Consulter nos archives / Consult our archives

La majorité des documents conservés par le Centre d'archives et de documentation de l'ACHF sont disponibles pour consultation.

Most of the documents kept by the ACHF Archives and Documentation Center are available for consultation.

Canadian Rail 446 1995

Lien vers le document

Canadian Rail 446 1995

82
CANADIAN RAIL
ISSN 0008-4815
PUBLISHED BI-MONTHlY BY THE CANADIAN RAJLROAD HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION
TABLE OF CONTENTS
THE LONGEST-SERVING ELECTRIC LOCOMOTIVES IN AMERiCA ….. FRED F. ANGUS …………………. 83
THE 25TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE PACIFIC
COAST DIVISION, CRHA. MERVYN T. (MIKE) GREEN …. 97
BRIEF HISTORY OF THE GRAND FALLS CENTRAL RAILWAy ………… CLAUDE HODDINOTT ………… 108
MUSEUM NOTES ………………………………………………………………..
……….. JOHN GODFREY ………………… 110
CRHA COMMUNiCATIONS ……………………………………………………………………………………………………… .113
BOOK REViEWS …………….. …………… , …………. ………… …………………………………………………………….. 114
THE BUSINESS CAR ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. 117
FHONT COVER: 0, ojrhe orrr,ma/ MoullI Royal TUMid tlretrir lrxomollltS. No. /OJ. dtliltrtd It,> tit
C01ll1l1llJJl NorllllrIl Hai/way in /9/6.pous bes;dr nmllip/,ul1il car M·2 at Val Royal QUI. on October 20.
1968. Tlri occasion .ms a CRI/A tlCursion 10 (ommtmmatt tilt 50th armivtTsory qf Iht Slarr of Str.!r,
Ihrou~h lit, tumltl, UxomOli, 101 (rhol60/) hJIIlcd lMfirSI trour ir/fillor Jtn-;cconOCloINr 21 .1918
Mor, IN.JII qlUJrl,., C,./IIurya!l liIls phow .. m wli;,.n.,h,s ,Imag,. qUl{JfMJU Is slil/ I s,.n·;u H,,·,.,,.,
Iht tll,llS IlIr. ami/un,. 2, 199$ … ,11 Stt Ihe rfll,., .. , O/Ih( td Royal J·/(IIIOII. su./ ill Ih .. IJacq:mwuJ) as Ih .. lill( is ,OO..,,,i:,II. Pllvlo b, Freel A~us.
For your membership in the CRHA, which
includes a subscription to Canadian Rail,
write to:
CRHA, 120 Rue 51-Pierre,
51. Constant, Que.
J5A 2G9
Membership Dues for 1995:
In Canada: $31 (including GST).
Outside Canada:
$29.50 in U.S. funds,
Canadian Rail is continually in need of news,
stories, historical dala, p
hOl0S, maps and
other material. Please send all contributions
to the editor: Fred
F, Angus, 3021 Trafalgar
Ave. Montreal, P.Q, H3Y 1 H3.
No payment
can
be made for contributions. but the con­
tributer will
be given credit for material sub­
mitted. Material
Will be returned to the con­
tribulor if requested. Remember Knowl­
edge
is ollinle value unless it is shared with
others·,
As
pat1 01 ils actiVities, the CRHA operates
t
he Canadian Railway Museum at Delson I
51. Constant, Que, which is about 14 miles
123 Km.) from downiown Montreal. It is open
Irom
lale May 10 e,!(ly Oc1ober (daily until
Labour Oay). Mef1bers, a.,d their immediale
families, are adm;tted free of charge.
THE GOAL OF THE ASSOCIATION IS THE
COLLECTION, PRESERVATION AND DIS­
SEMINATION
OF ITEMS RELATING TO
THE HISTORY OF CANADIAN RAiLWAYS
TIM CAtlA hM • numbltl oIloc- dIvI~ ..:ro ..
coumry . ……,. hold NgUI .. ..-1nsIS _ -*
–II …. fu<1hIor lnIorn .. Uon Y bII ~Md
by wrltJng to lhe division.
NEW BRUNSWICK O!VISION
POBox 1152
s.nt JoIn N B Ea oI()7
DNISION v–LLEE-JONCTION BEAUCE
~7 Blvd. Rot-.
V~~GOS3JO
ST LAWRENCE VALLEY DIVISION
po. Box 22. 8-.8
~pa H:l83J5
RIDEAU V-LLEY DIVISION
PO 9oxll62
s.n.r>.f ….. (lr(. 1<74 !1M
ICNGSTON OIVISION
po Box 1114
KirlgIlon, 0nI. K71 ~ve
TOAONTO /I. YOAK OMSKlN
PO. Box 5849. Temw8lW
ToronIO. On. M5W 1 P3
– 0
P,O Box 20311 Otwlthln Postal ~
SI. Cf.hJriM$. 0nI. (.2M 7W7
C4LGAAV /I. SOUTH WESTE~ DIVISION
00 M~. s.cr-y
lQ12W __ fIoacI NW.
C8IJIrY,.o.IwUI T2N 3M7
SELKIRK Olv-ISION
P
,O, eox 2S61
AevtoIJ1CIM. B.C. WE 2SO
CROWSNEST /I. KETTLE v–LlEY DIVISION
PO, eo. Cfanbook, B.C. V1C.H9
NEl.SClH ELECTRIC TRAA1W4Y SOCIET!
123 v.,.. SI1rwI
HMon. B,C. VIl 28
PRINCE GEORGE-NECH4KO-FRASER OIVISION
P.O. Box z.cos
P P4CIFIC COAST DIVISION
P.O Box 11)1)6, SIo.1ion 4-
V~. B.C. V6C 2Pl
E
SOUIIAALT -NO N-N …. IMQ DIVISION
1 -48 a;,.1mof~1 RO<>d
VIcIcriiI. B.C. V8T 181
EDITOR: Fred F. Angus
C().EDITO
R: Douglas N.W. Smith
ASSOCIATE EDITOR (Motive Power):
Hugues
W. Bonin
DISTRIBUTION: Gerard Frechette
LAYOUT: Fred F. Angus
Printing: Procel Printing
DIRECTORS OF THE C.R.H.A.
PRESIDENT: Walter J. Bedbrook
VICE PRES.: David W. Johnson
TREASURER: Robert Carlson
SECRETARY: Bernard Manln
FrederiCk
F. Angus
Doug Banrum
Alan C. 8lad<;b4Jm
James Bouchard
Gerard Frechette
FrarllOOis Gaudette
Dean Handley
J. Christopher Kyle
Robart V.V Nicholls
Andrew
W. Panko
M. Robert$()(
Douglas N.W. Smith
William Thomson
A. Stephen Walbridge
Michael Westren
DIVISION
UASON REPRESENT ATtVES
WESTERN
D. Walter Edgar
45t5 Dalhart Road N.W.
Calgary. AS T3A 189
Phone: (403)-286-2189
CENTRAL
Christopher Kyle
49 . 77 Wellesley St. East
Toronto, ON M4Y lH7
Phone: (416)-962·1880
MARITIME
Richard E. Viberg
172 Main St.
Hillsborough, NB EOA lXO
Phone: (506734.3467
MAY -JUfIE 1995 83 CANADIAN RAIL -446
The
Longest Serving Electric Locomotives
in America
By Fred F. Angus
Friday, June 2, 1995 will mark the end of service for
Canadian Nationals
Z-I-a electric locomotives. These venerable
units, ordered late in 1913 by the Canadian Northern Railway, have
been in service since 1918 in
CNs Montreal electrified lines, most
notably the commuter line passing through the Mount Royal
tunnel. The upgrading and modernization
of this line will be
completed this year
and,as a result of this, these octogenarian
electric locomotives will reach the end
of the line and well
deserved retirement.
Ordered before the First World War, and
in regular passenger
service since the day the tunnel opened, October 21, 1918, the old
box cabs as they are popularly known, have been a familiar sight
to four generations of Montrealers. In the last quarter century they
have been the object
of visits from railfans across America, and
overseas as well, as their rarity and age became widely known. As
early as the 1960s it was realized that their days were numbered,
but few people thirty years ago would have realized that they
would still be
in service to within six years of the new millennium.
Their long life has been a tribute to the excellent maintenance
provided by CN; in recent times this has included making new
parts
to replace worn-out components which have not been available
for years. In fact all six
of these original units were in service until
the earl y 1 990s.
Eighty-three years ago, the Canadian Northern Railway
had
just made pu blic its ambitious plans to secure a tenninal in the
central area
of downtown Montreal. Already the Grand Trunk had
Bonaventure station (since 1847) while Canadian Pacific had
opened Windsor Station
in 1889. The Canadian Northern had a
Montreal station at Moreau Street, but this was
in the east end of
the city, far from the central area. The officials of the Canadian
Northern devised a bold plan
to enter downtown Montreal by
approaching from the north and tunnelling through Mount Royal.
They began quietly
to buy up land in strategic locations and, in
1912, announced their plan. Construction of the tunnel began that
year, and the first bore was holed through
in December 1913.
Various factors, most notably the precarious financial condition
of
the CNoRy and the shortage of labour and materials due to World
War I, delayed the project well beyond its planned completion
date. Eventually, on October 21, 1918, only three weeks before the
end
of the war, service began through the tunnel. The first regular
train was hauled
by locomotive 601, now 6711, which is still in
service as
of May 1995.
In 1913, as the work on the tunnel was progressing, the
Canadian Northern Railway placed an order with Canadian General
Electric for electric locomotives.
It was decided to use the box-cab
design, identical
to that employed on the recently electrified Butte
Anaconda
& Pacific Railroad in Montana. Originally the order was for seven locomotives, but it was then increased
to eight. Before
the locomotives were built, however, the order was reduced
to six,
possibly because
of the increasing financial difficulties which
were confronting the Canadian Northern.
The Canadian Railway
and Marine World, in
its issue for December, 1913, gave a good
description
of the new locomotives:
Thefollowing details in regard to the electric locomotives,
six
of which have been ordered, has been received. They will be
designed
for an operating potential of 2400 volts direct current,
with vertical trolley construction. Two
of them, operated and
controlled as a single unit, will have ample capacity and suitable
speed requirements for handling the heavy transcontinental passenger
trains -1130 tons trailing load -within the Montreal terminal
zone.
A single locomotive will successfully handle the freight
trains -1000 tons trailing -and the local passenger service -550
tons trailing.
The general type
of locomotives to be used is that known
as the box cab articulated running gear. The estimated weight
of
the complete locomotive is 83 tons. The locomotive will have four
axles, with all
of the weight of the locomotive upon the eight
driving wheels, thus securing the maximum adhesive weight on
drivers. The running gear will consist
of two four wheel trucks,
articulated together by a heavy hinge. The equalization
of the
trucks will be accomplished by a heavy locomotive type semi
elliptic
leaf spring, over each journal box, connected through
spring hangers
to the frame and to the equalizer bars. Practically
a three point suspension will thus be supplied through the side
equalization
of one of the trucks and both side and cross equalization
of the other truck. With friction draft gear mounted in the end
frame casting
of the truck, this type of construction will, it is
claimed, restrict the hauling and buffing stresses to the truck side
frame and articulated joint, instead
of through the cab centre
plate, thus relieving
the cab and apparatus from the effect of severe
shocks.
Both the box cab and platform will be built
of plates,
sheets,angles and heavy channels, and will be thoroughly reinforced
throughout. The box cab will be divided into three compartments;
the apparatus compartment in the centre and
the two operators
compartments at
the ends. Each operators compartment will have
a full complement
of apparatus, consisting of controller, control
switches, meter, air brake control apparatus, air gauges, pantograph
control and heaters, thus providing the locomotive with a complete
double end control. All apparatus subject to 2400 volt potential
will be located
in the centre apparatus compartment and screened
to protect against accidental contact. The location and general
arrangement
of this apparatus will be such as to provide easy
access from all sides for inspection, cleaning and repairs.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 84 MAl -JUIN 1995
Canadian Northern electric locomotive 602, coupled to 605, as seen when they were new. Comparison with recent photos shows considerable
change in details over the years, although the basic appearance has remained the same.
National Archives
of Canada, Merrilees Collection, photo No. PA-164773.
The Sprague-General Electric type M multiple unit double
end control
is proposed for the locomotives, all the control points
being proportioned and adjusted so as
to secure a smooth and even
acceleration,
at all times, corresponding to a current consumption
near the slipping point
of the wheels. The transition between series
and series-parallel will be effected by a special electro pneumatically
operated changeover switch and the motorfields will always be on
the ground side
of the armature.
A motor generator set will supply
125 volt energy for the
operation
of the control, and a 2400 volt air compressor of 100
cubic feet air piston displacement will be provided as part
of the
air
brake .equipment. Two air operated roller pantographs and a
properly insulated bus line will be located upon the
roof The bus
line will supply power
to two or more units from the pantographs
of any of these units. The motor equipment will consist offourCGE
229 commuting
pole type motors woundfor 1200 volts
and insulatedfor 2400 volts,
so that two may be connected permanently
in series and operated
on a 2400 volt circuit. These motors will be geared
to the axles
through twin gears, there being one pinion on each end
of the
armature shafts. These motors are especially designedfor locomotive
service and will be provided
withfOlud ventilation by a blower
located in the apparatus compartment. The locomotives will be
gearedforafree running speed on tangent, level track
of approximately
45 miles an hour, and will be operated as two speed machines with
ten points in series and nine points series parallel.
The air brake equipment will be the straight air and
automatic type, so as
to combine the desirable features for train
operation through
an equalizing reservoir and the independent
operation
of the brakes upon the locomotive. Provision will be
MAY -JUNE 1995
made for the multiple operation
of the compressors upon all
locomotives when operating in
multiple, so as
to distribute the
duty
upon all the compressors in
the train.
85 CANADIAN RAIL -446
The motors will be
operated in series and series
parallel by the Sprague-General
Electric type M two speed control.
The external regulating resistance
will be divided into two parts,
each part being directly connected
to a pair of motors permanently
connected in series. The two pairs
of motors, with their resistances,
will all be connected in series on
the first point
of the control, the
resistance being varied through
the first nine points
on the
controller
and finally short
circuited on the tenth, or running
point. The two pairs
of motors
will then be similarly operated in
series parallel and all resistances
cut out
on the last or full speed
running point. Two views
of electric locomotives of the Butte Anaconda & Pacific,from which those of the Canadian
A special electro pneu­
matically operated changeover
switch will be used, to make the Northern were copied. Canadian Railway and Marine World, December,
1913.
transition between series and series parallel so that there will be
no appreciable reduction in tractive effort dUling the change. A
smooth transit ion between all points, both rheostatic and transitional,
will ensure motor operation close to the slipping point
of the
wheels and a steady, gradual acceleration at all times.
The motors will have sufficient capacity
to slip the wheels,
the slipping point serving as a current limit
to prevent overloading.
Either pair
of motors may be cut out, in case of emergency, by
means
of a special handle on the changeover switch.
The masler controllers will receive their energizing current,
ata potential of 125 vollsfrom the motor generator set and provide
for operating the contactors so that they will close the motor
circuits under different combinations and regulate the external
motor resistances to give
10 points series and 9 points parallel.
The controller will be
of the non automatic type and will have two
handles; one regulating the applied voltage at the motors and the
other for controlling the direction
of rotation of the molars. Each
of the above handles will control a single cylinder.
The overhead trolleys will be
of the pantograph type,
mounted on insulated bases and pneumatically operated. A hand
pump will be provided
for raiSing the trolley in case a locomotive
has been standing some time and has no air supply.
Provision will be made for automatically opening the
control circuit and
CUlling off all power from the locomotive, in
case the locomotive driver overruns a signal set against him.
At the
same time a special valve will be opened which will set the
emergency air brake.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 86
The builders plate of 601 (then numbered 101) as seen, still on the
locomotive, on October 20, 1968. The inscription reads: ELECTRIC
LOCOMOTiVE Class 0440-E-166-4GE229B 2400 Volts D.C.
No. 4609 Date lun 1914.
Photo by Fred Angus.
Following are the approximate general dimensions
of the
locomotives:
Length inside
of knuckles, 37 fl. 4 in.
Length over cab,
31 ft.
Height o
ver cab, 12ft. 10 in.
Height with trolley down, 15 112 ft.
Width over ail,
10 ft.
Total wheelbase,
26 ft.
Rigid wheelhase,
8 ft. 8 in.
Total weight on all drivers,
83 tons.
Wheel diameter,
46 in.
Gearing, 80-25 (reduction 3.2 : 1).
Tractive effort al 30% tractive coefficient, 49,800 lb.
Tractive effort at 30 hour rating, 20,300 lb.
Tractive effort at continuous rating, 14,500 lb.
Speed at rated amperes, one-hour rating, 23.4 m.p.h.
Speed at rated amperes, continuous rating,
24.6 m.p.h.
Total horse power, one hour rating, 1280 h.p.
Total horse power, continuous rating, 1090 h.p.
Track gauge,
4 ft. 8 112 in.
Minimum radius of curvature, 150 ft.
The locomotive
s, as well as the rest of the electrical
equipment, have been orderedfrom the Canadian General Electric
Co..
During the first half of 1914, work continued on the tunnel
project as well as on the six electric locomotives. It was also
planned to build eight multiple-unit cars for suburban service, but
these were delayed, and eventually the order was cancelled. In
June, 1914, the Canadian Railway and Marine world described
more details
of the locomotives, adding to the description given
the previous December:
MAl -JUIN 1995
The motors on each locomotive will consist of4 CGE-229
commuting pole type motors. These have a standard rating
of
315 h.p. each, or a total of 1260 h.p. per locomotive. The
magnetic frame will be practically octagonal in shape, and
of
box type construction. The frame is provided with bored
openings at each end through which the armature, pole pieces
and field coils can be inserted or removed. The frame heads
carrying the armature shaft bearings will be supported
in the
recess ends
of the magnet frame, and will be held in place by
tap bolts, which will be securely locked against turning.
In
each head will be two tap holes diametrically opposite, and
when bolts are screwed into these holes the frame head will be
for
ced off
The armature bearing housings containing the bearing
sleeves will have liberal sized pockets
for holding oily waste,
which will be held against the shaft on the low pressure side
of the bearing. The heads will be provided wilh auxiliary oil
wells for gauging the depth
of the oil and inserting new oil.
The
4 exciting field coils will be located in the comers of the
frame at an angle
of approximately 45 degrees to the horizontal.
The motorframes will have large hand holes for inspection at
each end, which will be closed by covers with gaskets. The
opening through the frame over the commutator will be large
and inclined at an angle, allowing easy access to the commutator
and brush holde
rs. The cover over the commutator will be held in
place by a spring locking device, no part of which will project
above the top
of the motor.
The armature bearing linings will be made
of bearing
metal with a thin layer
of babbitt sweated to the bearing shell. The
armature bearings will be lubricated by means
of oil and waste,
and the waste will be held against the shaft on the low pressure side
of the bearing. Waste oil from the armature bearings will be
pre
vented from entering the interior of the motor by a series of oil
deflectors which will throw
it into grooves in the heads from which
it is conducted away. Axle caps will be tongued and bolted to
machined sWfaces on the frame, which will be inclined at an angle
of60 degrees to the horizontal. The bearings will be lubricated by
means
of oil and waste, and the caps will be provided with
auxiliary oil wells. The motor will provide a
7 in. diameter of axle
in the motor bearings.
The field coils will be all wound with strip copper,
the
whole being mummified
[sic 1 and insulated with varnished cambric
and heavy tape. The armature core will be built
up of soft iron
laminations and mounted on a steel spider. The laminations will be
keyed to the spider, and the spider
in turn keyed to the armature
shaft. The armature will be so constructed that the shaft may be
removed without
disturbing the commutator or windings, as the
commutator and armature heads will all be located on the spidel.
The armature
is especially designed to give thorough ventilation,
so that the forced draught will circulate through longitudinal holes
in
the armature and over the sUlfaces of the armature and field
coils. The armature shaft will be
of special high grade steel, and
the keys
of treated steel, the thrust collars being made from steel
drop forgings shrunk on the shaft.
The commutator shell and cap will have the sUlfaces
accurate
ly machined and insulated with the best grade of mica.
The commutator bars will be
of hard, drawn copper, machined
MAY -JUNE 1995
A scale drawing, showing side and end
elevation,
oj locomotive 602, It was
expected at that time that delivelY would
start later that month and that the entire
order
would be completed by the end of
the summer
Canadian Railway and Marine World,
June,
1914,
87
…… —-… -U/10p PtlJj:JO/ A9//0-!..L .9,-S1
tL;z ————–.9:L —
lEE
z
0::
W
:::c:

