Moody
coal train
northward on CPRs Windermere
Subdivision in the mid-sixties. These coal trains
were
the forenmners of the unit coal trains which made
their debut in the early seventies running on the
Windermere Sub between Fort Steele and Golden,
B. C. Nicholas Morant, Smaill collection.
La 8714, une H-16-44 de chez CLC, tractant un train
de charbon en direction nord entre Coleman et Port
Moody
surla subdivision Windemere, vas Ie milieu
des annees 1960. Ces trains de charbon etaient les
precurseurs des trains unitaires de charbon qui
ont fait
leur apparition durant les annees 1970
surla division
Windemere entre
FOit Steele et Golden, en Colombie­
Britannique. Nicolas Morant, collection
Sma ill.
Dual service H-16-44
8553 reposes with sister unit 8555
at CPRs Drake Street engine facility
on July 23,1963.
The two units have recently mTived on the
Dominion~
Y,ain No. 7, and will return east on No 8. Sister engine
8554 still survives in Calgmy, as one
of the only H-16-
44s extant. Smaill collection,jromJ.R. Quinn.
Les H-16-44 furent utilisees sur les trains de passagers
aussi bien que surles trains de marchandises.
La 8553
et
la 8555 se trouvent iei it la base dentretien du CP de
la lue Drake, en juillet 1963. Ces deux locomotives
viennent daniver avec
Ie train no 7 et retourneront
ensuite
velS lest avec Ie train no 8, Ie Dominion. La
locomotive du meme groupe no 8554 est conselvee it
Calgmy; cest la seule H-16-44 existante de sa categorie.
l.R. Quinn, collection Sma ill.
235 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Y,ain order boards display STOP eastward and
westward at Cast/egm; B. C in June 1972 as CP
Extra
8548 East prepares to head east for Nelson,
B. C. with the daily Y,ail turn hotshot. Todays
hotshot
is in the charge of an all CLC-FM lash up
ledbyH-16-44No.8548 StanJ. Sma ill.
Tous les signaux sont it lalTct, it lest comme it
louest, it Castlegm; en Colombie-Britannique, en
juin 1972, alors que Ie train extra du CP No 8548 en
direction est se prepare
it quitter velS Nelson, en
Colombie-Britannique.
Le train est tracte par un
ensemble de locomotives en provenance de CLC­
FM, avec en tete
la H-16-44no 8548. StanJ. Smail!.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
Once again, CPR No 12, once again C-Line
40541 This time the old mountain railroad
division point
of Crowsnest is the location of
this fine photo of the Kootenay Express.
Crowsnest is a border town that straddles the
Alberta-B.C. bounda/Y. Today, about all that
remains at Crowsnest is the old Misure
lli
family company dwelling and the famous
Summit Inn, which survives under the capable
direction
of Verlee and CUltis Hagley. Smail!
coll
ection.
Une fois de plus, Ie train No 12 du CP avec la
meme No 4054. Cette belle photo Jut prise a
Crownest, un tres ancien point divisionnaire
situe
a la frontiere entre la Colombie­
Britannique et lAlbeJta. Aujourdhui, tout
ce
qui reste de Crownest est la vieille maison
Misurelli et lillustre auberge
Summit Inn,
toujours en activite sous
la direction de Verlee
et Curtis Hagley. Collection Smaill.
236 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Headed by dual selvice C-Line 4054, CPR
Train
No 12, the Kootenay Express pauses
at Cranbrook,
B. C. in the early fifties. After
the completion
of station work, locomotive
selvicing and a crew change,
No 12 will be
off for Crownest and points east. C-Line
4054 was retired after hitting a rockslide in
the sixties. Smaill collection.
Le train No 12 du Cp, Ie Kootenay Express,
sarrete
a Cranbrook, en Colombie­
Britannique, au debut des annees 1950,
avec
la locomotive C-Line no 4054. Apres
larrtt en gare,
Ie ravitaillement de la
locomotive et un changement dequipe, Ie
No 12 repartira vers Iest et la passe du Nid
de
cOlbeaux. Collection Smaill.
Former C-Line demonstrator 4065 leads H-16-44
8716
and F7B 4445 on CPR train 984 at mile 64 of
the Cranbrook subdivision near Galloway, B. C. The
Fairbanks Years
on CP were waning by the time Bill
Hooper took this photo in Februa/y
1974. Number
4065 sU/vives at the Canada Museum of Science and
Technology in Ottawa and is awaiting restoration.
WR.Hoopa
Lancien demonstrateur C-Line, maintenant Ie No
4065 du CP avec une H-16-44 et une F7b sur Ie train
No 984 au mille 64 de la subdivision de Cranbrooke
pres de Galloway, en Colombie-Britannique. Les
annees des Fairbank au CP tiraient
a leur fin lorsque
Bill Hooper prit cette photo en
1974 : la no 4065
attendant detre restauree au Musee canadien
de la
technologie, a Ottawa. WR.Hoopa

NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
CNR CFA-16-4 8714 is running extra in this
early fifties view which might be
on the CNR
Cornwall Sub near Dominion in Lachine,
Quebec. The
8714 was renumbered 9314 and
was the last
CNR freight C-Une to lun. She
was retired in November
1967. CNR, Smail!
collection.
La CFA-16-4 no 8714 du CN circulant en
«extra
». Photo p,ise au debut des annees 1950
probablement sur
la subdivision Cornwall du
CN pres de lusine Dominion it Lachine, au
Quebec. La
No 8714 a he renumerotee 9314 et
Jut
la derniere des C-Une de marchandises
utilise
es parle CN. Elle a he retiree du selvice
en novembre
1967. CNR, collection Smaill.
238 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Brand new CLC freight C-Unes 8702.and 8700
are seen here on the shop track at CNRs Turcot
Yard in Montreal, Quebec in Janumy 1952. Later
in their careers, these engines would be
renumbered 9300
and 9302. CNR 9302 was the
second to last freight
C-Une to run on CNR and
was retired in October 1967. CNR, Smaill
collection.