o::
a
z
~
o
(J)
N
CANADIAN RAIL -446
.
0
.
. l
Ii)
I
RAIL CANADIEN -446 88 MAl – JUIN 1995
Four photos of the early days of the Montreal electrification. Upper Left: 602 pulling in messenger wire and taking current from the opposite
track. Upper right: 603 operating under low catenaJ) construction. Lower left: Control apparatus in operators cab. Lower right: 603
hauling a work train on tangent track.
Canadian Railway and Marine World, February, 1919.
accurately
to gauge, and will be insulated from each other by the
best grade
of mica. The commutator will be mounted directly on the
spider and may be removed without disturbing the windings or
punchings.
Each brush holder will rest
on a support which will consist
of two mica insulated studs pressed into a drop forging. The
support will be secured to the frame against accurately machined
seats by
tap bolts accessible from the outside of the motor frame. The brush holder bodies will be secured to the brush holder
supports on accurately machined seats. The brushes will slide
in
finished ways and will be pressed against the commutator by
fingers which will give a practically uniform pressure throughout
the
working range of the brushes. The arrangement of springs
actuating the fingers
is such that there will be but slight pressure
on the pins on which the fingers pivot. This will prevent any
tendency
of the fingers to stick on the pins and will reduce wear to
a minimum.
MAY -JUNE 1995 89 CANADIAN RAIL -446
arranged to take care of the arc.
The motor generator set will consist
of a 125 v. generator of suitable size to
take care of lights, head light and control
circuits, direct connected to
and driven by
a 2400
v. motor having two 1200 v.
commutators. A fan for providing air to
blow through the main motors will be
direct connected
to one end of the motor
shaft.
The interior
of the substation that supplied power for the Mount Royal tunnel electrification.
Visible are the motor-generator units as well as the switchboard. Substation Equipment: Power will
be purchased at
62 J 12 [sic] cycles of
11,000 v. and the present equipment of the
substation, which will be located near the
west portal
of the tunnel, will consist of
two J 500 k.w. CGE motor generator sets.
Each
of these sets will befoul bearing, and
consist
of 2750 k.w. compound wound
commuting pole generators, wound for
1200
v. and insulated for 2400 v., direct
connected
to I J .000 v. synchronous motor.
The generators will be provided with pole
face windings, and will be capable
of
carrying extremely heavy overloads, the
overload capacity
of each set being 200%
load for one
half hour and 300% load for
5 minutes. Three bearing
125 v. motor
generator exciter sets will be supplied,
each
125 v. 50 k.w. compound wound
commuting pole generator being driven by Canadian Railway and Marine World, February, 1919.
The magnet frame will
calTY an opening for a flexible
connection
to a low pressure blower. Air will be forced in at the
opposite
end from the commutator, through the field coils and over
the armature, then under the commutator through the armature
heads and punchings. Gears will be
of rolled steel forgings and the
pinions
of special treated high grade steel. Each motor will have
two pinions, one mounted on each end
of the armature shaft. Each
set
of gears and pinions will have 4 in. faces and the teeth will be
cut
to a diametrical pitch of 2 J 12 ins.
The contactors which will handle the main current will
have the operating coils energizedfrom
125 v. supply from a motor
generator set, and will be removed by special insulation some
distance from the contact tips which will carry the 2400
v. energy.
An insulating wood rod will connect the contact lever
to the
solenoid plunger. the principle
of operation of these contactors
being similar
to 600 v. type.
The arc chute will have a very powelful magnetic blowout
and arcing horns
of considerable length extending from the
contact tips, consequently, the ends
of the arc will move rapidly
over comparatively cold metal, causing a minimum burning
of arc
chute sides and a positive rupturing
of the arc.
The main motor and auxiliary fuse boxes will all be
provided with a vel) effective magnetic
blowout, which will be
energized by the current passing through the fuse, and have hinged
covers
to facilitate fuse renewals. Fuses will be of the copper
ribbon type, having a hole in the centre to localize the heating. The
fuse boxes will
be all arranged to blow into a common chamber a 550
v. 3 phase induction motor. The switchboard will consist of
32 panels of natural black slate and be 58 ft. long over all. The
switchboard will make provisionfor
considerableftllure expansion.
All the apparatus above mentioned
is being furnished by
the Canadian General Electric Co.
In February, 1917, the Canadian Railway and Marine
World reported that three locomotives had been received by the
end of 1916. Most of the fairly long account duplicated information
which had already been reported in th.e articles of December, 1913
and June, 1914. In addition, the article stated that In addition to
the fuse on the main circuit, a main switch is also provided. This
is
of the knife blade type, being opened and closed by a handle
placed in a position for easy operation
in case of emergency, or
when
it might be necessary to open the circuit while carrying
current. This main switch blows into the chamber
providedfor the
fuses, and has a powelful magnetic blowout ……. A speedometer,
similar to the type largely used
on automobiles, but especially
designed for locomotives,
is located in each operating cab. These
are connected to the driving wheels
of the locomotive by flexible
shafts and gearing.
Delivery of the locomotives had originally been scheduled
to start in June, 1914, with one locomotive to be delivered every
two weeks until the order was completed. The builders plates of
the first four were dated June 1914, although this date bears no
relation to the actual date of delivery. By 1914, even before the
outbreak of war in August, the Canadian Northern Railway was in
financial difficulties,
and this shortage of money caused the actual
RAIL CAIJADIEIJ -446 90 MAl -JUIN 1995
On this page and opposite are two very clem photos of 9100 taken in 1942 in the big hole that used to exist just north of Central Station
before Place Ville Marie was built. The buildings
in the background have changed and some are gone. The details of9100 s trucks are clearly
visible showing the hinged articulation between trucks.
CN photos 42470 and 42471.
delivery dates to be greatly delayed, ranging between December,
1916 and March, 1918. The first four (600
to 603) were built
entirely at the General Electric works in Erie, Pennsylvania. The
final unit, 605, was all Canadian, being built at Canadian General
Electric in Peterborough. Number 604 was partially Canadian,
having
the body built at the Davenport Works in Toronto, and
being assembled in Peterborough using equipment from Erie. All
builders plates, however, read Canadian General Electric as the
locomotives were built for use in Canada.
The first locomotive
to be delivered was the all-Canadian
one, No. 605, which arrived in December, 1916. Later the same
month it was joined by 600 and 602 which had come from Erie. In
January, 1917, Erie-built 601 and 603 joined the roster, followed, more than a year later, in March 1918, by 604 which was the one
partially built in Canada. Numbers 600 to 603 had builder
s
numbers 4608 to 461 1 in the Erie series, while a strange situation
arose with 604. It had originally been planned that it would be built
in Erie, and it had been assigned builders number 4612. However,
when it was decided
to assemble it in Canada, General Electric
assigned builders number 4612
to a mining locomotive for
another railway. Nevertheless, when 604 finally joined the CNoR
roster, it still bore builders number 4612, thus creating a situation
where two totally different locomotives bore the same builders
number. Finally,
to further complicate matters, 605, built entirely
at Peterborough, had builders number 25326, which was in the
series
of electric motors, since the Peterborough works did not
have a special series for locomotives.
MAY -JUNE 1995
Although tlUs article primarily deals with the six locomotives
themselves, some discussion
of the conditions under which they
had to operate would be appropriate.
The Canadian Railway and
Marine World,
in its issue of FeblUary, 1919, described some of
these conditions, as well as the problems involved in designing the
overhead wire system. The following is taken from that account:
Special local conditions and extremely low temperatures
inlroducedfeatures, making the design
of the catenary system for
this electrification somewhat out
of the ordinmy. The present
electrified track
is about 10 miles long and in this distance there
is a passenger terminal station and passenger cal yard in the city,
a double track tunnel, double tracks
in a cut with low clearances
under highway bridges, a long stretch
of single track, both tangent
and curve, and a large freight yard with repair shops and storage
tracks. The temperature in the coldest weather reaches
35 degrees
below zero, while
in the hottest summer weather it will go as high
as 110 in the sun
[both temperatures are in Fahrenheit. Ed.]. In the
early spring severe sleet storms sometimes occur ……. The contact
wire
is of special bronze composition, size 0000, with a breaking
91 CANADIAN RAIL -446
strength of 65,000 lb. a sq. in. and an elastic limit of 39,000 lb. a
sq.
in. Its section is American Electric Railway Associations
standard 0000 grooved trolley
wire. The use of this wire, instead
of hard drawn cappel, was thought advisable, both because of its
longer life, when subjected
to wear caused by sliding pantographs,
and also because
it could be pulled up tighter than copper, on
account
of its greater strength. This latter reason was considered
of special importance, because of the wide variation in temperature
in Montreal, with the consequent great variation in the sag of
ordinary coppel trolley wire betlveen winter and summer. The
trolley wire
is hung straight over the centre of the track, as the
natural side sway
of the pantograph is nifjicient to prevent
wearing grooves in the contact strips. The height
of the trolley wire
above top
of rail is ordinarily 23 ft., except along the double track
construction and in the tunnel, where
it is 16 ft.ln this section 2
wires are used over each track. They hang side by side, supported
from the same messenger, the hangers
of one wire being staggered
with those
of the other. These double wires do not raise the hanger
loops as high as would a single wire, when a pantograph passes
along, which
is an obvious advantage when the head room is
RAIL CANADIEN -446 92 MAl -JUIN 1995
d
d
9101 with a passenger train consisting entirely of wooden cars, seen at Val Royal some time before 1949.
Canadian National, photo No. X-7231.
limited. Sparking and consequent weal, both
of the contact shoes
and contact wires,
is reduced to a minimum, as there is always
good contact between the slider strips and one
of the contact
wires..
Despite the delays, by March 1918, all six locomotives
were on Canadian Northern property, and appear
to have been used
on work trains
as the great project at last approached completion.
Finally
all was ready, and the first regulartrain, hauled by 601, ran
through the tunnel on Monday, October 21, 1918. Celebration was
somewhat curtailed due to the influenza epidemic and restrictions
on crowds, but it was nevertheless a significant event. Three weeks
later the signing
of the armistice brought an end to the fighting in
World War I, and the coming of winter brought a virtual end to the
flu as well. However the Canadian Northern had gone bankrupt and
the entire project was taken over by the federal government and
operated
by the newly formed Canadian National Railways which
has operated the line ever since.
With the demise
of the CNoR, the dream of the tunnel
being the start
of a transcontinental line faded away. In 1939 the line between Hawkesbury and Ottawa was abandoned, so breaking
CNoRs direct link between the tunnel and the transcontinental
line. However a number
of long distance trains did use the tunnel,
and they were hauled by the electric locomotives to Val Royal,
where they would be replaced by steam locomotives. In addition,
a suburban service was operated
to serve the growing residential
area along the line, especially the Model City, now the Town
of
Mount Royal. The original plan of having Multiple Unit cars did
not materialize at that time,
but. in 1925, under Canadian National
operation, a few home-built MUs were put into service. Also
in
1925, the electrification was extended from Val Royal to the
present terminus at Deux Montagnes (then called St. Eustache sur
Ie Lac).
A major change took place in 1943, with the opening
of
Central Station. To serve this new terminal the electrified area was
greatly extended east, south and west, going as far as Montreal
North, Victoria Bridge, and
to Turcot Yard. At this time, the six
original locomotives were joined
by the English Electric box cabs
which had been built in 1926 for the Harbours Board railway and
MAY -JUNE 1995 93 CANADIAN RAIL -446
105 and 104 at Town of Mount Royal on June 19, 1963. This view shows considerable roof detail.
Photo by Fred Angus.
Framed by the Catenmy supports,
1 01 and a train of three heavyweight steel cars made up a special train run by the CRHA
on October 20,
1968, to commemorate the 50th anniversmy of the opening of the tunnel.
Photo by Fred Angus.
RAIL CANADIEN -446
subsequently purchased by CN.
Then,
in 1950. three new steeple
cab electric locomotives joined
the roster, followed in 1952
by
eighteen new multiple-unitcars
(6 motors and 12 trailers). At
the same time the old loco­
motives, including the English
Electrics, were somewhat
modernized. This involved
replacing their original motors
with the improved General
Electric 754 type, the same as
those used on the new loco­
motives and the MU cars.
The dieselization
of the
system meant that the electri­
fication south and west
of
Central station was no longer
needed and it was cut back.
Laterthe line to Montreal North
was de-electrified, and the spur
from Val Royal to Cartierville
was abandoned. However, the
main line, from Central Station,
through the tunnel, to Deux
Montagne
s, has remained in
operation.
In 1992 the last VIA
trains to use the tunnel were
rerouted to a different line, and
so all passenger service in the
electrified region
is made up
of suburban commuter trains.
94 MAl -JUIN 1995
their general appearance
remained remarkably similar
to the way they had looked
when new, and the modern­
izations assured their continued
operation. Meanwhile, debate
on the future
of the line
continued, as it became
increasingly more difficult to
maintain the old equipment.
For more than twenty-five years
the box-cabs have been a great
attraction to
rai [way enthusiasts
as they continued to run, year
after year, long beyond their
expected life span.
The original Canadian
Northern electric locomotives,
although altered somewhat over
the years (as would be expected
of units 80 years old) have
proved to be remarkably
A front view of 101 (now 67]]), with its special train, at Val Royal on
It is a true saying that
nothing lasts forever, and time
eventually caught up with these
veterans. The first to be retired
was 6713 (nee 603) which was
taken out
of service about 1992
and used for parts to keep the
others going. It was thought
that 6715 would soon follow,
as it suffered a fire late in
1993, but it has been repaired
and returned to serv ice.
DWing
t
he summers of 1993 and 1994,
all electric
operation was
suspended as work progressed
to upgrade the line into amodem
electric suburban system.
During May, 1995 service has
been suspended to allow work
to procede. Trains will still run
weekdays until
June 2. The
final phase of conversion will
October 20, 1968. Photo by Fred Angus.
dependable, even in recent times. They have been renumbered
three times, their original numbers 600 -605 being changed to
9100 -9105
in 1919, after Canadian National took over the
Canadian
Northel11. In 1949, they were renumbered 100 -105, and
in 1969, as part
of a general renumbering of commuter equipment,
they received their present numbers 6710 -6715.
These units have been modernized on two occasions. The
first, as has already been mentioned, was in the early
1950s when
they received new motors and electrical equipment. However this
modernization did not affect their appearance greatly, as little
change was made to the general layout. The second modernization,
in 1969 coincident with their final renumbering, had a greater
effect on their appearance. The centre side doors disappeared,
some changes were made to windows and grills, and the original
1914
GE builders plates vanished [do any still exist? Ed.]. Most
obvious was the new paint scheme in which the former all-black
gave way to a scheme in which the entire ends were painted bright
red. This was undoubtedly done for visibility and safety as their
area
of operation became more and more built up. Nevertheless, be carried out in the
summer of
1995, with full operation resuming in September, with the new
equipment.
In the last weeks of operation, railway enthusiasts, and
many who are not even railway enthusiasts, have been taking
photos
of the old trains or climbing aboard for one last farewell ride
behind locomotives that,
in some cases, their great-great-grandparents
rode behind!
By the time this article appears in print, June 2 will have
passed, and the old locomotives will be gone.
The record for the
oldest locomotives
in regular service in North America (excluding
preservation operations) will suddenJy have jumped forward about
25 years! An era will indeed have ended. At this writing it is
reported that 6711, and four pieces
of passenger equipment
(including M.U. car 6734) will come to the Canadian Railway
Museum at Delson –
SI. Constant. Other locomotives of the 6710
series are likely to be preserved as well, and more details will be
reported in later issues
of Canadian Rail. However, regardless of
what is preserved, the memories, and the countless photographs
and movies taken by rail enthusiasts over many years, will remain
as long as the study
of railway history exists.
MAY -JUNE 1995

.. ·.-.;~v.
~. .. ~~
. . .

95
/
.-/
:.,
CANADIAN RAIL -446
To conclude this tribute to the box cabs, we present, on this and
the next page,
afew photos of them in service in recent times.
TOP AND CENTRE: Train 918, hauled by 6711 and 6715, at
Grenel, St. Laurent on June
4, 1990.
BOTTOM: Train 911, hauled by 6715 and
67Il, at Portal
Heights on March 13, 1995,
All photos this page by John Godfrey,
RAIL CANADIEN -446 96 MAl -JUIN 1995
.., //..
TOP: 6711 and6712 on the crossover
track at Val Royal, heading
for the
turning loop, on May
2, 1995. Only
one more month
to go!
CENTRE: The control cab of6711 on
May
2, 1995. Compare this to the
view on page
88 taken 77 years
earlier.
BOTTOM: 6711 and 6710 at Mount
Royal heading for Montreal.
All photos this page by Fred Angus.
MAY -JUNE 1995 97 CANADIAN RAIL -446
The Silver Anniversary of the Pacific Coast Division
of the CRHA
The First 25 Years in the West
by Mervyn T. Mike Green
INTRODUCTION
Today, there are (in
alphabetical order), six divisions
located within British Columbia,
with one each
at: Cranbrook, Nelson,
Prince George, Revelstoke,
Vancouver, and Victoria. The oldest
of these is the Pacific Coast Division
(PCD)
in Vancouver, which was
first chartered
as the Pacific Coast
Branch
on August 30, 1970,
becoming the third Branch
of
C.R.H.A. The inaugural meeting
was held on October 27, 1970. Over
the years, there has been rivalry
between PCD and the West Coast
Railway Association, also located
in Vancouver -confusion has been
apparent from the early days, with the words coast and Railway
/
road contained within both titles. However, we have avoided
outright hostilities between the two groups, mainly because their
aims and operations are different. PCD has concentrated on
recording and publishing B.C. rail history, with the publication
of
twelve Rail Guides and three Historical & Operational Rail Maps
to date (which have been mostly financed by membership dues and
by monies from assisting in running Casino Nights in Vancouver).
WCRA has concentrated on collecting and maintaining railway
rolling stock in the Lower Mainland Area
of B.C., culminating in
the July 1994 opening
of its West Coast Heritage Rail Park in
Squamish (which have been largely financed
by rail excursions
over B.C. Rail and by government grants).
The summer of 1995 therefore will mark the Silver
Anniversary
of PCD. The Executive Committee of the Division is
arranging a number
of special events to mark the event. In the 25
years there have been eleven Presidents, most
of whom were in
office for two or three years only. However, two persons have been
brave enough
to do the job twice, each over a period of five years:
the current incumbent, Douglas Battrum; and the author
of this
journal
of PCDs days. The story of this Division is given below,
divided into five 5-year sections, which record the major events
of
each quintennial. 1970 -1975
The early years were a time
of irregular meetings, held in
memberss houses, for Branch
membership was small (rarely
exceeding 15-20) and later, in the
Vancouver Maritime
Museum.
Creation
of the Branch grew out of
the interests of a group of railfans
lead
by David Ll. Davies (of
Vancouver). Don McGougan (of
Port Coquitlam) and Ron Meyer
(of Vancouver), all three
of who
were long active members
of PCD.
They had all been linked through
the Vancouver Railway Museum
Association and were involved in
the attempts
to save ex -CPR Royal
Hudson 4.6.4 loco #2860 from scrapping. Under the presidency
of Don McGougan (1970-7), the first field trips were arranged in
the Fall of 1970: visits to ex-CPR 4.4.0 # 374 at its location in
Kitsilano Park (near
to the furthest westward extension of the CPR
-see The CPRs English Bay Branch, published by PCD in 1993
as Rail Guide #8) and to #2860 in Drake Street Yards. Later
in
the year, a second visit to CPRs Drake Street Roundhouse and
servicing yards included the opportunity
to inspect #2860 at close
range, for it sat in the open, awaiting the corporate decision as to
saving it (possibly by giving
it to the City of Vancouver) or cutting
it
,up for scrap metal.
In July 1971, several Branch members were lead
by 1971-
73 President Mike Halleran (then
of Vancouver, now of Victoria)
in assisting in the relocation of another rail relic to a safer haven.
Ex-BCER Interurban car #1223 was transported by a flatbed trailer
from its unprotected display at Edmonds Avenue
to a protected
area
in Heritage Village, in Burnaby (where it is still on display).
Regular monthly meetings were held in the Maritime Museum,
where most meetings were
film shows or illustrated talks by
members. Similar monthly meetings continue today, although at
another site.
The first excursion out of town was undertaken to
Nelson later that year,
to view the last operating PM units of CPR.
The
flISt railmap (drawn by Ron Meyer) was published at this time:
a 36 x 24 black
& white map of the Vancouver area.
RAIL CANADIEN -446
A number of joint meetings
and local field trips were held with
WCRA members also. Over the years,
there have been several attempts to
meld together WCRA and PCD, but
PCD members have always insisted
on remaining separate and independent
from WCRA. Notwithstanding, a
dozen or so
of our members claim
membership
in both groups. In 1972,
field trips were made to Park W A, to
ride
the ex-NPR 0.6.0 loco #1070 of
the Lake Whatcom Railway and then
to Delta, for a tour of the peat moss
operations and a ride behind one
of
the six 4-wheellocos in use (5 powered
by propane, one by diesel fuel) -the
peat plant was closed in 1984 and by
1986 all the locos were scrapped.
98 MAl -JUIN 1995
The year 1973-74 saw
President Dave Davies (who now lives
in Kamloops) produce the first
of the
series
of Rail Guides, which now
total twelve pamphlets and books.
The first nine titles were printed on
A view of ex-CPR 374 arriving in Vancouver in 1965. The occasion attempted to replicate the
occasion when the same
locomotive arrived in 1887, inaugurating service to Vancouver.
Collection
of the author.
8.5 x 11 paper, stapled together with bright orange paper covers,
but lacking any photosmapsdiagrams. PCD also adopted an
official logo, a black silhouette
of loco #374 mounted on a green­
coloured map
of B.C. This has subsequently been incorporated
into a plastic lapel badge, which is now provided
to all paid-up
members. A trip
to the Anaconda Copper Mine in June 1974, made
just prior
to the closure of the mine, provided the material for the
later (1977) publication
of a Rail Guide which was subsequently
revised and reissued
in 1991 as The Britannia Copper Mine
Railway. Another field trip was
made to Kilgard,
to view the closed
clay mine operations
of the Clayburn
Brick
& Tile Co. and view the unique
(in North America, at least) preserved
4-wheel battery-electric loco, built
by Electromobile Limited (sic)
of
England. This has since found a
permanent home
in Clayburn Village,
north Abbotsford. for its continued existence. These fears fortunately were unfounded,
as many holiday travellers can attest, when they ride behind this
loco on one
of the Summer excursions from North Vancouver to
Squamish.
1975 –
1980
Bill Lockie of Vancouver (1975-76) oversaw another very
successful
joint meeting with the WSS, on Coastal Services of CN
& CPo Unfortunately, the Centennial Museum at that time was
Under President Glenn
Lawrence of Burnaby (1974-75), the
monthly meetings were moved
to
the Vancouver Centennial Museum.
Other activities included a visit
to
the CPR Drake Street Roundhouse
and a very successful joint mee.ting
with the World Ship Society (WSS),
sponsoring a Festival
of Ships &
Trains . Members were keeping close
tabs on #2860, for yet another field
trip was made
to the CPR Drake
Street Roundhouse (on False Creek
in Vancouver)
in 1975, after fears
BCER interurban car 1305 heads up a train to Chilliwack about 1952. It was a sister to these cars
that the PCD helped move
in 1971.
Photo by Ernie Plant.
MAY -JUIJE 1995 99 CANADIAN RAIL -446
shed and yard operations
at Trapp
Road in New
Westminster; a journey
by
private bus to Snoqualmie
W A, where members had a
round-hip behind Mallett
#11 and then viewed the
yards and roll ing stock
of
the Puget Sound & Sno­
qualmie Valley Railroad.
En route we visited
BNs
Interbay Yard in Seattle and
viewed the maintenance
centre and the dozens
of
locos of many types which
were
on shed·.
A
baggage label souvenir designedfor the Royal Hudson excursion train by R. Kozma, and used in the early
The Fall of 1977 saw:
another visit to #2860, but
by now she was
in CPs
PortCoquitlam Yard, where
we visited her as part
of a
tour
of yard faci lities there,
culminating in a visit to the
Yardmasters Office. A
week later, members visited
Rocky Point
Park in Port
Moody. After a picnic lunch
near the
CPR mainline, we
I 980s. Collection of the author.
under severe financial strain, resulting in an enormous rise in the
fees for meetings. PCD was forced to seek another meeting site,
resulting in a move to the basement room belonging to the CNR
Vets organization in the CN Terminal
Building in Vancouver, where the
Division was happy to remain until quite
recently. June 1976 saw the first issue
of
the Divisions quarterly newsletter, The
Sandhouse, produced by editor Mike
Green (and now
in its 75th. issue!) toured the Port Moody
Station Museum, located
in the ex-CPR depot. At Christmas time, another bus trip took
us
to a joint meeting with the Cascades Chapter of the National
Railroad Historical Society. This was held
in the dining car of the
New President Mike Green
of
Richmond (1976-78) expanded the
number and variety
of field trips available.
During his two years, there were visits
to: the Squamish Locomotive Works
of
BCR, where we saw the maintenance
and rebuilding facilities; and a display
of VIAs reconditioned passenger stock
in Vancouver. The Summer
of 1977
included: a tour
of BNs Freight
Operations Centre
in Vancouver; a visit
to the ex-GNR White Rock depot and
the art gallery therein; a trip to
CNs
POJ1 Mann Yard, which included a visit
to the Servocentre operations, then a
walk through the railcar repair facility
and the loco maintenance area; a tour
of
the BCHR (now SRBC) maintenance
Inside the cab of2860 on May 25,1980. Philip Sunderland.
RAIL CANADIEN -446
Elmer Blackstaffs vertical boilered 4-wheel Climax loco at work
in the New Ladysmith Lumber Mill, June, 1980.
Rita Green
Lake Whatcom Railway in Wickersham W A, after a round trip
behind ex-NPR 0.6.0 #1070.
In January 1978, we joined with
WCRA and the 7th. Division, Pacific Northwestern Region
of
NMRA, in presenting a Tribute to #2860 in the Centennial
Museum, including slides, film and a talk by Robert Swanson (who
had been the saviour and Maintainer
of the Royal Hudson).
Starting in February 1978, PCD began its first participation
of
many at the annual Target Rails Shows, organized by Norris
Adams and other rail lovers.
Another first occurred in September 1978, when President
Norris Adams
of Vancouver (1978-81) was the first PCD attender
ever at the annual A.G.M. and Conference
of C.R.H.A. He
travelled
to and from the Montreal meeting site on VIAs The
Canadian. On his return, in October, he led members through the
Discovery Train display, located
in the CNR Terminal in Van.couver.
In December, he arranged a round trip on VIAs Supercontinental
PCD members aboard the Cowichan Valley Railway, hauled by
No. 25, Samson, in the B.C. Forestry Museum, June, 1980.
Rita Gree
n.
100 MAl -JUIN 1995