Les nouvelles C-Line pour trains de
marchandises du CN, les Nos 8702 et 8700,
photographiees sur
la voie des ateliers de la cour
Turcot
it Montreal, en janvier 1952. Plus tard au
cours de leur caniere, ces locomotives
pOl·teront
les numeros 9300 et 9302. La No 9302 fut lavant­
derniere
C-Une de marchandises utilisee par le
CN et Jut retiree du selvice en octobre 1967. CNR,
collection Sma
ill.
Stopping at St. Hyacinthe, Quebec in May
1967, CNR CPA-16-5 6704 is nearing the
end
of her working life as a passenger
engine. Selving as the third unit
on the
Scotian, 6704 will do her part to bring
CNR No 11 over the last lap of her long
journeyfromHalifax.
Stan! Smail!.
La CPA-16-5 no 6704 du CN it Saint­
Hyacinthe, au Quebec, en mai
1967, vers
la fin de sa caniere com me locomotive de
train de passagers. 1ioisieme unite sur
le
Scotian, la 6704 fera sa part pour amena
le train No 11 jusquit la fin de son long
voyage
vas Halifax. Stan! Smaill.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521 239 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
A Movie Called Iron Road
A Construction Saga of 1880s in BC
by David Ll. Davies
Canadian
Rail readers will probably be familiar
with the story
of the construction of the Canadian Pacific
Railway through the Rockies in the first half
of the 1880s.
The most westerly segment between the tidewater
terminus at Port Moody and Savona in British Columbia
[and subsequently a further
125 miles eastwards] was built
under the instructions
of the owner, the Dominion
Government, unlike the rest
of the transcontinental line
which was a
private commercial venture. The
Governments agent and contractor was Andrew
Onderdonk. He energetically constructed two-thirds of
the trackage within BC to Craigellachie, a point in the
middle of nowehere just west
of Revelstoke, where the
rails from east and west were join to complete
the
transcontinental line in November 1885.
Onderdonk, an American, had problems
recruiting labour, simply because in his time mainland
British Columbia was a wilderness with very few
inhabitants. Part
of his solution was to employ Chinese
labourers starting in 1880/81 with laid-off railway
labourers from California, and then in 1881/82 recruiting
two thousand from their homeland, followed later
by
more additions. Imprecise estimates suggest that
Onderdonk eventually employed about 6,000 Chinese
and 3,500 Caucasians, but
not all at the same time.
Because
of restrictions on their movements, the Chinese
had nowhere else to go and so were
permanent workers.
On account of the harsh working conditions, there was
much turnover amongst the whites workers. This implies
that at
anyone moment in time, the Chinese were velY
much in the majority in creating the road-bed.
The construction of the CPR has been well told
in the epic movie The National Dream which the
Canadian Broadcasting
Corporation premiered in 1974
in eight installments.
The script faithfully followed a
book
of the same title written by the distinguished author,
Pierre Berton. Many
of the scenes depicting work in the
mountainous areas
of BC and Alberta were filmed on the
Carmi Subdivision
of the Kettle Valley Railway [CPR]
between Beaverdell and Penticton in mid 1973, just after
freight traffic had ceased.
The track was dismantled
several years later.
Now another movie
is appearing, telling the story
of Onderdonks labour force battling through BC, but this
One of the two open cars belonging to Kamloops Heritage Railway being fitted with panels to convert it
into an 1880s coach, the conversion being made only on its n0l1h side. View taken at KHR private yard
in Kamloops, Be, at end of May 2007. All photos by the authOl:
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
time the perspective is from the Chinese point of view.
The story originally started out as a Chinese opera with a
romantic twist; it is a window into the dark and neglected
history
of how Chinese workers helped to forge a railway
that created our modern Canada that extends from sea to
sea.
Its title
is Iron Road and it will appear on a CBC
mini-series in two installments in February 2008 and will
be subsequently distributed worldwide. In China it will be
released as a
shortened movie. It has a $10-million
budget and is a co-production of Chinese and Canadian
film companies, the first to be made under a commercial
treaty signed by
the two countries 32 years ago. The
movie director is David Wu and he is supported by equal
numbers
of Chinese and Canadian executive producers.
All interior shots were filmed in China
in the spring of
2007 and the exterior shots were made in BC a couple of
months later.
The purpose of this article is to explain the
interaction between the Kamloops Heritage Railway
Society [KHRS] and the film-makers, stressing
the
railway modification aspects. As for describing the movie
plot, that will
be left to readers to watch the end result on
their own
TV screens. The Canadian side of the movie
co-production was shouldered
by Iron Road Productions
and Mainland Productions
of Vancouver. The former
was responsible for the script, acting and filming whilst
the latter took care
of creating all the effects and
backgrounds
and the administrative needs of transport,
electrical supply, catering, washrooms -the list of tasks
seems endless.
The film-makers decided to do at least half of the
required outdoor filming on the former CNR Okanagan
branch that runs from Kamloops to Armstrong and
Kelowna.
The filming site chosen was a remote and
inaccessible spot
about 20 krn east ofKamloops. This line
is operated by Kelowna Pacific Railway [KPR] which runs
a daily Monday through Friday freight train
on an
evening/night time schedule. This left
the movie crews
240 CANADIAN RAIL· 521
with occupation of the track at the selected location for
most daylight hours. This location choice was
made on
the assumption that a deal could be made with KHRS in
Kamloops which possesses a live steam locomotive and
rolling stock.
More filming was subsequently undertaken
in
the Okanagan, mainly on the former trackbed of the
KVR to highlight trestles and a tunnel.
A financial and
operating deal was finalized in
February 2007 between
the two parties. KHRS would
supply
and run the loco and two open-sided but roofed
cars for a week in early summer.
To back date its ex­
Canadian National 2-8-0 steam locomotive, the film­
makers paid the
KHRS to fabricate a funnel-type stack, a
steel cowcatcher, and imitation oil lamps.
The film­
makers converted the two
open passenger cars to
represent two period coaches of the 1880s period, one as a
day coach and
the other a business-cum-engineering car.
The film-makers also rented two flat cars from CN which
were fitted with waist high railings,
one to hold
construction materials and
the other the Chinese work
gangs.
The film train when eventually made up consisted
of loco, two coaches and two flat cars but it seems through
the magic
of the electronic age and careful filming that
one flat car carrying Chinese labourers can be made to
appear as if there were three of them.