More steam operation at the Ladysmith Lumber Mill, June, 1980.
Rita Green.
train to and from Fort Langley, over the CNR line. A few days
later, PCD held another joint meeting with the Cascades Chapter
of the NRHS, once again in LWRs dining car in Park WA.
Soon after
PCDs second participation in the Target Rails
79
Show, members visited the ex -GTPR conference car Nechako,
then
located in the CN Vancouver Terminal (and now a resident
of
the Railway & Forest Industry Museum in Prince George). The
same month, the Executive Committee participated in the first
C.R.H.A. Conference Call with other divisions and the National
Executive in the Canadian Railway Museum in DeIson-St. Constant
PQ. Later the same month, members participated in the Richmond
Centennial Celebrations, when #2860 and Climax #1, with their
display cars, were put
on public display in Steveston. In April
1979, a repeat Rocky Point picnic and a Port Moody Station
Museum visit were aITanged. June 1979 saw members touring the
facilities in the Squamish Locomotive Works., then having a round
A head-on view o/No. 25, Samson, in the BCFM, June, 1980.
Rita Green.
MAY -JUNE 1995
Ex-CPR 374 soon after Expo 86 opened in May, 1986.
Norris Adams.
trip inside the B.C. Mining Museum at Britannia Beach, hauled by
a Little Trammer 4-wheel battery-electric mine loco. In July, a
private bus took members to Sedro Woolley WA, for a round trip
behind Seattle City Light & Power Railway 2.6.2 local #6. In
August, a lineside family picnic was held by the
CPR mainline in
Port Coquitlam. In October, a group of members rode the last
eastbound departure from
CPRs Cordova St. station ~o Eastern
Canada, riding
VIAs The Canadian as far as Port Coquitlam. In­
December, a third Christmas meeting was arranged with the NRHS
Cascades Chapter members, again
in the L WR dining car in Park
WA.
1980 -1985
Shortly after the New Year,
PCD presented an eight-part
Night School Course series oflectures
on Railways, in cooperation
with the Vancouver School Board. The 30 participants allsubsequently
joined PCD as members, while the VSB generously returned all the
course
fees to us, so we were winners in two ways. The following
months, we were again part
of the Target Rails 80 Show and one
month later we visited the Capilano Western HO Model Railway
Club display (high up inside the CNR Terminal building) and
attended an operating session
of their extensive model layout. The
highlight
of the year had to be the day trip to Seattle and
Snoqualmie
in May, when we rode the southbound Amtrak Pacific
International out
of Vancouvers CN Terminal, followed by a
private bus ride to Snoqualmie, east
of Seattle. There, we rode
behind the S&PSRs
GE 45-ton centre cab loco #7320, then
returned to
BNs Interbay Yard, for a guided tour of the servicing
facilities and tour
of the yards. We returned home late that night
from Seattles King Street Station aboard the nOlthbound Amtrak
Pacific International. Later that same month, a group boarded
the Royal Hudson press special from North Vancouver
to Squamish.
Frank Smith and Lee Shepherd alternated duties as engineer and
fireman.
Our members alternated rides in the cab of loco #2860
and in the baggage car
Prince George, to allow us to record the
101 CANADIAN RAIL -446
loco at work from the cab and from the train, on film and sound
tape.
In June, a ferry and private bus took us to the New
Ladysmith Lumber Mill narrow-gauge railway
of Elmer
Blackstaff, where we rode on his Type A vertical boilered 4-
wheel Climax loco (#1, built 1970, but carrying a works plate
148 Dec. 20 1892!), operating on wooden pole rails. After a
ShOlt shuttle to Duncan, we rode the BC Forestry Museum train
there, pulled
by Cowichan Valley Railway 36 gauge Vulcan
O.6.0T
+ T loco #25 Samson. Before leaving for the return
ferry, we viewed the extensive collection
of railway stock on
display in the BCFM grounds. On the return route home,
members also had the opportunity to visit the Miniature
World display (inside the Empress Hotel in Victoria) and view
its
largeHO gauge model railway, the GreatCanadianRailway.
The following month included a bus trip to inspect the Quintette
Tunnels east
of Hope on the ex-CPR nee Kettle Valley Railway
line (now a provincial park site). The usual accompanying
rainy and dismal weather
in no way dampened the enthusiasm
of the members who took part in these events. To complete the
year, a large turn-out
of members celebrated Christmas with a
10th Anniversary Dinner, held in the ex-CPR business car
Alberta,
now Le Railcar Restaurant, in Gastown (Vancouver).
A special certificate
of lO-year membership was presented to Ron
Meyer at the dinner.
The year 1981 saw PCD again part
of the Target Rails 81
Show, in February. Later that same month, members were
conducted through a tour
of VIAs Vancouver Catering Centre,
followed by a walkthrough
of the latest stock of The Canadian,
located in the CNR Terminal building. The warmer Spring
weather encouraged several hardy souls to join author Barrie
Sanford on a guided walk
of some of the abandoned ex-GNR lines
in the
Lower Fraser Valley, from Ladner eastward to Chilliwack.
The next month (June), members visited the National Transportation
Week Show, at Vanterm, on Burrard Inlet in Vancouver.
That Summer, Steven Stark of Vancouver became President
(1981-83). Members made a round trip visit
to Seattle on the soon­
to-be-deleted Pacific International service
of Amtrak, then viewed
a display
of new Superliner double-deck passenger stock in King
Street Station. The annual Christmas Dinner was held in the
Victoria Station Restaurant in Vancouver and included a display
of clothing from Mainland China. February 1982 saw an invited
group
of our members participate in a tour of one of the ex­
Milwaukee Road Skydomes (which have now been sold by VIA)
during its tempormy storage
in the CN Terminal, Vancouver. A
week later, members again participated
in the target Rails 82
Show in Vancouver. Tn May, a large group visited two rail sites
in New Westminster. First was a walk out across the Fraser River
Swing Bridge (operated by the Federal Department
of Public
Works) to visit the bridge tender high up in his little shack, then
to
the Despatchers Office located inside the BNR New Westminster
depot.
We came away with a much clearer understanding of the
difficulties involved
in operating SRBC, BN, CN, CP & VIA trains
along the tracks between Vancouver
to the west, North Vancouver
to the north, Port Mann to the east and Brownsville to the south.
In
late Summer (August), we again picnicked near the CPR mainline
in
Port Coquitlam, then had a sholt tour of the Port Moody Station
RAIL CANADIEN -446
Museum. A cool damp day in September,
saw a large group gathered trackside at
CPR Yale to participate in the unveiling of
the commemorative plaque, located close
to the mainline that the Chinese workers
helped to construct in 1880-87.
In December,
PCD collaborated with the Burnaby Art
Gallery to develop a Railism display of
rail art and artifacts -we received many
compliments about the show.
102 MAl -JUIN 1995
February of 1983 was another
opportunity to publicly display
our Rail
Guides at the
Target Rails 83 Show in
Vancouver.
Three months later, a large
group travelled by private
car to Squamish,
where BCRail again provided us with an
excellent tour
of the locomotive and Car
Shops. Members were very interested in
the ongoing
rebuild programme and the
conversion
ofML W RS-3 units into Slugs
in the S400 series. In September 1983,
President Ron
Keillor lead a group to
inspect the restoration work being
undertaken upon ex-CPR 4.4.0 #374 on
Granville Island, in preparation for its
display
at Expo 86. The Christmas Dinner
On display at Expo 86 was a brand-new GF6C electric locomotive, No. 6005, buill to
haul unit coal trains over the new Tumbler Ridge Subdivision of BC Rail.
Rita Green.
drew a large group to participate at the
Owl & Engineer Restaurant in Surrey, located inside a number
of restored ex-CPR R class sleeping cars.
As usual, the first
PCD activity of the year was participation
in the
Target Rails 84 Show in February 1984 in Vancouver,
followed later the
same month with a tour to view the variety of
rolling stock stored inside the Dominion Bridge Works in Burnaby
(including the German streetcar that later was sold to Edmonton
and now awaits service on the projected tram line across the ex­
CPR High Level Bridge). BC Transit provided us with a guided
tour
of the Sky Train construction in Burnaby & New Westminster
in early May.
Later that month, a group drove up the abandoned
right-of-way
of the Kettle Valley Railway (later, CPR) from Hope
to Brookmere, up the Coquihalla River Valley, visiting the sites of
the abandoned depots (e.g. Romeo). In July, a special open-air
public meeting was held outside the Fraser Mills Depot.) Museum
(FMDM, which PCD staffs & maintains for the City of Coquitlam
Parks Dept.) to
make the public more aware of the depot and the
rail artifacts
it contains. The Christmas Dinner that year was held
in the Victoria Station
Restaurant in Vancouver and included a
showing of the movie The Great Train Robbery (thanks to Ron
Keillor).
By March 1985, the
Target Rails group had changed its
name and moved its venue from a church hall near the UBC
Endowment Lands in Vancouver to the Cameron Community
Centre in Burnaby: the first Western Rails 85 Show was held
there and has been repeated there every year since. In late June,
another open-air film night was presented to the public outside the
FMDM in Blue Mountain Park (Port Coquitlam), to pubLicise the
Summer opening days in July and August.
1985 -1990
In July 1985, President Douglas Battrum of Port Coquitlam
(1985-89) led a group aboard the eastbound
VIA Super Continental
to Hope, which then returned to
Vancouver by special bus.
September 1985 was the first of a series of participation by PCD
members in the Annual Cranbrook Caper, held in the restored
rolling stock
of the Cranbrook Railway Museum, with members
from C.R.H.A. divisions in Calgary, Cranbrook, and Victoria. Sky
Train opened for business between Vancouver and New Westminster
in
December and was tested out by many of our members. Once
again, the Victoria Station Restaurant in Vancouver was the site
for the annual Christmas Dinner, which included the movie
The
Emperor of the North (again, thanks to Ron Keillor).
1986 was the year
of Expo 86), the world-class exposition
of Transportation & Communication, which was held on a site
around False Creek in Vancouver for the four
summer months. In
February,
many members gathered to watch ex-CPR 4.4.0 #374
return from its cosmetic restoration in North Vancouver Shipyards
to its display site on the turntable in the restored
ex -CPR Roundhouse.
PCD members have a soft spot for this loco, for she features as
the Division logo, while many
members helped in stripping-down
the loco
on Granville Island in 1964-65, before she was reassembled
in North Vancouver. March 1986 again
saw PCD participation in
the
Western Rails 86 Show. Expo 86 opened in May and was
followed by the Steamexpo displays and the Grand Parade of
steam locos along Vancouver Waterfront (the CPR line) on May
23. During Expo 86, PCD hosted the 1986 Conference and
A.G.M.
of c.R.H.A., with attenders from all across Canada and a
variety
of events, including special excursions to the B.C. Forestry
Museum in Duncan, to Squamish
on the Royal Hudson excursion
behind ex-CPR 4.6.4 #2860, and to the Quintette Tunnels (on the
MAY -JUNE 1995 103