Kamloops Heritage Railway runs 3-mile
weekend trips in the summer, 70-mile special Saturday
excursion trips
on the KPR line to Armstrong in the
shoulder months on either side of high summer plus
special bookings, Halloween
and Christmas specials, so is
quite at
home running on local CN, Cp, and KP trackage.
It so happened that one of the Armstrong trips took place
during the weeks filming, just to add to the
complications! KHRS loco crews, who are all federally
certified,
are familiar with the filming site and its
approaches and so provided technical assurance for
the
film producers.
The steam loco involved was No 2141, an ex
CNR 2-8-0 [now with oil-fuel tender] built for Canadian
t ,. f
Part of a drawing produced by
the film company. The
Before elevation shows the
addition
of a balcony at the
left end, which is not a reality
on KHRs open, but roofed,
cars.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
Northern Railway in 1912 by the Canadian Locomotive
Company in
Ontario. Its profile cannot replicate an
1880s machine, but it can claim to
be vintage, being 95
years old. It was donated by the CNR to the City of
Kamloops and stood in the citys riverside park from 1961
to 1994.
In the latter year, it was rescued by a group of
volunteers who restored it to working order over an eight­
year period.
It entered passenger carrying service in
2002.
The volunteers became formalized as the KHRS
which now operates the loco and its train and continues to
restore
more rolling stock. The two open cars, mentioned
earlier, were the first two cars to be built by the Society
upon flat cars kindly donated by CPo
At this point, it is important to stress that any
member of KHR Society who came in contact with pre­
production or on-location crews was struck by their
professionalism, unflappability and cheerfulness.
The
industry itself has produced a characterisation of an
irascible cigar-chomping producer shouting Quiet all the
time, with his ill-temper affecting all in sight and filming
lurching forward with a minimum
offorethought and co­
ordination. KHRS experience showed such an
impression to be completely false; everything advanced
smoothly as
planned in a relaxed atmosphere.
241 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
About a month before filming commenced, two
lady film-set designers
from Vancouver came to
Kamloops and measured the two identical
open cars in
meticulous detail. They
then designed the exterior
cladding for the two
period closed coaches that would be
attached to the ends and to the north sides of the open
cars. The south sides of the cars were not to be covered as
filming would not take place on that side. Six drawings
were then
prepared, one example being shown here as an
illustration,
and from these the Vancouver film craft shop
built all the required lightweight
wooden panels. These
were then sent to Kamloops, assembled and attached to
the cars by the film
carpenters. Such was the quality of
draughting, design, and joinery, tha t very few adjustments
had to be
made when the cladding was installed.
Filming commenced at
the beginning of June
2007 and occupied one week. Before the vintage train
left its Kamloops yard,
one final job had to be completed.
This was to mask all lettering and
numerals on the various
vehicles and was neatly accomplished
by film trade tricks.
The sides of the locomotives tender were covered by a
thin vaseline and
on top of this was stretched thin clear
plastic, the type used by housewives to cover food, which
in
turn was roller-painted with the desired colour. At the
A modified open car viewed from its unchanged south side, together with rented flatcar canying construction materials as seen
in Kamloops interchange yard in early June 2007.
NOVEIVIBER -DECEMBER 2007
end of filming, the plastic was peeled off and the adhesive
removed with solvent, so
returning the surface to its
original
state in a painless way. The covering of the
markings on the flatcars were handled in a differently.
These were blotted out with stout coloured adhesive
paper, somewhat akin to household shelf paper, which
was easily removed
after filming.
The train was stabled for the week on a spur at
Campbell Creek Junction, where the CPR and KPR
meet. All the filming took place in daylight except for two
night scenes.
The train proceeded daily up the grade
from the Junction for 7 miles to the filming site, which lay
close to Mile
21 on the Okanagan Sub. Here under
direction it would make run-pasts, stops, and back-ups as
a complete train.
Other times, the loco -now numbered
238 -would propel the two coaches to the site, uncouple
and
retreat downgrade out of sight. The brakes on the
cars would be screwed down tight and as a further
precaution
one of them was chained to the track. Now
242 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
came an interesting manoeuvre. These two cars were
designed to have 1880s style
open platforms, resembling a
balcony,
on their outer ends when coupled together but
these were not put in place until the coaches arrived at the
film site.
Each day the balcony on the coach facing the
downgrade was fitted for filming
and then at days end was
removed; each step taking about
20 minutes. The reason
for doing this was that
the balcony overhung the coupler
and this was needed to couple onto the locomotive, so as
to move the coaches to and from
the site. All this work
was foreseen
at the planning stage. One of the
illustrations shows their construction sitting over the cars
coupler; the wrought ironwork
is for real and is not fake
plastic.
This article will conclude with the writers own
impressions
of the film set, for he was kindly given
permission to visit the site for one half day, when the two
coaches sat
on the track all by themselves. He gained
access to the right-of-way
at a grade-crossing serving a dirt
lane in the middle
of nowhere and walked down
the grade for about a third of a mile. The
surrounding land lay in a mostly wooded ravine.
Beside
the track was a fat temporary cable
carrying juice from a mobile
generator positioned
near the grade-crossing. After crossing over a
deep embankment on a curve, he suddenly came
upon a scene that took his breath away. In a most
natural setting was a railway construction camp
that would have existed 120 years ago.
On one
side were small shacks and tents of all
descriptions,
on the other side were horses which
had
been rented from local ranchers, blacksmiths
shop, carts, scrapers, whilst tools
of all kinds were
scattered about.
The scene was enhanced by
smell of wispy wood smoke from cooking fires.
Humans completed the scene, with
Chinesemen everywhere dressed in assorted
clothing so
that no two men looked alike. These
extras had been recruited in Vancouver and were
either students from China or residents. The
make-up looked very authentic; another
illustration shows three of them as they obligingly
posed for a photo.
One piece of attention-to­
detail
is worth mentioning. The creosoted ties
that lay between the coaches and the furtherst
cameras some 100ft away
were covered in thin
plywood,
three pieces to a tie, so as to give the
a ppearance of fresh wood.
KHR loco 2141 fitted with balloon stack and
cowcatchel; so as to become CPR #238.