CANADIAN RAIL -446
group up the CoquihaUa River Valley, tracing the
roadbed
of the abandoned KVR and discovering along
the way a few relics, which joined the Division Archives
in the
FMDM.
Christmas passed without a
PCD Dinner, but in
February 1988, a large group boarded the Budd cars
of
BC Rails Cariboo service for a Spring trip from
North Vancouver to Lillooet
& return. March again
gave PCD an opportunity to show and sell its wares at
the Railroadiana 88
Show in Burnaby. In May,
further attempts were made to
ready Restoration Island
for its move to the
TMBC site in Cloverdale. The
annual Christmas Dinner was revived, with a smorgasbord
meal at the
FMDM and the presentation of two C.R.H.A.
Awards, to Robert Turner
of Victoria and to Fritz
Lehmann
of Vancouver. In May 1989, PCD participated
in the Western Rails Display in Burnaby.
The next
month, several members walked parts
of the abandoned
Milwaukee Road grade in the Sumas area.
The BC Electric Centennial display 0 gauge model railway, showing two BCER
interurban cars crossing a wooden trestle bridge.
President John Pieur of Vancouver (1989-91) was
one
of two PCD delegates (the other being Norris
Adams) attending the C.R.H.A. National Conference
andA.G.M. in Toronto ON inJuly 1989.
The Cranbrook
Caper 89 was also attended by a
couple of PCD
members in Septembe
r, meeting members from Calgary,
Photo taken in 1990 by Norris Adams.
right-of-way of the Kettle Valley Railway) just east of Hope. Most
of the legwork for the Conference was done by Norris Adams,
Douglas Battrum and Ron Meyer. Exhausted by all these activities,
members attended a
low-key Christmas Dinner in Burnaby.
Once again,
PCD showed its Rail Guides and rail maps at Edmonton, and Cranbrook divisions. Later that month, a group
visited #374 on its turntable (covered by a temporary canvas cover)
to investigate the chances
of moving the loco inside the Roundhouse,
but despite
our hopes, this was not to happen until some 2 12 years
later!
Just~befor.e Christmas, a large g.r.oup.took axoundtrip on the
eastbound
Canadian service of VIA over the CPR route to the Western Rails
87 Show in Burnaby in March.
After Expo
86 closed, Steven Stark was the PCD
representative
in the creation of the Friends of 374
Group (with WCRA), which managed to get the
restored steamer moved inside the Heritage Building
Roundhouse in 1992, after the False Creek site was
sold to a private developer and it looked as though
both the loco and the Roundhouse would be demolished.
During May ,Norris Adams
& Norman Gidney mounted
a special collection
of rail pictures and realics in the
Vancouver Public Library downtown, as part
of the
Citys Anniversary Displays. During June 1987, on
the longest day
of the year, a PCD group mounted an
II-hour photo & recording marathon, trackside at the
original site
of the Fraser Mills Depot, on the CPR
Westminster Sub-division. In July, some members
visited the Transportation Museum
of B.C. (TMBC)
site along the New Westminster waterfront and agreed
to help in the cosmetic restoration
of ex-CNR sleeping
car Restoration Island.
The work continued until the
car was moved to the (hoped for) permanent site in
Cloverdale, just north of the SRBC tracks from
Vancouver / New Westminster to Huntingdon /
Chilliwack.
One month later, another group of members
began repainting the station
& reorganizing the archival
materials held
in the Fraser Mill Depot Museum
(FMDM).
In September, Brian Peters again led a
During afield trip to the Vancouver waterfront in 1992, PCD members inspected
this H unslet
4 -wheel switcher, one of three owned by Pacific Elevators. It is sitting
inside the unique mobile roundhouse that is used
to protect the equipment and
workers from the weather during maintenance periods.
Ronald Keillor.
RAIL CANADIEN -446
Kamloops -this was the last month of operation over
this route, for from Jan. 15, 1990 it switched to the
CNR route and the Super Continental was removed
from the timetables.
The annual Christmas Dinner
was held in the CNVIA Terminal building in
Vancouver and included a buffet supper followed by
several video films.
1990 -1995
104 MAl -JUIN 1995
One again, the first public outing of 1990
was participation in the Western Rails 90
Show in
Burnaby in March. Later that month, Norris Adams
and Norman Gidney did PCD proud when they
arranged a transit display (with BC Transit) in the
downtown branch
of the Vancouver Public Library.
In April, PCD joined with the Vancouver Historical
Association to host a Centennial Dinner for public
transport
in Vancouver. The even.ing, held in Heritage
Hall, was concluded with an illustrated talk by BCT
historian Brian Kelly. At his invitation, several
PCD members also participated
in the BCT Centenn.ial
Procession through downtown Vancouver (June),
which included cars, taxis, diesel buses, trolley Ex-CPR 2-8-0 No.
3716 (shown here in 1983) spent some time in Drake Street Yard,
before being,
sent/f)r maintenance to North Vancouver.
Photo by Norris Adams.
buses and tramcar #400 from Victoria. During the following
month, many
of our members viewed the BCT Centennial Display
in the Stadium Sky Train Station, which included a large
0 gauge
model railway
of past BCER operations (partly built by some PCD
members).
In August, several PCD Executive Committee members
attended the C.R.H.A. Conference and A.G.M. 90, held
in Calgary
and other centres. In October the BC Transit Centennial Bus was
displayed outside the
CN VIA Terminal building -PCD members
inspected it during the regular monthly meeting held in the
terminus. The next month, we joined in the Model Railroading
Display
of Seventh Division, NMRA, held in Burnaby, selling our
range
of railway books and maps. Th.ings were quiet during the
Winter, with no Christmas Dinner.
However, the Spring
of 1991 saw an upsurge in activities,
with three events in March. First, was participation in the
Western Rails 91
Show in Burnaby, followed soon after by a
Fascination
of Railways Display, held in Port Coquitlam Public
Museum
and organized by Douglas Battrum. Later that month, a
group drove
to Wickersham WA to ride behind ex-NPR 0.6.0 loco
#1070 in three NPR cars on the Lake Whatcom Railway and
inspect the rolling stock on display.
In April, members were guests
of the Vancouver H.istorical Association at a talk Rail Bridges to
Richmond. To assist in the Centennial of the City of Coquitlam,
Ron Keillor arranged a special public Rail Show outside the
FMDM,
in Blue Mountain Park. During the Summer months, the
Museum was again available
to the public, thanks to a federal
Challenge Grant, wh.ich allowed
us to hire a student for regular
openings.
In October 1991, President M.ike Green (1991-94) was one
of three delegates to the C.R.H.A. Conference and A.G.M., held in
K.ingston ON. The next month, a Centennial Dinner was held in
Coquitlam, with an illustrated talk
by author Henry Ewert. Although
there was
no Christmas Dinner that year, December did include
two PCD events. First, we were invited by UBC Map Librarian Tim Ross
to inspect his collection, particularly those maps of rail
significance. Second, a large group rode the eastbound Canadian
from Vancouver
to Port Coquitlam, to sample the newly-converted
VIA stock equipped with Head End Power -we rode the entire
journey in the dome car -return.ing by
CB Transit bus & Sky Train.
January 1992 saw a large PCD group inspect the BC
Transit Sky Train Operations
& Maintenance Centre in Burnaby.
The next Month, Bruce Wolff organized a similar group visit
to the
Capilano Western HO Mode Railway Club operations in the
upper floors
of the CNVIA Terminal building. The Club, in
common with PCD, was being forced
to leave (due to the impending
rebuilding
& earthquake-proofing of the building, to convert it into
the Pacific Central Station and its future multi-modal uses), so we
attended one
of its last operating sessions. Unfortunately, the Club
has been unable
to find a new permanent home, so far. In March,
PCD again participated
in the Western Rails 92 Show in
Burnaby. Copies were available
of the two rail wall maps and the
book
The Britannia Copper Mine Railway, which was publ.ished
in the second style
of PCD books, i.e. an 8.5 x 11 format with
cardstock covers and cerlox binding, containing a variety
of photos
and diagrams. In April, a group had a tour along the Vancouver
Waterfront rail lines, followed
by an inspection of the rail artifacts
displayed in the Princeton Hotel. The events
of Mayall concerned
rail relics: a visit
to the restoration work on ex-BCER tramcar #153
in Mahon Park (North Vancouver), then a short drive down the hill
to see the maintenance efforts of Al Broadfoot & his team upon
Royal Hudson #2860 and 2.8.0. #3716 (which acts
as standby
power on the
RH, excursions to Squamish). Another drive back
across the harbour put
us at the Roundhouse, where #374 was
carefully pushed
off the turntable and inside the ex-CPR Drake
Street roundhouse, for permanent protection and eventual display.
Finally, we drove back over the bridge to West Vancouver, for a
hike along the abandoned PGER right-of-way in Horseshoe Bay
(BCR trains now use the tunnel built just to the north). For a
MAY -JUNE 1995 105 CANADIAN RAIL -446
Regular visits by PCD members to the Port Moody Station Museum produce views .oj CP jreights headed
by SD40-2F units, like this train westbound at Choate on November
25,1990. Motive power IS No. 9005.
programme of publications.
Three events in February were:
the Western Rail 93 Show
in Burnaby; another round
trip ride behind ex-NPR 0.6.0
#1070
in Wickersham WA;
participation in the first
Heritage Week Display
in
Richmond (for which we later
shared in a Provincial Heritage
A ward). The next month saw
PCD presenting the first
of
its special awards -this was
the Norris Adams Memorial
Award, named in honour
of
our recently-departed
member, who had been PCD
member & President, founder
of the Target Rails public
shows,
Western Division
Liaison Officer of C.R.H.A.
and a longtime publicist
of
rail history. The first recipient
of the Award was Norman
Gidney
of Vancouver, who
was honoured mainly for his
recording and photographing
Photo by Dean Ferris.
change of pace, in June a. group was escorted around the.
maintenance hangars of Canadian Airlines in Richmond. In July,
another group walked various parts
of the abandoned GNR grade
between Cloverdale and Huntingdon BC Sumas W
A. The Fall
season opened with our first participation in the Making Tracks
92 Display, held
in the Science World Building in Vancouver III
September. The next month a visit to the Agassiz-Harrison
Museum and its ex-CPR caboose display, then lunch at the Billy
Miner Pub nearby (named after the well-known rail robber), was
followed by a visit to the Haney-Maple Ridge Museum. There we
inspected the museum displays upstairs, then the Dewdney-Alouette
Railway Societys HO model layout downstairs, plus its ex-CPR
caboose and 4-wheel steel mine cars outside. The Trains
92
Show in Burnaby again offered PCD an outlet for our books &
maps, including the new book lndustrial Locomotives. The
Christmas Dirmer was held in the
Keg & Cleaver Restaurant,
located in the ex-CPR New Westminster depot, from whose upper
floor can be seen trains
ofBCSR, CNR & CPR passing by, with Sky
Train visible just to the north.
Two C.R.H.A. Awards were
presented there: one each to Fritz Lehmann
of Vancouver and to
Robert Turner of Victoria.
In January 1993, two unique events occurred. First, a field
trip to Kilgard (east
of Abbotsford) to view the preserved British­
built battery-electric loco there (since moved to public display
in
Clayburn), was followed by lunch and a tour of the restored
buildings in Clayburn Village (once home
of the Clayburn Brick
& Tile Co.). Later, PCD sponsored two nights at the Casino in
Vancouvers Chinatown, netting almost $9000 for our continued
of the Vancouver area rail
scene over several decades.
Later that month, Douglas
Battrum
organized a tour
of the FMDM and ·outlined·future plans,
including the planned move
of the museum into the Maillardville
Heritage Square Project and the possible acquisition
of an ex-CPR
caboose. The Summer months were quiet, as members joined their
families
in non-rail-related activities, but in August, Rick Shantler
organized a tour
of the BC Transit Control Centre in South
Vancouver.
In September, we again took part in the Making
Tracks 93
Show in Science World, Vancouver. Later that month,
a group rode behind #2860 on a day return trip on the Royal
Hudson excursion train from North Vancouver to Squamish.
In
October, a small group traced the Kettle Valley Railway route
from Hope to Coquihalla.
In November, PCD again participated
in the Trains 93 Show in Burnaby and, later in tile month, held
ajoint meeting in Steveston with the Steves
ton lnterurban Restoration
Society, which included a guided tour
of ex-BCER Interurban car
#1220.
The annual Christmas Dinner was again held in the Keg
& Cleaver Restaurant in New Westminster.
The year 1994 started
off for PCD with a busy weekend in
FebJuary. The Alder Grove Historical Society invited
PCD
authors David Davies, Mike Green, Ron Meyer, and Lorne Nicklason
to attend its Authors
Day as part of their Heritage Week 94
Display. Other members also participated in the second Heritage
Week Display in Richmond. In the next month, we again were
part
of the Western Rails Show in Burnaby, offering our books
and maps, including the book Railroading
in British Columbia –
A Bibliography, the Rail Map
of the Mission -Abbotsford –
Sumas Area, and the recently-published book
The CPRs English
Bay Branch. The latter was printed in the third and latest style for
RAIL CANADIEN -446 106 MAl -JUIN 1995
our publications, i.e. perfect-
bound with cardstock covers
and page size
of 6 x 9. At the
PCD A.G.M., held
in Burnaby
in April, the second Norris
Adams Memorial A ward was
presented to Steven Stark, who
was honoured mainly for his
long association with the
movement to restore, house and
maintain ex-CPR 4.4.0 loco
#374. During the next month,
Rick Shantlerorganized another
field trip; this time it was to the
VIA Maintenance
Depot in
Vancouver, whereaU theF40PH
locos and the coachulg stock
for the
Canadian are serviced.
In June, PCD again sponsored
two Casino Nights, this time in
downtown Vancouver, from
which we netted
over $20,000
for our ongoing projects! Eight
PCD members attended the
C.R.H.A. Conference
& A.G.M.,
sponsored by the Selkirk
Division in Revelstoke in June­
July: Walter Bedbrook,
of Picton
ON, David Davies, ofKamloops;
Walter Edgar,
of Calgary AB,