RAIL CANADIEN· 521
A look at the whole scene showed that the site
had
been selected with great care. It was situated in a cut
that had traversed a small hill spur, but was unnaturally
wide for a railway cut. This was because the adjacent
embankment, already mentioned, consumed large
quanties
of fill. This could only be obtained by the steam
shovel widening the cut on both sides to get the extra
material.
The grade was built in 1919 as a work project for
returning
WWI veterans, but the newly created Canadian
National Railways did not have
the money to lay track
until 1925.
Over time the widened cut assumed a mantle
243 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
of trees and scrub and this provided an excellent site and
backdrop for the film-making.
All
in all the involvement in this project by
members of the KHR Society proved novel and
stimulating. Everyone is looking forward to seeing the
finished product,
of which they only saw a few fragments.
In conclusion,
the writer wishes to thank the film-making
companies for permission to visit
the on-location site, to
publicity officer
Prudence Emery for acting as guide, and
to KHRS members for contributing details and the
illustrations here displayed.
The two 1880s coaches, the nearest being the
business-cum-engineering car
and the other the
passenger coach, both fitted with balconies at their
outer ends. Taken at the filming site east
of
Kamloops on 8th June 2007. A take is about to
begin but not until an electrician gets
off the roof of
the first Cal:
The 2007 filming set intended to imitate an 1880s construction camp,
looking upgrade. A light reflecting
panel has been positioned in the
foreground.
Details
of a balcony end showing how it covers the
coachs
couple!: In real life this is KHRs open Cal; #301.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007 244 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Three cheelful film extras pose unofficially for this article.
This
view should be titled Authenticity and attention to detail.
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
CN
CN spends $15m to improve autoport
A vital arm of CN in the Port of Halifax has
received a multimillion-dollar investment from its
parent
company. CN, better known for its rail connections from
the
port to central Canada and the American Midwest
and beyond, has spent $15 million at Autoport in
Eastern Passage.
Kevin Doucet, CNs assistant vice-president of
automotive, said the company completed a new dock
earlier this year that handles some of the worlds largest
car carriers.
Mr.
Doucet said CN has been spending money at
Autoport for the past few years and the major investment
piece has been a new dock structure that cost about $13
million.
The new structure replaces a floating dock made
of barges fabricated together.
CN has also spent about $2 million on paving its
large parking lots.
In 2006, Autoport handled about
154,000 vehicles. About 80,000 were imports from
Europe, with the major car lines being Volkswagen,
Volvo
BMW and Mercedes-Benz. The vehicles are
distribu ted by truck or rail to retailers across Canada. The
approximately 74,000 remaining vehicles come to
Autoport by rail from North American manufacturers.
Those vehicles are distributed to retailers in Nova Scotia
and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Autoport, which employs
about 100 people full
time, not only receives the vehicles,
but also carries out
any preparation work on the units requested by
manufacturers prior to distribution to retailers.
That
work includes the addition of vehicle accessories, such as
jump seats, ground-effects kits, trunk spoilers, mobile
phone kits, CD players and other items. The facility also
has a body shop. Mr.
Doucet said business at Autoport
has been showing a steady increase.
245 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
BUSINESS CAR
November -December, 2007
Compiled by
John Godfrey
On import traffic from a rail perspective, it
(business) will likely
be up about three per cent over last
year and 2006 was over 10
per cent above 2005, which
offers some reflection as to the growing
market for
European imports, Mr. Doucet said. Autoport handles
about 125 vessels a year.
The majority of those calls are by
the Wallenius Wilhelmsen line. Earlier this year, the lines
MV Toronto, one of the worlds largest carriers with the
capacity
of about 6,000 vehicles, made its inaugural call at
Autoport as part of its round-the-world service.
(The Chronicle-Herald)
CN sells Central Station
Halifax-based Homburg Invest Inc. has agreed
to purchase Montreals Central Station complex from CN
for $355 million. The deal, which is expected to close by
years end, will
see Homburg take over management of
the railway passenger terminal, parts of the sub-track
levels, the
Grand Hall and 17-storey office tower. CN will
lease its
corporate headquarters and train facilities back
under a long-term agreement. Via Rail, Amtrak and the
Metropolitan Transport Agency will also continue to
operate without interruption.
The acquisition gives Homburg a prime
downtown location, a stable, quality tenant and the
potentially valuable air rights over the stations parking
garage, where as much as
one million square feet of office
space could
be built Im not thinking it is going to happen
tomorrow, but the site has tremendous growth potential,
said
Richard Homburg, the real-estate companys
chairman
and chief executive officer. Homburg is a
publicly traded holding company involved in real-estate
management and development. Its $2-billion portfolio
includes holdings in Canada, the U.S. and
Europe.
Homburg himself holds a 73-per-cent stake in the
business.
The Halifax firm is getting to know Montreal
quite well. Last year, it scooped up the Alexis Nihon
REIT. It also is behind a $350-million redevelopment plan
for the former Viger station, in partnership with the
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
de Gaspe Beaubien family and Europes SNS Property
Finance.
We know that other people have looked at
developing Central Station, but
the timing hasnt been
right.
The vacancy rate is still too high to justify new
construction, but that
will change. In the meantime, weve
got a very good tenant,
Homburg said. Montreals other
vintage rail terminal, Windsor Station, has been put on
the auction block
by Canadian Pacific. Asked whether he
has
made a bid for the station or might in the future,
Homburg demurred. I cant tell you that. I wont say yes
and I wont say no.
Heritage activists have urged that Central
Stations art deco interior, including the frieze that
ornaments the stations concourse, be preserved and
protected.
(The Gazette)
CN to acquire major portion of Elgin, Joliet &
Eastern from U.S. Steel
Three weeks after Canadian Pacific Railway
announced plans to acquire the Dakota, Minnesota &
Eastern Railroad Corp., CN has revealed an acquisition
deal involving
another major U.S. regional.
Canadian National Railway Co. announced it
reached an agreement with United States Steel Corp. to
acquire a major portion of the Elgin, Joliet and
Eastern
Railway Co. (EJ&E) for $300 million. Known as
Chicagos Outer Belt, the 19S-mile regional operates a
mainline encircling the Windy City, reaching Waukegan,
Joliet and South Chicago,
Ill., and Gary, Ind.
The deal calls for U.S. Steels Transtar subsidiary
to retain ownership of railroad assets
and equipment, and
continue employing workers at a Gary Works site in
northwest Indiana, which
will become the Gary Railway.
CN would acquire the remainder
of EJ&Es operations.
The transaction is subject to Surface Transportation
Board approval. Pending regulatory review, the deal
could close in mid-200S.
This acquisition
is good news for railroading in
Chicago … [which]
is essential to CNs rail operations, yet
presents
us with major operational challenges, said CN
President and Chief Executive Officer E.
Hunter
Harrison in a prepared statement. This transaction will
improve rail operations on the CN system and the rest of
the Chicago rail network
by moving CN trains out of the
urban core to
EJ &E lines on the outskirts of the Chicago
metropolitan area.
The deal also will provide CN what had been a
missing link to connect the eastern, western and southern
regions of its network, said CN Senior Vice President­
Southern Region Gordon Trafton.
The acquisition
wouldnt cause any shippers to lose direct rail competition
or adversely effect rail competition, CN said. It would
keep gateways open and honor trackage rights
246 CANADIAN RAI L • 521
agreements with all connecting carriers, which include
CPR, BNSF Railway Co
., CSX Transportation, Norfolk
Southern Corp.
and Union Pacific Railroad.
CN plans to invest about $100 million to
integrate the regional, build connections, improve
infrastructure and expand capacity on the EJ&E, which
moves steel,
petroleum and chemical products, coal, and
other bulk commodities and finished goods. The regional
employs 700
people.
(Progressive Railroading On-line)
CN expands rail presence in Hay River, NT
CN has purchased land in Hay River, NT, in the
hopes of expanding its presence in northern Canada.
The
town council in Hay River agreed to sell CN 156 acres of
land on the southern edge oftown for about $390,000. CN
spokesman Kevin Franchuk said that the new site will
be
significantly larger than the companys current downtown
location. Were going to begin work as soon as possible
on this land to expand
our operational base in the region,
Franchuksaid.
Our plans havent been finalized, but
we expect
to build a trans-load yard and a staging area for handling
inbound and
outbound materiaL In January 2006, CN
bought back the 1,000-kilometre Mackenzie Northern
Railway, which runs from Smith,
AB., to Hay River. At
the time, CN paid RailAmerica $26 million for the routes
it had sold nine years earlier. Last years purchase was
part
of a $51M deal that included two other rail lines in
northern Alberta.
(CBC)
I)
: CHEMIN OE FER CANADIAN
CANADIEN PACIFIC
;. PACIFI~UE RAIL-WAY
Former CPR employees gather in McAdam
Last years reunion of former CPR employees in
Woodstock was supposed to be the last one. Many
of us
are getting along in age and numbers seemed to
be
dwindling, said John Smith of McAdam, a former
terminal supervisor at the McAdam Railway Station.
However, it was suggested that one last reunion take
place
in McAdam where the newly renovated train station
RAIL CANADIEN • 521
was capable of hosting functions of all sizes, said Smith
who, along with Hollis (Holly)
Grant of Saint John,
helped organize the event.
For many years we (Smith and Grant) spoke on
the phone every night at midnight, setting up the plan for
the next eight hours, getting our train orders co­
ordinated, so this was just a kind
of extension of what we
used to do. More than 200 employees and their spouses
attended the
event. A large, diesel locomotive, 4563,
(provided
by the CRHA/ Exporail) sat outside the station
during the reunion, a reminder
of the days when
passenger trains passed
by the station.
Tammy Little, chairwoman
of the McAdam
Historical Restoration Commission, said she was thrilled
to help with the event. It
is so appropriate having this
reunion here, she said. Jim McCracken, 84, of McAdam
was
a telegraph
operator who began his 45-year career on
the railroad in 1942.
He came to McAdam in 1946. He
said he was happy to take part in the day and renew old
acquaintances. Its sometimes a little
hard to hang a
name on everyone, laughed McCracken. We hope that
we can keep the reunion going next year
here in McAdam.
This was a junction for many trains travelling north/south
and east/west.
(The Daily Gleaner)
CPR unveils Olympic Games branded locomotives
CPR, the Official Rail Freight Services Provider
for
the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter
Games, today unveiled the first two
of its new GE
Evolution Series locomotives sporting the Vancouver
2010 Winter Games Olympic Emblem. Praised for their
ability to conserve fuel and reduce air pollutants, the
locomotives
are a welcome addition to CPRs fleet.
These new 2010 Winter Games ambassadors offer the
latest in green locomotive technology and align V ANOCs
and Canadian Pacifics environmental sustainability
initiatives, said
CPR President and CEO Fred Green.
Rail
is already the most environmentally preferable
mode of transportation. These Evolution Series
locomotives replace the last generation and produce 60
per cent fewer smog pollutants and are 20 per cent more
fuel efficient.
CPRs role as the Official Rail Freight Services
Provider provides monetary and in-kind logistics, freight
rail and truck service,
as well as support of special
community events across the country.
In the coming
weeks, CPR will release more Evolution Series
locomotives with the new logo, moving Canadas
commerce across CPRs network. Expect to see the
newest additions to our fleet move Games-related
equipment, sponsor materials, and supplies to British
Columbia for 2010, Green said.
We will also soon
announce our plans for a leading role in connecting
communities to the 2010 Winter Games.
(CPR news release)
247 NOVEIVIBRE -DECEIVIBRE 2007
CN, CPR forge routing protocol pact to speed
interline traffic
Canadian National Railway Co. and Canadian
Pacific Railway have reached an agreement on a routing
protocol to expedite interline traffic along key gateways.
The railroads plan to direct traffic flows through the most
efficient interchange locations.
Under the routing
protocol,
14 gateways, including Montreal, Milwaukee
and Winnipeg, Manitoba, will handle higher traffic
volumes; and 15 gateways, including Chicago,
Minneapolis, Superior, Wis., and Calgary, Alberta, will
handle lower volumes.