The Steveston Interurban Restoration Society is restoring ex-BCER interurban car No. 1220, (sister
to these shown in 1950, passing Richmond town hall).
In November, 1993, PCD visited No. 1220 as
part
of one of its regular monthly meetings.
Photo courtesy
of Richmond City Archives.
Charles Evans, of Vancouver,
Alan Giolma,
of North Vancouver; Mike Green, of Richmond;
Lome Nicklason, of Surrey; and John Picur, of Vancouver. Among
the tours offered was: a thorough look at the newly-opened
Revelstoke Railway Museum, with its recently-acquued (from
CRM Delson) ex-CPR 2.8.2 #5468; visits to the Connaught and
Mount Macdonald
tUTmels; and inspection of various track remnants
from the previous routes to the tunnels.
The Fall season started with a July trip via public transit
and ferry to Victoria-Courtenay-Nanaimo (organized
by Rick
Shantler),
to ride the Budd cars of the VIA Malahat service (then
in its final days). This was followed by a repeat participation in the
Trains 94
Show in Burnaby in November and the year was
closed with the annual Christmas Dinner. Participation
in the
plans
to move the ex-CPR Fraser Mills Depot to a new site in the
Maillardville Historical Project
in Coquitlam was started by
President Douglas Battrum of Port Coquitlam (1994-95). A small
group
of members (lead by Bruce Wolff) is currently building a
portable HO gauge model railway
of part of the Kettle Valley
Railway line, which can be exhibited at various Vancouver-area
displays and
meets. These will be major events in the Divisions
25th. Anniversary Year.
The current site for the Divisions
Regular Meetings is in the Second Street Community Centre in
Burnaby (close to the New Westminster boundary), which
is a
fairly central location for our membership of80-90 regular members,
who I ive from one end to the other
of the Lower Fraser Valley area
of British Columbia.
CONCLUSION
There are very few members alive today who were also
members
of the initial group which in 1970 formed the Pacific
Coast Branch (which became a Division in 1979). On March 13,
1995 the Division lost one
of its most valuable members who was
mentioned briefly above, but he was unique in this organization,
for he was a member
of every single Executive Committee since
1970. I refer to Ron Meyer
of Vancouver, who was largely
responsible for the development
of the divisions very successful
publications programme. He also authored two Rail Guides on
B.C. Rail Bibliography and co-authored another Railguide; he
wrote a regular book review
in The Sandhouse; he participated
in every PCD field trip and public showcase; he helped in the
printing and packaging
of Rail Guides; he presented illustrated
talks at several Regular Meetings: he worked
in the FMDM; and
he assisted the newsletter editors in many ways.
The success of the
first 25 years
of PCD is largely due to his work and that of his
dedicated fellow DUectors
of the Executive Committee. We owe
an immense debt
of gratitude to all of them. An obituary of Ron
Meyer will be fowld on page 113 of this issue.
Throughout the entire 25 year history
of PCD, there have
been Regular Meetings arranged in a variety
of Vancouver-area
locales, with dozens
of members and invited expert speakers.
They have presented hundreds of different rail topics, covering all
of North America and giving verbal & photographic examples
from countIies from
aU other five continents. Usually there were
MAY -JUNE 1995 107 CANADIAN RAIL -446
SOURCES
I. For the Introductory Period 1970-71, articles
in Canadian Rail #229 of Jan. 1971 and #230 of
Mar. 1971, (thanks to Stephen Walbridge, of Pointe
Claire PQ) and correspondence with C.R.H.A.
President Walter Bedbrook,
of Picton ON.
2. Forthe Period 1970-76, the personal diaries,
memories
& photographs of:-
Douglas Battrum,
of Coquitlam BC
David
LI. Davies, of Kamloops BC*
Norman Gidney,
of Burnaby BC
Don McGougan,
of Coquitlam BC
Ken Merilees,
of Burnaby BC
Ron Meyer,
of Vancouver BC
The seven PCD members who attended the 1994 Annual General meeting are shown
here. Left
to right: Al Giolma, Lome Nickalson, John Picur, Walter Bedbrook,
*1 am particularly grateful for the materials provided
by Dave from his personal archives, which has
enabled me to include a variety
of illustrations of
PCD activities from the past (MTG).
Charles Evans, Mike Green, Walter Edgar. Photo by Rita Green.
(and still are) such meetings held in September, October, November,
January, February, March, April, May, and June each year. These
were all
in addition to those activities catalogued above. Various
Executive Members have also given talks to seniors groups and
elementary school classes
in Coquitlam, Richmond and Vancouver.
Most recently (in August),
Lome Nicklason participated in the
Railways Days Show at Kilby General Store (near Harrison
Mills) and outlined the work
of the CPR in that area. The Summer
of 1995 will see the completion of 25 years of widely -varied
activities by the Pacific Coast Division in British Columbia.
It is
to be hoped that in the year 2020 some one will be able to write a
Golden Anniversary report on PCD! 3. For the Period 1976-94, the reports by the
four Editors
of PCDs quarterly newsletter: The
Sandhouse (Vancouver):-
Mike Green,
of Richmond BC (1976-85)
Scott Austin,
of Richmond BC (1985-87)
John Picur,
of Vancouver BC (1987-88)
Mike Green,
of Richmond BC (1989-93)
Lome Nicklason, of Surrey BC (1993-95)
4. For June 1980, the
CRHA Communications insert, a 3-page
article on Tenth Anniversary
of PCDCRHA by Mike Green (in
Canadian Rai!).
The current logo of the Pacific Coast Division, developed by the late Ron Meyer and Lome
Nickalson.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 108 MAl -JUIN 1995
A Brief History of the Grand Falls Central Railway
Originally
Known as the Botwood Railway
1908 -1977
By Claude Hoddinott
Engine number 308. The lasl of the old sleam engines to roll through Grand Falls, passing through
the mill yard infronl
of the Anglo Newfoundland Development Company paper mill, later called Price
Newfoundland Inc.
Officially this was the last run
of the steam trains on the Grand Falls Central Railway. This took place
in Ihe winler of 1958.
With the construction of the Anglo Newfoundland
Development Company paper mill at Grand Falls nearing completion
in 1908, there was a definite requirement for the transportation
of
paper products from the mill at Grand Falls to the seaport town of
Botwood, a distance of 22 miles.
Construction
of a rail line between these two towns began
in 1908 and was completed
in 1910. The mill at Grand Falls
produced its first paper in the year 1909. For the first year of
production, shipments
of paper products were made by the
Newfoundland Railway from Grand Falls to either Trinity Bay or
SI. Johns, destined for overseas markets. The first shipment
of paper by rail to the port of Botwood
occurred in the winter
of 1910. The line proved to be an important
transportation
link for the paper company, as well as for the people
living
in these towns, since there were very few roads and cars at
that time.
This railway transported such products as sulphur, coal,
oil, peat and wood for the operation
of the mill, and of course tons
of newsprint were move over this line during its operation.
Passengers were also carried on this line.
In the 1930s and 1940s
people from Botwood and Bishops Falls would travel on the
company trains to the larger centre
of Grand Falls for shopping, to
MAY -JUNE 1995 109 CANADIAN RAIL -446
>.
Diesel locomotives 101 and 102. This view shows the first run of diesels on the Grand Falls
Central Railway. The locomotives were built by Canadian General Electric, and were
purchased in February, 1958.
attend movies, and to many other functions of the day. Passengers
were accommodated two or three times a week. Freight cars were
also moved by the same train in conjunction with the passenger
cars.
During the war years, 1939 -1945, this railway provided
a very important service for the army bases in the Botwood area.
The Botwood Railway would provide special trains
to transport
troops from the Newfoundland Railway station at Bishops Falls to
Botwood. Supplies for the bases were also moved in this manner,
including military hardware and the necessary equipment for the
Canadian army operations in the area.
Many
of the earlier steam locomotives used on this narrow
gauge line were manufactured by the Baldwin Locomotive Works,
while others were built in England.
The English built locomotives
were heavier and required new and heavier rails for the line. In later
years a number
of steam engines were acquired from the CN
Railway, and were used until the line was changed
to diesel. Three
diesel locomotives were purchased in 1958 and put into operation
that year. These locomotives were manufactured
by. Canadian
General Electric, and they provided motive power for the Grand
Falls Central until it ceased operations in 1977.
Besides the motive power, this railway had a variety
of
rolling stock including two types of box cars, early light ones and
later 50 -foot cars. It also had tank cars for hauling fuel, flat cars
for moving pulpwood and mill equipment, and one special car used
to transport dignitaries and company officials while visiting Grand
Falls on company business. This special car was equipped with
sleeping accommodations and a diner. It was later used by the
Newfoundland Railway on the main line.
The railway office was located at Grand Falls, with freight
sheds in both Botwood and Grand Falls. Paper had
to be stored at
both locations prior to shipment. Station agents and train crews
worked from both towns while maintenance
of the railway equipment
was done at Botwood.
Eventually the paper company (Price Newfoundland Ltd.)
decided that heavy transport trucks would be iess expensive to
operate than the railway. and this decision brought about the
demise and abandonment
of the railway in 1977. The last run was
made on June 29, 1977 after 69 years
of service.
Most
of the rolling stock and related equipment was sold
to Costa Rica., and the tracks were taken
up in 1984 and sold for
scrap. So ended an era in the history
of central Newfoundland,
especially the towns
of Grand Falls and Botwood.
A riote about the owners of the paper mill and the railway:
The original company, started by the Harmsworth Brothers
of England in 1905, was called the Anglo Newfoundland Development
Company Ltd. In the 1960s it joined with Price Brothers
of Quebec
and became known as Price Newfoundland Pulp and Paper Company
Ltd. Later, in the 1970s, Price Newfoundland joined with Abitibi
of Canada and became known as Abitibi Price Inc., the present
owners
of the paper mill and its assets. Since its inception around
the tum
of the century it has changed owners three times. The mill
has been producing some
of the finest paper products in the world,
and it continues
to do so. During the past few years, with the
economy in such poor shape, it has been a struggle for paper
companies
to compete for good markets around the world. However
the mill at Grand Falls seems
to have overcome these obstacles
and, with the recent increase in the price
of paper [which is having
such an adverse effect on the budget
of Canadian Rail! Ed.], the
future appears
to be reasonably bright. This year 1995 is the 86th
anniversary since the mill started production
in 1909.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 110 MAI-JUIN 1995
Museum Notes
As of April 12, 1995
By John Godfrey
Since the last column, a number of noteworthy events have
transpired at the Canadian Railway Museum. Here
is an update.
A new piece
in the collection rolled onto the property in
March. CP box car 404337 (today called a mini box because it is
smaller than todays standard cars), built in 1929, will provide
much needed additional storage space as well as illustrate the early
steel box car
in the collection. There were 7500 of these cars
(originally numbered 240000 to 247499) built, all
of them in 1929,
the largest single lot
of railway rolling stock in Canadian history.
Number 245419 was originally built
in September, 1929 and
served
CP in freight service before being converted for maintenance
of way use. It still has its original configuration with wooden roof
walk and placement
of the brake wheel.
Photographs
of this car, as well as some contemporary
material which appeared
in 1929 and 1930, will be found on the
following two pages.
The CRHA would like to take this opportunity to
thank. the
Quebec Division
of CP Rail System, especially the following
employees for the donation, preparation and final movement
of
this car: Mr. H.M. Bertrand, Division Manager; Mr. M. Teoli,
Customer Service Specialist -Mechanical and System; Mr.
F.
Nicholson, Estimator -Mechanical and System; Mr. S. Smaill,
Montreal Telminal
R.T.c. Their effort on our behalf is very much
appreciated.
Over the winter, the various section heads have worked out
a more formalized training program for operating volunteers. Not
only will this help to ensure that all volunteers receive the same
basics, but it will also demonstrate to those who may be concerned
that operations are carried
out in a responsible manner. This
program
is in addition to the existing rules and exam.
At a general volunteer meeting
in March, Museum
administration provided a general overview
of Museum expansion
plans. An involved explanation and fund-raising aIllOUncement
will be made
in the near future concerning this program. In the
short term, lighting will be improved
in building 1 and the public
side
of building 2. Building I s aisles will be paved over in order
to
cut down on a serious dust problem in that building. Signs and
rest areas will be improved throughout the site. Visitors will
be
given better site safety instmctions so as to better enjoy their stay.
They will also be given an improved handout which will outline
those safety instructions as well as museum facilities.
It was announced that between the months of April and
June work will be undertaken, using grant money, to improve two
features
of the Museum. The turntable will have its cmmbling
timber wall replaced with a concrete one. This will enable the
turntable area to be more presentable,
as well as more functional.
In recent times it has been cjuite a chore to tum equipment on it.
Barrington Station is the other work project.
By the end of June it
is expected that this venerable old building will be returned to its
early 1900s
GTR glory. During the interim, the Museums passenger
service will depart from the Hays building.
Over the winter, work continued on various pieces in the
shop as outlined below:

MTC 1959 had work done to its compressor. Repairs to the,
presently inoperable, deadman control,
as well as the installation
of a lifesaver are needed before the car returns to service.
-PofM 1002 had much needed attention given to a problematic
cylinder blow by on its engine block.

CP reefer 284845 is still in the shop as of this writing. It is
awaiting the reapplication
of its sides and re-installation of its
couplers following replacement
of its end sills. Its winterstablemate,
CGR 551672, has had its work completed.
-After some early spring moves, it was discovered that
CN 30 had
developed a small leak between the lube and water systems. It will
be hustled into the shop for repairs, hopefully
in time for the
commencement of passenger service on May 7th.

The John Molson was placed in the shop at the beginning of April.
Besides routine maintenance, it
is in need of tube replacement
before it can tum a wheel on its own this season.

Once things are up and running for the season, attention will be
turned to
CN 15824 and MTC 3, the latter in need of work to its
current collection system.
The 1995 season begins on May I st. Train and streetcar
operation commences May 7th. As usual, streetcar service will
operate daily; passenger train service will
be Sunday afternoons
from 1200 to 1600.
Passenger train service will also operate on
May 22, June
24, July I, September 4 and October 9. The
John Molson is
scheduled to operate on the following Sunday afternoons: May 21,
May 28, June
II, June 25, July 2, July 16, July 30, August 6, August
20, Sept
ember 3. In addition it will operate Wednesday evening
May 24 and Monday afternoon October 9. Special events are to be
held throughout the season. As
of this writing, there is to be a
model train exhibition,
an Operation Lifesaver display, mascot
day, Museum Day and others. The only confirmed date
is Museum
Day which will
be held in conjunction with other museums in the
Montreal area on May 28th.
For that one day, admission is free to
all
who visit. Last year on that day, more than 1000 people came
through the gate.
The Museum is open daily from May I st to September 4th,
and on weekends through October 15th. Admission
is charged to
persons other than CRHA members and their immediate families.
For group reservations, or more up to date information, call the
Museum at (514) 632-2410.
MAY -JUNE 1995 111 CANADIAN RAIL -446
THIS PAGE, TOP AND CENTRE: Two
photos
of box car 404337, originally
245419, as it appeared
in April 1995,
just after its arrival at the Museum.
THIS PAGE, BOTTOM: An article,
jrom the Canadian Railway andMarine
WorldforMarch1929, which described
these new cars.
NEXT PAGE: An advertisement
for
the National Steel Car Co. picturing
CPR box car 245700. This appeared
in the Canadian Railway and Marine
World
in March 1930, soon after the
order
for the cars was completed.
The Canadian Pacific Railway has ordered 7500 steel box cars recently. The first orders placed for these cars were for 1000
from National Steel Car Corporation, and for 1500 from Canadian Car and Foundry Co. These orders were followed
by orders for
2300 from National Steel Car Corporation, 2200 from Canadian Car and Foundry Co., and 500 from Eastern Car Co.
The chief dimensions
of these cars are:-Length, 40 1/2 ft.; height, 8 ft. 7 in.; width, 8 ft. 7 1/2 in.; side door opening,S ft.;
capacity 120,000 lb. This gives capacity for 2000 bushels
of wheat. Leakage of grain will be eliminated, as the rivetting of all joints
and connections will eliminate all nails and screw
s, giving a permanently tight car with much greater rigidity than the usual type
of box car. The car body will be of all steel construction, including the roof, but the interior will be wood lined. The trucks will have
one-piece cast steel side frames; the journals will be 5 1/2
by 10 in. Delivery of the cars is expected in ample time to make them
available for handling the next western crop.
Source: Canadian Railway and Marine World, March, 1929.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 112 MAl -JUIN 1995
50 Ton Steel Sheathed
Box Cars
Built by
National..·Steel Car Corporation Limited
…..
Bui14ers of
. , :.
. Pass6ng~rCal?s.,—FreightC&rs-cc Str~lt Cilr~Air DUrttv and I ndu$tri{lICars of all descriptions.
Automobile Ch~ssls F;arpesand pilfts..,….,St~el Pi-es~i~gs-Forging6-Drop Forgings.
i·· .,. . . , _ _ -.
…. , :.,,
Hamilton··