This routing protocol will deliver faster, more
dependable service to
our customers while generating
better utilization of railway assets, said CN President and
Chief Executive Officer
E. Hunter Harrison in a prepared
statement. Adds
CPR President and CEO Fred Green:
This protocol will focus
the flow of interline traffic at the
most fluid, efficient interchanges, in some cases removing
traffic from congested loca tions.
During the past few years,
CN and CPR have
reached several asset-sharing and co-production
agreements. CN now has landed routing protocol pacts
with
six Class Is; CPR has similar agreements with three
Class Is.
(Progressive Railroading On-line)
HERITAGE
Terra Transport Locomotive No. 900 gets new home
Former CNR Locomotive No. 900 has a new
home.
On May 19, 2007 the residents of Clarenvilie,
Newfoundland celebrated its arrival in the former railway
town after nearly
20 years on display at Pippy Park in St.
Johns. No. 900
is part of the NF-110 series built by GM
Diesel for CN at its London Ontario plant in 1952. The
locomotive has the distinction of being the first road
diesel to cross the island
in the early 1950s. It is also
equipped with a steam locomotive style headlight a
trademark
of the NF-110 series 900-908. When the
Clarenville Heritage Society learnt last year it would head
to the scrap heap if a new home could not be found,
efforts to raise the relocation funds immediately began.
Also up for grabs was CN Diner 176, the last
of its
kind built in 1958 for
CN Narrow gauge operations for
Newfoundland.
Both 900 and 176 were donated to
CIa renville Heritage Society
by the Railway Coastal
Museum in St.
Johns provided of course the local
Heritage Society can come up with the required
$27,000.00 to move both units to Clarenville. Given the
fact we dont have a railway in Newfoundland anymore,
the only way we could transport them to Clarenville, said
Steve Bonnell, VP
of CIa renville Heritage Society, was
by tractor trailer and heavy cranes. That explains the
high cost of moving the units from St. Johns to
Clarenville, a distance of 178Km.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
By late November, the needed funds for the
move
were allocated due to the great support from the
community, businesses, provincial and municipal
government, the Johnson Family Foundation and many
donations from rail enthusiasts across Canada and the
USA. It was a busy period for us, last September to
November 2006, and many times we wondered if this
could
be done -moving some 120 tones of rail equipment
back to Clarenville. But in the end we did it and the
support for such an initiative has been overwhelming.
Many Newfoundlanders still miss their railway and the
debate still continues -should the railway have been
allowed to die?
It explains the strong connections many
have to
the trains and their willingness to help out in
preserving what railway items remain today in
Newfoundland.
There are only 3 remaining of the original 8 NF-
110 series. No. 902
is on display at Lewisporte,
Newfoundland
and No. 906 in St. Johns just recently
moved to
the Railway Coastal Museum on Water Street.
Finally, No. 900 now at
her new home in Clarenville and
under restoration is part of the Clarenville Heritage
Societys rail car display which also includes two 40 foot
flat cars and a 1942 Plymouth Switcher.
CN Rail in Newfoundland also had the NF-210
series road switchers, numbers 909 -946.
Those were
built in the late 1950s and had the newer style headlamp.
There are only six of the NF-210 remaining on the island
today which
are No. 924, 925, 931, 932, 934 and 940. Of
special interest is 931 at Corner Brook still having all her
original traction motors and generators. The rest of the
NF-21O
were either sold to Chile, Nicaragua or scrapped.
Moving day for No. 900 and
the Dining car was a
big event.
It began at 4.30am in St. Johns, with No. 900
entering CIa renville 4 hours later. Many
turned out to see
the lifting operations of the bogies and 900 back on the
track. We
had to make sure we had enough track in the
first place, said Steve Bonnell. Since April 2007,
Heritage members of the Railway Club spent weekends
laying the 130 feet
of 70 lbs rail and ties in place. All had a
Photo Stephen Bonnell
248 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
turn at driving spikes
and reviving the work of section men
who worked on the Newfoundland Railway. Its a nice
feeling to see a section
of rail come alive once again in
Newfoundland.
One of the main goals of the Clarenville
Heritage Society since its formation in 2003 was
preservation
of the railway, and its members felt our town
should have
more to show for in its proud railway past.
Clarenvilles earlier economic prosperity was linked to
the saw milling industry but the railway made it a service
area for the region and it was one of the four subdivisions
on the island. In December 2005, the Heritage Society
acquired from Newfoundland
Hardwoods Limited, a
Plymouth Switcher and 40 foot flat car. Newfoundland
Hardwoods
operated a railway in Clarenville up to 2004,
the only remaining industrial rail
operation at that time in
Newfoundland. We
were quite proud in saving that piece
of rail equipment in our community for all to see and
enjoy. Newfoundland
Hardwoods Plymouth No. 30 once
belonged to the US Navy at Argentia prior to its transfer
to Newfoundland
Hardwoods in the 1960s. Bob Tilley,
Manager of the Hardwoods plant donated the required
rail and ties for
our display and without their support; it
would have been very difficult to lay the new track.
Restoration has begun
on No. 900 and to date we
are in the process of replacing the cab windows. 900 will
be painted in the original CNR # 11 green and yellow
which was
the standard colour scheme for these
locomotives back in
the 1950s. Unfortunately, No. 900 no
longer has her original D-19 traction motors and 12
cylinder
V-1Ype diesel motor. Those were removed by the
railway when
itwound down operations in 1988 and were
probably sold
or used for parts. The NF-110s were taken
out of service a few years prior to the railway closure and
were parked at Clarenville for awhile back in the late 80s.
In 1988 it was
transferred to St. Johns and then donated
to the former Newfoundland Transport
Museum in Pippy
Park.
That museum ceased operations in 1997 and since
that time, 900 became
the victim of vandalism having all
of her original glass smashed and some damage inside the
cab. But, we were able to repair most of it
and
the focus right now is the outside. Of
course, corrosion also took its toll in 900
over
the years so some welding work and
steel
replacement had to be carried out. We
hope to preserve this fine piece of
Newfoundland Railway history for many
years to come.