. ,
:>
MAY -JUNE 1995 113 CANADIAN RAIL -446
CRHA Communications
TURNOUT PUBLICATIONS
The Toronto & York Division of the CRHA is pleased to
announce the launching
of a new publishing venture. Known as
Turnout Publications, they are a series
of 8 1/2 by II inch
booklets
of special articles or features which have been serialized
in the Toronto & York Divisions newsletter The Turnout. To
date three booklets have been published as follow:
No.
I: The opening of the Yonge Subway and its Subway Cars. By
Hollie Lowry.
No.2: A Celebration of Stainless Steel (The Canadian). By
Richard Montgomery.
No.3: Hamilton Street Railway. By Larry Partridge.
These booklets cost $2 each and may be ordered from the
Toronto
& York Division, Box 5849 Station A, Toronto, Ontario
M5W I P3. Additional titles will be announcedas they are published.
1995 CRHA CONFERENCE
Members are reminded of the CRHA Conference at Smiths
Falls, details
of which were given in the last issue. It should be
noted that all events
of the Conference are at the Railway Museum
at Smiths Falls unless stated otherwise.
The cost of the field trips
is included
in the registration fee and they do not cost extra as
incorrectly stated in the January-February issue of Canadian Rail.
Members are urged to attend what promises to be a very interesting
and informative occasion.
TRAIN ORDERS AND TIMETABLES A V AILABLE
Mr. Earl MalT, 33332 11th Avenue, Mission, B.C. V2V
5T6 has many items of railway interest for sale. These comprise
public and employee timetables (some public for U.S. roads),
Canadian and U.S. train orders, train registers, equipment registers,
Official Guides, Railroad Magazines, Model Railroader Magazine,
CP Rail News, Spanner, some rule books and haulage capacity
from 1929, summery
of motive power from 1929. Any members
interested in purchasing any
of these items should contact Mr.
MalT at the above address.
OBITUARY. RONALD H. MEYER 1946 -1995
By Mervyn T. (Mike) Green
The sudden death of Ron Meyer was a great shock to his
family and to all his friends and associates in the Pacific Coast
Division.
This writer first met Ron at an educational conference in
January 1976, when he was working for a group hying to develop
interest in the rebuilding
of Gastown in Vancouver. During a talk,
he revealed his interest in local B.C. history and in railways.
The
following month, he invited me to a General Meeting of the Pacific
Coast Branch
of the CRHA, held in the Members Lounge of the
Vancouver Planetarium. I joined the Branch and shortly after, at
Ron
s urging, became President (but that is another story).
Ron was not only a founding member
of the PCB in 1970,
and an executive
member every year thereafter, but also was the
driving force behind the writing and publishing
of the 12 Railguides
produced at irregular intervals since May 1973. He also authored
Preserved Locomotives and Rolling Stock in B.C. and the Yukon
in May 1973, and two editions
of Railroading in British Columbia:
A Bibliography produced
in September 1973 and July 1993.
During his work as an instructor
in Geography and English
at the Vancouver Community College (King Edward Campus),
Ron encouraged his
VCC students to research and write about local
history. He edited two volumes
of student research papers entitled
From Cambie to Clark. He also was a contributing author to the
(as yet unpublished) HistOlY
of the Lower Fraser Valley.
In addition to his interests
in local history and railways,
Ron was
an avid collector of diecast models, particularly motor
vehicles made
by-Dinky, Corgi, et aI., and a regular attender at
meetings
of the Toy Train operating Society, trading in Lionel
train
s. He wrote two articles on diecast models which were
published
in British magazines. Ron was a great reader and
collector
of books on Canadian railways and on local history -he
would spend many hours browsing the stalls and shelves
of Lower
Mainland book sellers. He also liked to visit derelict railway rights
of way. He was a regular visitor to the Kettle Valley Railway route
between Hope and Brookmere, which he liked
to drive in his old
(and not always to
be trusted) Chevy Suburban.
Further to his work for PCD, Ron wrote a semi-annual
piece on RaiJway Books for the Divisions quarterly newsletter
The Sandhouse. He also spent some time helping to organize and
classify the motly collection of artifacts housed in the Fraser Mills
Depot Museum
in Coquitlam. He was instrumental in finding a
home at the VCC for the Executive Committee meetings, after
the CN / VIA station was closed to us.
For his
own personal interests, Ron built two Lionel 027
layouts at his own apartment and
in the basement of his parents
home. He was also a knowledgeable participant in the regular
games
of the Trivial Pursuit League of the Pacific Coast, where he
enjoyed pitting his knowledge
of history and railways against
other players.
Ron Meyer leaves behind his wife Sandy, and his daughter
Rhonda, to both
of whom the CRHA extends its condolences.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 114 MAl -JUIN 1995
Book Reviews
TRAMWA YS DE MONTREAL -STREETCARS OF
MONTREAL
By Fred F. Angus and Olive Irwin Wilson
Published
by: Canadian Railway Museum
120 Rue St. Pierre
St. Constant P.Q. J5A 2G9
Price: $9.50
This bilingual 83 page book is the second edition
of the
work originally published in 1990. It
is essentially a pictorial
history
of Montreals street cars from the first horsecars in 1861 to
the final run
of electric cars in 1959. The majority of the photos are
from the collection
of Richard M. Binns (1902 -1988) who had
access to many rare views from the 1890s
to the 1950s. This
collection has been bequeathed to the CRHA. Additional rare
photos from other sources have been provided
to complete the
story.
As
in the first edition, the book starts with a brief history
of the system, followed by the photos arranged by decade in which
the pictures were taken. Since this is not necessarily the decade in
which the cars depicted were built, each chapter depicts the
equipment, and the surrounding Montreal scenes, as they were
during a particular decade, a feature
of help to historians. There are
ten decades covered, from the 1860s
to the 1950s. A number
of significant changes have been made since the
first edition.
The text and layout have been completely re-done by
computer; errors have been corrected the general layout made
more pleasing and easier
to read. In addition, four pages have been
added containing previously-unpublished photos. These are mostly
from the la
te 1940s to the 1950s, in response to requests that we
include more material from the era that most readers can still
recall. Finally the book now has very attractive covers with
illustrations,
in full colour, featuring equipment now preserved at
the Canadian Railway Museum. The covers are arranged so that a
shadow effect is present, giving a three dimensional effect.
The
background of the illustrations is a relief image of the photo of274
on the front cover; this is arranged in somewhat the same way as
security printing on banknotes and certificates.
Despite all these improvements, the price has been reduced
since the first edition, making this book
an excellent buy for those
interested in street railway history.
1993
Volumo XXIX
ISSN oa22~9S03
, .
:J{t+fon,
:J{isto[ica£ wpte$., :
ORUCerIEU; RAILWAY SrAllOtl 1~39 ::Iiu;oming andbotliolng mall bag_, are-exchanged
.~ ti8r01a~al16y 9rand9n (onlhilk·ft) deliV.rs ltI~ ~Ojl,&9lon 10 varna and. 83ym~td while lhe
0Ih« ~man~e~NS hls-to I~tt Brvafl~~P~t … OIIc. .
RAILWAYS IN HURON COUNTY
Published by: Huron County Historical Society
c/o William McFarlane
RR, I, Bayfield, Ontario, NOM IGO
Price not stated
.oj,
Nestled along the eastern flank of Lake Huron lies Huron
County whose leading community
is the Town of Goderich. The
MAY -JUNE 1995
local historical society is one of the more active such groups in the
country. In Volume
29 of its series Huron Historical Notes, the
group has assembled an excellent compilation
of articles relating
to the railways and railway builders in the County. Chapters
include an account
of the career of Joseph Whitehead, an early
railway contractor who worked on portions
of the Great Western,
Buffalo
& Lake Huron and CP transcontinental line; a condensed
history
of the railways in Ontario; a more detailed account of the
railways in the southern region
of the Bruce Peninsula including
the i II-fated interurban, the Ontario West Shore Rai lway; descriptions
of all the station in Huron County; and a series of personal
reminiscences
of older residents of the county in the days before
the automobile became the ubiquitous form
of transport. These
form an entertaining and instructive look at the railways
in one
comer of the province. Several photos and maps accompany the
text. Inquiries concerning the avai labi I ity and price for this publication
should be directed to the Society at the above address.
MINING RAILWAYS OF THE KLONDIKE
By Eric L. Johnson
Published by:
PCD Publications
P.O. Box 1006, Station A
Vancouver, B.C. V6C
2Pl
Price: $7.50 postpaid
In 1898 the name Klondike became
synonymous with bonanza
or gold rush as
thousands
of fortune seekers came from all parts of
the world to the remote regions of the Yukon. Soon
after the first gold seekers made their way to the
region, by any availavle means, the railroads followed
and opened up access to the area. In the early days
gold made the headlines, and little attention was
paid to the railways and more prosaic coal mining
operations which soon sprung up
in the area.
This book, the latest publication
of the
Pacific Coast Division
of the CRHA, fills a long­
existing need, as it tells the story
of these pioneer railways and
locomotives. There are also photos and scale diagrams
of many
locomotives,
as well as information as to where surviving pieces
of equipment can be seen today. Since almost no pre-1918 business
records
of the companies involved remain, the job of research was
very difficult, often involving painstaking searches through
contemporary newspaper files. The result will appeal
to those
interested in industrial locomotives as well as in the history
of
Canadas north west.
WORKERS CONTROL ON THE RAILROAD
A
PRACTICAL EXAMPLE RIGHT UNDER YOUR NOSE
By R.E. (Lefty) Morgan
Edited by G.R. Pool and
DJ. Young
Published by: History Department, Memorial University
St.
Johns, Newfoundland
AIC 5S7
Price: $19.95
115 CANADIAN RAIL -446
This book is unique among working class documents.
While it
is a study of the railway running trades, it goes beyond a
description
of the jobs themselves. It analyses the entire realm of
work place relations as an example of democracy at work. Written
between 1963 and 1965, the book was based on Lefty Morgans
belief that people could control the pace, condi tions and organization
of their own work as well as their lives in an independent
workplace.
To prove this, he wrote extensively about the labour
process
he knew best, from the perspective of a locomotive
engineer. He examined his experiences as a worker, but also drew
on many studies written by and about railway operators, engineers
and related trades. From 1954 to 1978 he was an engineer on the
Pacific Gr
eat Eastern Railway (now B.C. Rail) in British Columbia,
so had a great deal
of practical experience to back up his ideas.
Students
of labour history in relation to Canadas railways wiiJ
want this book.
TROLLEY CARS
STREETCARS,
TRAMS AND TROLLEYS OF NORTH
AMERICA. A
PHOTOGRAPHIC HISTORY
By Frank Sullivan and Fred Winkowski
Published by: Motorbooks International
P.O. Box 2, 729 Prospect Ave.
Osceola, Wisconsin 54020 U.S.
A.
Price: $19.95 U.S.
This
is a 128 page history of the trolley car era, illustrated
for the most part by cars that are still
in existence. While a very few
introductory photos are early ones,
in black and white, the great
majOlity, welJ over
200 in fact, are recent high quality colour
photographs, many showing important details
of construction.
Many
of the views are taken at museums and other preservation
railways, but
some are of regular lines still in operation. There is
a brief introductory history of street cars in general, but most of the
story
is told by the descriptions of the individual cars pictured; this
often includes technical and dimensional data.
RAIL CANADIEN -446
Despite its title, which sounds as if it restricted to North
America, the book covers the
subject world-wide. Thus we see
trams from such widely spaced places as
Japan, Brazil, Portugal,
Ireland, England, Austria,
Sweden, Germany and, of course, the
United States and Canada.
While much of the coverage is indeed
North American, this includes a surprisingly high
number of
Canadian cars, largely from the Halton County Radial Railway
museum in Ontario, but also including representative Canadian
cars
in the U.S.A. Sadly, our own Canadian Railway Museum is
not represented.
One curious omission in this world coverage is the
Isle
of Man. The entire Manx system rates less than one line (!) on
page 68, yet this small island is
home to by far the largest number
of pre-1900 tram cars (both horse and electric) in anyone place on
the face
of the earth. Some of these veteran cars have been in daily
service, with imaculate maintenance, for more than 100 years.
The cover of this book shows two beautiful cars (built in
1905 and 1911 respectively and now preserved and restored in a
museum in California)
of the fanner Los Angeles Railway.
Enthusias
ts of old movies will recognize cars of this type that often
appeared in films made around
Los Angeles in the 1920s and
earlier.
This nostalgic view is but an introduction to the many
quality photos to be found within. The photos alone are well worth
the price.
CUBAN HOLIDAY.
TRA YELLING THROUGH A TRANSPORTATION TIME
WARP
By Adolf Hungry Wolf with Okan and Iniskim Hungry Wolf
Published by: Canadian Caboose Press
Box 844, Skookumchuck, B.C.
VOB 2EO
Expected retail price
$39.95, but early orders may save up to 25%
Its time for the rest of the world to know what Fidels been
keeping warm for so long in sunny Cuba. Some examples: Nearly
500 American-made steam locomotives, some dating back to
1878, with 100 to 200 operating daily during the annual
sugar
harvest. This includes almost every wheel arrangement from 0-4-
o to 2-8-2. Track gauges from 27 3/4 inches to 4 ft. 8 1/2 inches.
116 MAl -JUIN 1995
Railbusses from Brill, Budd, Mack, and local shops. Also a variety
of vintage international diesels including American Alcos and
Canadian ML Ws. Plus an end less variety of horse drawn carriages,
ox teams, and
numerous old American automobiles dating back as
far as the 1920s. All this a
nd more will be in this new colour book
scheduled to be released in November, 1995. The book will also be
accompanied by a series of video programs filmed by Okan
Hungry Wolf.
SHORT MENTIONS
The following three publications are the latest editions of
books which are well know to railway enthusiasts. While we have
not seen the latest copies, judging by the earlier editions these will
be high quuality publications that those interested will be glad to
have.
GUIDE TO TOURIST RAILROADS AND RAILROAD
MUSEUMS
Compiled by George Drury
Published by:
Kalmbach Publicating Company
P.O. Box 1612, Waukesha, WI, 53187-1612, U.S.A.
Price: $18.95 U.S.
THE CQMPI::NDIl)M 01 AMERICA.N RAILROAD RADIO
FREQUENCIES
By Gary L. Sturm and Mark J. Landgraf
Published by: Kalmbach Publishing Company
P.O. Box 1612,
Waukesha, WI, 53187-1612, U.S.A.
Price: $16.95 U.S.
THE CONTEMPORARY DIESEL SPOTTERS GUIDE
By Louis A. Marre
Published by: Kalmbach Publishing Company
P.O. Box 1612,
Waukesha, WI, 53187-1612, U.S.A.
Price: 19.95 U.S.
JUST A FEW LINES
Further Wormation
In our January-February issue, we published a review of
the book Just A Few Lines, a history of the Champlain & St.
Lawrence Rail
Road by Lionel F. Gillam. Unfortunately the
account neglected to say how one could obtain the book and how
much it cost. Mr. Gillam has advised the editor that the book may
be obtained from himself:
Lionel F. Gillam
66 East Bawtry Road
Rotherham, South Yorkshire, S604BU
England
The price is $21.00 Canadian, which includes postage
from England to Canada.
MAY -JUNE 1995
THE MONTREALER IS DEAD.
LONG LIVE
THE VERMONTER
After a history of7l years, including
two lengthy periods when it was
discontinued, Amtraks famous train the
Montrealer running between Montreal
and Washington D.C., made its final run on
April 1, 1995. However, thanks to a one­
year subsidy from the State
of Vermont,
service will continue on the line south
of
St. Albans by a slightly different route. The
new train, called the Vermonter, will
travel by day as opposed to the Montrealer
which was an overnight run. There will be
a dedicated bus connection between St.
Albans and Montreal, which will allow
passengers to and from Montreal convenient
access to the new train. The route will still
be over the former Central Vermont (now
the New England Central, owned by
RaiITex), but south
of Palmer, Mass. the
train will go on
to Conrail tracks and serve
Springfield Mass. and Hrutford Conn. before
joining its former route at New Haven,
from which it will continue on
to Washington
as before. It has been pointed out that St.
Albans becomes by far the smallest city to
be the terminus of any Amtrak route on the
entire system.
Coincidentally with this chrulge,
Amtraks Adirondack, which follows
the scenic
D&H line en route to New York,
will be extended southward to Washington
as well.
Our member
Wanen Mayhew took
several photos
of the last Montrealer on
its final run, and they are printed here.
ANOTHER WASHINGTON
CONNECTED TO CANADA BY
AMTRAK
Despite the difficulties aJ1d cutbacks
facing Amtrak, two new trains made their
debut on May 26, 1995. One, called the
Mount Baker International, was scheduled
to commence operations on that day, running
between Seattle Washington
aJ1d VaJ1couver
B.C. This revives a service that had begun
in 1891,
aJ1d had been run under Amtrak
for several years before being discontinued.
117 CANADIAN RAIL -446
The Business Car
TOP: The last northbound Montrealer at Can tic, Que. on April}, 1995.
BOTTOM: Approaching the end
of the line, the Montrealer about to pass under Taschereau
Boulevard near Montreal, April
1, 1995.
Both photos by Warren Mayhew.
This train fulfills the hope that this service would someday be
restored.
The Other Amtrak train to be inaugurated on May 26, is
the Piedmont, which operates in North Carolina.
RAIL CANADIEN -446 118
The End. The last northbound Montrealer about to leave Can tic on
its last trip. Photo by Warren Mayhew, April I, 1995.
CN OPENS NEW ST CLAIR TUNNEL
The first CN North America train passed through the new
$200 million tunnel linking Samia, Ontario and Port Huron,
Michigan on April 5, marking the completion
of 18 months of
constlUction. As part of the ceremony marking the opening of this
major north-south gateway, hundreds
of balloons were released,
and were cleared away by the locomotive as several thousand
onlookers applauded.
CN hopes the more efficient connection will help it regain
cross-border traffic now dominated by less efficient trucks. It also
expects to pick up more business carrying containers between the
port
of Halifax and U.S. destinations. The new tunnel is large
enough to accommodate three-level automobile carriers and the
largest double-stacked containers. Until the new tunnel was opened
such high loads had to cross the St. Clair river by car ferry, delaying
shipments by up to
12 hours.
U.S. ports like New York are much
closer to Chicago than Halifax is, but Halifax
is
closer to Europe. Containers from Europe are
unloaded at Halifax before the ship continues
on to New York, and can reach Chicago faster
by CN than
if they had been unloaded at New
York. In fact some American ports, afraid this
route would siphon off some
of their traffic to
Halifax or Montreal, tried unsuccessfully to
have the tunnel project stopped. The new tunnel
is also a clinching factor in a two-year-old deal
between CN and tlUcking giant J.B. Hunt, under
which CN carries Hunts
tIUck trailers on its
flatcars.
The old St. Clair tunnel, built in 1890,
is
to be closed, but its approaches are to be preserved
as historical and architectural landmarks.
Source (with modifications); Montreal Gazette,
April 6, 1995.
MAl -JUIN 1995
UL TRAMAR AND CN REACH OIL TRAIN DEAL
Ultramar announced a deal to set up a train system with
Canadian National Railways to transport petroleum products
between its refinery near Quebec City and Montreal. Until now,
Ultramar has depended mostly on tankers to get its oil products
to market and to other refineries, whereas rail transportation is
the most efficient and environmentally sound solution for the
transportation
of gasoline and distillates.
The
CN system is estimated to cost just under $45 million,
with Ultramar investing $17 million, CN $26 million and the
Quebec
govenunent only $1 1/2 million. The system will consist
of unit trains and will bypass intermediate switching yards and
thus rarely experience delays en route, making it suitable
for
large volume stable movements. The train, to be called the
Ultra train, will also allow the oil company to connect with
other rail lines
in North America and extend its reach into new
inland markets.
Scheduled to become fully operational
in the summer of
1996, the Ultratrain will consist of 64 tank cars which will carry
the entire volume from the St. Romuald refinery, near Quebec
City,
to Montreal. By further increasing the density of CNs
Quebec City to Montreal corridor, the Ultramar service will
contribute to
CNs ongoing efforts to get the maximum use out of
its eastern rail network.
CHEAKAMUS CANYONSTEAM TRAIN
The freshly rebuilt former CPR steam locomotive 3716,
built originally in 1912, was out for a little exercise on Tuesday,
September 13, 1994. BC Rail completed a major overhaul
of the
locomotive the past three winters, and the mechanics and enginemen
fine tuned it through the summer. The routing from North Vancouver
to Whistler includes heavy mountain grades where the locomotive
had to work to capacity to lift the train to the summit.
MAY·JUNE 1995
The B.C.
Ch:lplcr of Ihe
National Railway
Historical Society
(NRHS) supplied
fourcoachcs farlhe
jOUnlcy. Each of the
19305 eMS hns the
original nalural
m
ahogany interior
and brass lamps
with milk glass
shades. The parl.
our caT features
individual chairs.
softcarpeling. huge
windows .:md an
open rC:If plat.
foml.
The head­
end photo (oppo­
~ilepage)showslhe
train al Brakendalc
where hundreds of
bald eagles wimer
allhe slIe along the
Cheakmnus River.
The tail
end photo (right)
is of the uain
croSSing [he long­
est bridge in Inc
Cheakamus
Canyon,
The jour.
ney WIlS a triumph
of operations.
119 CANADIAN RAIL· 446
IJACK COVER: CP 4051 hlad.f a lIt!slbout1d/reigilllemillg Lolldol/. OntariQ i,l {he slimmer oj 1964.
Photo by Bill TllOmsoll.

Demande en ligne