(Stephen Bonnell, CRHA
member in Newfoundland)
Biggar rallies to save historic Grand
Trunk Pacific rail roundhouse
Petition seeks national historic site
status for 1909 building. A rare locomotive
RAIL CANADIEN· 521
roundhouse
that helped establish the town of Biggar
nearly
100 years ago is facing demolition, touching off a
protest
that has reached Parliament Hill.
The circular building, used for servicing and
storing locomotives, was constructed
by the Grand Trunk
Pacific Railway in 1909
and is the last remaining GTPR
roundhouse in the world, according to history buffs. It is
so well-preserved its like the railroad just pulled out,
said Biggar resident Tom Cholowski, a conductor with
CP
Rail and a railway preservationist. This is one heck of a
rare gem. Its a slice of life, a time capsule
of what railroad
life was like back then.
He moved to Biggar a little over a year ago and
when he saw the roundhouse,
I nearly had a heart attack
because these things just dont exist anymore,
he said.
Cholowski and Biggar Mayor Ray Sadler have collected
in excess
of 2,500 signatures –more than the towns
population
–on a petition demanding federal protection
for
the building. Support has also come from railroad
societies across the country.
This means a lot to us and when people get
together for something they are passionate about, it
becomes an unstoppable force, said Sadler. Recently,
Conservative
MP Carol Skelton tabled a petition in the
House of Commons calling on the government to
designate
the 46,000-square-foot structure a national
historic site.
I wholeheartedly support their campaign,
Skelton told fellow MPs.
The government has a timeline
of 45 calendar days to respond.
The roundhouse is capable of holding 21
locomotives, has 40-foot fir beams, more than one million
bricks,
18 stalls and recently discovered tunnels, which
presumably lead to the rail station. Rumours
are the
roundhouse is also haunted, Cholowski said. Some who
worked at
the roundhouse in the early 1900s have carved
their names into
the bricks and there are two places where
a
perfect outline of runaway locomotives that plowed
through the wall can be seen. You can picture the steam
engines pulling in here on their way across the country,
carrying Eatons houses, Sadler said. Its still so vivid.
The Biggar settlement owes much to the GTPR,
including its name, which comes from William Hodgins
Biggar, general counsel for the rail company when
the site
was chosen for the Grand Trunk station in Western
Canada. The town was then made a divisional point,
which necessitated the roundhouse and
prompted a
construction and population boom that solidified Biggars
place
on the Saskatchewan map. While the town thrived,
the GTPR was beset by financial troubles and absorbed by
CNRailin 1920.
With the emergence of diesels, most
roundhouses fell into disuse and were torn down. Some
have been restored for other uses but Biggars may be the
last in original condition in North America.
It was slated
for demolition
in the 1970s but saved in 1974, when Kevin
249 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Kurulaks family leased it from CN as a turkey barn.
Their lease runs
out in 2009 and now because of a clause
in the lease, it
is once again slated for demolition,
explained Skelton.
(The Star Phoenix)
Would city sell its heart and soul, Torontos Union
Station?
Its
the busiest commuter hub in the country, and
GO Transit wants to own it. The idea to acquire Union
Station from
the city of Toronto was part of a strategic
plan delivered recently to the board
of the transit
authority, which also suggests creating a
GO terminal at
Summerhill.
GO already owns the Union Station train
shed where passengers
board, but the station proper
needs refurbishing to handle heavier traffic and stem its
physical wear.
About 200,000 people use the station each day, a
number expected to double in the coming decade. Its
like a jewel where the diamonds
are starting to drop off,
said
GO managing director GalY McNeil. Somebody
needs to take control
of this asset and do something with it
… put money on the table. The city has restored two of
Union Stations features at a cost of $2.75 million: a
skylight in the terminals west
end and the west window in
the main hall.
It is also working on entryways. But
Torontos cash cnmch might persuade it to part with the
asset, McNeil said.
Councillor
Joe Mihevc, who called the site the
heart and soul of Toronto said, It is a property that will
be forever (belong to) the city. Mihevc was supportive,
however, of creating a midtown terminal at Summerhill
011 Yonge St., where GO trains on the Milton line already
pass using CP tracks. When youre coming
in from
Milton, Summerhill looks wonderful as an alternative
routing, he said, adding
that much of the terminal
development might have to go underground.
The idea is
not a slam dunk, said McNeil.
CP would have to agree and there would be
concerns from residents. Meantime, the pressure
GO has
put on CN to help improve service on its busy Lakeshore
line has
made some progress, McNeil said. CN has agreed
to post extra workers
at Mimico and Oakville to address
signal and switch problems
that caused 41 % of delays on
the line in
June -when 011-time performance fell to 80%.
(Toronto Star)
Repairing Fredericton Station
Fredericton Mayor Brad Woodside issued a
public plea to the Irving family to do something about the
crumbling York Street Train Station in downtown
Fredericton.
It has been velY frustrating for a lot of people,
including myself, he said. The public has been talking
about this and asking questions for a long, long time.
NOVEMBER -DECEMBER 2007
The train station property is owned by J.D. Irving
Ltd.
It hasnt been used in years, and its fallen into a state
of disrepair. It is on a list of Canadas 10 most threatened
heritage sites. Mary Keith, vice-president of
communications for J.D. Irving Ltd., said the company
plans to restore the train station. Our company has
committed in writing its promise to refurbish the train
station including a schedule
of repairs to be initiated and
completed after review and approval by the City of
Fredericton Heritage Preservation Review Board and the
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, she
said recently.
However, restoring the train station could cost
up to $2 million and
requires a viable commercial
development to underwrite the repairs. Our efforts to
find a viable commercial development still continue. In
the meantime, Keith said, the company is reviewing the
present condition of the railway station to determine what
winterization can occur safely and efficiently.
It looks bad, said Woodside. It is
unacceptable
in this community or in any other community. We are
rea1iy hoping that the landowners will address it. That
would please a lot of people. That is all we are asking. An
online petition calling for action by government on the
train station was recently posted by the group Fredericton
Friends of the Railway.
The mayor said the train station doesnt fall
under the citys jurisdiction, and council cannot order the
Irvings to clean it up. The property is registered under the
name Fredericton Railway Company, he said. According
to a recent legal opinion received by council, technically
the property is treated like a Crown corporation, he said.
If the city was of a mind to enforce its unsightly premises
bylaw, in this particular case we have no jurisdiction.
The mayor said the situation is complex. I can
tell you that if the city did have jurisdictional rights, if the
city could do something, the city would do something, he
said. I just wanted to make sure that we made that clear
to the public. Woodside said city representatives
spoke to
Irving staff, and
there may be some kind of deal in the
works for the property. We have not been able to get
confirmation,
he said. We are crossing our fingers. We
still want
some movement on the property. Its
Woodsides
understanding that except for the roof, the
building is still structurally sound. But he said the roof is
deteriorating and should be looked after quickly.
What we would like to have
happen is that the
rightful owners of the property at the very least inform the
people of Fredericton exactly what is the status of the
negotiations and if indeed
there is some light at the end of
the tunnel, said Woodside.
(Saint John Telgraph-Journal)
250 CANADIAN RAIL • 521
Railway hall offame inducts 2007 nominees
The Confederation Train, a rolling exhibit with
its distinctive
0 Canada horn that crossed Canada during
Centennial year in 1967, is among this years inductees
into
the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. The selection
helps
honour the heroes, technologies, leaders and
communities
of the Canadian railway industry. Others
include Calgary author Donald Bain and CP
photographer Nicholas Morant. Railway civil engineers,
represented by the late J.E. Schwitzer of CP and CN
retiree Ron Bailey of Edmonton, are being recognized for
their engineering feats in harsh weather and terrain. The
Town of Mount Royal, QC, is being recognized in the
community category.
The town was created as a model
community
by the Canadian Northern Railway, a
predecessor
of CN, to finance construction of the tunnel
that still carries commuters into downtown Montreal
through Central Station.
This years inductions illustrate
the important
role that people and their initiatives have played in
helping the
Canadian railway industry grow and Canada
to prosper, said Les Kozma, director and chairman of the
Canadian Railway Hall of Fame. Without people like
these,
our industry would never have made it to where we
are today. For more information, go to (Canada
NewsWire)
New use for old railway station in Prescott
A new tenant has given the old CN railway
station in Prescott, ON, another lease on life. Members of
the Grenville County Historical Society have been busy in
recent days packing and unpacking records,
equipment
and furniture being moved from their former
headquarters in the Knights of Columbus Crane Building
on Edward Street to the historic railway station built in
1856. Its a move
the society has dreamed of since 2001
when
VIA discontinued the practice of picking up and
dropping off passengers almost 30 years after ceasing full­
service
operations at the Prescott station.
Weve
been wanting a heritage building for our
home for a long time, Valerie Schulz, Vice President of
the historical society, said Monday while taking a short
break from helping to arrange the incoming material at
the train station. The dream came partially true during a
town council meeting recently
that authorized a two-year
lease on
the property from CN for $1 annually.
The town and CN are working on a longer-term
deal-the society is hoping for a 50-year term -but hurdles
remain to be jumped with the Ontario Heritage Trust and
federal transport regulators before that is secured. Schulz
hopes it happens in relatively short order. She said the
society has put $30,000 worth of repairs into the building
since last spring and
is grateful a temporaty arrangement
has been struck to allow them to operate at the new site
immediately. (Brockville
Recorder & Times)
RAIL CANADIEN· 521
CPR Portage la Prairie station preservation project
Restoration efforts on the historic Portage la
Prairie,
Manitoba CPR station are to get a boost with new
construction
and a new fundraising effort. Plans are in
place to have new windows installed on the heritage
building, including the main
entrance. To maintain the
historical integrity of the building, the frames for the
windows will be made of wood. (Crews will) be out there
soon installing windows on the front entrance way, Vic
Edwards,
chairman of the Save the CPR Station
Committee
in Portage, said.
Since purchasing the building from CP for $10
almost
five years ago, the committee has been gradually
restoring
the station, which was damaged
by fire in 2002.
Nov. 1 will
mark the fifth anniversary of that fire, which
forced community
members to form the Save the CPR
Station Committee to spare it from the wrecking ball.
251 NOVEMBRE -DECEMBRE 2007
Already, work has been done to fix the roof and restore
the limestone on the building.
The new windows should
be the
end of the exterior repairs. Edwards said the next
step will then
be to restore the inside of the station with
working plumbing, running wa
ter and heat.
The committee wants to install a geothermal
heating system and to
restore the baggage and waiting
areas to what they used to be.
Once the project is
completed, the historic site, which is more than 100 years
old, will
operate as a interpretive centre, a meeting place
and as a museum
of railroad artifacts. The plan is for the
fully-restored station to have a gift
shop and be a tourist
attraction for the area.
The cost of restoring the station
itself runs at about $150,000. Additional expenses for the
development
of exhibits and displays and landscape
design, among
other things, will boost the total estimated
cost to well over
$1 million.
(Daily Graphic)
BACK COVER TOP: Facing off across a sea of wheeLs at CPRs Ogden Shops are ex CLC demonstrator 4064 and CNR
freight
CoLine 9344. CNR 9344 was bought by CPR in 1967 to repair the carbodyofCPR C-Line 4054 badLy damaged in a rock
slide. Apparently the repairs were not wOlth the effort and both 4054 and 9344 were scrapped in 1969 and 1970 respectiveLy. Stan
1. Smail!.
Aux ateLiers Ogden du CP a CaLgary, Lancien demonstrateurde La CLC, devenu Le 4054 du CP et Le C-Linel; ex du CN No 9344,
s affrontent devant un champ de roues. La 9344 Jut achetee du CN en 1967 afin de selvir a La reparation de La 4054 du CP qui
avait
ete endommagee serieusement Lors dune chute de pielTes. Apres avoir constate quiL ne vaLail pas Le cOLlt de procider a La
reparation, Les deux Locomotives Jurent mises a La fenaWe en 1969 et 1970. Stan! Smail!
BACK COVER BOTTOM: CN NF-110series (900-908) Locomotive No. 900cosmetical!y restored and on dispLay at its new
home
in Clarenville, NewfoundLand. The 900 was buiLt by GM in London, Ontario in 1952forCanadian Nationals 36gauge
operation on The Rock. (Stephen Bonnell, CRHA member
in NewfoundLand)

Demande en ligne